Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

Darragh McCarthy has 1 (ONE) point from play and the Tipp lads rave about him as if he's the next Henry Shefflin. Must be the free taking routine that has them confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

As an Offaly man in Nolan Park last summer, we were stunned with the big drawn out routine when Tipp got a few frees near the end of last years u20 final and they were chasing the game. Time was not on their side and he was nearly taking a minute to hit the free. It was like he was trying to run down the clock 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,101 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

In fairness he's still u20 and winter conditions not going to suit someone of his stature. But the fact they have him on the frees at that age show how much they think of him.

Shane mcgrath acknowledged on the rté podcast he's a work in progress with a long way to go yet. Haven't heard anyone comparing him to Henry shefflin or eoin Kelly either

Speaking of u20s Adam screeney made little impression in the Joe mcdonagh final against laois.

Our own big hopes have all struggled to made impacts either, drennan, georoid Dunne etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

Limerick are building a serious panel. Coughlan, English,Cathal O'Neill, Aidan o Connor all looked very good today. Include Sean O' Brien, Eddie Stokes, Paddy O'Donovan, Fergal o'Connor all playing well for the seniors too. There re build is ahead of Kilkenny which is very worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kilkenny123456

Good wins for both the loreto and colaiste mhuire johnstown in the senior A and senior B All Ireland camogie finals today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Cork bet KK U20 today 1-20 to 0-16 KK must of had 10 wides in the second half compared to one or two for Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭lim4ev

That was a very good Limerick team if cathal o Neill had played and maybe the mgmt had done things differently we might have won that match, of course that could be said about any team that loses but because we didn't win the all Ireland people might forget we were there or thereabouts to winning.

All those lads are still there and some are ready now to step up

good morning Krazy . If you mail me I’ll give it to you but I really wouldn’t want to give it out to the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Their rebuild is ahead of everyone.

Some of those players mentioned above wouldnt have stood out at all at underage. What Limerick are doing 19-21 year olds is miles ahead of everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Well those players are going in and getting exposed to training multiple times a week with/against the best players of the last 5 years under arguably the best coach of the last 10 years. Its the same as how TJ, Richie, Fennelly, Murphy etc. all were exposed to training with Henry, JJ, Tommy et al when they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

Did Kilkenny CBS win their quarter yesterday? I can only see that Atherny beat Flannans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

I think some people get caught out in regards to the actual standard in the Joe McDonagh, while it is not Liam McCarthy level it’s still a very good standard of hurling with some serious hurlers in it as we’ve seen from the likes of Carlow and Westmeath who have come up from it and the likes of Fionan Mackessy from Kerry.

A small 19 year old like Screeney is going to find it hard going against a Laois corner back who could have 10 years on him in regards to S&C and senior inter county training.

That’s the same for lads in the Liam McCarthy cup too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

Chris Nolan would walk onto the kk team and James doyle and mouse wouldn't be far behind him. The job Tom mullally is doing with 4 or 5 clubs is incredible. He has a brilliant record at club level aswell,mount leinster rangers, Clara,Glenmore,shelminers,naas etc. The detail he goes into for training for example the ball going into the fowards has to be 70/30 in favour of the attacker. Training would be stopped and that player drilled and this was a good few years ago.Tom mullally would be a big addition to Kilkenny. Is pj Kenny capable of locking him down to a position in kk at some level? The way the minor and u20 management's were reappointed after two horror shows I wouldn't be so sure.

Losing a home minor All Ireland against 13 men or inheriting a rare all ireland winning team with the majority underage and failing to even reach a leinster final for two years and using the same tactic twice both years picking the slowest half back line possible and get two skutchings both years. Take your pick.

I'm open to correction here but had Limerick 7 or 8 of that defeated u20 team involved against tipp while kk had two the previous night against wexford. Tallis and shine? Imo these are the two most likely to make it eventually. I fully understand its easier blend into a setup with multiple all ireland winners and hoty but serious questions has be asked what's going wrong in kk?yes players make utbat different times but clifford regressed and was dropped and billy drennan completely went backwards.Plenty of podcasts last week had the same question,why aren't kk able to produce a foward anymore? For years we always knew someone was coming but this hasnt happenee for a good few years.Kierans success is definitely a fake barometer. I know the pathway underage has being fairly appalling but thankfully after 20 years of underage failure they have decided to react. The level of coaching has being abysmal aswell. Mick fennelly is trying his best and he spent time in limerick even involved in club management so the template he is using isn't a millions miles from the limerick template that they put In place over 10 years ago so kk have a lot of catching up to do. It's fairly shocking it took 20 years to react but it's not surprising

Finally Work is to commence soon at the dump because literally what we have is a dump. Club teams around the country have better set ups than kk. Look at the faithful fields,ferns,carlow. Pearse stadium got new lights last weekend and wexford done a great job In wexford Park. Again kk are years behind counties. Is this surprising? No it's not.

