If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

A mart auctioneers job is to sell the item, it's not to value it or vet potential customers. They take the bids and aim to get the price up to the seller's satisfaction. It's up to the mart management to ascertain if someone is able to pay there bill or come to some arrangement. If the management isn't satisfied that someone is going to be able to come up with payment then they have to take appropriate action, be it asking them to desist from bidding, instructing the auctioneer not to take there bid ect.

Once a lot is sold by the auctioneer the clerk records the price, buyer's name and any relevant details about the lot (perhaps an announced defect, calving details etc. There's usually 2 sets of records, a paper copy of sales sheets and an electronic version on a laptop. This information is forwarded to the office where it's compiled and available for settling up the accounts and so on. It's no secret to the office staff who's buyers name is put down for each lot sold. The information is coming in in almost real time as each lot is auctioned. You would think that someone would spot that X client is doing a lot of business today and he's not a regular customer.

Usually in any mart I work in that would set alarm bells ringing after awhile to "scope him" out and see what his history was like. If he's a cattle man then there's always someone that will know him or know someone that would find out. Oftentimes if there from a different part of the country a phone call to there own local marts is a good way to find out what there prior history is like. If the answers aren't favorable then calling the person in question into the hallway or the back office for a chat about there intentions is often the next step.

As regards thing's getting messy between the mart and the seller in such situations there isn't much grounds for issue most of the time. If the auctioneer turns around to me in the seller's box having opened the beast himself at say €900 and went on to €1000 then I'm within my rights to accept the price, whether or not he has a client at that price isn't my business it's between him and his employer. However if I instructed him to open the lot at X price or in the above scenario try for €1050 then it's usually a different story and he'll either achieve the price or turn around at let's say €1020 and tell you there's no one up and no sale. If the auctioneer gets caught with a lot because he was polling on himself unknown to the seller or the buyer turns out to be experiencing cash crisis that's the auctioneers and marts problem but the seller is entitled to the hammer price.

I think it would open a lot of lads eye's if they seen what went on after the sale is over in a lot of cases. There's often another sale of sorts in the canteen, office or yard afterwards, I take this beast off you and the mart is caught with another one if you're interested and maybe they'll charge no buyers commission on it or give you €50 luck off it seeing as you've bought a few and are taking them out of a hole. You'll often see lads that spend the whole day signing across at one another around the ring and giving guff and they'll all be eating a feed at the one table in the canteen in the evening. Someone needs 1 more to fill out a job and will give the other lad €20 profit on his 1 or I'll return the favor some other day. Yes some lads would burn each other but there's lots have a sort of peace and work through each other some of the time. Just because X buys him around the ring doesn't mean it's his lorry he'll be going up on in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

South munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭kk.man

Some auctioneers are pure vultures. I saw and it actually happened to me where after my bid he took a fantom bid. I told him to **** off and now you have ruined the sale for the seller. There was a serious air of distrust after that happened. I don't trust a few auctioneers. So no sympathy here.

Another trick going, online is stopping the bidding abruptly near the end to mark it down to their jobber friends ringside.

It's an education alright. At a dealers funeral their all the best of friends.

Some of those small guys haven't a a×#/& in their pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

Would many wash/clean their cattle before a sale? Ive a white weanling bull (~400kg BBx) going next week and he'd be dirty enough from the shed. Neighbor said it'd be worth more washing him down but its not something i've ever done or thought of doing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'd let him off as is, cattle are an extraordinary trade and it won't make any difference imo in an ordinary sale. If it was a fatstock sale or something similar where you'd be showing him it's different story but not in a standard mart sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

If a stranger appeared in a mart and started to buy he would be asked to go to the office to set up a account and to transfer the cattle into his herd, the auctioneer usually states the rules of the sale at the start and stock are purchased at the fall of the hammer, I know one mart where a fella appeared and gave a false name and bought 10 fat heifers and gave a cheque that bounced, when they followed up the name given had his cheque book stolen. Never traced the cattle and mart insurance covered the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Aly Daly

I would be worried for the man's mental health obviously & for the welfare of his stock if he is an active farmer with that sort of anguish the man must be going through,we have seen some bad cases which are indefensible when things start to go astray with a fella but of course that may not be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

I have stopped covering one west of Ireland mart because of on line closing before last bid is taken Ringside.

It was always the same one of the 3 auctioneers in the mart selling when it happens and same guy that the cattle were down to in evening.

Was in rage one evening after it happened about 10 times that day and a blk I hadn't bought down to me.

she told me no that auctioneer was trained by the mart and is very good

Looking in on mart prices in Thurles on Monday, its gone absolutely crazy.

https://www.midtippmart.com/_files/ugd/67242c_2421439325c7442cb63c7883ea97aeb7.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭Robson99

Continental cattle 500kgs making €4/kg. Only one way this is going to end…there comes a point in time when it just becomes madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone have their head around what is exactly going on?

Irish farmers always tend to look at what is happening internally in Ireland, cattle numbers etc. Inflation in Europe is one factor. Russian farmers are also selling rather than storing grain, because of crazy high inflation there.

Russian farmers rush to sell grain to profit from high interest rates | Reuters

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

population increase and declining beef supply across the eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The U.S. cattle inventory is also the smallest it’s been since 1951.

from;

Beef Prices Are At Record Highs. What’s Going On? - NerdWallet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

The reality is if cattle prices were to keep pace with inflation over the past 30 years they would be even far higher than now. The same story with all agricultural produce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭orm0nd

AAX Bullocks 565kgs.. €2360. In fairness they were serious stock and like peas in a pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭nearlybreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

When the other mart manager was in skibbereen, at least a once a year, I'd have an animal thrown up, by the time I would get back to the mart the buyer would be gone. A lot of scutting back then,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Danny healy ray

mautys microphone in gortalea mart seems to be on the blink a lot in recent times is it to keep the jobbers around the ring happy I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭grass10

Well run mart unlike others he would never deter buyers as he wants to achieve the highest price for the seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Danny healy ray

he's unreal no one like him prices there last night for weaning was off the charts

Screenshot_20250129_222653_WhatsApp.jpg

A friend of mine sold these. 4 odd ball yokes he called them when I onto to him before the sale.

Sorry in mautys last night

You have to wonder now what is best value for store men to be buying.....500kgs @ 2000 to kill off grass at back end or 350kgs @ 1500 to kill in 18 months off grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,167 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There is no value in anything, but you still need a few to keep the green stuff in place. Even sheep are crazy at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

The value in sheep at the minute is to buy the ewes in lamb and then selling them with lambs at foot.

So a bit like playing black jack only with a lot more work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

The €2000 bullock is surely value if he comes into €7 a kg in September. The whole thing is a gamble. It always was but even more so now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

What would you recommend for us grass men, Bass? I'm still leaning towards lighter cattle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

And what do think that they will peak at? I was speaking to an agent this morning and he told me people are selling cattle lighter and younger because of the good prices, he is taking cattle off people that would usually sell in march,so if this is the case when should the real shortage come? You would imagine and cattle that were in good condition will be fed out of the shed instead of been grazed, so that could make things very interesting around June July