Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

My brother moving home from Australia with wife and 3 year old

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭NSAman

only the OP knows his brother. So his own judgement is his decision.

It does seem that 20 years away and his brother has nothing coming home (we don’t know his savings). Seems brother has been living the life without thinking of the future. Now the in-laws have divorced the gravy train has stopped and the “support network” ..ahem…is not there.

20 years ago Australia would have been the ideal place to purchase a home, brother didn’t do that. Even 15 years ago. So here he is, coming back home with a wife and a child to a country that will be out of reach for home. No job, no house and he expects family to support him.

While I understand family ties, the OP should be very wary of not having a timeline in place and agreed.my own brother I would absolutely allow to stay as I know him so well, he hates being dependent on anyone. Is a “go-getter”.

Living in your own, now having three additional house guests without a plan, is going to be life altering. Rent, utilities even food are going to be bones of contention. I just hope that any negative feelings won’t result in the loss of brotherly love.

What happens if brother wife and child cannot make it here? Are you stuck with them? Lots to think about OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭yagan

How many times do we have toxic family dynamics discussed on this website?

If I were the op I'd have very doubts about this. I've siblings id put up no bother, I also have a brother I adore but his wife is hard work and I know for my own sanity I couldn't host them for more than a weekend!

What I don't understand is why the parents aren't expected to host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Yeah fair enough point about the parents.

I know toxic family dynamics exist but I assume OP wouldn't even consider it if the relationship was 'toxic'

OP is asking

if I decided to let them stay here how long do I let them stay and how much if any rent should I charge them ?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

If it most of my siblings I wouldn't charge them anything as I know most would reciprocate with making dinners, paying bills.

But I've one sibling I wouldn't trust to put out the bins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

The thing is, you can have all the agreements in the world and they can be made in the utmost good faith but there's no guarantee that they'll happen.

If the brother said he'd enough money to cover 6 months to a years rent but needs a stop gap between getting off the plane and finding a property and work that would be one thing.

However if there was a plan and if the brother was generally reliable I don't think the OP would be here asking the question.

I'd also be very wary of the potential of baby number 2 arriving....they've been there 20 yrs so hitting their 40's , the OP doesn't say how old the partner is but one would assume 35ish...so the window is closing....that means she's out of the picture from a work point of view ...plus living with a newborn is zero craic.

What happens if the agreed date comes and goes? Does the OP just pack up their stuff and leave it in the garden, change the locks? No of course they won't do that.

So the 11th of November becomes the 12th of never!

Seriously dodge the bullet before the gun is even loaded.

I honestly wouldn't see someone living the other side of the world for 20 years as my closest relative.

On paper, yes maybe, but reality no!

You may talk /txt daily/weekly but guaranteed you'll be getting an edited version. You can trust but how do you verify?

Then the partner .....what's the guarantee you'll get on with them.....how many times would you have met them especially with them living the other side of the world.

So no.....closest relatives they are not!!

I have a friend who bought a doer upper and purposefully keeps only one bedroom finished as he knows if it were done the family would pressure him to take in a brother whose life is chaotic.

Family is family, but we don't choose it so there's no reason to invite chaos into the space you worked to create for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭spakman

You sound very transactional - your siblings are just people who have the same parents as you?

Thankfully a few more people who place some value on family have voiced their opinions.

Im extremely thankful for the safe environment my parents created for myself and all my siblings, but that doesn't mean I want to be around all my siblings as adults.

I still appreciate all my siblings but one turned into a manipulative control freak as an adult to the point where I'm only comfortable in their presence if there's witnesses.

Some people treat family as doormats, it's a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,925 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Not at all- in my opinion it’s the exact opposite- the real selfish entitlement is expecting the sibling to put you up without a plan beyond a very short term temporary solution. 20 years in Australia and apparently no savings or plans to buy or rent a property? Utterly ridiculous carry on

While i understand that I certainly wouldn’t let a relative dictate what I do with my own property. That would be a No from me- they’ll always be like that so it’s up to them to find their own way.

