Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I Bought A Thermomix….

• 02-02-2025 3:08pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I’m posting this in case it helps anyone down the line. Honest reviews of this machine are hard to find as they’re swamped in tonnes of marketeer garbage.

I’d been thinking about getting one for a few years. I’d asked here to see if there were any owners and any feedback I got was along the lines that it just took the cutting steps out of a recipe and it was expensive and I can’t disagree with any of those.

For me, anyway I work from home, I want to be able to make dinner quickly in the evenings or also help out my mum with meal prep as she’s got arthritis. I had the flu at the start of January also which made me realise that, although I like cooking, sometimes you just want something quick without too much effort. The offer for this month was quite good so I figured I’d give it a whirl.

I’ve only had mine a few days and am very much at the baby steps phase but I’m so far impressed that I can make some decent porridge get breakfast without having to attend to a pot. I’ve made hummus which came out very nice and it’s the same with making hot chocolate. Set and forget. Next up I’ll make some soup to try that out.

Everything about the machine is very sturdy and works well. To be fair, for €1500 it really would want to.

The thing that really put me off thermomix is the whole “Consultant” schtick. Basically like a Tupperware sales model where you attend a demo in a home and they try to sell you a device. I didn’t attend one. I’d seen enough on YouTube to show me what to expect. I really do think this is the biggest issue with the thermomix because these consultants post plenty of content with glowing reviews and plenty of influencing rubbish. It’s extremely hard to find an independent review and when you do they aren’t overly great as there is a learning curve with the thing. I suspect it’s why they don’t sell the thing on Amazon or Curry’s etc. Firstly it’s too expensive but you need some guidance on getting used to the thing. I’d also say it’s to keep the prices up as well. There’s a bit of an Apple vibe in that Apple don’t sell discounted iPhones ever and so don’t Vorwoerk who make the thermomix.

I’ll add more as I get used to the thing if people are generally interested.

For now, all I can say is it does make things a bit easier but I can still see me doing things manually at the weekends when I would have more time. I’ll be honest the price is nuts and that’s a huge reason to not get one. I think if it cost €1000 they’d still be making a decent profit. It does what it does very well though and even heats up very quickly but for the price point you’d expect that anyway.

I’m not a consultant nor do I want to be ever but I’ll happily answer any questions if anyone has them. As I said at the outset, I want to give an honest impression of the thing as those are kind of hard to find amongst all the fluff. I’ll probably post some more later as I get used to using the thing. .

Post edited by squonk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,429 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Could you maybe post that in English next time, Squonk? 🤣

Joking aside, I'm not familiar with these, is it like a Ninja Foodi or Instant Pot or similar? Struggling to picture an appliance that could make hot chocolate quicker and more easily than a microwave, tbh.

We have a Ninja Foodi and it's grand, but I could easily live without it. I hate how much space it takes up on the counter too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Yeah, sorry about the typing. I’ll come back and adjust the previous post in. The Thermomix is nothing really like an instant pot or a ninja. I have an instant pot and love it. It’s a pressure cooker though. The thermomix is, for all intents and purposes, a fancy blender that can heat and cook food with a screen that can connect to a recipe service. You also control the machine through the screen. probably worth saying that the bowl capacity on the thermo is 2.2l Where as my instant? Potaa ctake up to 6 L. So if you’re trying to big crowd, probably are going to be annoyed with the thermomix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,569 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I like this thread because I'm interested in the phenomenon of the thermomix but I still don't understand why anyone needs/wants one. But people who have them love them (I've met one) and I know that professional kitchens use them. But I just can't quite grasp why. Perhaps it's just that I just don't have the specific needs and others do. People spend more money on machines that just make coffee, so I'm not judging people for spending money on an appliance if it is used. But are they really used the way a coffee machine or toaster or kettle or oven is used? I could buy several good quality blenders for that price that would probably each last decades. Someone explain this to me, please.

