Dublin Airport New Runway/Infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Economics101

Any news on airline bookings to/from the USA? TrumpWorld seems such an unappealing destination. And maybe Americans might feel a little uncomfortable taking a vacation in Euope, given that meos people despise their President. And that's before any tariffs or tax changes start to impact on business-related travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,143 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

There's no debate. These are documented facts (that anyone can read). There was a question about capacity and I answered it, that's all.

If you don't believe that history said that's total up to you. I find that odd, when we talking easy to confirm facts. But I'm not trying to convince you or anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,702 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Lads , does this increase in passenger number application, not have to go through 5 public consultations first?

I agree. It makes no sense for the cap to still be there in 2025. A planning condition is not supposed to limit future development.
    The T2 terminal in ~2007 was a "10 year plan". The FCC's original condition was something like "the year the airport reaches 30m passengers the operator shall submits plans for expansion". That was not unreasonable imo. DAA should have been looking that this from 2017. At the very least, the No-build application should have been in years ago. Ridiculous that they are submitting in 2025.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Probably very little impact in my opinon.
    Most leisure booking for Spring/Summer 2025 were made last year.
    Americans travel numbers wont change much (Either they want an escape or the don't care about "commie Europeans")
    And depending on how the imminent/potential trade war goes, we could see a very favourable exchange for one side of the Atlantic, meaning more attractive travel to the other side.
    Day to day business travel doesn't really care about politics.

Any impact from tariffs will be felt in 12-18 months. We may see US companies halting any planned expansion in the EU/UK in reaction to tariffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 DubToDeise

Dublin Airport posted on Twitter that the High Court upheld the decision to grant permission for the underpass.

Does that mean that part of the Infrastructure Application is now irrelevant and can proceed?

If/when resubmitted, there will be 5 weeks where it is open to the public for observations. Then if there was an FI request, there could be another period if it significantly changed. There should really have it all packaged completely as this stage - especially after the last feedback with the invalidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

But with tariffs some US companies will advance plans to open a base in Europe to service the European market. Ireland would get its fair share of such companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭dublin12367

Fingal County Council at it again!

daa applied for permission for the following late last year.

“The provision of apron bus access facilities at Terminal 2, comprising the construction of a vertical circulation core (10.95m high) to the south of Terminal 2 (airside), linking to Terminal 2 via a glazed passenger bridge. The development will also include minor road re-alignment works, the provision of a bus set-down area to the east of the vertical circulation core, a covered walkway and all ancillary development, site works and services on land to the south of Dublin Airport Terminal 2.”

Fingal requested the following

https://planningapi.agileapplications.ie/api/application/document/FG/6PG8HF4J7QA4B5QXURU5SC4PC96JFA585DXNY7EUK6YTJNZUZNLK784T32XX6FUQQ9QVMWMZR9V5W

daa responds with the following; and makes it clear that same type of information request was already clarified in a previous application!

https://planningapi.agileapplications.ie/api/application/document/FG/UBYFGVE3P36289PQLA8MK6679WMSQGFKYDFHJ4B4F8H9NLPASZ6R6SZL5GKHSXXVGV47A45XFHT34

Not sure that's FCC being "at it". I think you might be misreading one of the links above.

In the first link, executive report states application clamed "sightlines exceeded 50m, in excess of requirements for 42km/h public road, and airport is strictly 30km/h". But the drawing wasn't provided. Report question how they achieve the above. Importantly, a 40km/h road actually requires 72m not 50m. A 30km/h road requires 48m.)

Report concludes development is acceptable in principle, but sightlines demonstrating compliance are to be submitted. That is a completely reasonable request from FCC given the lack of critical information, and the apparent misunderstanding of the requirements. The fact the sightlines where not shown (and cropped from) on the drawing is a bit of a red flag tbh, at best it's very careless.

New drawing submitted shows sightlines are...30.08m - and just about makes the 30m requirement for a 20km/h road and far short of the claimed number. Given they got that so wrong originally, the FI is pretty justified.

and makes it clear that same type of information request was already clarified in a previous application!

The previous application is the underpass application, it's a completely different part of the airport (pier 3) and has nothing to do with the above sightlines at T2. It definitely didn't address the above, and even if it did, it still needs to be shown in relation to the new design.

What they are actually trying to claim is that, the underpass application demonstrated that airside roads are up to IAA to approve and are exempt from planning and exempt from the requirements for a public road. Kinda flakey argument, given the design statement claimed it greatly exceed the safety standards for a public road in the first place. And if they were going with approval by IAA rather road standards, they'd have to show that the IAA approve.

It's kinda obvious what happen. Architect messed up the sightlines. Luckily they also got the speed limit wrong, it's 20km not 30km. So looks like it should be approved. Probably some professional embarrassment on the architects behalf, so they are trying retroactively move the goal posts rather than owning the mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

28R in use this afternoon for departures and arrivals. 28L closed for a bit.

" Will do whatever we can " you're the bloody leader of the country aren't you ? Can we get musk and trump over here to clean the place up... that cap would have been gone in a week or less, over there...

Has a report been commissioned into it yet ? So that their buddies can make some money out of it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Whatever is to be done, let's not suggest that Trump and Musk are the ones to emulate. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Economics101

No, but the sheer snails pace of decision-making and implementation in the Irish State sector is so awful that it almost makes me wish we had a Musk in charge (much as I totally despise Musk, in case there is any misunderstanding)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭john boye

A great way to mark yourself out as someone not worth listening to is wishing we had Trump or Musk in charge here.

