Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭tibruit

"You can`t go by confessions. Every murder attracts weirdos who earnestly claim to have committed it"

I don`t understand how any logical thinker could say such a thing. Every murder? Patent nonsense. Anyway only one individual confessed to this one. He lived up the road and had the incredible misfortune of disappearing from his bed on the night in question and for several hours after saying he wanted to go over there. What are the odds?

"Having assessed what evidence they had…"

It`s ok….you can say it…."circumstantial"….that was the word you left out. I remember reading the Letby thread and being surprised that some of the "no evidence" brigade who frequent this place didn`t turn up over there to plead poor old Lucy`s innocence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

@tibruit "Anyway only one individual confessed to this one." ??? As far as I know, nobody confessed to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

As far as my understanding of the legal profession goes, a hearsay confession ain't worth the paper its written on….

"His statement, where he said he felt Jules was being truthful, had to get "chopped f**king up""

He was wrong to say she was truthful though wasn`t he. She stuck to the joint script for a while until she found out Bailey was seen out and about at Kealfada. That joint script was that Bailey had been in bed all night. Clearly he wasn`t.

"there was only Leahy and Fitzgerald involved in the statement"

"Involved " is such an ambiguous word in that scenario. These were notorious arrests that made headline national news for days afterwards. Do you really think that Jules Thomas was interviewed by the two boys only and nobody else had access to her, to what she was asked and what her replies were or indeed that there was no cross referencing with Bailey`s own interrogation? Then after 14 hours the two boys came out of the torture chamber, all smiles and waving a signed statement? Will you get real.

"Jules had been lied to and told Bailey had confessed."

So what? If she was convinced that he had confessed wasn`t it then in her own interest to be truthful assuming she had no hand act or part in the murder?

"The one (statement) she repudiated"

But she got home and discovered that her man hadn`t confessed at all. He no doubt convinced her that he hadn`t been down at Kealfada either (might be the truth anyway) and that it was all a set up. Her truthful statement that she thought had little consequence because she believed Bailey had confessed was now actually going to be a really important part of a state case going forward because he actually hadn`t confessed. Why would anyone believe her repudiation when she was prepared to lie to cover for her man when they were first arrested? Wtf was the DPP actually dreaming about when he gave weight to that repudiation given that it was obvious she had been prepared to lie initially and she was the partner of the main suspect. Absolute madness.

If we judge by the same standard of the rest of the people in this case, the upshot is that Jules is an unreliable witness. Similar to that of Marie Farrell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

But if she is/was an unreliable witness, then why believe ANYTHING she said? Why believe that comment about whatever time Bailey got up in the night or brought her tea the next morning? Either she was truthful to the best of her ability, or she was mendacious.

We can't pick and choose — as if she was truthful when saying something that we wanted to hear, but she must be lying when her statement is unwelcome.

My own opinion is that she was truthful but yielded to pressure from police to say what they wanted to hear.

I base this on my own very small experience of giving a statement when I'd witnessed an incident. a fight in a public place between two lads, let us call them Bill and Harry. I saw them walking towards me, i saw then vaguely scrapping, I looked away for a second and when I looked back they were in a clinch on the floor.

The guards took my statement and kept asking who threw the first punch; who attacked the other; had I seen Bill punch Harry? etc etc

It was pretty clear that Bill was a seasoned troublemaker who almost certainly HAD punched Harry. But in all truth I had not actually SEEN this. They wrote down that I had seen Bill punching Harry and I looked them in the eye and said, No, I can't sign this. I saw the tussling, then I saw them in a clinch on the floor, both fighting. I did not actually see who attacked first. They were disappointed and tried to come around it a few more ways but I stood my ground.

See, I'm tough, I can resist pressure. But a lot of people can't; they are impressed by the large, tough, important police officers.

See the infamous Kerry Babies case, where a whole family ended up signing statements that were not true!

The cops really wanted Jules to incriminate Bailey. They SAID this on the Bandon tape! I mean, they needed that, to make the case. But in the end, they just revealed her as an unreliable witness - very much an "own goal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭chooseusername

You fell at the first hurdle there, there was no "Joint Script"

So you believe that they both answered the questionnaire independently, not knowing what the other had said or was going to say i.e. we were in bed all night and they continued in that independent vein for weeks before the arrest, even though Bailey getting out of his bed became a very hot topic once "Fiona" made her call. Then after they were both arrested they continued with the sham we were in bed all night until Jules was told that Bailey was seen down at Kealfada or that he had confessed or both and she came out with some truths. Actually, he did get of bed for a number of hours and he was on about going over to Alfie`s beforehand.