You are dead right in what you are saying. Yes, you can buy a perfectly fine blender and it’ll do s as great job. I think the thermomix thing is that it heats. You can cook with it as well. As a blender is powerful and fast. It heats up very quickly as well. I totally get where you’re coming from. I was the exact same. I just couldn’t see why people would love them so much. What actually makes it worse is that a lot of the videos that you people trying to insert the thermomix into a workflow where making something actually ends up taking longer. With regard to usage, I find I’m using mine two or three. Certainly when I’m back to work next week it be used twice a day anyway. I think really makes a difference is that it’s an extra pair of hands And you can leave it to do things without having to worry about it. I wouldn’t say I’m at the point where I’m raving about it but it kind of feels like your favourite brand of that it does what you wanted to do very well but yes, the cost is crazy. I kind of saying it’s a birthday present to myself Because I’ve had a significant. I guess what I can really say is, help you, yes. Do you need it? Maybe not. You can certainly live without it but it’s handy to have.

If it's used daily and lasts years , I wouldn't fret about the price unless I went into debt or was going hungry to buy it!

Yup. That’s what I think. My big fear was it would gather dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭deandean

Well done OP, wishing you lots of lovely meals out of your thermomix. I love my kitchen gadgets. Two Q's for you:

1. Dows it take up a lot of space on the countertop? I guess its heavy and you have to leave it in the one place?

2. Did you still have to go through a 'consultant' to purchase it - or can you buy direct?1

It’s about the size of an air fryer. I thought it’d be bigger but it doesn’t take up much space. It’s also not very heavy either. The weight I think is 7Kg but it doesn’t feel like a massive chore to move and there are handles.

You can only buy them through a consultant. I was going to write about that experience. I found it a little disconcerting. The I was in contact with is very chilled and wasn’t really trying to sell me on anything. When I had a good about it, I decided I would go for it And she asked if I wouldn’t mind placing the order through another consultant friend so that he could fulfil his sales. I had no problem with that. He placed the order and I received a link where I paid for the device after that I received an invoice and confirmation unlike buying direct you consultant with any queries. What’s also annoying is that you have to verify that your address is correct before they place the order because the address can’t be changed apparently afterwards. That seems a bit stupid. Any queries about your order such as delivery time or anything else also has to go through the consultant it’s not a system I particularly like. I haven’t been in touch with my actual purchase consultant since, just my original consultant and she has added me to a WhatsApp list which is very helpful so yes, it’s kind of you’re handing over that amount of it’s a bit unusual.

Seems a very peculiar sales model alright. Almost like an MLM or something.

What's the warranty on it, out of interest?

yes, there are definitely tinges of MLM there. I don’t think the consultants however get kickback from the consultants they have recruited mind you I may be wrong because I don’t really care enough about that side of things.

The standard warranty is two years. I can’t see too much going wrong. Apparently every five or so years you will need a replacement blade. I think that’s something like €50 or maybe 70.

Biggest annoyance so far is that, while making soup warmer, the screen froze on me. It came back but isn’t what you want mid cook. It didn’t stop you ready as much as it holds you up 20 seconds or so. I checked up and the screen apparently gets a bit temperamental if splashed. It may be down to my using a damp cloth to clean it. It’s not ideal for a cooking appliance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭foodaholic

I'm approaching my one-year anniversary with my Thermomix, and it has truly been a lifesaver for us. I work shift hours, and my partner is quite hesitant in the kitchen. With our Cookidoo subscription, my partner selects meals he finds appealing, and then it’s as simple as cooking by numbers. The kids especially love the new dishes he prepares!

For me, it has been fantastic for meal prepping—I haven't chopped an onion in nearly a year! I also find it invaluable for baking bread. My 12-year-old loves experimenting with it too.

I've joined a few Thermomix groups on Facebook that offer plenty of recipe inspiration. For instance, I would never have imagined trying parsnip soup, but it has now become a staple in our household!

Yes, I kind of feel braver in the kitchen with it. I haven’t tried anything exotic yet but I know I can. I like to experiment but have no backup in terms of somebody to chop or watch a pot while I’m doing something else so the thermie gives me a bit of that freedom. Once I build up more confidence with it I think my residents will expand.

Great to meet another thermomix user here. I started this because it didn’t seem like there are many of us and I edge to share my experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭cobham

I like my soupmaker that produces soup in 19 mns with a "ping ping ping". It is the size of a kettle which is is basically with a blender in it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,931 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

It is "only" a fancy blender, with heating feature, with inbuild scales, and access to 1000s of recipes off their portal via the touchscreen, that you can also browse and select on your mobile - that costs 1400Euro odd

I was insanely sceptical about it before we got one, the main benefit my wife and her best friend were telling me was that it can make soup, or mashed spuds- after the exact same amount of peeling , so i wasnt really seeing the benefit.

