Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

the viet cong must be counting their blessings everyday that trump didn’t go, and his bone spurs flared up. They would have been defeated in 3 days. And he’d have got the MOH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭yagan

There's no domestic support in Europe to project onto the world like the USA does with it's Gaza genocide plan or Greenland annexation.

Like Brexit the USA under Trump is imposing trade sanctions on itself. The rest of the world can fill the void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Sand

That's all true. Zelensky can continue the war to its conclusion, with or without US assistance. But then why is Zelensky (and the Europeans) so angry about not getting invited to US-Russia negotiations? Apparently Zelensky went to the UAE on Tuesday and tried to bully the Saudis into inviting him to gatecrash the US-Russian talks, which was denied.

It does seem the US-Russian talks are much bigger than just Ukraine. It appears to be about trying to restore normal ties between the two countries on a host of topics, not just Ukraine. That means US-Russia can make a deal on a number of topics, and agree to disagree on Ukraine.

I would think the dream scenario for the Russians is to secure normalisation of contacts with the US, while at the same time the Ukrainians sabotage any peace effort by the US. Trump throws up his hands and walks away from Ukraine, blaming the Ukrainians. Russia can then find an agreement with Ukraine on its own terms later which will be much worse than anything Ukraine might get now, with US backing.

Zelensky is extremely poorly advised to alienate Trump in the way that he is doing. He is playing completely into the hands of the Russians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Honest question, I thought you're a poster that would be happy with what Trump is saying and doing on the issue, and the seeming back stab of Ukraine that is fast shaping up between US and Russia? Are you getting a bit scared by it all now, or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Infini

Lets call trump what he is: A Cúntator. A delusional Orange reject that thinks hes the center of the universe but in reality is a useful disposable idiot not fit for power. if he manages to get shot at again it's because he provoked it with his malignant Vatnik BS. That we were only like 10 inches from avoiding this entire **** timeline last year is in a way so frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,870 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

trump could agree with Russia to say get Ukrainian nato membership, cancel sanctions on Russia, pull the plug on arms supplies to Ukraine without a bye or leave from Zelenskyy. You reckon those steps would mean nothing in the context of the war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭omega man

EU/European states should hold “peace talks” with Ukraine in Greenland. If anything it would at least piss Trump off.
    Trump has crossed a red line now and all of Europe needs to respond with actions not words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Sand

There will be no plunder. Ukraine is not going to be in a position to pay anyone back. I think its clear the US leaned into Zelensky's offer of mineral rights (and the minerals offer was a Zelensky idea) at the Zelensky-Vance meeting was for the same reason the US sent a questionnaire to European leaders quizzing them on what they could militarily contribute for post-war peacekeeping.

In both cases, it was to highlight to how silly the idea was. Ukrainian minerals (to the extent they can even be accessed)cant repay what the US has invested . Europe cant contribute anything meaningful to post-war peacekeeping.

The only ones making money out of the whole debacle is a few arms manufacturers in the US and many Ukrainian oligarchs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭macraignil

Trump really has let his true colours show and it is obvious now why putin was throwing everything he had at the offensive in Ukraine as he believes he now has a big dog to help him out:

xghs571565ke1.jpeg
    Post edited by macraignil on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭zv2

…..

image.png

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The pope is a scumbag and he leads one of the most evil institutions on this planet. All their assets should be siezed just like Russia.

Lads apologies but I keep typing Putin instead of trump. Visually I always picture one with the other. A few slips get through but I usually correct the mistakes before I post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭Field east

Trump being sooooo mercurial he might decide to ‘switch sides’ when he sees the EU and maybe other countries standing up to him , the EU agreeing to increase military expenditure, etc,etc.. he likes strength being shown and may perceive these type of developments as a source of strength. To do the above would be no problem to a psychopath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭yagan

That is the greatest problem, a nations international standing being dependent on the whims of an egotistical self entitled bore.

This term is easier to handle because he's outed himself entirely as Putin's bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Ireland will respond with the action of handing him a bowl of shamrocks in a few weeks!

Were people not paying attention for the past year when Europe did absolutely nothing when Israel brazenly committed genocide while their leaders openly spoke of their desire to kill millions through starvation? Europe watched in silence rather than create friction with an American ally. There are no red lines when it comes to US support.

