Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭ipitydafool

Hope they have late changes to this teamsheet, for a start cant see how you could be starting Ryan O'Neill inside after his performance the last day, was very poor against Monaghan, Conor Madden or Ted way better option imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭celt262

You would wonder what sort of vision do they have off where our Senior team will be in a few years time or do they even care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I didn’t think Ryan was that bad. I thought he won whatever ball went in - which wasn’t a lot because it’d be hard to move the ball slower than we were at times.

I think it points to what’s available that we are going back to TED. No offence to the lad but he’s been in there years and hasn’t held down a spot. I know his free was called back but he didn’t look to have any confidence taking it that he’d put it over IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

So ahead of another local derby and the most important one to those of us east Cavan folk. The team does not seem too inspiring to be frank. Hopefully if James Smith does start at full forward they might think of kicking the ball high into him, as generally thats what you are supposed to do starting a big man in there.

Not sure on starting Beenie at full back and keeping him inside his own half either and he can really travel with the ball. Personally I'd start him at 6, and have himself and Carlon running the ball from deep and leave McVeety at centre half forward in a play making role.

Hopefully we see more attacking intent, faster tempo and more creativity going forward.

Its a must win tomorrow really need to get some momentum going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

That display just sounds abysmal

Atrocious. An absolute shambles. Embarassing. The third goal summed it up - the Meath player fumbled the ball twice yet the backs couldn’t get it, then the forward takes a shot that was rolling along the ground and our keeper manages to let it through his hands. Comical.

Thats absolutely shocking two local derbys and you would think they were playing a challenge match....

Tactically we are lost.

Two of the best runners with the ball in the county left in the full back line.

Absolutely no plan on how to attack but let the opposition set their defensive shape before we even think about attacking.

Absolutely nothing in the middle of field and two keepers who wouldn't get near a decent senior club panel in other counties.

Liam Brady had a good run out for Ramor yesterday evening. Might not be the best "fly" keeper but can find a man with a kick out, catch a ball and close his legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭benjy1000

It’s on Galligan, bringing on O’Donnell and the u12 carry on that followed then.

A pitiful performance by all concerned, relegation is a certainty as far as I can see.

Faulkner was spitting feathers when he came off, as bad as things are & they are bad, this season is the last for Oisin Kieran, and surely a few from Faulkner, Gerry smith, holla, gunner, mcloughlin, gmck, mc veety, killian Clarke could well walk.

If we think things are bad with these , wait until we see what’s coming behind these lads.
    We will see it alright from division 4.

Things can’t be right in the camp. The Cavan players didn’t look up for the game in the warm up before hand, no intensity to the drills.

McVeety was over with Galligan after the first goal went in and did not look happy.

Faulkner looked annoyed when subbed. Shaking his head and walked into the dug out without even acknowledging his manager.

Its grand though we will have lovely seating the far side of Brefini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 bearonthesquare

What a shambles. We need to get our act together and fast. That was impossible to watch for the few fans that was up in Navan.

The shambles of getting rid of Andre is shining through now at all levels. We need to get these lads in bettter shape. Amateur hour stuff.

Our county board need to respond to the ambush of a local journalist. No one cares about stadiums, health and wellbeing, scor or any other nonsense. We care about standards and winning. End off.

Our games development manager could be about to achieve a unique feet, a double relegation. Until he goes, the rot wont be got rid off.

Time to act now. We had no problem removing our S and C coach. Someone else needs to follow him out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

None of this unfortunately can be rectified in a year or even 3 years. It's a bit like climate change, we all knew this was coming but we probably didn't realise how quickly it would come. I cannot see how we avoid the drop and I cannot see us coming back up for a long time.

I hope everyone enjoyed are Ulster win in 2020 because i don't think to many of us will be around for the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Has Cavan a Div 3 team with a Div 4 manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

That sadly is a very apt metaphor. We've all seen this coming, but were in total denial that it was happening before our eyes.

Spot on. Part of a voluntary board is often managing staff, including the performance of staff. Time for someone on the county board to start putting in targets for all employees, and regardless of who they are. If they're not met, time to move people on- even if it means a financial hit. We're genuinely starting into an abyss now.

Oh dear. I still maintain Meath are no great shakes but we managed to make them look like the Kerry team of the late 70s. It was shocking.

If anyone can see a plan out there in the first two games, good luck to you.

It's almost as if the Monaghan and Meath had time to review the "game enhancements" and in both games we only heard about them before throw in. We are open at the back and ponderous in attack. That's two local derbies where we've been taken apart and we have shown the structure and intensity of a challenge game. I absolutely cannot understand this.

This is like Kildare last year or Down a few years ago. I'm not naturally pessimistic, but I think we've got the look of a doomed team that is going to get beaten by everyone. I really hope I am wrong and that there's a kick in us, but after Sunday I really can't see how.

I do wonder if the challenge games that were played which seems to have been all against Divison 1 teams did anything for the teams confindance and abilty to work on a system of play.