Then it`s put to Bailey what Jules has said and he confirms he got up, went out into the darkness, just that he didn`t do what he said he wanted to do and actually go to Alfie`s. It`s not in dispute that he got up and left the house that night and it`s not in dispute that they initially said he never got out of bed. But no joint script. Okey dokey.

if I was to speculate it would seem likely that Bailey gave an alibi before he was chief suspect, without too much forethought. It is notable that Alfie included that he got up to go to the toilet etc. in his, which is probably not information that would be included without prompting. This lack of detail is likely what then prompted the Gardai to really push Bailey, and Jules, on this aspect. Clearly Bailey locked himself into a situation he couldn’t get out of without changing the story. Whether that is due to him actually going to kill Sophie, or just being nonchalant cannot really be discerned. Would others alibis hold up to such scrutiny?

I was in bed all night, is similar to I didn’t see nothing, and I didn’t hear nothing, in terms of credibility imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭flanna01

The Lucy Letby conviction based on circumstantial evidence and no confession has had a wobble..

Key prosecution witness Dr Dewi Evans has now changed his mind on several cases regarding the cause of death to the infants.

Two other independent medical consultants have also refuted his evidence as flawed..

Letby's appeal is gaining more traction by medical professionals, now stating that the cause of death is several cases could be down to alternative causes not related to Letby.

This is why circumstantial evidence is like a foundation of sand… You can't beat hard unequivocal evidence!

"So you believe that they both answered the questionnaire independently…"

Yes, but we'll never know for sure. Bailey's first questionaire was 8 days after the murder, Jules first questionaire is..ahem.. mislaid, mising. Probably during the frantic clean-up in January, Jobs books tidied up etc when it was realised they'd cocked up big time.

Bailey getting out of his bed became a very hot topic once "Fiona" made her call."

"Fiona's" call didn't put Bailey at Kealfada bridge. That didn't happen until 14th feb, 4 days after the arrests and statements.

The DPP statement below states Jules was only temporarily persuaded that Bailey had confessed, they didn't send her home convinced he was the murderer, but they had her statement by then.

"Statement 10E made by Jules Thomas is the final statement made by her during the course of her detention in February 1997.

D/Gda. J. Fitzgerald and D/Gda. W. H. Leahy were the Gardaí taking the statement.

This is the statement wherein Jules Thomas was temporarily persuaded by the Gardaí that Ian Bailey had committed the murder.

At the time the statement was taken Jules Thomas had been in custody for over ten hours.

The detail of her questioning indicates that she was arrested to obtain information which could be used against Bailey. Her detention cannot be legally justified."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Green Peter

The person Bailey said it to gave evidence in the civil case and I've no doubt would have done so again in a criminal case. That's not hearsay, that's direct evidence

well we don’t know that do we. The teenage boy who was one of the witnesses to his confession refused to go to the French trial, his mother went in his stead. Hearsay by definition

Apologies I thought he gave direct evidence, he did make a statement

That's the thing about taking the oath etc., even well meaning honest people can have difficulty recalling things exactly on the stand, and their testimony can be cross-examined effectively by a good lawyer, bringing doubt into the equation. If you're not 100% sure, it can be quite a difficult experience. In a civil trial the bar is much lower. I would imagine that a number of the witnesses (not all mind) would not be called in a criminal trial due to potential shaky testimony. It can be a bad look for a prosecution in the eyes of a jury.

Memory is unreliable. No matter how sure someone is that they remember correctly.

This is why accident investigators interview as soon as possible, preferably within a few hours; and they make sure that witnesses do not speak to each other. Because there's a natural human wish to make stories match up - it is reassuring if you had (or think you had) the same experience or recollection as someone else.

And insurance companies are the least sentimental of questioners - there's money at stake. And in other accident investigations there is public safety at stake, and sometimes criminal charges, depending what they find in the wreckage or what key witnesses tell. As soon as possible after the accident.

So I'm sceptical of verbal memories reported many days, weeks, months or years after the alleged events took place.

Accuracy deteriorates by something like 20% every 24 hours - (or some such figure) - but it's really, really fast.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8508426/

Its amazing any witness testimony is ever accepted in court in that case. It appears we are all in early stage Alzheimer's

You're not wrong. There's a reason they search for fingerprints etc. Insurance companies and accident investigators are as hard-nosed as they come.

