So I Bought A Thermomix….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭ablelocks

all i know about the thermomix is that my sister in law couldn't cook before getting one, now she is quite good on a range of meals across the day - so fair play to thermomix, because i don't think there's a human in the world that could have taught her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,384 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Is she actually cooking, though, or is the Thermomix doing everything for her? My aforementioned friend thinks she's the world's greatest soup chef now, but all she's actually doing is putting ingredients into her soup maker. With a Thermomix you don't even have to chop them first, by the sounds of things. That's not cooking to me.

(I am aware I'm beginning to sound like some kind of weird Thermomix crank, btw. But if she wouldn't be able to cook all those dishes without the Thermomix, then she's still not a good cook, imo.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,790 ✭✭✭10-10-20

well yes whether it's actually cooking or following directions doesn't matter - ye don't realise how great a leap it was! my brother used to do all the cooking, but then got a job that involved a lot of travel. It was he bought it - he showed her how to use it and left it to her then to figure out…

oh, and for rice, i follow the darina allen method - par boil rice for 8 mins - rinse, sieve and transfer to butter greased oven dish, add 3-4 knobs of butter, cover with tin foil and place in oven preheated to 140c for 20-30 mins (give it a mix after 7mins or so to work in the butter). perfect rice and if there's extra, I follow her method for egg fried rice the next day.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

but sorry- if you’re putting ingredients into the soup maker and producing lovely soup; then if she put the same into a pot and got an immersion blender she’d achieve the same end.

The soup maker is just an all in one tool- it’s not doing all the work for you it’s just consolidating the two jobs you won’t do (heat and blend) in one device.

Are you suggesting that your friend couldn’t make the soup exactly as the machine does on her stove? And if so; why couldn’t she? It doesn’t come across like a TM crank but you are sounding a bit like you think everyone who uses kitchen appliances beyond the basic fire and blade is some sort of hack.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It’s giving her confidence and that can only be a good thing. We’re not all cooking fanatics She night have never been particularly interested in learning but find herself at times having to cook for a family. If you’re not a hurling fan and used to the skills, you can’t turn up at the local club match and do well. Same with cooking and maybe she’s happy with being confident to pull meals out of the thermionix which is fine but learning how thugs are supposed to look like as taste is a big help as well. I’m sure some of what the thermionic is doing has to be sinking in as well. In the end though, she’s cooking decent meats for her family, has to be better than the chipper every day.

Well that's kind of exactly my point, my friend 100% wouldn't be able to make the same soup on her stove, and she'd tell you that herself. This woman genuinely can't boil an egg. (As in, genuinely, she destroyed a pot of mine a few years back when she forgot about eggs she had boiling, all the water evaporated, the eggs exploded and the pot warped.)

Could she "cook" with a Thermomix? Yeah, insofar as she could put the ingredients, push button A, wait til.it beeps, push button B when the screen tells her to, etc. And out will come a delicious meal, by all accounts. But did/can she cook it? I'd have to say no.

And yeah, you probably have a point about me being a bit of an old-school cook. I cook from scratch pretty much every night and about the most high-tech appliance I use is my mini blender. I was a very reluctant convert to our Ninja Foodi and if it went on the fritz tomorrow I wouldn't miss it at all. I'm not a Luddite by any means, but as I said in an earlier post, pretty much all the things I enjoy most about cooking are the hands-on, manual elements.

I work long hours and am on-site 5 days a week, I don't get home 7ish most evenings. But cooking is my down-time and very much how I switch off from quite a stressful day job. If I don't feel like it, I'll just do a salad, or crackers and cheese, or freezer-dive for leftovers/the remnants of a batch-cook. So like I said before, I personally just don't see the appeal of a TM. But obviously everyone's mileage and circumstances vary.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

but so what if that’s how someone cooks? If the end result is good food then that’s great— technology is helping lots of people do lots of things they were previously unable. I think it should be celebrated not lambasted!

