Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Not too many doing that though. Pity you're getting out of dairying, you're quite good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Would any of ye have an idea where I'd get one of the little blue fittings on the side of the dump bucket. It snapped off my one but I can't find the part anywhere.

Screenshot_20250129_122235_WhatsApp.jpg

This is the bucket it came off of. https://cbelectricaldairy.ie/store/?gad_source=1&gclid=Cj0KCQiAwOe8BhCCARIsAGKeD56s5wX_zxsHGXHARbgItTR3DINbz-pevSAXpg41Vkw-Ou_iHx443okaAnGaEALw_wcB#!/Milk-bucket-&-lid-&-adaptor/p/424231135

I'd have my doubts you'll get that part, how would you attach it back on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,738 ✭✭✭straight

I'd Say you could find a bit of flat iron somewhere, bend it and attach it with roofing bolts and washers. Have jars myself.

Post edited by davidk1394 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭green daries

Stan was fishing 🎣 here on boards the other day seems he caught one........ (said he was getting out as he was offered a nice cushy job with a big wage )

Oh God sorry I thought he was being serious, are the robots coming so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭older by the day

He was going milking 3 times a day last month. In fairness if a farmer like Stan with his figures pack it in, there will be a big layoff in some milk factory.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Looking for advice…

I’ve 6 heifers calved in the last few days and milking them with a single portable machine while the milking machine is being finished. It’ll be Fri or Sat before it’s ready, at the earliest.

I’m bringing 2 heifers at a time into the parlour, giving them 3kg meal (some are only picking it), and tying a chain behind the 2 to hold in place. They’re moving around a bit but it’s just about manageable.

Question - would it be worth bringing in the 6 all at the same time to hold/squeeze them in place better? Or would they only start acting up coz they’d be standing there too long waiting their turn? Two heifers are doing 10-12 litres and it takes a while for them to finish so the 6 of them might be standing still in the parlour for maybe 20-30 mins.

Any advice one way or the other?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

🤣 Well the robots are definitely coming but I'm not sure will it be for wiping our collective backsides in the old folks home or for milking the cows or what.

I'm thinking of getting them myself in a couple of years when I get to pension age 🤔.... semi retirement plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Your current thoughts and methodology are correct unfortunately. They be jigging about, scuttering, they could lose their "let down" before you get a chance to milk them, they could even get upset and try climbing over each other to get out.

Its a pity there isn't more activity on here to help you pass the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Farney Farmer

I think 2 at a time is best. Take them all in and they’ll be waiting too long. Just try and keep them as tight as possible. Best of luck with it all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Thanks for the replies lads.

I’ve plenty to be positive about. Calving is going grand (for a fella who hadn’t seen a cow calf since 2002), herself is doing a great job on the calves, and I can get the 6 calved heifers out to grass every day since the weekend.

It’s just milking with the single unit that’s breaking my heart. But even there our 16-year-old has really stepped up and helped out.

Thanks for all the info and advice on here too. Misery loves company 😂

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Ya I agree with the two lads re two at a time. They should get more interested in the meal and don't feed any nuts to the calved ones outside of the parlour until they get going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

Are you feeding the heifers nuts before calving? It would help their appetite post calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Maybe a fencing post in behind them instead of the chain, they wont move as much then. Best of luck with it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

What sort of job and how much being paid no point in telling a half story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭yewdairy

When we put in our last parlour we were delayed aswell ended up milking nearly 40 in mobile units. Only thing that helped a bit was having 4 of them. It makes a big difference time wise. Absolute torture but we forget these things quickly.

We had a sump pump in pit aswell so I wasn't carrying out buckets of milk from the pit.

Seems he caught another fish ........dm him there he's a very good fella to share information 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭Grueller

Could someone please explain low lactose in freshly calves cows please?

Feeding 72dmd ad lib silage and 6.5kg 18% protein nut.

Butterfat to protein ration is well below 1:1.4 so shouldn't be ketosis.

75% heifers in the tank. I have been a naughty boy and not giving them the three days out of the tank. As soon as milk is white it goes in.

Im not sure what the cause is. The first three cows calves early and only had 6 weeks dry. That shouldn't affect heifers though.

Other possibility is that I was collecting that milk for 5 days to keep the driver happy. That meant 10 washes in a small volume so had a water warning of 7% too. Could that be it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ye the water would be the problem imo

There was great prices for the last of the balintosig herd today. 8k for in calf heifers.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1FDLSvNNiu/

Is the great exodus from dairying happening like was being predicted or are lads doing one more year because of the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,428 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Three herds local to me less than 100 cow herds going this spring. They had it planned since last year though. Two I think didn't bother putting the cows incalf last year. Just sell off fat in the factory. Looks like all three will be leasing out their farms. Carnew Mart is usually getting the clearances around here. I see more big lots of farms being put up for 10 year leases this year. Lads are afraid like the cattle prices and want to cash in this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭older by the day

When I went once a day November 23 my lactose went low below 4.2, and I got fined. Funnily enough this year I have milked straight through this year and the lactose has stayed high. Only difference was the ration, last year was a 14% dairy nut this year a 16 hi energy beef nut.

But I would think the 7% water is your trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

what do lads look for when buying ration for the spring? Just looking to improve things a bit here, feel there should be another liter or two in them at peak. Wondering if I should be paying more attention to ingredients in ration rather than just focusing on price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,891 ✭✭✭mf240

If your milk was 4.5 lactose

7 percent water would drop it to 4.185