Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Well that comes back to management planning and not just going for whomever is available. Whenever they decide that Amorim is no longer the man they want in charge then they should have identified a manager who has similar style/beliefs/formation. There's plenty of managers who now favor the 3cb packed midfield two 10s/wide forwards and one striker system. It's up to Berrada, Wilcox & Co. to identify who the next man up will be and that they match the values/style of the squad at that time. We should never again be in a position to go from Moyes to LVG to Mourinho etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

There is so much there that misrepresents what I actually said, but hey, if only I had a penny for every time that happened.

But the sense I get from your points are that the club won't sack Amorim because they know things were a mess. But that doesn't actually get to my original point at all.

I know the place is a mess, everybody does. I know Amorim has huge challenges ahead, and any other manager would also have huge challenges ahead. The players are weak, the structures have been poor, all of that is absolutely true.

But that does not change the key question here, namely, "Is this the right person for the job?".

We still have to ask that question. Bad as things are, sticking with the wrong person can still make things even worse again, so they have to be clear headed about who they give this rebuild too.

Pointing out all the challenges the manager will face does not tell us if he is the right person to be facing them. The only person who can do that is Amorim himself and that is all I have asked for from day one, for him to start showing something that gives some indication that he is the right person.

For example, the Rashford situation. I look at that and think "Yep, this guy gets it, that is the right way to do this". How he handled that gives me hope.

But I can't think of anything else that does, because his performances are crap and all his players are regressing.

I personally think the whole system thing is very overblown. A lot of supposition is based on it and I am not convinced it is actually the case at all.

They decided at a senior level to pick a very specific system that suits nobody in the squad? Was this before or after they gave Ten Hag a new contract?

Or, did they do like so many have done before, look at who was the hot new property in management and approach that guy?

Its frustrating though because the "system" is not what was wrong with the squad to begin with and rebuilding United did not need any system change at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

I'd use Arteta as a more contemporary comparison rather than fergie. He inherited a lacklustre side of overpaid, under performIng players with many well past their best years. He also brought through / in number of young, hungry up and comers.

ETH was given the same benefit but after 2.5 years we had regressed so I'd fully expect RA to be given the remainder of this season and all of next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I think the exact opposite tbh.

Why would it be odd for the club to pick a manager based on the style they want from the club?

City wanted Pep and Pep football, and hired managers in sequence to get them there.

Liverpool evaluated many managers, and picked Slott in part because of how he suited the squad and how they wanted the club to play - Amorim was decided against cause his style didn't suit what they wanted.

Brighton pick their managers based on their fit to the squad, and the long term planning of the squad is done by the club.

As you say, managers can be sacked - so wouldn't it make sense for the club to create a 5 and 10 year plan and hire a manager within that plan, rather than hire a manager and ask them to create a plan?

IMO it should be likely the next manager plays 3atb or has a VERY strong connection to a similar shape in build up - otherwise, as you say, the squad won't match them and we are back to square one. Why would it be ODD to look to avoid that?

So much that misrepresents what you said? Can you expand on that?

These are the things that relate to what you said:

1. I can understand your view that he should/could be sacked if things don't improve.

2. But I also disagree with your conclusion that only buying Dorgu in January means he is delighted with everyone else in the squad and doesn't actually want any new signings.

3. And maybe with the context Beradda and Wilcox have Amorim IS showing them something, anything, as you put it.

What do you feel is misrepresenting you?

I do not think Amorim should be sacked, no matter how many times people say it. Asking him to perform does not equate to wanting him sacked or thinking he should be sacked. Not at this point in time.

I do not think that "anyone" with a different view is irrational or delusional or blind.

I do not think that Amorim is delighted with his squad or didn't want new signings, Dorgu or no Dorgu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Seattle

Fair points but I'm not convinced Berrada/Wilcox are fixed to 3-4-3. I think they are wedded to the possession/positional/control style of football. It's hardly a surprise given they've come from City. In the event they do replace Amorim it'll be with a manager of a certain profile. If you listen to Ratcliffe interviews before he bought United it's very clear that he admired the Barca/Bayern/City way of doing things of the last 10-15 years and spoke about how Chelsea and United never got to that level. I think that's the broad vision they have that's set in stone and Amorim's 3-4-3 is just a theoretical variation of it. The whole purpose of creating a proper football structure with best in class people upstairs was to have a long term vision and not put all our eggs in one basket for whichever manager is currently employed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Obi Martin trained with the first team this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ultimate Gowlbag

Not a big deal when you hear the whole story,Amorim implied there was a bug or some illness in the squad and said a couple of players were called up to make up the numbers

Ah I know but it's a good chance to showcase himself

Side note : Love your username 😅

…..

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/123131342/#Comment_123131342

Well, here we are, they had opportunity to address that and all they did was sign a 20 year old full back.

If he can't do anything with the squad he has, then why didn't they sign anybody? Why not some loan signings?