We took the plunge nevertheless as the wife was convinced it'd make her life better, and now that we have it its used every day. If you ask me, the main benefit, and this is not really pointed out by the consultants, is that someone with a busy life juggling kids and work (at home) cannot fk up the dishes.

It guides you through the recipe and does the measuring and fine chopping saving a bit of hassle and time but for me the key benefit is that during the cooking it "stirs" your dish constantly and the heat cuts out after the designated time so its impossible to overcook or burn or boil-over or whatever. It takes the stress/ jeopardy out of cooking when youre under pressure. When youre using it you can nearly turn off your brain, just follow the instructions on the screen and the results will be decent.

As a bonus, as mentioned above, if youve kids then they will start using it to make deserts/ cakes/ bread or anything they fancy. The inbuilt scales combined with step by step instructions means its almost foolproof

So, it kind of sounds like an appliance for people who just don't particularly like cooking? No offence whatsoever to those of you who have and like one! I dunno, though, it just seems it would cut out a lot of what it actually is I enjoy about cooking - browsing cookbooks, doing the prep and the mise en place, stirring and tasting as I go, etc. But more power to anyone who has one and if it's the difference between feeding your family a home-cooked meal or sticking a ready meal in the oven, then I guess it might (just about!) be worth the money.

The screen not liking getting splashed does seem like a rather basic design flaw, though. Our induction hob is the same and it drives me dotty. If I had €1,500 to spend on something for the kitchen, it would 100% be a gas hob!

I wouldn’t say it’s a machine for people who don’t like cooking. I think if you like cooking you’ll do it anyway. I like cooking myself. It’s why I’m here. I love the process. I love learning new skills and improving the ones i have but that’s when I’m either in form for cooking or have the time. It’s a time saver for busy times and, as I’m finding out, once you set up a recipe and follow it, you can go away and do something else knowing that nothing will get burned or anything else will go wrong. I made soup earlier following a recipe that turned out lovely and I am thinking of making it manually outside of the thermomix using my stove or the instant pot to get a larger quantity. It does inspire you a bit. All that being said, it’s so quick to lash up a fresh batch in the thermomix if I need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Raichų

the main benefit of a thermomix for professional cooking at least is the ability to do many jobs with one unit.

The thermomix can blend, puree, heat, cool, etc it’s almost unstoppable. For example, when making a puree, the food should be hot so it blends easier. The thermomix allows you to set a temp and it will maintain that (up to a speed setting of 6 max granted) but it removes the need to heat the food first and then blend.

It’s very good at blending also which is another positive. Not as smooth as a VitaMix but bloody good never the less. I found the only main issue was the bowl isn’t that big. Also if the lids not on exactly how the machine wants it is a nuisance.

Cleaning it is also really easy because the blender bowl can be taken apart fully (blade included)— be careful of getting the pins wet or you will have issues with using it. If you put the blender onto the base with wet pins it’s a nightmare to dry them inside the base.

I wouldn’t bother with it for at home to be honest but they’re a right piece of kit tbh. Look after it and you’ll never need another blender in your life. I think you can also make ice cream with them— which is cool.

We used ours to make chocolate tuile etc as well so it can be used for dry blending also which some (vitamix ahem) require additional bowls purchased for those jobs. Great all round kitchen tool but I wouldn’t recommend it to majority for home as the price is very steep and there’s plenty of far more affordable options to do what most would need to do.

Enjoy it though OP, I can’t pretend if I could justify the money i wouldn’t own one at home 🤣

not at all. I love cooking, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I love wasting my own time.

I know quite a few chefs who actually use Thermomixes in their restaurants. It can be a real time-saver during prep, eg making there own mayonnaise

There is a coffee shop near me and they have an old TM5 and make their cinnamon rolls from scratch each day in

Yeah, but as Raichu (who is a chef) has pointed out, there's a world of difference between a professional kitchen and a home one, and it just sounds a bit, I dunno… redundant, yet overkill at the same time in a home kitchen to me?

Anyway, this has all been an enjoyable lesson for me as I'd never even heard of them til this thread!

I've sent my OH on 2 cooking classes to no avail

He's finally cooking now so I will take that for the win !