Europe is a continent of weak leaders embroiled in turmoil in their own countries who are all completely subservient to America in whatever it does.

Look forward to many statements of "concern" and zero action from the European leaders in the coming days and weeks.

The US can agree with anything with Russia but it is ONLY with Russia. It can even agree to buy 100 tons of tooth picks a year from Russia . So what. Any such agreement - even how the war might end - is ABSOLUTLY USELESS as UKr/EU was not involved.
    IMO , because Trump is on his ‘transactional only’ strategy - as he is all the time- has decided that his only objective is to do an economic deal with Ru , rekindle/ cement a working relationship in Russia and seek opportunities for investment. THEN when that is done there is the ‘minor matter ‘ of this little iritiant of this war ‘started’ by Ukr.

So, in summary, the US/RU meeting is dealing with two distinct , independant and VERY separate issues. Need I say no more when we see the comments from Trump about VZ, etc, before he meets the guy as an , hopefully, ‘equal partner’ in solving the war problem . And not a zilch re Putin apart from that ‘he is a very nice’ fellow or words/gesticulations to that effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭dasdog

Personally I think this boils down to money and resources.

-Ukraine (rightly) said no to giving up their rare earth minerals/precious metals
    -Russia made an offer that if sanctions were lifted and they were brought in from the cold they would strike a deal with the US for access to these in the areas they currently control in Eastern Ukraine
    -Russia may have also made an offer for access to US drilling companies to oil resources on their own soil

I think that's what has triggered the flip. It's completely morally bankrupt but Donald Trump is completely morally bankrupt.

How does Lavrov square his stance when Trump has asked the EU countries for what they can contribute to the solution including peacekeepers, someone correct me if I am wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭vswr

ESB have been sending Ukraine old spares just for the craic the last 3 years

Trump bight become the first US/Russian oligarch. Up to now there are onlyRussian or US oligarchs!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭omega man

Rightly or wrongly it’s a different story when it’s on your border. The Baltic nations will be demanding action surely…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

I’d reckon trump is after something like the molotov ,ribbentrof pact of 1939. And carve up Ukraine between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

You have to admire Zelensky for saying Drumpf lives in a russian disinformation space,

Only for Drumpf to prove his point in short order.

Not much of a poker player is old Don!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,807 ✭✭✭threeball

Is there a scenario here where the CIA step in and have him offed? Surely it's completely unacceptable to have a confirmed Russian asset as the US president running around upending a world order they spent 80yrs cultivating. Whilst trying to neuter the agency in the background. Maybe Airforce one has an in-flight malfunction with his "best and brightest" on board.

They can blame a DEI hire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Honest question. Honest answer. I read as much as possible about geopolitics. Not saying that I know much about any specific topic despite my research. The Russian invasion of Ukraine is only one of the areas that I am interested in; very much secondary to the question of whether Clare will retain the All-Ireland etc. etc. I always believed that the US would eventually get tired of the conflict as they invariably do with most issues. I am just surprised at the unprecedented speed of the u turn. not scared as I am of an age where it is unlikely to impact on my life but most certainly fascinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The Russians probably can’t believe their luck over the past 2 days.

How Trump has the balls to call Zelensky illegitimate but yet is about to sit down for talks with a president that has been in office for over 20 years?
    **** mad this all is.

I’m waiting for the sanctions to be lifted by the Americans, it won’t matter for **** what Europe does then. It’ll be a free for all

Since 2020, the world has gone batshit crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,878 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Eggs are still $10 and that's what this has always been about.

If they thought Trump was doing well they wouldn't shut up about it even as far away as Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭bilbot79

This would be a good time for Denmark to tell Trump, we'll sell you Greenland when the Russians are back in russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭eoinbn

If he really wants it, he will take it. Not much Denmark can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Not quite correct that it was Zelensky who first offered mineral rights. It was Trump who brought up the idea of obtaining minerals on Monday, February 3rd and then Zelensky said he was very open to the idea of exchanging some mineral rights for military aid four days later.

But Trump has now come in this week mafia / gangster style and seemingly demanded $500bn of Ukraine's resources.