Good to get the win against a dire wexford team last weekend. Should of had another two goals in the first half. Like we have seen many times over the last few years the team completely switched off and although they didn't threaten a goal if wexford got one it could of being alot closer. After 3 games management still havent a bulls clue who will be 6 and don't be surprised if they go back to Richie Reid. It's not like they hadn't enough time to think about it. The first day against clare mikey and fionan were bombing foward,tactics have changed since then but blanchfield and Carey have both being tried and still none the wiser. They have to settle on 6 and a solid half back line.its the platform of any successful team.Midfield is still like moving chairs.Molloy had a good first half and should get another go. Doyle is a nice bit away from senior intercounty.Kenny had his best year last year Midfield and instead of trying to nail down a partner its seems they want to convert him to 11.Deegan played 3 matches in 3 different lines and like number 6 they haven't a clue where to play him. He hasn't being hurling well and like others I agree a few of them loughlins lads could do with a break. Anyone who watched the wexford match could easily see some of the ball going in was absolutely shocking. I talked about Tom mullally demanding a 70-30 ball this was a 30-70. David blanchfield summed it up he had all the time in the world,all alone but he wound up and drove a bullet up the line a hundred miles an hour two fowards wouldn't control it. Yes players must take responsibility but anyone who didn't believe me about the poor video analysis and Peter o Donovan doing the same boring drills last year should reconsider.

Big crowd in hotel kk last week.as I said mick fennelly is trying his best.Some good speakers,The only negative on the night was Brian Ryan talking negative about hurling is in a bad place when this was suppose to be a positive night. Think we need more mick fennellys and less Brian Ryan's anyway.

Intresting match coming up against limerick who are missing 7 or 8 regulars. Derek will surely bring back the few bigger names but it's a much bigger match for kk who have being scarred over the last few years and a match they should be winning at home. Stephen donnelly and Harry shine are the two fowards who hopefully will be able make a contribution later in the year but when it's all said and done it will be the majority of last years team again. No one is putting up their hand for a starting jesery. The panel will be cut soon

ye I’d agree with most of that. The U20’s yesterday wouldn’t give you much hope when they had most of the team out, but as I said they had an awful lot of wides.

Most of the team lined out?

I can only assume no one from the senior squad (Lyng, Neary, Marty Murphy…) Ivan Bolger playing in Fitz final, as well as at least a half dozen players from Kierans and CBS.

I'm not suggesting we don’t have a problem with bringing players on, but Limerick are an outlier.

The exact same questions we are asking on not bringing players through are going on in Galway, Cork and Tipp too (these three counties have won 9 of the last 10 minor All Irelands but you could count on one hand the number of serious IC players they have got from those 9 AI’s). Cork used 20 players versus Limerick two weeks ago, not one of them was from their minor team that won the AI 4 years ago and we were told it was the most talented minor team ever.

Limerick have an incredible set up of developing good 19-21-year-olds into serious IC hurlers, everyone else, not just Kilkenny, are miles behind. That's not a reason for us to not try to up our game, but it is the reality, we are competing against a serious set up that all counties are struggling with.

In fairness you would notice an improvement in conditioning with our lads this early especially it is probably a gradual process which is only starting to show fruit now, as you said Limerick are miles ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Rega

With minor at u-17, you can completely remove it as a barometer for future senior success.

It's just kids hurling. The journey from there to senior intercounty hurling is vast.

There should be more of a link between u-20 success producing players for senior hurling alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

The old minor intercounty was a great barometer, a good Kilkenny hurling follower would have a fair idea of most of the players from adult club action that year and the previous year. Having read Joe Canning and Riche Hogan's books over Xmas that is the competition i miss most. To be on the Kilkenny minors then most players were stand out for there clubs at adult hurling especially the really good ones, god be with the good old days. Now we have players locked away for 8-9 months at intercounty u20 and senior level, we don't see what is going on as its all hush hush. Players are then expected to blitz the club action of 7-8 matches in 9-10 weeks. Any player who picks up a bit form is 6-7 months away from intercounty again.

Post edited by Village87 on

By far the two most successful senior counties in the two codes for the last decade, Dublin and Limerick, have won 1 AI minor between them in the last 40 years.

Look at the 2019 minor championship, Kilkenny hammered Limerick and were then hammered by Galway. Limerick are converting (or have already done so) up to 6 of that team into serious IC hurlers, the Kilkenny and Galway teams of the same year, as of yet have produced no serious IC player.

It is lazy to simply say Dublin and Limerick just hit a golden patch of talent and things will revert. Dublin and Limerick are going nowhere, they will stay the teams to beat for years to come.

And sorry to depress, but they have set ups and resources, that cannot be matched by the likes of Kilkenny. And it pisses me off when lazy analysts say things like "it's up to other counties to raise their standards to Dublin and Limerick levels"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

We get it. You have no time for any of the Kilkenny management teams, but they are ratified a few months now so maybe let it lie and see how the season unfolds. I agree with a lot you say comparing ability of the various forward divisions. We are and will continue to be minus Donnelly, Phelan, Mullen and TJ for most of the remainder of the league. The sad reality is none of our younger brigade have put their hands up so far and it is difficult with that four missing. Even allowing for that none of them bar Stephen Donnelly have shown any real signs of making our first 15. That is the reality. We had 8/9 playing in the Fitzgibbon final and all did OK but none were in the same league as Adam English, Colin Coughlan or Gearoid O'Connor. Nobody to blame for that only that's how it is for now. PS I hope the Killian Doyle begrudger took note of his achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

The sky is the limit for that Adam English chap, unbelievable hurler. Himself and Cathal O Neill will drive Limerick forward this year I feel.