Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Again I’m not sure if you read my comment but I said it is relevant for discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭highpitcheric

Bailey had a borderline personality" based on "narcissism, psycho-rigidity, violence, impulsiveness, egocentricity with an intolerance to frustration and a great need for recognition".

• Psychiatrist Jean Michel Masson and psychologist Katy Lorenzo-Regreny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

This is an October 2023 article- so I assume that Gardai are referring to Bailey when they say …..

They believe they know who killed Sophie, that it was somebody local who knew her and that finally they will have a cast-iron case to prove it.

"We believe we have more than enough evidence against a suspect and that the Director of Public Prosecutions will agree with us.

“People have been convicted in Ireland for much more than some of the evidence we have, but we are taking all the time we need to get this right.

“It is a very high-profile case and the whole country is watching but we are determined that justice will finally be delivered for Sophie.”

https://www.thesun.ie/news/11568766/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-cold-case-justice-cork/amp/

Yes yes I know it’s “The Sun”- just asking - wouldn’t it be mad if all of this investigation was actually about someone other than Bailey?

Since the article, Bailey obviously died; they were intending to search video footage of a festival where Bailey allegedly met Sophie around 1994 or 95 I believe - no word on that outcome; they have since got hold of his more recent writings and recording post death so that can’t be what they’re referring to; and of course, the FBI investigation is apparently only commencing its work in the items it’s received - so a hyped tabloid story, or an over hyped and confident investigation team, or a bluff to spook Bailey, or something else?
    It’s a strange article - a lot of confidence claimed and yet we’re nearly 1.5 years later and nadda- if their so called “evidence” is some old dude or dudess “remembering” something after 25+ years then jayzuz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭chooseusername

"it was somebody local who knew her "

That doesn't sound like Bailey to me, unless they've uncovered some new evidence that he actually knew Sophie.

I don't understand this-

“People have been convicted in Ireland for much more than some of the evidence we have, but we are taking all the time we need to get this right."

Does it mean people have been convicted on less evidence than they have on the suspect?

Im terms of the evidence, yes that’s my take on it too.

I dunno- considering it’s a tabloid article, maybe it should be disregarded but even tabloids print the truth sometimes 😀- it’s unusual isn’t it?

In the absence of any follow up article I guess we can’t do/say much more - could have been written based on totally inaccurate sources.

Has got me thinking though - if the 2025 version of An Garda submit a file on Bailey to the DPP, I guess we have to take it that they know best - I do respect the Gardai of today, especially in relation to murder investigations - they’re the experts - they may well have uncovered very clear evidence and haven’t shared it yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭irishspiderplant

the ‘someone who knew her’ part seems very telling.

It gets repeated a lot here that Alfie said he was ‘90 percent sure’ he had introduced Bailey to Sophie. What he actually said was 80 to 90 per cent sure.

someone also did a really good breakdown of just how little time she spent in Ireland over the years, a few days here and there and never alone until December 1996. There was no opportunity for Bailey to ‘know’ her.

And yes he was a narcissist and enjoyed the notoriety from being associated with this crime, but an actual clever, psychopathic predator would be more likely to have made some approach on some pretext to Sophie if he truly was attracted to her social or artistic or intellectual status or whatever. That’s how those people operate. They would know full well they wouldn’t get anywhere by turning up at a remote house in the middle of the night banging on the door with a pocketful of poems. It is absurd.

of course I am willing to entertain the idea that Bailey was the murderer as I think all reasonable people are. Because we simply don’t know. But then you have a contingent of posters who are so certain that Bailey did it (because of their superior gut instincts, or because he had his sleeves slightly pulled down in a video) they have failed to consider any other possibility at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,342 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You could even go down a rabbit hole on what "to know" means.

To know "of"?

To know "to see"?

Is it as per dictionary definition eg

have developed a relationship with (someone) through meeting and spending time with them; be familiar or friendly with.

Even if Bailey had been briefly introduced once by Alfie does that = "to know" by that definition?

Dubious.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I find it exceedingly strange that the DPP would be willing to engage in an assessment of a dead person, indicating whether they would have brought it to trial.

Seems like basically indicating guilt without any recompense. Has there ever been another case where they have done so?

On the gardai side I could understand why they would would perhaps release evidence to the public, not that I would necessarily agree unless any and all evidence was released

UK CPS are very clear on this aspect - can’t find a similar statement on the DPP website

Since deceased persons cannot be prosecuted, the CPS will not make a charging decision in respect of a suspect who is deceased.

This applies in all cases where the suspect is deceased, including cases in which the police made a referral to the CPS for a charging decision prior to the suspect's death.

The CPS will also not make hypothetical charging decisions. For instance, it will not indicate:

• What the charging decision would have been if the suspect were still alive;

Whether a different charging decision would be made now, in relation to a deceased suspect, as compared with the charging decision that was made previously in relation to the same suspect.

https://www.cps.gov.uk/legal-guidance/deceased-suspects-cps-policy-charging-decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭tinytobe

As far as I know they've sent the clothes Sophie wore that night to the FBI? Just wondering, what kept them so long for doing that?

I would say it’s because there is pretty much no result (aside from a negative test) that makes the investigating gardai come across as anything better than total incompetents. If they find Bailey DNA, how could they have fucked up so badly, if they find anyone else’s, can of worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

In fairness to the Guards, DNA technology has been advancing by leaps and bounds; it is only in recent years that this kind of recovery has even been possible.

