Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

relegation from this division is a real possibility.
    Antrim, Dublin and Laois are all definitely capable of wins against us…..🥲🥲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭seananigans

i doubt it, expect to see a real backlash against laois, if we don't then possibly i might agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

I honestly think we could be in for a similar fall to which Offaly suffered. Eye has been taken off the ball at underage for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 gaafanatic

Laois?? Have you seen Laois? Antrim, Dublin, Westmeath and Offaly all better than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Poor performance from a depleted panel. We look at home in division 1B. Let’s not throw the toys out yet as Queally is trying some players out who other managers didn’t give a look in to and everyone said they should have (maybe those managers just knew better)

For those saying Kiely is just a forward, I agree that’s where he’s best positioned but he did often start at number 6 for the Waterford minors as was immense at winning ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭decies

Time will tell how season pans out, have to say though it will take more then a raffle of a house finance wise to keep the Waterford people onside if we could be stuck in this league AND not get out of Munster . We need a response now in coming games the championship will be on top of us before we know it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Shameful performance. Abysmal brain dead set up but the lack of fight or anything approaching pride in the jersey is totally unacceptable. I've been following waterford hurling since the late 1970s and today was the worst performance I've seen. We were relegated to Div 3 in 1983 and there is a real possibility of that again. Our underage record for the last 10 years should have had alarm bells ringing, but we've ignored the warnings.

Some of the players on this team- who started today- would'nt get on a lot of club teams in more successful counties. One player who has been in and out of the panel for the last few years- his attitude was a disgrace today. If you don't want to put it all in for your county then kindly **** off!! Actually hard to believe some of the things I witnessed today, trying the same tippy tappy hurling all game despite it not working from minute one and our management sat there watching it doing nothing. You reap what you sew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Haha it was. And well deserved it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,017 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Waterford having a city probably masks how small the county is but ye are still a fair bit bigger than Offaly and have no football to compete with. Waterford's barometer should be Clare and for some reason unknown to me looking from the outside ye fall way short of that. And it's not just the county teams either. The stadium, the support and the club game are all in a poor state in comparison.

Carlow in comparison seems to be absolutely exceptional at managing their limited resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 gunners200

we had no one to win the long puck outs at all today might aswell be hitting a ball of a wall, reason y we were somewhat successful last year was kiely gave us a long puck out option but for some baffling reason he is wing back, also mark fitz should be centre back and build the team around him then, he’s wasted in fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

John Mullane really needs to sit down and think about what he's going to say

Another week of 'ahhhh ehhh but but but but'

The result is bad enough as it is

Wlr needs to offload Kieran, well passed his sell by date. Couldn't give a flying **** about his waffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Box to box

Is nigel skehan of o loughlin gaels the waterford coach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭decies

jeez don’t mention the stadium we do mediocrity very well here , it what we are best at .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Totally agree on both points.

That was the worst Waterford performance I have ever seen. The 2008 all Ireland, the 7 goals we conceded against Tipp, the 2019 championship, Clare in 2022 were all surpassed today.

maybe it’s all part of the plan. Forget the league try out as many new players as possible (mullaney, treen etc today) and bring in the big players for April/may when the big teams will be expecting nothing from us and get beaten out the gate…🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,017 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well at least that is one area ye are actually addressing. Always kinda reminded me of Meath or Kildare in the sense that a seemingly big county allowed themselves to operate in such an inviting kip for so long. Sorry for anyone who thinks that's insulting but grass (gravel) banks in a county aspiring for major trophies is just nuts.

3 players from last year ie Montgomery, fagan and Lyons gone which are huge losses but we did beat one of the all Ireland finalists last year and were so close to doing same to the winners with as unhinged manager as you could ask for….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 kasporov

Hopefully today was a massive wake up call for Peter Queally. I know we were short a lot of our starting 15 but some of them players are not inter county standard. Played 4 challenge matches against A1 teams prior to today and I was at 3 games this year and tactics are very worrying, short passing out of defence then aimless high balls into a small 2 man forward line. Again we never look like a goal threat, our goal came from our only attempt. No idea why Eoin Kelly is involved in the Waterford set up, we seem clueless in attack. Think we have only scored 2 goals out of the 5 games we've played this season. Only for Jamie Barron today it could have been a hiding. Lack of underage success seems to be finally really catching up, our first 15 when fully fit are very good but have to be very worried about the panel and the future from what I've seen so far.

Let’s not hit the panic button after one game. Look at Galway last weekend at home and they beat Kilkenny today. Give Queally a chance. He’s giving a lot of lads a go and trying a few positional switches. Let’s judge his first year on how the championship goes and not by the first league game. Our panel is depleted by those who’ve stepped away and by injury. We still rely on a lot of lads with a lot of miles on the clock so Queally has his work cut out for him. He’s doing the right thing by trying out lads. I think Seamus at 2 will work. I think Tom O’Connell is worth a few starts in the league. If he can uncover a few more starters, we’ll be doing well as let’s face it…. we need them.