I also think it could help build confidence and encourage an interest to learn more. Either way I think more people enjoying good fresh food is no bad thing

I should also acknowledge that I'm probably a bit of an outlier in that I'm happiest eating dinner somewhere between 9 and 10pm. That's obviously not really an option if you have kids to feed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I think it’s just another step in home automation/convenience appliances really. It struck me this morning. I had a wash to put on so lashed my porridge into the TM and set it off. I went about gathering up the washing and getting that going as well. It occurred to me there were probably similar conversations back in the days of the early washing machines with some saying the person with the new machine wasn’t really washing, just throwing the clothes in and then putting them on the line. It was kind of reinforced by a chat I had with my mum earlier in the week who was telling me about the 60s and 70s where, amongst other things, electrical shops did demos of electric cookers, which I seem to remember is sort of what Mary Berry started out doing. All that being said, if I wanted to prep something special where slicing and dicing was important, I’d do that by hand. The TM does a good job of it but it’s not quite uniform. Also as Éowyn taught us, it’s no burden to be able to cook anyway when the electricity dies. For the rest of the time, the TM is handy I think.

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Soc_Alt

My OH wanted the Thermomix TM6 and Thermomix Friend years ago for her birthday and still uses it every day for meals.

I think she uses something call Cookidoo app for recipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Having everything from an ice cream maker (thanks lockdown 😀) to a blender to a food processor to a stand mixer I guess I do like the “idea” of kitchen gadgets.

However, I think you need to be dedicated to cooking up weird and wonderful recipes that require these gadgets on a regular basis.

I’m not a big “soup” person so my blender, though wonderful and a good 20+ years old, has hardly got a look in - but it looks great 🤪

I use my magimix a fair bit - and the stand mixer dough hook for bread but often I just use a hand mixer for blending as it’s easier and more convenient .

If starting out today would I buy this?
    I think I’d be tempted- but you need the discipline of using it- I’m not sure I’d have that - I love my professional chefs knives- I love cutting veg and preparing - but then again I’m usually not cooking for more than just a few people- 2-6 on average - if over that it’s usually then BBQ time.

If you want to make soup, then you have an expensive machine tied up making soup - or bread- or whatever - I’m probably not sold but that’s because whilst I do have gadgets I haven’t had the will or motivation to really explore what my gadgets can do - and maybe that’s the best advice I can give here - if you’re not famous for diving in and really getting to know your new gadget regardless of what it is, and you don’t feel you have the motivation and time to “learn”- this may not be the gadget for you .

Other concern is repair? After 2 year guarantee what recourse do you have - where can you get this repaired and what tends to go wrong over time?

How does she find the TM Frirnd? It seems like overkill to me at the moment. I’d happily take over some parts of a recipe like boiling potatoes or rice/veggies etc.

Yes, Cookidoo is the built in recipe app. €60/year subscription. You get the first 3 months free when you buy a TM. Personally in think they should give you the first year free after dropping €1500 on the TM to begin with. It’s useful though. I can see myself building up my own recipes in time though. What I don’t like, and may be wrong, I read somewhere that any custom recipes you add, which could be family hand down recipes, become the property of Vorwerk once you create them. No bueno IMHO. That’s a huge sticky for me. I’ll keep anything like that on a separate recipe app.

Post edited by squonk on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,683 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Friends of mine got one. Paid about €2k. They swear by it.

But they run a bar/restaurant together and rarely cooked before now. Lifestyle changes promoted cooking at home.

Thermomix literally does everything for you. Recipe to follow on screen, chops and blends, cooks and heats.

Thing is if you don't have all the ingredients "computer says no"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

PS: @squonk well done for starting the thread - very interesting and will follow thread if you’re posting more experiences of using it.

I think she likes using the TM Friend when its needed but I would say 9 / 10 times shes just using the TM6.

Shes a vegetarian so uses it to create veg meals daily

She also makes alot of sauces to portion and freeze so can cook something in the TM and unfreeze a ready made sauce.

I dont know how to use it myself but she knows every detail about it.

What I also notice is that it seems bullet proof as she never seems to have issues.

I remember starting off there was some issue with cooking rice as the water might boil to the top but she resolved that along time ago.

Thats where the apps come in I think

You can download a shopping list to your phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,057 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

@squonk , I do find this thread very interesting but you'd be doing every poster a courtesy if you read over your posts and corrected typos before posting them. Some posts have so many typos they are very difficult to read.

"All that being said, if I wanted to prep soldering special where slicing and dicing was innocent, I’d don that my hand. Tge TM does a good job"

Above is quite typical of your posts.