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/123142049#Comment_123142049

Because a lot of people give him a pass until he can replace the players, but if he himself says he knows what he wants to do and that it didn't include new signings just yet, then is that not on him going forward?

as for the sacking commentTHe original post this morning said sacked in the summer if thinigs don't improve.You said you agreed with that and said:"and if fans were rational and objective about the situation they would see that it makes sense."I then said: "I can understand your view that he should/could be sacked if things don't improve"How is that a misrepresentation? I didn't say you said to sack him immediately.

"if fans were rational and objective" the implication being they are not.

That is a fair view-point. Yep, could be the overall philosphy is set rather than a given implementation of formation within that general style.

In which case the club would need to be careful that the players they sign both work in the formation amorim is using, and are adaptable to a more 'normal' formation as well. Dorgu being a good example of that.

I've heard rumours Amad has picked up a bad injury. Hopefully the rumours are false. We really can't afford to lose him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Anyone else see this beaut of a limited edition jersey?

https://www.adidas.ie/manchester-united-terrace-icons-jersey-gender-neutral/JF0386.html

Ordered mine last night, and hardly ever got authentic jerseys during the good ol days

Why can't our actual jerseys look that good?

Maybe it would look rubbish with a snapdragon logo on it and whatever the name of the data partner on the sleeve is.

Are you calling me a liar then? That I do actually believe the things I just said I didn't think?

What is your goal here?

You asked the question and I answered by literally saying in black and white what my opinion is, and still you seem to want to claim otherwise, sounds like misrepresentation to me?

If you want to say I am lying then just say it.

I don't believe I lied about you, or misrepresented your comment history - which is what you claimed.

If you say things differently, giving them a different slant or things that don't jive with what you have previously said that is fine. You can restate or change or contextualise what you have said. You can say you were being hyperbolic or flipant or extreme to make a point. But that doesn't mean I misrepresented what you previously said, when that context had not been provided.

You claim i siad your view was that Amorim should be sacked - but I didn't say you did. That was not the viewpoint I claimed. I said you thought he could/should be sacked if things don't improve. And I explained and showed where I took that understanding from. Someone said he won't make the summer if things don't improve and you agreed and said if people were rational they would see this.

You said you don't think people thinking differently on that topic are irrational… while saying that if fans were rational they would see your arguement makes sense.

You say you don't think Amorim is happy with the squad - but you had said the reason we didn't sign anyone in January was his decison and therefor he must be happy with them and think they can achieve his goals. Which is what I disagreed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

What's wrong with putting a fan in a jersey add that has a beer belly and looks like he/she might actually attend a football game. I want inclusion in my club 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Caustic

Mcguire will feel hard done by looking at that goal ruled out but as the commentator said two hands on the back it's going to be a free out

I assume there is nothing controversial about saying Sunday should be both a win and a strong performance from the team?

Spurs currently in poor form, an injury crisis still ongoing and with a manager who could be gone at any minute.

United 9 days since the last game so a nice full week to work in training, relatively free from injury and another full week until the next game so should be the first eleven on the field.

If ever a good performance is going to come it should be this game, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

It's like you're just hoping the performance won't be good and they don't get a result so that you can make more negative comments about Amorim.

Personally, I would hope for a good performance and result but wouldn't bet on it. Amorim alluding to some players being unavailable for United this weekend as well. Football is clearly not an exact science so we'll just have to wait and see. In the short term I wouldn't be confident against anyone United are playing.

Seems like we'll be missing two of our most impactful players from recent times, with amad seemingly out along with martinez.

Will be interesting to see if he goes with Bruno or mainoo at 10.with garnacho if amad is out.

Will also be interesting to see where mazraoui plays.

I prefer to say my expectations before the game, too many people call it hindsight if you're critical after a defeat.

And it doesn't even make any sense to say that setting expectations means I want the performance to be bad. If the performance is shite I am going to say that, if the performance is good I will say that too, making a prediction changes **** all in that regard.

There is nothing wrong with stating what the expectations should be, more people should try it. Setting expectations encourages reflection.

And honestly, if we can't bet on a good performance on Sunday then when can we? Everything is lined up for one, Spurs are missing half their team for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭kippy

These type of 'signings' would never have made the news a decade ago but now whole articles are written about them. Christ the club is in absolute disaray, this guy is just another smoke and mirrors merchant who will need a payoff in a few months time, all the whole the core staff at the club have been getting let go weekly.

The club have literally been run into the ground, the Glazers have sucked hundreds of millions out of it at no risk to themselves and these Ineos lads have process the Glazers with the perfect shield from the fans well deserved ire.

I dunno, I don't believe the club has been at a lower point in the past forty years, both on and off the pitch combined and the only light at the end of the tunnel is the oncoming train ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Spent the last half an hour trawling online and I can't see any reliable reports of Amad being injured, just lads on twitter getting worked up and re-tweeting each other. Where is it coming from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

All guess work. He could of meant the goalkeeping coach was injured and wouldn't be able fill Rashford spot.