Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭testtech05

Not sure how the Tmo calls a high hit on gus McCarthy but not bundee just before the try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Bubsy seems to get an inordinate amount of our interprovincials. And it’s never good news.

Cian questioning rightly why only one side actions are being checked but that was a late hit by Jennings

Far too soft in defense

That’s just pathetic defence unfortunately.

Was sure tector rolling away moved the ball there what is the linesman watching.

Quinlan just mentioned it on premier sports too

We are really missing Jack at 10 what little ball we have we look very disjointed.

Hurley langton and the lineout are the only real positive for me in that half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Former Coach

Exactly what I was thinking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

2 head contacts ignored by the TMO. Not playing well but need to be reffed fairly.

Another scrum where we should have a pen right in front on Busby but he resets. So frustrating

Line kicking from both Ioane and Forde is very poor

More like it lads

Lovely try

Busby always kills us at the scrum. 4 scrum pens against us.

Unbelievable effort by Cian to get back and stop that

Busby put the whistle to his lips for a penalty in our last attack there then played on. Should it not have been advantage at least if he thought there was an infringement.

Disappointing result to not get a LBP

Sickener to lose the BP due to that late pen. Blade came flying in there at the scrum to set off that Leinster break. He completely missed JGP though and Leinster were away.

Its happening fairly regularly where our lineout overall is pretty good but we mess up really important ones in the scoring zones. We messed up 2 close to their line again tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Even though it's leinster; we need to be beating a team starting 5 academy players 😔

So so poor in the first half. We weren't savvy enough; Gus McCartney rubbed his jaw and loudly said he'd been hit in the face and leinster wouldn't let the play start until it had been checked (wrong call I thought; initial impact on body then rode up). But when Aki and Ioane we head hunted we just complained and played on, neither were checked.

Hope to never see a 12-13 of Aki and Forde again; two of our best players so your instinct is to get your best men on the pitch but it just doesn't work. Looked better offensively and defensively with O'Connor there.

How we were so slow to get up to the physicality of the game is beyond me; 45 mins on the clock before we cowboyed up and started winning impacts.

Disappointing result to get 0 points but there were some positives there; Santi was good when he came on and Hansen is getting back to his best. In the pack they had Boyle well marked but Seamus was brilliant again.

Need a win at the min against Ulster, maybe even a 5 pointer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,845 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm tempted to write to the IRFU and request they look at the game and adjudicate Busby's performance. I'll ask then to look at other Connacht games he's reffed if they find issues in this game.

He's a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭kita99

Too many strange and unfair judgement against Connacht. On the other hand, growth of Jennings and D.Murray was very impressive. SHL was very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,865 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

I liked us better when Poc went into 13.

Why are we so poor kicking the ball from hand? It's not like its not something that can be practiced during the week.

Shite reffing did us in the first half. Couldn't leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 dee_kay

Mack's seriously unhappy

https://x.com/byBrendanOBrien/status/1870570235335762041?t=WYjIRORxap0AmqHcsIhpVw&s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

He's dead right. Not checking those two calls was BS. And freeze framing the one on McCarthy, which yeah was head contact. But so were the other 2. TMO was a joke. But Mack will get a ban and probably dropped from the Ireland squad for calling it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Just when I thought I couldn't love Hansen anymore!

I see a lot of people calling it inconsistent; it's not, we consistently do not get any 50/50 calls against Irish opposition and we don't have any ex players in national media fighting our corner so fair play to mack for calling it out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Strand1970

When the TMO freezed the image of the non hit he was pushing for a card. I thought for a second he is forcing the ref fir a card and it was going to be a red because if its a head hit its red gull stop. Infairness the ref wasn't having it. Then for Aki's hit, no ref review because it would have resulted in a card and we can't have the new urc star maybe on a red. Honestly I think there wasn't much in the Aki hit but it's not fair just to review the connacht tackles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Refs get stuff wrong in games and it's part of it. Fair enough everyone's human. However when you have the bigger teams and bigger names consistently reffed softer than the smaller teams it imbalances the league.

Sometimes we are the beneficiaries, when we play at home to dragons, zebra etc. The TMO has the benefit of time and no pressure, they should be getting it right. 100% of the time.