Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Etc

I don’t, just amateur dramatics, but whatever

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,112 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

also:

In urban areas, cyclists will now be allowed to filter and overtake on either side of vehicles

had they previous banned overtaking on either the left or the right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭cletus

I took that to mean they would be able to over take on either the left or right, rather than just on the right (is that correct? I'm trying to think, if you're cycling on the right in heavy traffic, you'd be overtaking on the right, but now you can filter on either left of right).

It's a law for urban areas, and a lot of Spanish cities have one way systems with multiple lanes, so this makes sense, I think.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,112 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yeah, i'm wondering which was the illegal option before now; 'undertaking' or overtaking?

both are legal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭cletus

I'd imagine both 'undertaking' and splitting lanes in the case of multiple lanes travelling in the same direction were the illegal bits

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Hardly dramatic, it was simply a statement, and all experience would tend to agree with that poster that a lot of people simply don't care. Not exactly MD in Falling Down level of dramatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Dramatics? It's a discussion forum. So if you feel the need to quote me maybe engage in the conversation instead of passive aggressive posting? I'll leave you to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,663 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Welcome to the cycling forum @Etc - do contribute and have a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭JMcL

Tim Moore in his Vuelta book had a similar experience. He was told to go buy a helmet in the next town and I think the cops either followed him to make sure he did, or made him come show them - can't remember exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭khamilton

Is anyone aware of what high court case is referred to in the article?

Because there's a Court of Appeal case from 2017 that changed a lifetime driving ban to a 40 year one https://www.irishlegal.com/articles/court-of-appeal-mans-lifetime-ban-from-driving-reduced-to-40-year-disqualification and the CoA is a higher court of law than the High Court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,903 ✭✭✭✭zell12

If you park in a disabled bay with no permit.. you get a six month driving ban

Detective Garda JP O’Brien said he was on an armed escort to the hospital and noticed a number of disabled spaces taken up by cars. He “gave her an hour and a half to move”  but she didn’t.

Judge Andrew Cody described the incident as "absolutely despicable” and handed down a 6 month driving ban and fine €750.   https://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/home/1701348/woman-in-midlands-gets-driving-ban-and-fine-for-despicable-act-in-hospital-carpark.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

It's not quite that simple.

There are a number of main elements which are intertwined with each other.

1. Historically due to our political history, challenging or being hostile to the Gardai/police is hardwired in a lot of the population. I would have grown up hearing a phrase "once a Peeler a man no more". That attitude, especially in early 20th Century republicans and their descendant would have been very common throughout the nation. It is still present in modern day republicans in particular around the border area. These are tend to be more lawless; ime driving/attitudes to road safety in general in border areas is different.
    2. Culturally we are similar in many ways to southern areas of Europe (PIGS) and the predominantly Catholic dominated areas. Rules are not as rigid (they are more likley to be ignored/challenged) as in the more northern Protestant areas of Europe. Protestant areas, due to the need to read the Holy book and not have it read to you, are generally over the last few centuries more educated and industrialised. More developed civilisations put a higher value on life and the rules needed to get there (compare 1970-80's Ireland to today for example).
    3. We have created a cottage industry/ecosystem for lawyers to challenge every piece of road traffic/licensing/etc legislation. For example drink driving has endless higher court case law which effectively has meant getting convictions fraught with danger. Every district has some solicitor/barrister who is expert in this area. This has two major consequences; (a) if you have the financial means you have a chance of getting off (b) but if your the Garda that had to help a drunk out of his car because he was legless only to see him/her smirk at you are some lad with a wig gets him off your are going to lose motivation pretty fast. The legal bit is difficult to fix but it needs to be tackled or somehow circumvented

People really should spend a day/afternoon in their local district court to see how the system actually operates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭JMcL

WRT your 2nd point, I'd put the UK as an outlier in being a protestant society, but having a similar attitude to the perceived road hierarchy as here.

It's undoubtedly a multi-faceted problem. I think the various aspects of the RTA need to be tightened to close off loopholes allowing spurious defences, but this is of course fraught with difficulty in getting the balance right. Removing the nonsense "shooting fish in a barrel" defense for the GoSafe vans would be a good start and low hanging fruit. Sure you can have your day in court, but it should be much harder to refute (uncalibrated speed guns, somebody else driving the vehicle….)