In court, witness testimony is more convincing if it is corroborated - by another (impartial) witness, or by verifiable facts like time stamps, photos, or what-have-you.

A simple "Just cos I say that this is what I saw" is very dubious grounds for putting a person behind bars.

"Yes, but we`ll never know for sure"

Isn`t belief great all the same. You can say anything and no proof is required.

""Fiona`s" phone call didn`t put Bailey at Kealfada Bridge"

But short of naming him it did.

"The DPP statement below states that Jules was only temporarily persuaded that Bailey had confessed, they didn`t send her home convinced he was the murderer."

The DPP doesn`t say when or how she was informed. All you are doing is trying to drop a temporal wedge of your own making into the narrative at a spot that suits your agenda. She made her statement and signed it believing he had confessed. There is nothing that suggests it to be any other way. Maybe it`s only dawning on you now that the fact that she believed he had confessed means that her statement was truthful. Don`t worry, the DPP didn`t address that contradiction that he had highlighted so he clearly couldn`t work that one out either.

"Her detention cannot be legally justified"

They were well within their legal rights to arrest and question her on suspicion of murder based on the information they had at that time. He had the scratches and someone matching his description was seen at Kealfada. He was last seen in Jules company on the night in question. For all the Gardaí knew the two of them could have taken a detour over there on the way home from the pub. It would have been a dereliction of duty not to have arrested her.

Oh Lord…. Where to start with this one?

Fiona (the babe Farrell), did not place Bailey at Kealfada Bridge, that is utter hogwash.

She imagined a man way shorter than Bailey, and gave a description of anyone - bar Bailey…!

It was only after the Keystone Cops had honed in on Bailey as a suspect, that they worked on the fantasist Farrell..

They changed her description to match that of Bailey… And the good Fiona / babe Farrell complied.

Please try to keep up with the very basics of this ramshackle investigation..

But why get Farrell to change her description to one that matched Bailey..??

Answer: Because there was not one jot of evidence placing his at the scene, committing the murder, or even knowing the gal……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

That trial was a complete and utter train wreck and should never have happened in the way it did- not saying Lucy didn’t cause at least some of these deaths but she may well be innocent of all -the reality is, the complexity of the evidence and the volume of the so called suspicious deaths means that really, some form of three judge court (like the special criminal court) is called for to try these cases- even then they may well throw out the cases at an early stage due to lack of concrete evidence.

Bailey would have been delighted if a trial went ahead in Ireland as the so called evidence just wouldn’t have convicted him - he knew that as we all do. Is that justice? Hell no.

As a citizen, I’d much prefer to see no trial than the sh1t show that was the Lucy Lethby trial

"Isn`t belief great all the same. You can say anything and no proof is required."

Indeed, You can say Jules and Bailey colluded on their questionairs, without proof it's just your belief.

""Fiona`s" phone call didn`t put Bailey at Kealfada Bridge"

But short of naming him it did."

How did that work? " We have a witness who says they saw some man near the scene, so therfore……" What?

She made her statement and signed it believing he had confessed. There is nothing that suggests it to be any other way."

The Gards may have convinced her he had confessed, different to convincing her he was guilty.

You say they were within their rights to arrest Jules on suspicion of murder. Did she have scratches, or was she seen at Kealfada bridge, or any evidence that she might have murdered Sophie? All you have is  "the two of them could have taken a detour over there on the way home from the pub" . Well, so could lots of people.

"Oh lord…where to start with this one…"

Yep. You`d have been better off if you hadn`t.

"Because there was not one jot of evidence placing him at the scene, committing the murder or even knowing the gal…."

You`ve said three things in one sentence there that are fundamental denials of factual reality. That`s the best yet.

You have speculated that we should rely on the account given by Maria Farrell as damning towards Bailey…

I rest my case.

Have I really? Must have been about ten years ago on a different thread and after a half bottle of Jameson.

Hopefully you have found and embraced sobriety since then..

Your recent post suggesting we pay credence to the ever changing statements of Maria Farrell, suggest you may have slipped off the wagon momentarily..?

Don't beat yourself up about it.. It was the coat tails of Christmas after all.

"Your recent post suggesting we pay credence to the ever changing statements of Marie Farrell"

Nah. In my recent postings I was merely pointing out that back in 97 the Gardaí regarded her testimony as important. Any time I set out the case against Bailey these days I don`t include her at all. I am aware that the mere mention of the babe seems to get a few of ye "no evidence" folk very agitated. She`s no longer worth the effort. The Kealfada water is too muddied.

