Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs for 2024

1323334353638»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I saw then at Green Man and they were fantastic. Apart from a minor tantrum with the sound guys half way through they sounded amazing. Reading their book at the moment, just nice to still have bands doing their thing that connects the music of my youth with my current musical landscape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,118 ✭✭✭flasher0030

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭thebronze14

A wild crew. Seen them at 2 EPs and are a thoroughly enjoyable live act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Reckon I've seen them at least 20 times at this stage!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

How come there's no gigs by Glen Hansard/The Frames/The Swell Season in the lead up to Christmas. I thought a Glen Christmas gig was as certain as night follows day. Looks like I'll have to settle for Damo Dempsey instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭T.V Eye

I'll enjoy spending time with the family and not working but no gigs until Jesus Lizard mid Jan. Having serious withdrawal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,352 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

I'm delighted with the break! No driving to Dublin, parking, petrol plus the expense of a ticket itself for a few weeks? Grand.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

How far do you travel DW?

I'm just in Maynooth so it's handy enough in and out on the bus, but I do miss living in Dublin when it's time to go home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭T.V Eye

Ah fair enough. I'm in Rathmines so most Dublin gigs are a walk. I agree, it's good for the bank balance alright.

Post edited by T.V Eye on

ASIWYFA were just fantastic on Friday night. Crowd were well up for it too. Amazing way to end the gigs for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Had a great time at kneecap in Belfast. Was a bit worried it would be rough but was great fun. Plenty of jumping round done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,177 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Just a small crowd turned out for a doom metal session in Fibbers last night. 3 bands for €10.

Arrived a bit late so Dead Memories were already on. The mosh pit was mad with all 5 people in the audience giving as good as they got. Once they left, the mosh never got going again. Piano Black were different, not for moshing to anyway.
    The headliners, Superstatic, were good but again, no sign of a mosh. The small crowd would not have helped.

These Charming Men at Whelan's tonight. Started off with Sheila take a bow and went from there. Brilliant night, deliriously happy crowd singing every word, just a lovely atmosphere all round. New Mozza is great, deadly way to wind down a fantastic year of music. I'll raise a pint to the prospect of an even better year of gigs to come. All the best to you and yours, Boardsie gig goers. Hope to meet a few more of ye over the next 12 months. Keep those reviews and recommendations coming.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,465 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

The Scratch were excellent in Waterford last night. You are in for a great gig Sunday @PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,177 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

The End of Year Ball at The Workmans was packed. I stayed at the dj/rapp stage throughout. Great sets from Rhoshi and Lowkick with Curtisy putting in a man excellent guest appearance before he came on in his own slot. Second time I’ve seen him.

The guy lives, sleeps, breathes and smokes rhyming couplets and lyrics. He’s a class act.

Left after Curtisy finished at 12:30 but all the young ones were still rearing to go. Wonder who came on afterwards? Four hours of quality live music for €17.

Can’t see anything on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,692 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Granite Head

Last gig of the year, Something Happens in Whelans. As usual just good fun, great that they don't take themselves seriously. Here's to 2025 and embracing the Irish music scene which in my opinion (40 yrs experience) has never been stronger.

2025 Gigs and Events: 808 State, Houseplants, Dara O’Briain, Los Campesinos, Kawala, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Real lies, Frank Turner, Big Piig, Borderline Festival, Sun Mahshene, Novelle Vague, Fat Dog, La Femme, The Weather Station, Ben Ottewell & Ian Ball, Tindersticks, Spiritualized, Six Organs of Admittance, Coco & Clair Clair, Divorce, Moonlight the Philip Lynott Enigma, Lambrini Girls, Primal Scream, Flaming Lips, ispini na heireann,Viagara Boys, King Creosote, Get down services, Soccer Mommy, Throwing Muses, CMAT/Morgana/Biird, Supergrass, Camera Obscura, Stereophonics, In the Meadows Festival , PiL, BTP Festival, Gang of Four, Sparks, Mogwai, ATN Festival, Throwing Muses, EP Festival (Maybe), Clap your hands and say Yeah, Vantastival, The Wedding Present, Robert Forster, Declan O' Rourke, Greg Davies, Jack Dee, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Rhod Gilbert, Turin Brakes, Perfume Genius, John Bishop, Ardal O’Hanlon, 808 State, My Bloody Valentine, Starsailor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Granite Head

Were you giving it socks in front of the sound desk?

2025 Gigs and Events: 808 State, Houseplants, Dara O’Briain, Los Campesinos, Kawala, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Real lies, Frank Turner, Big Piig, Borderline Festival, Sun Mahshene, Novelle Vague, Fat Dog, La Femme, The Weather Station, Ben Ottewell & Ian Ball, Tindersticks, Spiritualized, Six Organs of Admittance, Coco & Clair Clair, Divorce, Moonlight the Philip Lynott Enigma, Lambrini Girls, Primal Scream, Flaming Lips, ispini na heireann,Viagara Boys, King Creosote, Get down services, Soccer Mommy, Throwing Muses, CMAT/Morgana/Biird, Supergrass, Camera Obscura, Stereophonics, In the Meadows Festival , PiL, BTP Festival, Gang of Four, Sparks, Mogwai, ATN Festival, Throwing Muses, EP Festival (Maybe), Clap your hands and say Yeah, Vantastival, The Wedding Present, Robert Forster, Declan O' Rourke, Greg Davies, Jack Dee, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Rhod Gilbert, Turin Brakes, Perfume Genius, John Bishop, Ardal O’Hanlon, 808 State, My Bloody Valentine, Starsailor.

Ha! I was, tartan shirt, lost in the music as the man says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Did you head to this, Wooderson?

Apologies if you've already reported on it, couldn't see it. How was it? It was the one gig I was really gutted to miss this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,692 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Really enjoyed The Scratch in Bank Lane Waterford on Sunday Night. The lads were on fire and the crowd was red hot. Pity 'Another Round' wasn't played (as Jordon is gone) but loved 'Cig In the breeze' and 'Old Dog'. They all seem so down to earth and we're mingling with the crowd after the show. A great end to gigs for 2024

20241229_213235.jpg 20241229_213235.jpg 20241229_220152.jpg 20241229_225100.jpg 20241229_222739.jpg
    Post edited by PTH2009 on