Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arts Council wastes 7 mil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,481 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Its the same era as Windows Vista. Anyone still using Vista, why not? It's it not pretty enough for ye?

"...The initial plan was to replace the largely manual grants application process with a new system.

But it grew in ambition to a "business transformation programme" which would integrate five existing business systems into one core system..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Danye

That tactic didn’t fail. He got re-elected (romping home if memory serves mr correctly) and he’s back as the No. 2 politician in the country.

Simon Harris lying? Nevvvvvver 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,481 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Post edited by Flinty997 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,897 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Have you ever been responsible for supporting public Internet systems that are based on obsolete unsupported technologies?

Yes, and they keep the country going. Stuff initially developed almost 30 years ago. With some code in it dated back to the 80s.

I don't know what the issue is? Did you lose the source code or the expertise to use compilers lasted updated over a decade ago and don't run on modern PCs, while other parts run on the latest technology etc. Maybe your understanding of Support is different from mine?

Boards is a classic example. Oh it is old and outdated, we don't know how to fix it. We cannot support it.

Let's replace the software with modern new software!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

This type of wastage of public money really annoys me. I know of another current project which makes Arts Councils look like Micky Mouse money.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

The primary issue is security, when you're running on platforms that are not supported or updated to address known security exposures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

When I worked for a consultancy on public sector contracts we always knew to really push for change requests and suggest enhancements in Q3/Q4 because managers at a certain level have budgets which they must use or lose the following financial year. It was pushing an open door and easy to convince clueless senior management who were more concerned about their final pension. I also saw a project that could not go live because the unions would not accept the new work practices even though the new solution saved a huge amount of time and money. Delayed it 2 years. I personally did not like the public contracts.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭manualskeleton

If they're getting a bursary, they're not meant to deliver anything. It's for professional development.

Slightly off topic but Unions, particularly those within the public sector are to blame for a lot of wasted money as highlighted by the point raised in your post.

Can you identify any specific examples of where unions have been to blame for wasted money over the past ten years or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Ah come on. The Arts Council is processing a few grants for artists and organising a few plays, it's hardly the National Cyber Security Centre or the Department of Defence. How much sensitive personal data are they responsible for.

Sure the reality is that some of our public hospitals have IT systems that are so outdated and out of licence that they are actually very challenging to hack.

According to radio 1 just now, they had the chance of procuring a bespoke system for 1.5m but decided to go big...

Of course they did, it's much easier to spend someone else's money. Lessons will be learnt no doubt.

They record personal information, they also manage vetting for those dealing with children. It IS personal data.

They were absolutely correct and justified to go about replacing their 2008 systems in 2018. The problem was with the way they wen't about it.

I'm not sure what that means. There original plan was to go exactly along those lines, procuring a bespoke system for investment of that scale, upgrading their financial system and other systems in parallel.

What do you mean by 'go big'?

That was the phrase used on the radio (Radio 1, 1-2pm) - a tried and tested system existed which is used by other customers specifically for grant applications. It would have cost 1.5m to buy/implement. I think they meant an off-the-shelf system that they could just plug and play. I was listening to the radio on this all morning and it has all the hallmarks of a typical public sector contract that had no business owner and little or no governance. Scope creep was off the charts and there were no financial stage gates or benefits realisation checkpoints. There were no costs or options in the business case (Jaysus) and they never asked the Department for budget increase approvals. Car crash stuff. The external consultants were clearly running the whole show. They even brought in someone from Grant Thorton to act as CIO at 250,000 for one year. Alarm bells. They chose the most expensive tender response too (out of 8) which is interesting. It was supposed to be delivered in 2022! Catherine Martin did nothing. All of this came to light in the recently published 2023 annual report which was very very very late. They tried to hide it.

Lessons will not be learned.

One of the big 4 will be brought in to investigate but in my experience they will never blame any of the other Big4 consultancy companies because they know they could be investigated in other projects by them They scratch each other's backs. They will blame a retired manager or ex minister or some generalisation around poor requirements/governance. Tip of the iceberg I'd say.

Off the shelf is the exact opposite of bespoke, hence my confusion. It seems that they did end up going for off the shelf in the end.

The question remains as to whether off the shelf would have been the best option in 2018. If we're being charitable, it's possible that the off the shelf options that were available in 2018 didn't meet their requirements, but things had moved on by 2023/2024, so now off the shelf does meet their requirements.

Personally, that seems like an unlikely scenario. It seems they were badly advised by the IT consultancy report from 2018 which advised them to go for bespoke rather than off the shelf.

I got the impression from the guy on radio that the bespoke system was written or configured for some other department that handles grants and it was ready to go. So not exactly commercial off the shelf but a system they could duplicate. I might be wrong because some articles mention commercial off-the-shelf. I am not sure we know the full details yet. The domain is not complex. However they started with a custom built grant system that grew in scope to handle other functions within the Arts Council and the scope got silly. I'll do more reading on it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,529 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The last part I would say is very debatable. I think the HSE disasters source was a single PC running XP, I am guessing a lot of software like anti virus wouldn't be supported or in anyway up to date on extremely old platforms, so risky especially if open to the web etc.

Back in the day I remember a huge bank having a PC running a key piece of software on something that looked like it was from a 70s Sci Fi film. So I am not saying it is in any way just a PS/CS issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,529 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I think "quite limited" is doing a lot of work in that quote personally, would be interesting to see if the NCSC agree.

Older OSs don't always support up to date anti virus software. XP for example is out of support since 2014 and it's last security update was 2019, especially if open to the web. In my experience older OSs also won't always support the running of other key software the business area might need for their job and an up to date web browser, not a good idea.

Obviously there are also threats from people still plugging in USBs (if allowed) as well as the usual eejits clicking on every dodgy email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

The mad thing is that Simon Harris keeps getting away with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭_BAA_RAM_EWE

Post edited by _BAA_RAM_EWE on

This waste will grow and grow.

Arts Council spent more than €9m on consultants since 2019 – The Irish Times

Arts Council spent more than €9m on consultants since 2019

Staffing at the council has increased from 36 people employed full-time in 2015 to 114 in 2023, the reports disclose. Staffing has more than doubled since 2020.

The annual reports note spending on various types of consultants grew from €816,000 in 2019 to €2.7 million in 2022, before falling to €1.8 million in 2023.

==========

They are already throwing Catherine Martin under the bus if you were watching the week in politics.

One of the consultancies on the project was Ergo. Ergo has received more than €7 million since the start of 2023 for work with various departments. The CEO for Ergo worked as a partner for Grant Thornton for many years. They all help each other to screw the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭ForestFire

At this stage wouldn't surprise me if Tubridy appeared as a consultant for his many years experience in book writing/publishing (about himself and JFK of course)

Can we just skip the PAC and go straight for criminal investigation?

I'm actually thinking the PAC is a way for the government to delay and protect at this stage. Bit if drama for the public, but that's it once over....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Can we just skip the PAC and go straight for criminal investigation?

What criminal offence do you think happened here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I didn't say there was one...that's what the investigation is for? My main point is PAC is useless, like the rte probe.

But some as the post just above mine refers to consultancy work given to potential people with conflict of interest, how was this consultancy work awarded, was it tendered and awarded correctly? But as I said investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

There was a time people laughed at the idea of Micheal O'Leary being brought into the government as special advisor or some such.

I would give my right arm for something similar. Maybe trump is on to something.