Thanks. I do when I get the chance. It’s down to typing on a phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,057 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I suspect most of us are typing on a phone and we all make typos. It's about being bothered reading over the post before posting and correcting the typos.

well I do, maybe not at the time but do afterwards.

One week into owning a thermomix, I can kind of see why people love it so much. To be honest, I thought a lot of the talk was just hype.

i’m surprised by how much I’ve used it every day this week. I raided the cupboard and made soup for lunch. Ordinarily, I just would have had some bread and cheese. Today I did a small bit of prep at morning break and I was able to kick off the cooking process while still working away at my job later. The soup came out great. It’s things like that that make a difference in my book anyway

Overall, I found myself making a few things that I wouldn’t normally have bothered with.. just because the machine is there and once you have the ingredients it’s very quick to get the prep done. I hadn’t expected to be this happy with the thing at this stage.

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭AnnieinDundrum

lol at following instructions not equating to cooking.

Of course it is, everyone uses recipes. Whether they are in a book, a magazine, an app, a website… or a screen on a kitchen gadget.

If a handy gadget gets someone started what’s wrong with that?

I find my fake one very useful. It’s currently simmering and stirring a tomato sauce for 25 minutes while I watch TV.

Just giving a heads up that there is a new model, the TM7 that was announced yesterday. The new machine has a 10” screen, flat base, insulated bowl and you can cook in some modes without the lid. It’s also €100 more expensive. Not enough really to make me annoyed I’ve just purchased but quite nice if you’re thinking about getting one.

I will say they Vorwerk make Apple look loose-lipped when it comes to talking about new models. With tech companies however you can make educated guesses about new hardware releases and base your buying decisions on that. Vorwerk literally say nothing and don’t have a predictable release schedule. Personally I dislike that.

I’m not sorry I purchased the TM6 now. The new modes aren’t anything overly exciting. The updated processor I’m sure is good. The TM6 can be just a bit slow at times but not to the point it annoys me however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭deandean

The tech version of Murphy's Law OP: a new improved version will always be launched just after you make the purchase!

LOL True. I figured there was an update coming as the deals in January and February pretty much threw in all the extras for €60 above the base price. I’d probably be less impressed having the new machine but having to shell out down the line for accessories. Some are useful.

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭bazzjazz

Great thread. I am considering a purchase so it is good to hear both positive and negative opinions from 'normal' people!!!

Interestingly, while the Thermomix itself gets great reviews in general, the same can't be said for Vorwerk. There is plenty of quite negative reviews about them on Trustpilot. It wouldn't stop me purchasing, but is interesting all the same.

We are supporting someone with an eating disorder, so I think it will help me greatly in terms of meal prep during the week in particular when time is short and at weekends when prepping for the week ahead. Good quality nutrition is essential so anything that makes it easier to achieve this consistently sounds good to me.

I think for what you were looking to do with it it probably is worth the purchase. You’re not wrong about Vorwerk. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more secretive company. With the launch of the new model, they’re pretty much kept everyone in the dark, including the advisors. My advisor was at least honest with me when I was buying and told me she didn’t know there would be but she did mention that she thought there would be something mentioned in next conference whatever things they go to happen. It just struck me that it’s a great business policy to have your sales people lying through their teeth on your behalf.

so, that aside, I am one month in and absolutely delighted with my purchase. The novelty has well at this point because I things so much. What I can do and of doing still impresses me. For instance, about two weeks ago, I was at a funeral on a Sunday evening And got home late. While I was unpacking some shopping around the kitchen, I was able to turn the machine on and get a quick soup going then go and have a shower and get and I got back to ready made soup with no effort whatsoever. Definitely if you have a person with an eating disorder, it will easier to do extra dishes for them.

I’m I think my only general criticism so far is that I find the machine can be a bit louder at times. Even on speeds there is a kind of a high pitched sound. It really was apparent the other evening when I put some milk heating up I went outside for something and even quite a distance away I could still hear the machine. It’s not that it’s particularly loud, it’s just that the frequency of the noise travel. The new model has a much more silent motor so I’m sure that probably won’t be an issue for you. Honestly too, it’s a small complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Roisin Ingle gave it a great write up in the Irish Times last week. It was almost an advertising feature with no real criticism of the appliance.