Not at all....as it happens when I lived alone I actually offered (no hinting needed) my spare double room to my nephew and his girlfriend.....they had just finished college , I'm the only one of my siblings that live in Dublin... obviously the job market is more vibrant in Dublin.

They were starting off and if I could give a bit of a dig out I was more than happy to do so...as to be honest both of them are steady people....yeah I may have got burned but I was willing to risk it as I genuinely didn't think I would (they found jobs in their home county so it never materialized)

However this situation reads like the brother has arsed around for 20 yrs, responsibility in the form of a child has finally caught up with him.....his freedom is curtailed so wants his family around to carry the burden.

I'm sorry if you haven't got your sh*t figured out by the time your 40 (or at least be making a massive effort to getting it sorted), jog on! Don't expect other people to bail you out of a misspent youth!

This isn't a "natural disaster" they've lost everything in a flood hurricane situation.

This is the brother realizing that life is hard with a young child.

Yes I'm fully aware people move home when they have children, but that's usually with a sizable pot and a plan...not land on my siblings doorstep....be grand 🙄 🙄 🙄 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭AnnieinDundrum

not sure I’d want to live with a toddler again,

If they had jobs and childcare sorted then yes I’d offer to help and set a time limit. Unemployed people in my house while I worked I’m not so sure.

I’d be sharing all utilities for sure and I’d expect them to buy their own food and do their own housework. How big is your house? Will you have to share a bathroom with them? Will you have Lego in your sitting room etc.

Your parents might be retired and be more willing to put them up, after all they once had toddlers in their house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

What makes you think he's is "expecting the sibling to put them up without a plan beyond a very short term temporary solution"?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Pistachio19

Its only been hinted at, so you are not being asked outright. If that time comes, then have your response rehearsed. You are too used to your own company and having to live with anyone at this stage of your life would be a definite no, but you are more than willing (if you are) to ask around to see if there are any rentals coming up. I imagine your parents would be the first port of call for accommodation, and if they refuse to accommodate them, then why should anyone expect you to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Find these type of threads frustrating when there is lots of good advice given, requests for more information, and then the OP barely gives a full sentence in reply to anything, and that is just to call one poster a 'dickhead'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,588 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…our housing issues are gonna drag all the way into the 30's, and maybe into the 40's, where are they gonna find a house within a few months, where!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Hooked

OP… stop reading all these replies (especially the one asking you to fill a room with a lodger) and read this one…

Your brother and his wife survived 20 years in Australia. He's not your son. He's not your problem. He's a grown man. With a wife and kid. And I assume some money in the bank and a home in Oz?

Grow a pair, and tell him no! You live alone. You have a life and your own house. Hat tip, sir. If one of my 3 brothers pulled a stunt like that with me - they'd get a rude awakening. Being suddenly homeless and needing family help is one thing. Using family as a crutch is another!

If he can't afford to rent or buy here after 20 years in Oz - he never will. And you'll be stuck with them (and any future kids) for YEARS! How are you going to live your life, meet someone (if you haven't already), have kids, etc…

Your brother needs to give his head a wobble! And maybe you do as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Hooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭blackbox

Let's assume that your brother and his wife are genuine hardworking people.

You let them stay with you until they get jobs and are ready to find a place of their own.

Six months later, they have jobs but can't find accomodation. Are you going to put them and their small child out on the street?

Twelve months. Same question?

Two years? It just gets harder as your home has become their home.

Maybe the best compromise is to let your brother alone come to stay for a couple of weeks while he scouts out a job and family accomodation.

I’ve a friend sold his house autumn 2023…moved in with a cousin as a temp arrangement. He’s still there. Add in the chaos of moving country finding new jobs and settling with a young child. I think you can get the picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

I would say the brother knows well that the parents are where they will end up but might not want to go there.

By hinting, he's throwing up a high ball to see do you catch it!

OP any further thoughts on this as you have had a lot or replies but not much interaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,092 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The only problem is that the parents are I presume elderly and retired and it would be unfair to place the burden on them.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

You can't choose family. Many wouldn't choose the ones they have if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I live in Ireland with 2 kids and no support (each set of grandparents is a 4 hour drive in a different direction), and we didn't find it necessary to move to be closer to family.