Unfortunately with the Caps From Kerry with their feet under the cabinet table, I can't see much happening on the political from anytime soon, though I expect the sod to be turned on the Kilgarvan to Dublin motorway any of these days.

Until judicial bias (which really shouldn't be a thing) is reigned in and technicalities tightened up there's not much point in getting the Guards to step up (see point 3 above).

A bit of application of hate crime laws against gobshites on media, both social and mainstream, wouldn't go amiss either (take a random comment from a Journal article, replace "cyclist" with black/woman/trans and see how quickly the commenter would end up with a knock on the door).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,903 ✭✭✭✭zell12

What is the maximum level of tint permissible?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Jebus. Did the entirety of Dublin and Wicklow get out the wrong side of bed this morning? The amount of cúuuuuuunts close passing, and dangerously overtaking into oncoming traffic was off the freakin' charts 😡

65% light transmission, so she was well over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Its a pity they won't go after the drivers with the large text / logos in the middle of the actual windscreen.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'd be more concerned with the ones who have a phone stuck to their windscreen (or the taxi drivers who seem to have two or more)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Its a pity they won't go after the drivers with one or (I'm looking at you, taximen) two phones in the middle of the actual windscreen.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

^^^ Well I'm not much of a believer in coincidences but that's just weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Move over buffalo & doozerie, Seth & Andrew have joined forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Why do judges keep deferring and adjourning cases such as this, it's no wonder the counts are so backed up and inefficient. It took over 6 months for this case to be heard so obviously plenty of notice but it still hasn't been closed off. The driver was represented by a solicitor so if that wasn't sufficient why not just fine her an additional amount in absentia and be done with it.

100%, throw the maximum fine for not having the courtesy to show up at court. She works in a Bookies, not impossible but I imagine swapping shifts would not have been a difficult ask. On the other hand, her solicitor might have said don't bother, I am representing you so no need to turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Interesting take on things 😁

On point No. 3 - I'll defend the lawyers here on the basis that they're simply playing their role in how the perfection of legislation is supposed to work. I genuinely believe that we have a very good justice system in this country when compared to other countries around the world. Laws are difficult to get right. Legislation needs careful drafting and research. It's the role of the defendant to test those laws to find weaknesses. When those weaknesses or loopholes are found, it's the role of the legislature to rectify them.

We all saw the concern and readiness for uproar when it looked like Graham Dwyer might have found a way to get his conviction overturned. You can be absolutely positive that if that had come to pass, new legislation would have been rushed through within weeks.

Whereas with our road traffic legislation, the same weaknesses and loopholes have largely existed for years. A lawyer is not doing his job if he doesn't advise his client of the availability of that as a strategy to avoid conviction. The fact the the legislature couldn't be bothered addressing the obvious deficiencies in the legislation - including areas where the law is simply unduly lenient - speaks volumes and was the point I was really trying to get at.

As much as the old adage "bad cases make bad laws" stands true, bad legislative drafting also makes bad justice.

https://www.thejournal.ie/family-joe-drennan-disgusted-concurrent-sentence-hit-and-run-6609827-Jan2025/

TL;DR - the man who mowed down the student in limerick in 2023 was given a sentence for this, to run concurrent with a longer sentence for shooting at a house. so if he had not killed the student, there would have been no impact on his jail time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Screenshot_20250130_210833_Instagram.jpg

190 in a 100 zone. N plates

It's always an Audi

This seems to be more and more common, large iPad sized video screen retrofitted onto the dash, being used to play a podcast video, two beards gushing to camera on this occasion.

"But I'm not watching, I'm only listening"? Why would you go to all that bother and not be watching? Could you possibly avoid watching at all, when the beards say something particularly funny or interesting?

vlcsnap-2025-01-29-20h44m52s079.png vlcsnap-2025-01-29-20h45m21s762.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭ARX

Except when it's a Golf. Never a BMW, despite the reputation.