It was great for the christmas prep this year - all the neighbours go christmas cookies

I even made the red cabbage this year instead of buying it from M&S

We even invested in a second bowl as we use it so much

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

I'm very curious if it can do caramel. That's the main thing that comes into my head when I hear about them. Hot to a set temperature and constant stirring? (the recipe I use for caramel squares requires about 20mins of stirring)

Yes, it does make caramel. I haven’t done it myself yet but I’ve watched some YT videos on it. Trying to cut back on sugar so I’ll try it at some stage but I’m in no hurry right now

yes; here’s a simple enough recipe if you want to give it a go and see how it turns out

https://thermobliss.com/thermomix-salted-caramel-sauce/

hugely popular in professional kitchens because they’re a multi use device which saves time AND space! The biggest problem with them; usually there’s only one and you can end up with a bit of a que for it. 😂

one kitchen I worked in you had to ask the chef for it and he’d only give it if you had a good reason because the thing was in such high demand; GM wouldn’t let him buy another one but to be honest we would’ve needed 3-4 to keep everyone happy. 🤣

guys by the way; any of you who have a thermomix and a desire to make something really special (but without spending hours and hours) should check out Gronda app. It’s essentially an app where pros post their recipes etc and you can find a ton of thermomix recipes on there. What with valentines around the corner…

Thanks Raichu I'll definitely try it out

ive used it to make gourgeres - so quick. It really makes short work for kneading dough as well

I must ask my chef pal what they use theirs in the restaurant kitchen for.

I still don't see any need for one in my life, though, irrespective of the price.

A example given was that it made spiced red cabbage. I make red cabbage every Christmas and all I use is a chopping board, a knife, a pot on the hob and a spoon. I'm not going to be getting rid of any of those things in a hurry and I reckon you'd still need the knife and board even with the TM.

Yeah you need the knife and board in fairness but you can walk away while it’s making the red carnage and prepare sobering rise in that time.

You can walk away from loads of things and be doing something else while they do their thing, in fairness!

To use examples like this makes it quite evident the benefit and purpose of the machine is being totally overlooked.

It’s best to compare a high end blender to another high end blender think so that’s what I’ll do.

I own a vitamix and have done for close to 10 years now and the damn thing is a beast. It would blend fecking rocks into a smooth silky puree and beg for more. That said; if I wanted to make strawberry sugar I need to spend another few hundred (yes that’s correct) euro on a dry mixing bowl for it.

The TM is 3x more expensive but at least 30 times more useful. You can literally make anything in it. Anything at all. Ice cream, milkshakes, smoothies, purées, tuile, flavoured sugar, blend spices, grind coffee, weigh Ingredients, cook stuff, reheat and blend food; so on.

Of course it won’t mean you can chuck out your knives and chopping boards, but who said that? If you buy an air fryer would you expect someone to say “sure you can get rid of your oven now I reckon” course not! 🤣

But streamlining recipes and approach to cooking is just the modern way. Look, if you want to sit and grind spices and herbs in a pestle and mortar when you want a curry paste, God Bless, I’ll just get the kitchen aid cordless blender and have it done in 30 seconds.

I love cooking, I love food in general every part of it from touching to smelling to tasting and feeling the textures and flavours in my mouth, (that sounds kinda weird actually)…. Anyway, point is I love it.

But I also working 9 hours a day 5 days a week— so sometimes to enjoy the food I like I need to do things in a modern or non traditional fashion. Am I bad for that?

I mean, I’ll ask you this; do you still walk to the shops and carry the groceries back on your head to cook on an open fire? I doubt it. If how we approach food in terms of sourcing and cooking it has changed so much— why is a Thermomix such a bad or stupid thing? if you think you can do all it can do with as minimal effort and equipment? Think again.

the damn thing is a beast and well worth the money. Frankly even most professionals don’t use it to the fullest extent it can be used. Lots of kitchen just use it to blend..

also there’s cheaper versions of the TM by other good brands if you wanted one without the €1500 tag.

No one here is mocking or criticising TM owners or suggesting that they are useless. It's just that for me, the way I cook and what I cook, I can't see why I'd want one. But then I'm a person who can't see the benefit of a rice cooker despite rice being eaten daily in this house 🤷

You said yourself earlier you don't really see the need to have one in a home kitchen, and all I'm saying is pretty much the same thing. I already have a good blender, I have no interest in making ice cream or caramel, and I've yet to meet a soup recipe I can't make on the hob and finish with my stick blender or in the jug one if I need to. And I actually do quite enjoy grinding spices by hand in the pestle and mortar 😆 Even at Christmas when I'm making large quantities of ras el hanout as gifts.

