If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭148multi

I Would hold the view of not weaning before 7 weeks and eating 1 kg meal, don't know if it's right or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭limo_100

I would imagine them calves are much older that there date of birth they are probably over 8weeks old. I would imagine they would be eating that already but milk for 2-3 weeks would help them transition and settle down anway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I be if the same opinion that they are 6+ weeks old. They may even be weaned. A couple litres of milk once a day access to decent silage and a kg or two of calf nuts.

A bag of milk powder would easily wean them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭I says

Tullamore yesterday only got a glimpse of it. A PTX 615kg sold 2220€. He’d an arse as big as Borris as they say in Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

If he went for slaughter about 6-6.3/kg. FS would be what would catch him.in the Mary.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

8 month old Lim bulls making over €2000 today in Ennis.

image.png

Crazy stuff, you will buy 4-500kg AA and HE bullocks for 3/ kg and they are a risk even

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭kk.man

A couple there must have been competing to see who has a certain part of their anatomy bigger.

Was looking back at Killmallock last Monday Suckler bred CHx heifer 12 months 200kgs 500 euro. 282 CBV, 126 replacement index, genomic tested.

I know which I would prefer to buy. That heifer was still value at 600 euro. She was in with the calves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Suckler bred CHx heifer, 200kg - 12 months old. Something amiss with her.

About 6-7 years ago I bought 3 suckler Salers bulls 18-20 months old I think 350 kgs, I killed them 33 ish months at 380ish kgs DW a bit with a year later as bullocks 2 U's in them. Often nothing wrong with light cattle just badly done.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

Fair play to you Bass, you can get them backward cattle and turn them into good money. The limestone land is key though. Put them on middling heavy ground and it'd take a long time to turn them around.

It not all about the ground it's about giving animals time as well. The Salers were exceptional. It's not unusual to see poorly done sucklers at 180-250 kgs at 12 months. The owner of that CHx heifer put her into the wrong section and probably the wrong mart. She would have made 100 easily more elsewhere. I have often seen cattle look younger than there age as well. There is a few lads out there too mean to use up another tag and to pay a knackery fee on a 3-4 month calf. Calves can be taken off the cows at 10-12 weeks and there growth slows and not all Ch will gain a kg a day.

However If you carry that heifer to June 2026 I suspect she is capable of hanging 300kgs+ DW in most systems.

Young lad bought a few heifers for a neighbour December 2022. One was a CHX 250 kgs, the neighbour hung her 430 DW last August. Admittedly another exception.

But getting that heifer to 300+ DW in most systems is possible a bit of decent silage this and next winter a kg of ration until turnout this year. Minerals and vitamins, dosing properly rotational grazing etc. 8-10 weeks ration pre slaughter will then finish her.

@ 300 kgs DW she will hit 1650 @ 5.5/ kg. Ever 10kgs more DW is 55 euro. Every 10 cent more or less is 30 euro on or off the figure and a euro on the 10 kgs.

I always go back to John Shirley's quote it never pays to breed a bad on it often pays to buy one

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Only problem to stock like that is trying to buy numbers.Like a farmer looking to kills 70-100 cattle per year will waste some amount of time watching/attending marts.up till this year I was buying 20-30 store cattle to go with the calf to beef system here but found every year it's taking more and more time to seek out value.Cant see much joy in stocking the whole farm out of the mart now

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

any bit of a spin with a jeep and box will cost a big amount when everything is added in not to mind your time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Marts I buy out of would be from 20-50km from the yard here,€50 wouldn't do much hauling with the jeep and trailer.,Don't get me wrong I have picked up some bargains over the past few years but I have felt like a right egit standing in a mart all day for 1 bullock or ever nothing to bring home,..Now if I had an father at home sort of retired and going to the mart for a social chat as well as business that would be another story altogether..I get the impression bass falls into the latter which would make sense in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Any ideas what cull FR cows are making? Ones in decent condition but not fully finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Fine Day

Contapating trying a few factory fit axx and Whiteheads in the mart in the next week or two. One of the marts near me is on Mondays. Was thinking of going the Monday week which is a bank holiday. Good idea or bad?? Will the right buyers be out??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭kk.man

The boss here used to say 'an empty trailer is better than a dear trailer'. That was the days of ring bidding. Those days are over, the large exporters and some factory procurement teams have screens all set up where two or three marts can be bought out of in one day. I even know a large scale finisher at the same craic, he said to me 'why should I bother fighting like a tinker in a mart over a few cattle when I can buy what I want at the price I'm prepared to buy or leave behind. I

You get good at it after a while it's the ability to adapt. We are picking up 100+ every year now. You will not get them all at exceptional value buy if you put 30 of the 100 in like that it makes some difference to the profitability at the end of the year. 30 cattle with a 200 euro extra margin adds 6k to you profitability. It's easy to see the problem, with anything and soend you time dwelling on it. Rather than dwelling on the problem look at possible solutions.