Credit to Carlow, they have some fine wristy, skillful forwards! Some of the points they got today were top class .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Not having a go at you

But this is 'its only the league' territory, we shouldn't be losing to the likes of Carlow

There has to be a reaction next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

On paper this does look like a very bad defeat, but Carlow did draw with Kilkenny in the Leinster championship last year so obviously they are an improving team. They might claim a few more scalps yet before the year is out.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

"the likes of Carlow"? Maybe a bit of humility would be a good place to start if you want to see things improving in Waterford hurling. While today was a big day for Carlow, we aren't deluded into thinking above our station. A bit of respect wouldn't go astray either.

But it is only the league and we’re also in 1B for a reason. We can’t get out of Munster and finding a panel of players that gives us an opportunity to do so is all that matters. An even older Tadgh, Aussie and Bennett aren’t going to save us. We need new blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭siyo

This has been coming down the tracks with a while when you see our underage results since 2017. All the same I wouldn't be hitting the panic button just yet about this year, we have a lot of starters with a lot of experience to comeback. It's the next 5-10 years that worries me and has worried me for a while when the likes of Barron, deburca, Bennett etc all retire.

Fair play to Carlow, on paper today they had the better more experienced forward line and made it count. The posters here expecting this Waterford team to simply just win because it's only Carlow want to give their heads a shake. It's not that long ago we encountered that same kind of condescending nonsense from the likes of Tipp, KK, Cork etc

But he's on record as saying the objective is promotion. So he can't now turn around and say it doesn't matter. It's really hard to express how pathetic we were today. If one player is poor it's a reflection on him. If it's a team then it's on management. We had an inter county team out today with players who couldn't hand pass the ball, couldn't catch the ball, couldn't pick up the ball and couldn't carry the ball. All under no pressure.

We had no idea what to do when we had the ball. For a while in the first half we went route one to a full forward who was against three players. Then we played 6/7 passes laterally around the middle until we lost the ball. Occasionally we got the ball to Jamie Barron who made things happen until he tired in the last 10 mins. And with 20 mins to go we finally realised that a crossfield ball to Patrick Fitzgerald could work. Meanwhile the focal point of our attack was standing at right half back in a positioning that only management can explain. It's not like we need another half back, we need ball winning forwards so trying players in new positions doesn't apply. As someone else pointed out Mark Fitzgerald is a brilliant player but he's not a brilliant full back. Our half back line and midfield struggled badly, particularly in the first half.

I never understood the idea the pressure was off being in the lower division. There is now no manager in inter county hurling under more pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Montys return

We were missing 9 starters from the championship win v Cork last year. Take out Montgomery and Calum Lyons, sub in Austin Gleeson and that is 8 likely starters from a fully fit team in April/May.

4 of those are all stars. I think Kilkenny were missing 4 starters (Cody, Mullen, Richie Reid and Deegan) when drawing with Carlow. The reality is Carlow are too good for our B team at home.

Concerns are the age profile of our better players, and injuries at the moment through to the end of March meaning we will have more difficult days ahead I feel. But all of this we should know, yet there's the typical over reaction to a bad league result. Lot of dreamers on here.

We’ve had problems in our full back line for the last 20 years. Mark Fitz needs to play where the team needs him as does every other player. Fagan was a forward converted to a wing back. Ken McGrath was converted to a back. It’s not madness to try this with Kiely as people are suggesting. Kiely played centre back for Waterford as a minor. Ah lads by all means sack Queally after the championship if it doesn’t work and I’ll be with ye on it but don’t start with the Paraic Fanning witch hunt after one game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 unbeknownist

Big worry going forward is that whoever comes last in the Leinster championship will feel very aggrieved to be automatically relegated. We could see ourselves in relegation playoffs a lot in the foreseeable future …

Two posts that addressed none of my points. Why was our skill level so poor? Is that acceptable? I accept there were thirteen players I counted sitting in front of me in the stand unavailable. But those that lined out are inter county players, and they couldn't demonstrate the most basic skills of the game under pressure. That's the real issue, I haven't mentioned the result, all I've spoken of is performance and it was pathetic. Can anyone explain our attacking strategy?

Mark Fitzgerald was needed at centre back today as Carlow found huge spaces there especially in the first half. Michael Kiely was needed at wing forward or full forward. He played wing back (not centre back as Gavin Fives/Rory Furlong played there) as a minor seven years ago for some games before moving to the forward line where he changed those games against Tipp and Limerick. It was a crazy decision to play him there today and it went as expected. If he was playing wing forward when he started that run in the first half it was a goal as he would have been 30 yards further forward.

The only people talking about getting rid of Queally are the ones saying "it's madness how people want to get rid of him". Nobody thinks sacking him is the right call. But his target was promotion, that's in black and white. That performance today won't beat any other team in this division. That's the issue, bad and all as the result was the performance was even worse.

To be fair, how are any of us supposed to explain why the team didn’t play well today? They played a lot better against Kilkenny a few weeks ago. We can look back with 20/20 vision after a period of time but even God himself can’t explain why teams have bad days. A good lot of the players playing today won’t be starting come championship and some will be in different positions. Gaining promotion might be a goal but it doesn’t mean starting our best 15 every game in the league. For starters, they’re not even available.