Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Traitors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Electricity back late last night so catching up on final now.
    Leanne has to be the most undeserving winner of all time. I have no problem with Jake getting a share as he played his part in banishing traitors.
    Leanne’s attitude when she was questioned by anyone but by Alexander in particular was to turn into a snidey cow. Couldn’t stand her at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭RoTelly

So my first series of Traitors IMHO

The cast were enjoyable but nice to the extreme, but does this nicey, nicey reality TV type casting does work for a show called the Traitors?

Traitors are very rarely made to be traitorous during missions. Even to be told to make sure they do something during a mission that might cause a few problems, and if carried our that their winnings might be doubled at the end, or they can choose to hire an new traitor if successful, there is really nothing to keep them as Traitors other than to Murder and to Hire new Traitors.

Yes, there was the mission to write who they wanted to go head to head in the Russian Roulette style mission, but other than that little. (Though obviously I am open to correction).

And yes, they also have the opportunity to make sure they get the shield, or know who has the shield to insure they don't make a mistake or to murder someone to remove another traitor. (But to get the shield in that instance was pure luck as to which box you choose).

I am surprised nobody was keeping track of who was a traitor, there is a process of limitation, I know Charlotte wouldn't want this at the end and perhaps she had worked it out in her head.

First 3 traitors, 1 exits, 2 left, then they try to hire Anna she decided against the offer, leaving 2, then an exit, leaving 1, then a hire, then an exit leaving one, then a hire and then an exit, leaving one. (Perhaps I am wrong with this count and very quickly did it up, I think I am missing a hire, and perhaps Faithfuls don't know but assuming no one is murdered then you know someone is hired, and Anna let them know she refused).

Overall a fun series, but too much talking not enough missions and not enough treachery.

Also watching the after show I realize why they thought Freddy might be a Traitor, he has resting angry face.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,031 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Charlotte should have used Francesca calling time on the challenge task 2 minutes early plus the coins from Alexander as a sign she is the real traitor, easy for me to say in hindsight, just watching

Was Alexander and Francesca told the alignments of the final contestants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

well, no matter what charlotte was going next it seems after Freddies comments. If Alex and Frankie survive that, there's no way Frankie votes for Alex as she would have known he's a faithful (based on picking him). That was Alexs only route and he knew that.

Her picking Charlotte cost her the game. Picking any of the others may have saved her. It may have cost Alex the game too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭taratee

A little bit too predictable for my liking. The Seer screwed Frankie and Charlotte over hugely. Gutted Alexander didn't get a share of the pot. Claudia was exceptional, as always. The flow of the Uncloaked show was really interesting. More of a focus on Charlotte, Alexander and Frankie than Leanne and Jake.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“More of a focus on Charlotte, Alexander and Frankie than Leanne and Jake.”

Ha yeah you’re bang on - Leanne doesn’t make good TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,102 ✭✭✭This is it

Enjoyed the series but hard to live up to the finale with Harry last year. I actually thought Leanne might vote Jake in the last banishing, after Frankie's theatrics.

Happy for Jake, thought he deserved something. Thought Charlotte was a decent traitor, the producers really fecked her over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,102 ✭✭✭This is it

I missed the uncloaked episode last night, is there anywhere easy to watch it? Trying to avoid iPlayer and messing with vpns etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭RoTelly

You should be able to get it on BBC THREE or late night BBC TWO with signing.

Final on Monday night on BBC THREE at 9:05 followed by Uncloaked at 10:15.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I think it's been explained a few times before that they all arrive for a seperate breakfast and then get brought into the dining room for the production version. So of course they can organize the order of the appearance for the TV version through that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,909 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I was disappointed with last nights final tbh . It fell flat somehow. Maybe it had to do with my disgust at Leann being in the final two , I don't know.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Yeah the final went pretty much as predicted. There was no way out for either Charlotte or Frankie and Leanne's nasty obsession with Alexander for having the gall to question her bore dividends as well.

Even in the last episode Alexander tried to explain himself again to Leanne and she completely ignored everything he said.

Leanne definitely a very undeserving winner. Jake… he eventually got Linda but did very little else in terms of traitor finding despite being called the 'traitor hunter'

Charlotte got quite personal at the round table when under pressure too. Saying that the others definitely shouldn't take Frankie to end game when she was lying through her teeth about being a faithful felt very unnecessary.

Likelihood is that Frankie would have gone anyways and I get that it's a game but that felt like a very personal shot across the bows ensuring she didn't get any money purely because Charlotte herself got caught by her own scheming effectively.

The non murder of Leanne was a good idea in theory but in actuality it signalled the beginning of Charlotte's end as there was no way any traitor would take too kindly to being so quickly fired underneath the bus in that sneaky fashion.

Overall probably a weaker season than the second but it was definitely not without it's moments.

Linda's meerkat impression at Claudia mentioning the traitors, Armani's ridiculous overconfidence, Linda's fake tears for Livvie, the balloon task, Alexander and Fozias arrival, the death match, Charlotte's recruitment and backstabbing and finally the seer pick drama all added to an entertaining season. Enjoyed all the comments from folks following along here throughout too.

Hopefully we get a celeb version from BBC this year and then the Irish one sometime later this year or next too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I think they really need to revamp the casting next time to get a more interesting selection. I'm sure they're all mostly lovely people, but so many were dull as well as being poor at playing the game strategically. We need a balance of shrewd and fun. They don't all need to be ruthless traitors either - we need to see the interesting mix of personalities during all the challenges and chats.

