Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

Will it 100% go ahead .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

what do we make of KK today, if we lose, we’re beaten by a depleated LK team and if we win we beat a depleted LK team.now don’t get me wrong I would be very happy with a win it would see us safe and maybe we could go on from that?I didn’t think Cork were wonderful last night they let a nice little lead go just before halftime. Did any notice nearly everytime they roll rise the ball and never jab lift it maybe it’s the conditions I don’t know?

Don't particularly mind the result. Just need a few players to stand up and make the step up. Very concerning the how poor younger players are. If we keep looking at lads like Deegan and Riche Reid we will get tore apart come Croke Park again.

It's still a strong Limerick team. Forwards look good. Flanagan on Lawlor will be a good battle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭me89

Game is off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kilkenny123456

match off due to unplayable pitch

re fixed for st. Patrick’s weekend I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

have to wonder what's happening with the pitch in the Park over the last couple of years, it seems to be able for no hardship whatsoever. Condition of it seems to have deteriorated significantly particularly if any wet weather, it gets extremely soft even with average rainfall. It's fine during the summer when there's one match a fortnight on it or whatever, looks like the old Wembley but leaves a lot to be desired over the winter/early spring.
    They're talking about floodlights but hard to see the point if the pitch is not up to it.

Hard to see this postponement happening in Thurles/Ennis/Cork/Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭biglad40isback

has to be paddys weekend as its only weekend limerick free

you would have to wonder it’s only **** rain?

Did the referee make the call or the Kilkenny county board ?

I'd say referee would have to?

last time I was in limerick the pitch was like a carpet. Give croker a run for its money. Same for cork. Thurles not so much but would go ahead today if it was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Genuinely not just saying this as a hindsight merchant but can't understand unless logistics are an issue that more games than just Monaghan/Cork in football were moved to yesterday, everyone could see the forecast during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭me89

No excuse for kilkenny not to have a pitch up to the same standard as Cork, it would of been a terrible spectacle if it went ahead today.

Where do Kilkenny train when we have this proper winter weather. No facilities in Kilkenny to accommodate any county team

out in the dump is the only place really, which is a huge indictment of the Co Board.

We are miles behind other counties in terms of facilities. It should be a huge source of embarrassment to the various county board officials over the past 20 years (not that they varied too much), that we are reliant on neighbouring counties like Carlow and Waterford to facilitate some of our inter county squads. It's absolutely no coincidence that we have falling behind in hurling terms also at underage level during that period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

I know the U20s were using Danesforts astro Friday night. Probably use SETU Carlows astro as well at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,602 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Limerick and Cork are the only total stadium redevelopments I can think of in the 21st century and both went all out on modern pitches/drainage during redevelopment.

This is just an educated guess going by feel but the rest of the big hurling pitches just feel like an old mud field (exaggerating a little)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭challengerbell

Gaelic Grounds pitch was not good 2 weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Portloaise unplayable today too as are the Fenagh pitches. It’s not just Kilkenny. The amount of rain that fell Thursday night and last night was unnatural

Grand day now thank God.

I bet ye Lyon’s still got paid.

didnt salthill get a new main stand Their pitch is a disgrace

just watched highlights of tipp v limerick in limerick from two weeks ago and while it did cut up a bit it looked like a carpet and had a high scoring high quality game. It even didnt have muddy penalty areas. And when u factor in two red weather warnings for there in January for snow and rain

Jaysus Chaz you have to stop calling it “the dump”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,602 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

A fair few places might have rebuilt a stand but Cork and Limerick were totally dug up. Limerick also done remedial work on the pitch last year that closed the stadium for the league and club championship.

Salthill is also famous for being a bad place to put a pitch and gets no love in Galway.

It's a pity the pitch wasn't up to it because Nowlan Park is the best stadium in hurling for spectators on a rainy league day.

sorry 😂. Just frustrated at what a missed opportunity it was to do a proper development somewhere more suitable, short cuts by Co board as usual when our seniors were so successful. Only built on a gym there last year….. it's used for County Finals and there's one toilet out there. The utter incompetence in planning was just breathtaking, and that applies to our underage structures also which we are still trying to fix.

I was only joking chaz and I agree with you entirely on the poor facilities through the county very little shelter in any of our grounds the clubs certainly aren’t making the most of grants available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Big win today for Wexford considering Clare had a number of starters back

Regarding pitch in Nowlan Park, the amount of rain that fell over the last few days I'm not surprised. In general though the top of the surface seems to be a lot looser than let's say 5/6 years ago when it was winning awards as best pitch in country. It looks to me that root structure is not as good as what it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Wexford will still be in the mix for Leinster.

A lot of their squad players were forced to play v Cork, Tipp and KK and learnt harsh lessons but got vital game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Leinster could be very interesting this year with Offaly's young guns showing up well so far, Antrim look in big bother.