Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shorts in the freezing.

• 02-01-2025 07:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭

Baffled me for a while. Why wear shorts when the wind is cutting strips off your backside? Do they need to be constantly watered down in the summer for fear of spontaneous combustion?

Inevitably I encountered a couple of lads in T Shirt and Shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,541 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Anyone with them on today is a specialist in pain management 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭beachhead

Or a hairy monster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,610 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Time was you'd only see that kind of unsuitable attire worn by returning holiday makers at the airport.

It's inexplicably ubiquitous now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭deandean

You get used to wearing shorts in the cold handy enough.

Like, ladies wear skirts in the same conditions.

It doesn't stop them looking silly though.

Wearing wooly knickers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,127 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Particularly stupid looking when worn with a coat, hat, scarf and gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

When i was a young buck of about 18, 7 years ago(and a big bit), tshirst was worn in December/ January. Those coat yokes were fashion accessories for geriatrics.

Now, at least 8 layers.

Or couldn't afford a decent yoke to cover yarself.Drink and drugs(legal)would come first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

I'm a hairy bastard so can hack it in the cold. In fact i love days like today.

It's warm sticky weather that I can stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

Am I the only one who initially misread the thread title as ‘Sharts in the freezer’?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,282 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

No, because you didn't misread it.

Stick to the Etiquette thread like a good coprophile.

Post edited by Esel on

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Sunny = shorts weather. If there's a stiff breeze maybe not but if it's a brisk sunny day and I'm out for a walk my legs will be much more comfortable in shorts than sweaty jeans or something. Bit of extra skin to soak up that vitamin D can't be bad for you either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,535 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

There are health and psychological benefits from building a tolerance to cooler temperatures and financial ones too when you consider the cost of heating these days.

It might look a bit silly to wear shorts in the winter, but if they can manage it comfortably than they probably have a reasonably healthy constitution.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,823 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Are they people that drive everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,535 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Ive seen people wear shorts on the bus, so, not all of them

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I don't mind checking out an nice pair of legs in winter - warms me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,241 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

-1 showing in the car today at about 6.30 pm. Decided to wear for the first time in about a year my amazing Carhartt arctic parka with a hoodie and T-shirt underneath… felt on walking outside to the car “ yep, glad I took the parka “…..i subsequently passed a fella in shorts and a not very warm looking autumnal style carpet type jacket… he was walking….down a long road, no cars or car park nearby, so either to the bus stop or all the way to his next destination…

Ive googled the opinion of others as to why people all of a sudden are going for this combo…the main consensus is that it’s attention seeking…A psychologists opinion “for attention, or to express their individuality”.. he even himself admits he does it…for these reasons. 🤦🏻‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭mulbot

Lovely feeling to have cold air on your legs, I like it, cold doesn't affect the legs too much, I wear shorts if I feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,129 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Yes but we also wear a pair of tights or a couple of pairs depending on how cold it is with our skirts in the cold weather.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Go stand outside a pub or nightclub tonight and you'll be surprised at how many don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,129 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Yes the young ones these days seem to have thicker skin. Good for them. I like to have tights on.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,021 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The people who I know who wear shorts a lot fall into different categories.

Some are just always bouncing around the place and can't sit still.

Another is fellas who like to show there a hard man.

Some just do it to follow the trend.

Another is some of these guys have very hot houses. They throw a coat on if there going to the shop in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

I ended up in howth two days in a row this week and there is a guy I saw there who apparently swims there every day and just stands and lets the air dry him i his nix - no matter the temperature. Not a shiver on him.

Over the years of all the stuff Ive done I thought I was "hard". But just looking at this guy made me feel cold and weak :) Im sorry I didnt go over to talk to him. I wonder who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

It's an interesting topic for sure.

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/22423982.2022.2111789#abstract

https://www.cell.com/cell-reports-medicine/fulltext/S2666-3791(21)00266-4?_returnURL=https%3A%2F%2Flinkinghub.elsevier.com%2Fretrieve%2Fpii%2FS2666379121002664%3Fshowall%3Dtrue&ref=selfreliantman.net

It's mainly, like most of these thing, in the mind. I tend to drip dry to and rarely shiver. I still find it hard every time I walk in but despite the very significant heat loss i feel really warm 10 mins later when drying.

Much like lifting heavy stuff, HIIT training etc, which are all involve acute short term discomfort, cold exposure also is really good for you.

I cycle all year round without gloves or legwarmers unless its under 2 or so degree and I'm going to the mountains where its colder. A friend who cycles wears gloves with heaters in them.

I convinced him that because he finds the cold so difficult he would benefit even more from cold exposure. If you are not finding it really difficult then you are not really getting the benefit.

Monday to Friday now that man is in the sea first thing every morning at 7am.

Huberman on a podcast with Soberg (author of one the linked studies) says the neurological benefit ( as in 6 hrs or so of feel good factor) can't be replicated by any drug and there is no downside or addiction issues.

The biology is fascinating, with adaptations shared with all mammals; they are that old and hard wired.

Good description from Guyenet here.

https://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/2013/07/brown-fat-its-big-deal.html

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I went to school rain, hail or snow in a skirt. Didn't do me a bit of harm, legs hardly feel the cold!

Absolutely, I've practised the Wim Hof for 8 years now. I also cold shower, I've prob had less than 10 warm showers in those years, I do use the sauna a, few times a week. I like the cold feeling, even through my school days, hated wearing jackets, disliked warm stuff rooms, even now, I prefer to hear the house with a fire rather than use radiators (for the most part). It's not some hard man thing, not for others to see me, it's purely for me,i just like that cold fresh feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Saw an example of that this morning .

Fellah did have lovely legs, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,492 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I have significant nerve damage and the only positive is I can walk around today in the nip and be grand 😀