If I'm honest it felt like maybe the producers focused a lot on including those who were theoretically interesting on paper due to various unusual life situations, but who in reality were quite dull, and often hopeless at playing the actual game.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Linda's meerkat impression at Claudia mentioning the traitors, Armani's ridiculous overconfidence, Linda's fake tears for Livvie, the balloon task, Alexander and Fozias arrival, the death match, Charlotte's recruitment and backstabbing and finally the seer pick drama all added to an entertaining season.

Absolutely agree with everything you said. Just in relation to the enjoyable moments, I'd also add Alexander singing at the doll task as Claudia cracked up laughing. And when Freddie tried to lie about knowing Leanne had the shield. That was a great bit of tv. 😁

Leanne was an undeserving winner. I didn't mind Jake winning. He put in a bit of effort, overall. And he was never mean in his approach. Leanne got too personal at the round table. There was one day when she carried it over to the breakfast table the next morning with Alexander and was still snapping and snarling when he tried to make ordinary conversation. She just shouted people down, and nobody was allowed to accuse her of being a traitor. That's not how anyone should win.

It was all too predictable what was going to happen in the end. It would never come near the tension of last year's final, of course. But it felt flat too because of an undeserving winner, who right to the end, was making it about herself. Muttering that Jake wasn't looking into her eyes. Eh, maybe he was caught up in his own thoughts and wondering what the outcome was going to be.

The traitors all contributed something, in that way of entertainment, even those who were fairly short lived.
    The one that everyone will remember is Linda, of course. I thought she was hilarious 😁.

Leanne played the dumb blonde perfectly - she made £45k + for a few weeks work - the rule of traitors is….there are no rules-winning is all that counts

It’s nothing to do with that - Frankie has the chance to announce Charlotte was a traitor and really go through her -either she messed it up or the producers messed it up for her - the obvious thing would be bound in the door and announce Charlotte is a traitor and keep the pressure on till she breaks -that didn’t happen

7.4m final viewers and Uncloaked 4.8m viewers, records broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,106 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Has Claudia signed on for more series - think she said she wasn't interested in the show going on after two seasons and should be left there

Yeah, I don't know why Frankie held back and let Charlotte spin a story right in front of her. Maybe it's a personality thing where she didn't want a huge confrontation but surely she knew Charlotte wasn't going to just lie down and be bulldozed.

Mind you, it wasn't the greatest story either 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

A mostly predictable and slightly disappointing finale.

Frankie didn't manage her info all that well, but knew Charlotte wouldn't survive it. It's just too big a piece of info. Not a fan of the mechanic, and their exchange was kinda underwhelming, despite Charlotte's Dr. Evil impression.

Poor Alexander, he'll rue the final roundtable, but he shouldn't, he was gone regardless. Understand why he opted to vote, he suspected Leanne, it wasn't emotional, it was a suspicion he just continued to have. And, her, ever the level head, had to retaliate.

but then it gets weirder... did they really think that two of the four were traitors? Doubtful. Jake had Leanne in his pocket, and whether greed, fear or just being interested in staying in the game and staying on the side of a majority, Frankie was screwed over. When all three opted to vote, that was kinda telling that all were faithful, but it was too late by then. I think that they voted down to final two shows how lacking in any intuition they were, but Leanne and Jake double their benefit from it.

Shame, really came to like Frankie in final week, and Alexander was easily the most likeable entran by a distance, with the most normal approach to the whole show.

The Deathmatch was awful, if there was an incentive for traitors to participate, it would have been more fun.

The Seer wasn't a good addition for the game either. Albeit dramatic.

There wasn't enough reason or opportunity for traitors to interfere with the challenges.

Mob mentality ruled too often, people didn't have hunches, they just followed the crowd hoping it would keep them in the game.

The endgame could be tweaked as well, if there was some financial penalty for voting out faithful late on, it might break up cliques a bit a force people to properly evaluate the other remaining contestants.

A mostly decent season, but the wrong elements influenced the game too often.

I think that’s why many are saying the concept has a shelf life and really it’s passed it at this stage.
    Introducing tweaks here and there actually brings more predictability to the outcome as we saw with the “seer” addition this year - I don’t think it makes things any more interesting and for me, I just feels there’s manipulation happening by the producers which I don’t like.

If it’s to continue I’d prefer fewer people and allow the audience time to get to know them more - I think we might be more engaged - if you think about it, pretty much all that happened in the first half of this series could be forgotten - it was just murder after murder by people who didn’t have a clue - we lost some good “characters” also and most of what was left were incredibly uninspiring

I think that’s why many are saying the concept has a shelf life and really it’s passed it at this stage.

7.4m watched the final. I don’t see how anyone can say it’s past its shelf life.

Yes from what I remember Frankie came in calm and went over and whispered traitor to Jake who ironically she was suss on but not Leanne

They watched it yes- but the overall sentiment is that it was underwhelming towards the end - and that’s the memory people will have of it

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Can't see how they use the Seer thing again. No one will want it.

One underwhelming season doesn’t mean it’s past its shelf life. Record viewership indicates people love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,147 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

I don't think players leaving at the start and getting back in later is good idea, thats one thing they could change.

They could have less players also, maybe less murders or more shields to get the 12 episodes

Were there more shields in previous series, there was only one each night this time, 2 when the newbies were introduced, I seem to remember there being more previously

Maybe this has been mentioned already - I hadn't thought of it, but I read it elsewhere.
    Frankie would not have had to reveal whether she was a traitor or a faithful, as she was the seer. So that was a flaw in Charlotte's claim, straightaway.

there were loads of flaws in her claim. Frankie did a really bad job from her position.

Saw Freddie on an instagram ad for M&S.

Some of the likeable ones like him will get more work out of this, I'd say.