Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding Q&A superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,610 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Was heading down to Avondale last Tuesday and think I got caught coming out of Glenealy by a speed van sitting just after a bend. Waiting with baited breath for a letter though the door but nothing yet. Whats the average time to get one of these dreaded letters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭josip

Not sure of what the average time is, but it's not uncommon to arrive up to 4 weeks after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Can you get done by the Speed Van on the motorway in the opposite lane of traffic when there’s a wall at the median strip ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

If the camera can see your numberplate you can get done if you're speeding.

I wouldn't be relying on seeing a speed van to avoid getting done. The laser guns can detect at up to around 1km away - you're never going to see someone holding an LTI Ultralyte to their shoulder or even mounted on a tripod 1km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,729 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I've never gotten caught myself but a few years ago a friend of mine was caught on a Sunday and got the letter in the door with the Wednesday morning post

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Waze speed camera alerts have saved me a possible fine and points a couple of times recently.

Last Thursday a Mondeo over took me and got caught less than a mile later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭Damien360

I guessing this thread will be very busy after 7th February with the changes coming. This is environmental calculation dressed up as safety given the actual comparatively low death rates on our roads compared to EU.

https://www.gov.ie/en/campaigns/3c65d-slower-speeds-safer-roads/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,251 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's another idiotic pandering "seen to be doing something" notion that will only frustrate motorists and I'm sure generate a lot of extra cash in fines and penalty points/insurance impacts.

From what I've seen online, several of the councils themselves seem against it, complaining that it's being imposed on them by Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Does anyone know if the regional( R roads) will be affected with the lower limits? The government claim that it’s local and rural roads however i was on a good R road today and there’s a lot of shiney new poles gone up ready for some sort of signage. Ridiculous if that is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Might need extra signs put up where you go from a local (60kmh) L road onto a regional (80kmh) R road where up to now there would have been no need as they would both have been a contiguous 80kmh zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭Glebee

I think with these new lower speed limits coming in Waze is now a necessity unfortunately. Speed vans and board guards hiding in ditches waiting to catch people going over 60km of a perfect road

Whatever about the speed vans, I think it's been 10-15 years since I've seen the proverbial guard hiding behind a tree with the speed gun. Maybe I've been less observant. But what a turkey shoot it must have been. He was tucked in behind the southern pillar of the bridge at Kilmacanoge on a Sunday evening. Maybe he caught enough that evening that they haven't had to venture out since.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ Where's Wally in that picture? 🤔

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭quantum_technician

How is road sign recognition on modern cars going to handle the 5 line stripped road sign?

It means 80kmph today but how about next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Orban6

Old news but I love it.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0616/77371-wicklow/

I checked a route on Google maps from start of one L road to end of another and average speed was 48mph. Speed limit hasn't changed in Google maps on this route yet.

I checked route between two villages with a series of L roads between them as best route and the 14.7km journey time goes from 17 minutes to 23...and with speed reduction on L road Google maps will in future be suggesting a faster route partially on R road but which will funnel traffic on to a terrible boreen.

Don't expect local Councillors to vote speed limits back up to 80kmph for fear of stoking the ire of road safety Activists. The same applies to N roads. The supposed remedy of approaching your Councillor will not work in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭Damien360

Whats the tolerance on the speed vans ? Was doing 106 indicated which is 102 on GPS when I passed one. 100 zone, Wicklow today. Had been a steady 103 before that which is 100 GPS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I was told 6% by a Garda. Which is 106 in 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭farhankn

Is there a way we could check for Speeding tickets as I have recently changed my address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Look , the most vocal on here are Lycra clad cyclists who own EVs, and are anti car/ice, and pro speed cameras.

Don't expect much sympathy or support.

Boards.ie is dead... Long live... .. hmm reddit maybe

This is very true, and simultaneously surprising and depressing on a motors forum but particularly over on the Commuting side where anyone not wholly in favour of buses, bikes and pedestrian power is the devil.

Each to their own I guess - unless you're a motorist who actually likes their car and driving.

I think you can ring the RSA and ask. Alternatively maybe a Garda station if you're pretty sure you have some coming to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Killinator

If you think you may have been issued an FCN you can contact the fixed charge processing office in Thurles and check

I received a response from TII saying check with manufacturer of car to see how road sign recognition will work so reading between the lines that means TII and Minister for Transport haven't a clue and had not even considered how the speed limit would be determined by modern cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,175 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Introducing that sign wasn't the smartest idea

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Rothmans

In fairness, it's your responsibility to read the signs, not your car's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

To me, that sign with the back stripe, means end of speed restriction.

Fado fado.. it meant end of 30/40mph , and that 55/60mph applied

Then we went to km, and it was replaced with 100km signs.

I'm the UK that sign means 60mph, in Germany it means.. end of speed limit.

I don't understand why we went with its either 60 or 80kmh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Got the kind of letter we all like, finally I am back to zero points.

Was dicing with danger a few years back, had to cop on.