" The other thing I’ve noticed in Ireland is that we don’t have leaders anymore. We just have managers. I can think of lots of people in the semi-State, politics, the Civil Service, business who were absolute leaders and set the tone. Now we just have systems and layers of red tape. We cannot get anything built, because everything has to go through the most tortuous planning process. "

You're right, the extreme we have here with years of indecision, cost implications and letting every gobshite have their say, is clearly the way forward...

Effectively the role of taoiseach here, is the same as president, mainly a ceremonial role...

Do you think the leader of the government should ignore, bend and break the law at will?
    It might result in a quicker decision here, I can't see how that's a desirable situation overall. Has there been any autocratic ruler that worked out?

The timeline is a bit blurred. But I think next week is 8 weeks, could see a draft decision from mid-week. And granted or rejected it will be appealed by somebody.

I think the government, should stop the messing around... its critical infrastructure, end of... that certainly puts it out of any council hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Blut2

Didn't the government exactly ignore, bend and break the law at will during covid? The government is above the law when it wants to be.

We have precedent, speeding the very convoluted process up for something very obviously needed (lifting the cap) wouldn't be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭markpb

The government were very wary about the scale of the Covid restrictions because of the precedent it set. A global disease which had the ability to kill thousands of people was deemed important enough to do it.

It's a tough sale to suggest that an airport cap has the same level of criticality. If they decide it is, what next? Should the government ignore the planning process to get MetroLink built because of the positive effect it will have on the economy and reduced emissions in Dublin? Should they ban pre-2008 diesels and cigarettes because of the health concerns? Those seem like things that are obviously needed so no need to follow process there, right? Or should they only bend the rules when it's something you feel strongly about?

What's your actual suggestion/proposal? That the government grant unrestricted license to DAA to develop as they want, or that instantly kick it to An Board Pleanala?

I think it should have been a critical infrastructure application from the start. But the DAA successfully lobby to exclude it, and keep it in the hands of the council. They can't have it both ways. I'd assume they had a reason.

I'm sure many rules were bent during covid, for various reasons. also corruption does exist.
    That doesn't mean we should be hoping the government would flaunt the law at will. I think its strange that anyone would be calling that a good thing…If only Putin were Irish eh.

We have precedent, speeding the very convoluted process up for something very obviously needed (lifting the cap) wouldn't be a problem.

Not sure what precedent do you are referring to? But I doubt the government introducing another pathway would be faster overall. The best way for government to intervene would be for the Minister to have a quiet word with the council and get it determined, then repeat for ABP.

It's not like the cap or the 32m passengers arrived over night. The DAA had nearly 20 years to deal with the cap. It's not march 2025, and they don't even have an application in. At this point they'd be better off waiting for the infrastructure application to see how the cap uplift is staged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Blut2

The government made it up on the fly with covid restrictions that had no legality or logic - a 12euro meal, 5km radius rule etc. Laws, common sense, and the will of the public were all ignored when they wanted to do so.

A cap that everyone can see makes no logical sense, that is severely restricting the use and growth of the only major airport on the island of Ireland, is by any definition a critical piece of national infrastructure and national policy.

There is no downside whatsoever to the government declaring tomorrow that the cap can be ignored.

Thank you! It's am absolute banana Republic, they can pull whatever they want out of their ass, when it suits them... I don't want this country run by a tiny minority at the top or these idiots at the bottom, a tiny minority, who simply shout the loudest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,249 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The €9 meal was based on an existing legal definition of a substantial meal in a licenced premises; namely that from the era when you had to get a meal with your ticket to a nightclub. Absolutely not made up on the fly. Inane use of it, yes, but not made up.

Dated back to the 60s when it was 10/- (50p); inflated to £2 and then €9 in two steps over the years.

So wr should just wait decades for it, massively escalating costs. That's what you're saying , we should be happy with ? Literally nobody I'm close to, can stomach these absolute wasters or their talking any more. Mostly self employed and competent people, what a surprise. How could they relate...

But their good enough to gouge for taxes for decades. And then you expect something not resembling third world infrastructure and are surprised when people have the gall to question this farce ? When is it acceptable to have this vital bit of infrastructure? 2050 , 2060 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Just to clarify, in relation to COVID-19, that, to give legal force to the measures that were introduced and changed at various times, legislation was passed by the Oireachtas and signed into law by the President. There were legal challenges to some measures but none succeeded, to my knowledge. The wholly exceptional nature of the health emergency was the rationale for powers that would never have been contemplated in normal times and no Government is going to try to replicate the use of such powers to solve a tricky political problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Didn't the government exactly ignore, bend and break the law at will during covid?

How many of the legal challenges taken succeeded?

What does that tell you?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

The whole world had to react on the fly. At times heavy handedly. But the 12euro meal had a basis in law, as pointed out above. The 5km radius has a logic and was encoded in law.

The cap is restricting the growth now, obviously. But it wasn’t intended to limit the airport to the 2007 plans. It was a condition around when the next stage should be developed. It’s become a restriction because DAA have sat on it since 2017. The operational application should have been in years ago.

There is no downside whatsoever to the government declaring tomorrow that the cap can be ignored.

There is clear justification to grant the operational application. The need is here, the evidence is there. But people, ie local residents, interested groups etc, have a legal right to object. That doesn’t mean they can prevent it, but they have a right to be heard.

Same way somebody who is clearly guilty is still entitled to a trial. Certain process are legal entitlements. Allowing the government or a semi-state operation skip those process is a slippery slope, especially it’s the latter’s fault we reached this point.