That It in a nutshell. Everyone will point out the exceptional animal that makes crazy money buy few look at the bit and pieces of value around. With the online apps you can buy or leave behind. If you were within ten miles of mart would it pay you to spin accross after work to collect one or two like that of course it would. Often you might pick up a bIt of other value. There was a dairy herd dispersal sale in Kilmallock the smke day you I saw a few bits there as well. A goid vulture will always find a bit of a carcasse in the desert.

Admittedly now is not a great time to be picking up cattle, however the wheel is always turning. I heard that Marts are running into issues with credit limits. The banks are enforcing there overdraft limits. In turn the marts are having to limit credit to buyers. A lad that had a credit limit of 100k that previously could buy 90 cattle with that limit is now back to 65. That will impact the trade if it happens. Not everyone pays on the day like you and me KK or the average small trader

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

marts have been tightening up on credit since interest rates went up 2 years ago

tipperary to gortatlea isnt a 10 minute spin by any means, transport must cost you a fortune

I have a RAV and a 10X5 box. The jeep is an UK import. I have it 6 years in May, it's fairly.bomb proof knock on wood. Gortalea, Listowel, Tralee, Castleisland are an average of 50 miles, Killmallock Sixmilebride, Abveyfeale and Newport are probably 20 mile average.

To collect a few from Kerry costs 30ish euro in diesel, add 10 euro for maintenance. Over the year its an average 4+ per trip. So a tenner a head transport costs. To collect that heifer from Killmallock if I had bought her by herself would cost less than 20 euro and about two hours in time allowing for tine spend sorting in mart

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

You're right in buying some of the "weaker" cattle at the mart, sometimes I pick up a few stragglers to fill the trailer and they can turn out to be the most profitable in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Paying €2k for an 8 month 400kg doesn't seem so crazy when you see what finished cattle are making.

Carnew Mart

CHAMPION BULLOCK:
    🏆 Mr Patsy Fortune 🏆
    LMX - 1124KG - €4850 (€4.31/kg)
    Purchased By: Mr Harry Grufferty, Dawn Meats.

Facebook

Screenshot_20250125_221237_LSL Auctions.jpg Screenshot_20250125_221213_LSL Auctions.jpg

Carnew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Dunedin

if a lad spent €20 and 2 hours tedding grass, you’d be threatening the guards on them……

Woozie stated that transport was costing me a fortune. Farming is a tight margin business. I know all my costs to carry an animal at any stage of the year. Some farmers throw figures around the place like confetti. I just broke down my transport costs

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Dunedin

it was more around the 2 hours bit as didn’t notice a cost included for that?

You’ve regularly put up the point that you spend 10 hours or so a week farming and everyone should be the same but if a lad has to buy 100 cattle then the two hours will soon add up. Not many part timers have that to spare in a week.

But if a lad tedded grass for 2 hours…….

I said I could be in and out of the farm yard in an hour and a half most days of needed. I did this all through the years I worked. Sunday to Friday and did a bit of work on Saturdays. I was buying abd slaughtering about 50-60 at that stage. It's only in the last 12 months we expanded and it busy at present setting up the new farm, we are also building a house as well.

Buying Cattle dose not take the time you, Wu or sone others consider. I have LSL premium. I check it on and off but when buying cattle I watch it on the move. I spend 5 minutes checking the catalogue for lots that might interest me and then dip in and out to check them sometimes I sometimes miss a lott but it's not the end of the world there is plenty of fish in the sea. It was tougher when I worked and LSL or other online apps was not a tool available to me.

Latly when we buy we do not go for cattle until after 6pm. It's a pain arriving as the mart ends or on a busy day still going to spend an hour or more trying to get a loading bay and get your cattle out of the mart. Now one of us heads down after dinner, loads up and bring them to the farm. Most part times will not be buying 100 per year. If I was working I be at bucket fed weanling to beef and finish off grass at 28-30 months. Relatively easy to buy reared calves (3 months plus) to yearlings most years. We are lifting some of our stock that way, few enough buy to carry to finish at that age So less competition around the ring.

You seemed obsessed with me at present you seem to even be stalking me on other forums on this website.

Slava Ukrainii