Your argument for Bailey being the murderer is quite valid..

The scratches on the hands, the changed alibi (or lied about as some claim), the fire, the confession(s)… etc. I have no quarrel with all them red flags, and too be honest, it's a lot of red flags for one person.

Don't confuse the 'Bailey Supporters' as being blind to justice, that just isn't the case.

Read back over the thread, most of the 'Bailey Brigade' can't pin the murder on him due to lack of evidence. But most of the 'Bailey Brigade' would have no bother seeing him rot in prison if he was the perpetrator - And nearly 100% of them consider him a vile piece of work regardless..

We want a person convicted for the crime they have done. Found guilty by unequivocal evidence that stands up to scrutiny in a Court of Law.

Baileys response to the scratches, false alibi, fire, confession(s) ect … They were supported by others on the whole, and was hearsay in other area's.

Given the Garda investigation at the time, and the blatant elements of corruption that came to light since.. How could the DPP not throw it out?

I fully accept your opinion that Bailey is the man. I am of the opinion that he is not. The only thing that separates us is evidence (or lack of it)

At this stage, I guess we are both holding out for some DNA evidence to bring closure to this most brutal of crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭irishspiderplant

In 1972, one Finbar Hellen and his father Francis Hellen were summoned for assault and conduct likely to lead to a breach in the peace in a case heard in Schull Court before Justice William F O’Connell.  Finbar Hellen was accused of assaulting Joseph O’Connell, Dunmanus, by driving a bicycle at him on 14 October 1971.  ‘The father said he had hunted the other woman out of the land which witness had the grazing of’ and they would hunt O’Connell and the owner out too.  Justice O’Connell remarked, ‘The Irish people are inclined to become very emotionally concerned about land … one would have to go back in history to find the source of these disputes’ (Southern Star, 11 March 1972, ‘Farmer-Neighbours Must Resolve Their Differences’).  In 1973 Francis Hellen, Dunmanus East, was awarded £50 damages against Michael Goggin of Gloun, Schull for trespass of cattle on Hellen’s land entered via land sold by Goggin to a Dutchman (Southern Star, 7 April 1973).  Finbar Hellen was described as ‘a hot and impetuous person’ who ‘seems to think that anything he says whether true or false will be believed by the court’ in a case heard at Schull Court in December 1975 where he was accused of assaulting Michael Goggin (who lived with his uncle, John O’Driscoll at Dunmanus, Toormore) ‘by striking him with his fist and kicking him’ and causing malicious damage to his car.  The dispute was over a bullock.  John O’Driscoll described Francis and Finbarr Hellen as ‘two lunatics’ when he was confronted by them.  He said, ‘Finbarr’s eyes were like two poles of fire in his head and there was frath (sic) coming from Francis’s mouth … Finbarr said he would kill me and that Goggin would be killed for sure’ (Southern Star, 27 December 1975). 

Bit mad that there is so much emphasis on Baileys record of domestic violence, which was very common in Ireland in the 90s (and as of late, in this thread, on his probable narcissistic personality disorder. As if narcissistic tendencies didn’t go hand in hand with the horrors that have historically been inflicted on women in this country on a daily basis) when there is someone who was close to her who has a record of violence pertaining to land access issues.

Sophie’s murder was not sexually motivated.

She had given Finbarr permission to use her land for grazing.

He was one of the last people to see her alive. He saw her through her kitchen window and said he thought it was odd she hadn’t come out to say hello. His wife Josephine also said it was odd Sophie hasn’t brought Christmas presents for the children like she usually did.

He visited her land every day to check on his sheep.

There is evidence previously discussed that points to a morning murder.

Finbarrs fingerprints were found inside her house.

His wife is the one who said a small kindling axe was missing from the house.

His son is the one who found an unopened bottle of French wine in a ditch.

Edit: he was also the one to identify her body

It also seems apparent that Sophie fully intended to go outside to speak with her eventual murderer as she had laced up her boots. (However a friend of hers said it was common for Sophie to wear the boots in the morning when walking around on the cold tiles.)

much earlier in tbe thread someone also asked what the view from the kitchen window was, where bread that was being cut was found as if Sophie had been interrupted in the middle of it. There is a direct line of sight to the stone barn where Finbarr stored sheep dip.

Post edited by irishspiderplant on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mikehammer..

We know that no sexual assault took place

Prior to the murder fukk knows what happened

We don't know what the motive for the encounter or violent incident was