And there might be so little touch DNA (if any) that only one swabbing is possible. Thank goodness they did safeguard the clothing, I hope in the proper conditions.

I think this is the best chance of recovering a real, concrete clue to the killer's identity and I really hope they get a result. Let us never forget that a woman was violently murdered, and the case is still unsolved.

Good thing about DNA is that you won't get suspects contamination picked up in the intervening years. You might get some forensics team or investigating gardai showing, but they should all be able to be excluded hopefully.

If they pick up one of the 50 suspects DNA, it would have got there on, or before the murder. If it is blood mixed with Sophie's blood, it could only have gotten there during the murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭chicorytip

It should read - "people in Ireland have been convicted for much less than some of the evidence etc..".

Bailey was local, had been living in the area a number of years, knew the locals and was himself well known. He lived a short distance from the cottage. I tend to believe Lyons' account of him having introduced Sophie to Bailey and disbelieve Bailey's denial of him ever having laid eyes on her, let alone knowing who she was, what she did and when she was in the country.

Bailey always admitted “ knowing of” and “knowing to see” Sophie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Whether she was introduced to Bailey or not, Sophie "knew" Alfie Lyons, Finbarr Hellen and even Tomi Ungerer much better than she knew Bailey. She had actual conversations with all three, at different times.

Sophie seems to me the kind of person that if Bailey came up to her, she would pretend not to speak English. The thought that she would have listened to him blabbering on about his scribbles on a raggedy notepad is ridiculous imo.

Jules Thomas' case against Netflix over the first hurdle.

https://www.classichits.ie/news/cork-news/high-court-agree-release-of-documents-in-jules-thomas-netflix-case-over-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-doc/ "Agreement's been reached in relation to disclosure of documents in the High Court against Netflix by Jules Thomas,"

Looking good for her case. She has had a rough old time, including some scurrilous remarks on here. She might sue Boards.ie as well!

She would actually have a case against some on here.

Netflix has the big bucks though, and they’d be likely to try and settle. Best of luck to her.

The Ungerers were probably the only decent and trustworthy people Sophie had known there. (That appart from Tomi's "sort of double life", attitudes towards sexuality as well as his visits to Hamburg to spend time with a certain lady). Since Tomi was rather artistic, he would probably have been the only one whom Sophie could confide in more, plus he spoke French as well. However as far as I know, Sophie only met Tomi rarely during her visits.

Alfie Lyons, Leo Bolger, Finbarr Helens all had brushes with the law at one point.

Mostly a repeat of older articles-

https://www.southernstar.ie/news/fbi-hope-new-dna-tests-can-help-finally-crack-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-investigation-4317486

…………………………..

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/ian-baileys-ashes-scattered-west-30825354

I hope they scatter the ashes into the sea, or over Kealfada bridge, otherwise the ghouls will be travelling to West Cork to pish on his ashes

"The FBI is to carry out improved DNA analysis not just on the apparel that Sophie Toscan du Plantier was wearing….. but also on stones from the crime scene."

I might have missed previous mentions but I didn't realise they were analysing stones also. Really good to hear that they're looking at other pieces of evidence too, perhaps there is even more, briars etc. One would hope this is not just journalistic speculation.

These little tidbits show that there is evidence gathered and still available that people may not be aware of. A good few pages back @PolicemanFox had presented evidence of other bloodstains on the ground that weren't captured in the photograph numbering system.

It is logical to think that if DNA evidence was left on her person, there would be some left in other locations too. The fact that the FBI are involved at all is extremely promising imo.

Yeah, the “hope” is, that the assailants blood might be captured somewhere within the nooks and crannies of the brick - I imagine this latest investigation won’t be cheap but I do hope it’s comprehensive and that they can get to a stage where they can confidently say that either there is foreign DNA on some of these items and they can get a profile, or that there’s no foreign DNA on these items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Indeed, the attacker may not have shed any blood but if he pushed the gate open, picked up a rock, prised a brick out of a wall, tugged poor Sophie back out of the hedge…then some sweat or skin cells from his palms, at the very least, may have been deposited.

If he wore gloves, though - which he may well have, on a cold winter night - that would explain the no fingerprints, no DNA. But even the gloves might shed a few skin cells, or traces of sweat, even of saliva from his breath, perhaps - who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,869 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

What about all the other people who picked up that rock at different times?

Not your ornery onager

Some of the rocks could have been handled by anybody coming and going. Finding DNA on them won't get us anywhere.

What's more realistic is looking at the pump house and examining it. It's far more likely and possible that the killer left DNA whilst picking up that cavity block there. The roof needed to be removed and that with a good bit of force. There is even the slight possibility that the killer injured himself while doing so. It's there where anybody looking for more reliable DNA should have looked, as the activity of removing the roof is directly linked to the killing itself. Sure anybody could have touched the pumphouse as well, injured himself, but it's far less likely that it's anybody other than the killer.

Looking for DNA in areas anybody could have been is probably pointless, same as on Sophie's clothes. Suppose she gave somebody a hug prior to the murder at some point, like a day before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

IS there any hint lately as to how the CCR is going.

Twould be great to see this one solved before hollywood make more money outta it