I don't think we have the personnel on the sideline to develop a style of play within the new rules. If you see how we played in the last couple of games its basically the same as last year. Except we are keeping Beenie and Carolan back, two men who can run the ball and gain ground.

Slow build up play with two men inside begging to receive the ball in space, McEvoy and Lovett have pace that will hurt teams but again so risk adverse pissing about hand passing is preferred option.

Its not just us though, theres plenty of county management teams waiting for Armagh, Dublin, Galway, Donegal or Kerry to come up with a tactical approach so they can copy them next year.

Look there is still hope, Louth, Down, Westmeath and Cork are all beatable but on reality I don't think we have a game plan and also think the management team do not have to he ability to come up with one to get the best out of who is available.

Listening to We Are Cavan, you’d think Killian Clarke was Michael Murphy & Bryan Fenton rolled into one.

I’d heard one member of the management team, who has now moved on, was particularly critical of the players we were relying on last year and that a revamp of the panel needed to start. It appears he was correct.

On present form, this is another year we’ll be back to the Tailteann Cup & it won’t be third time lucky either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 large_palette

The policy of leaning into the older players rarely leads to success. Whereas blooding youth and culling the panel seems to be the secret sauce of a healthy setup. You read about the great managers making the brave calls on selection and the tough phone calls to keep things fresh. This is the complete opposite.

As someone said to me recently, we must be the only county in Ireland with novice managers at senior, U20 & minor level.

The U20 setup was, by all accounts, nothing other than a complete sh!tshow last year yet the manager was allowed to remain.

The one good experienced manager they did have, Seanie Smith from Mullahoran, unfortunately walked away before taking the Mullahoran ladies to an All Ireland semi final.

Are the county board now going with the cheap option at all grades to save funds for Breffni?

Raymond is at this stage in danger of becoming the Steve Staunton of Cavan GAA - ruining a superb playing career with an ill fated managerial stint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 large_palette

It demonstrates a lack of confidence. Not in the players but in his own ability. To mentor a crop of debutants through the league, and retire a couple of his old teammates. And be able to stand by those decisions in the face of doubt and criticism while his unique vision *eye roll* takes shape. That type of confidence usually comes with the bitter experience. But my gut tells me that it'll be another case of chopping and changing the old faces until he bows out and we're back travelling to places like Portlaoise and Ennis. I never liked the appointment and I think you're right in saying the CB went with a low cost option. A weak attempt to mimic what Monaghan done with Vinny Corey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

I will reserve judgement on the Galligan appointment until I see how he reacts. This is now where good managers are worth their weight in gold - confidence low, poor start, must win game etc. Can he get it turned around or will we go into freefall like Glenn Ryan did last year. My boss at work once told me its easy to be a captain in calm seas - its how you perform in rough seas which is the measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭ipitydafool

Don't think much has changed with the u-20 setup this year either! I heard they wanted to let him go after last year but then did a last minute u-turn.

I listened to the WAC this week and wish I hadn't as only made me more annoyed about the development in Cavan- apparently a fully funded role put up by Kingspan for a development/Academy coach in Finbar O'Reilly wasn't allowed to happen. Mind boggles at how Cavan football being ran at moment.

For the craic there i just looked up the Cavan Gaa Website https://cavangaa.ie/coaching/ and wasn't suprised that there no no content on it.

I then went to the Mayo website https://mayogaa.com/coaching-resources/ which has lots of good content including some excellant videos.

There is not alot of interest within the County board to do a whole pile in relation to coaching and development. I know they did some workshops last year with club coaches and i would commend them on that but when you hear what is going on now with developments squads it's easy to see thats not where priorties lie.

There is more promoting going into raffling a generator.

What sort of twine is McCabe getting as GDM with the co board ?

I can’t find it mentioned in the convention report.

Be highly embarrassing to say the least for the county board if Westmeath bate Cavan & relegate them & McCabe on the payroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 bearonthesquare

It’s no wonder our county team is staring into the abyss with the shambles that is our county board.

We have a board that’s afraid of the GDO—a man who’s double-jobbing and prioritising another county over ours. This is the same person who drove all the school coaches out while he remains in place. When will someone finally say enough is enough?

Take the job advertised to oversee all underage teams. Only one person applied: Finbarr O’Reilly. He was ready to switch careers and fully commit. His track record is incredible. And yet—he was deemed "not suitable" simply because there wasn’t another candidate to compare him against. Or, more likely, because the GDO didn’t want another strong voice in the room, especially someone with a proven track record in underage development.

It’s a disgrace.

As I’ve said before, Health and Wellbeing, Scór, the stadium—they’re never priorities. It’s all about football and winning, and always will be. End of.

Just look at our underage development squads. It’s a complete mess. Compare the current situation to the days of Peter Donnelly. Now it’s just a wraparound service run by a few parents, with gym sessions declining compared to 15 months ago.

Wake up, county board. Do your job. People don’t want musical chairs at the top table or fantasy projects. They want real action.