Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

In relation to the payout, the judge made it pretty clear that it wasn't an indication of doubt in relation to the allegations etc. Also worth noting, you literally started to take jabs at the fact she had PTSD in earlier posts. Used anything you could as proof of it being consensual including the breakdown of her relationship.... So yep you're very much so victim blaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Ok - I was judging her based on a past case in relation to ptsd and past relationships. Maybe this was not the best approach for an argument. There is plenty wrong with this case without having to go back further.

But my point stands that there are plenty of inconsistencies in this case from her side and speculating on the jury’s decision should not warrant name calling and quite frankly just being outright rude while attempting to shutdown any discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,426 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Some Rape cases can be tough to prosecute, defend, acquit, convict. They’re full of gray areas, feelings, thoughts, he said she said etc etc. Full of a lot of the points brought up here relating to Ms. Hand and McGregor.

12 people heard it all and unanimously decided this woman was raped. I think they got it right. I also think a big reason they got it right is that Ms. Hand fought for this verdict 6 long hard tough years. She knows damn well what actually happened in that bedroom. No way anyone puts themselves through an ordeal like this for 6 years to not be sure of what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

And posters are free to check how extreme your early posts are. You've toned it down because you know it comes across terribly. You have developed a strong opinion of Hand based on what amounts to rumours which you've read on God knows where.

Sample of one of your earlier posts which isn't exactly you just asking questions below.

He's an embarrassment to his family at this point and she's not much better. I wouldn't class her a hero smashing bags of coke on two day benders leaving her kid and now ex partner behind sending seductive photos to celebrities who she friends with threw Dee's side of the family. I'm sure everyone here disagrees with my feelings but sure look we all have our own opinions.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,605 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - Bigmac1euro can't come to the forum now so please don't quote them.

Also, a reminder that medical evidence was presented in court, including that of the paramedic who noted the excessive bruising.

Pictures of the injuries sustained by victims are not disseminated to satisfy curiosity or dispel doubt so this is a moot point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

McGrregor’s actions since the trial have been DARVO. A well established set of behaviours of offenders.
    Deny

Accuse

Reverse Victim and Offender

He thought he had absolute impunity to act any way he pleased. He is finding out now that civil law is a lot different to criminal law. The slow wheels of the Gardaí and DPP aren’t turning here to hold him to account.
    While the damages he has to pay and any legal fees are a pittance to him what he can’t handle to being told he is wrong and being told what to do by the Court. He can’t shout at a judge, or roast them on Twitter (again) and trust his heavies to have his back and make it all go away.
    No doubt his lawyers would have told him to settle with Nikita before this came to Court to avoid exactly what is happening now. He thought he’d win the case and a jury of his peers would side with him. But when you’ve surrounded yourself with snow blowers and sycophants for a decades, you forget the rest of society is out there too who don’t adore you.
    Journalists have been waiting for years for the truth about him to be in the public domain. They can write what they want about him now as what ‘good name’ can he claim in a defamation now?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

A classic Russian tactic, called the Upside Down ploy. When accused of something underhand, Russia would claim that the exact opposite was the case.

Nobody believed them either, but they stuck to their response.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What you need to do is first understand the basics of what you are trying to talk about. "Seriousness" in the context of a civil trial relates only to the damage caused and for which you have a metric in the form of monetary damages. The purpose of the civil action is merely to compensate you for that damage. It is agnostic as to whether I knocked down your boundary wall between our gardens with a JCB costing 50k to fix, or whether I knocked you off your bike causing you to be out of work for a year. The damages are not a "punishment" in a civil context.

In relation to your "murder", that language pertains to a criminal charge. If you cause the death of a person you could be taken to a civil court and held civilly liable for that death you caused. If you would like a recent example of this, a certain barrister who shot a man was recently acquitted of both murder and manslaughter. However he is facing civil actions from the deceased's partner and also at least one other person who happened to be present at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,426 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McGregor in the thick of things with Trump today.. birds of a feather, eh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭randomuser02125

He'll have been looking for tips off Trump, Hegseth, RFK Jr, Musk, Guilfoyle and McMahon. What a time to be a sex pest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭crusd

Are you asking for the medical reports too?

Or only the stuff to allow your "slut shaming" narrative to continue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

There's GOT to be a position for Tate somewhere there. Wonder when they will attempt to flee to the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,896 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

The McGregor rapist has traveled to the US to provide moral support to the Trump rapist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dano650

A lot of Yanks think he will be the next president of Ireland. The poor feckers haven't a clue how it works over here😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Hoop66

And took time to get a snap with dog-fucker-in-chief, Farage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭jj880

https://www.instagram.com/mcgregorfansclub_/reel/DFExrvMhy-N/

McGregor thinks he'll be president also it seems unless hes off his biscuit here talkin nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dano650

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

image.png

Christ, I thought I was being sarcastic/caustic….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭I told ya

Off topic, but I can't see CMcG running for President.

If, as reported in the media, that he got agitated under cross examination, what would he be like with 24/7 scrutiny? The rules and decorum of the HC wouldn't apply.

I look into the distance and think, is that 'men in white coats' on the horizon I see?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

IF he is serious and not just mouthing off to his delusional followers, then I'd be curious to know who he thinks will nominate him for election. Which 20 TDs or Senators would nominate him? Which four councils would nominate him. I'd say Gemma O'D fared much better than the rapist ever could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

Is good to see that he went our and bought a suit that fits and is not two or three sizes too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,933 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Not a chance of it being Senators or TDs, his best chance is 4 CCs and even then it would require him appearing in person and answering questions, and as you say we all know how well that went for she who should not be named.

Personally i'm of the opinion he hasn't a clue how our elections or nominations work and will be spouting conspiracy theories once its eventually explained to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well, yes, there have been people found guilty of murder, on the balance of probabilities, in a civil court.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-37504674

"In June 2009, Liam Campbell and Real IRA leader Michael McKevitt were two of four men found liable for the atrocity.

The civil action was brought by relatives of some of the 29 people killed in the 1998 bombing in the County Tyrone town.

The relatives were awarded £1.6m in damages.

No-one has ever been convicted of murder in relation to the car bomb."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Not to mention the 3 Gardai that would accompany him absolutely everywhere outside of the Aras! Couldn't see that suiting him......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭its_steve116

I think Ian Paisley Jr. would be just as likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,226 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I was convinced he’d be refused entry - one law for the rich I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I think US immigration only look at convictions rather than civil cases and you'd be a brave immigration officer to block his entry on his way to Trump's inauguration.

Hopefully Irish immigration can block his return

Well, birds of a feather…

It's OK. Trump will pardon him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Bitcoin

Who's going to vote for a convicted rapist? Even most of his former fans from his UFC days have abandoned him. No one wants to be associated with utter filth like McGregor.