Like TBR, I just don't see the appeal for the way I cook, or the way most people I know cook, tbh. That doesn't mean I'm advocating for a return to the fulacht fia.

And fwiw, I've seen more than one thread on Boards where people have been fully prepared to die on the hill of an air fryer being a perfectly reasonable replacement for a full oven!

Yeah but that’s because I know realistically very few people are in a position whereby spending €1500 on a blender isn’t reasonable!

Like no one needs one. Great if you can afford and I was just trying to illustrate they’re not just a Gucci blender essentially. Certainly they’re a reasonable price I think but I think you can also live happily without one (and I do- I don’t have any plans to buy one).

It certainly means some jobs I do at home are a nuisance but that said I wouldn’t have food to cook with one if I bought it anyway. 🤣

Never could replace my oven. I think air fryers are decent at high end but generally a bit shite tbh. Just my personal feelings.

oh no you NEED a rice cooker!! They’re unreal handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭cobham

I cant understand why you need a special device to produce rice! Rice+bit of salt+boiling water at ratio of 2 to 1. Lid on and turn down/off heat = done in 10 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I always microwave my rice, so long now I thought there was no other way, habits ha

I had one. Didn't see the advantage of having another appliance so we got rid of it after using it for a bit. As far as I'm concerned a saucepan, hob and timer are a rice cooker.

• Administrators Posts: 54,715 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Are these the fancy blender things that you always see chefs using on the likes of Masterchef and Great British Menu etc? They at least look similar but the touch screen with recipes etc doesn't seem like something a professional kitchen would have, is there a consumer version and a pro version?

I always wondered what those yokes were.

I feel the same way about the soup maker my friend went into raptures over. Actually now that I think of it, she'd probably love a Thermomix too!

I think we're just not kitchen appliance people. I have an old Braun food processor and a stick blender that cover my occasional needs and I borrow a kitchen aid blender once a year to make chilli sauce! I like knives and l love my grinder and espresso machine but that's pretty much it. Had a grinder/sausage maker but got rid of it due to lack of use. Same for vacuum sealer. I don't even have a pressure cooker or slow cooker. If I had a bigger kitchen I might consider an air fryer for economy. And perhaps an old school sealing sandwich toaster 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I hear that they are great for 'hot wet rice'. (Sorry in advance, but this has to be shared.)

😆

They are the same machine. I’d say the recipe app is there to widen the market. Chefs know what they’re doing out of the box but I don’t doubt it helps them make components quickly and reliably. The recipe function is there for tge rest of us!

To be honest more than you’d think chefs will follow recipes (as in it will be in front of them while they make the dish)! I know lads who have binders full of recipes they bring to work every single day or they’d be completely fcuked.

Oh I’d believe that. I was just thinking of the basics like bechamel and the like. I’d assume that’s stuff they know straight off.

I asked a chef to make me béchamel for lasagna and they went for this

So yeah, unfortunately some things have been lost on many

High end restaurant chefs are all about carefully following recipes. It's not the splash of that and pinch of this that some might imagine. I guess if you are weighing ingredients a lot (I rarely weigh much), that facility would be very handy.

A few days in and I’m finding I’m using the machine about 3 times daily during the week. Unattended soup reheats at lunchtime, making hot chocolate at night. I also make porridge at breakfast. I altered the standard recipe, 40g oats, 120 milk and 95ml water to about 200ml milk and 55g oats. Recipe runs for 8 minutes. The stock recipe came out well but was very thick. I’ll use it for dinners later in the week once I’ve burned through my stash of batch cooked things.

Tge self clean doesn’t quite do the job with porridge. It gets busy if the stuff off the bowl but there is she stuff still left at the bottom. A bit of a run over with the dish brush does the job. You could probably just skip the self clean and manually wash the bowl instead.

There is no timed start either. The machine trashes about 20-30 seconds to start from cold but it would be great if it had a timed start so you could switch it on venue you woke up.

Post edited by squonk on

You're going to have to explain again for those of us in the cheap seats (i.e. me) why you need an appliance to make hot chocolate or reheat soup. Does the microwave not do that for you in, like, two minutes? And doesn't need to be cleaned afterwards.

I'm genuinely not trying to be facetious here, I literally just don't understand!