Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Extremely trivial in the scheme of things but seeing Marlay Park spelled as Marley Park annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,311 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

TA for young people (say under 25) wearing Nirvana t-shirts, even though Nirvana finished years before they were even born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Imo, as long as they're into the band, doesn't matter what age they are or when the band finished. There are Beatles obsessives who were born long after 1970.

My TA is people wearing a band/musician t-shirt when not having a clue about the act in question. I don't care if that's "gatekeeping".

Post edited by Frost Spice on

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Slight dizziness this morning. Not really enough to put me off coming into the office for the Christmas lunch but………..just ever so slightly disconcerting. I'm not usually dizzy. I just feel kinda……… off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The new anthem for Boards.ie has just been announced: Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Talk on the radio this morning about increasing the number of driving lessons required before applying for a test

Maybe have a few of the 12 lessons for night driving and motorway driving !

Madness that someone can get a licence and then let off on a motorway,

Night driving is so different to day driving I cannot understand why a few lessons are not compulsory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wanky hotel ads where they call their chain of hotels a "collection".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,392 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Workmen doing a job in the house that was booked months ago, really doesn't suit me to sit in the house today.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There's a Chinese lad at work who I suspect might be a bit autistic. He has a habit of dropping absolute clangers into conversations for no reason. I add his nationality because it would explain why he doesn't know how certain things are done here in the UK.

Anyway, a while ago he once told me that Irish and English are the same thing. I told him that he was wrong and our line manager (also Chinese) decided to have words with him. It's a very diverse workplace so this was warranted IMO.

Two days ago he asks me if I'm Catholic out of the blue. I say no. He then proceeds to ask me why Irish people are Catholic and how it restricts them and ruins the country. Curious, I ask where he is getting this from. He says it's from a book he is reading. More curious, I inquire what book this is.

"It's a secret", he says, frustratingly. I don't lecture him on the Qing dynasty, the Taping revolution, the Boxer rebellion or the massacre at Nanjing but yeah….

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I just overheard an American tourist refer to James Joyce as "Jimmy J" and now I want to burn the world down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,258 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,777 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The number of people who attain positions of authority / responsibility in life, who genuinely should not be allowed eat their dinner unsupervised but who for some reason get given critical control over situations and people and what happens to them…… you used to encounter these gimps every now and then, but now it’s with increasing regularity. 🤮

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Was at the supermarket the other day and some aulwan had here trolley diagonally across the aisle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The one time I was hoping there'd be no-one ahead of me in my regular barbers at this time of day has to be the one time EVERYONE ahead of me is getting time-consuming haircuts. Two tracksuited bedecked lads getting hairstyles (fades etc.) for chaps half their age, and another presumably going to get his pubes done next seeing as he has had every other available hair meticulously groomed.

Feck sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭Archeron

The barber I use is brilliant, and always does a great job, top class service, luxury treatment with hot towels and beard blow drys and stuff, class.

BUT, he shaves my eyelids with a straight razor and that is a very very discombobulating sensation.

I never even knew eyelids need to be shaved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 flavinjohn

CO2 extinguishers full of man-made carbon yet no one complains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,635 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We live in a world where apparently our technology is improving at a rate of knots. We have AI being touted left, right and centre. My Samsung phone is meant to be equipped with AI now, yet for some reason it has the worst predictive text I've ever seen.

Why does it think I want to type 'eas' instead of 'was'. It's not even a word ffs.

Or 'thr' instead of 'the'.

Tech, eh!

On the annoying quirks of phones: the accidental touch protection feature that makes you swipe up the screen every time it happens. It is so finnicky that you end up swiping about 20 times to get it to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭apache

Aul wans and their shopping trollys on buses. There should be a limit. No room for anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,540 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Eating a small carrot cake, when you should have just had a slice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Terence Rattigan

you make a phone call from your favourites, fine, but they disconnect a fraction of a second before your fat thumb gets there and you end up accidentally ringing someone on the list, end it as quickly as possible but they then ring you back and you have to explain etc. Aarghh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 flavinjohn

Cancelling world-class philosophers and renaming their libraries after minor poets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I was in the copy place yesterday, was almost finished when a man came in and spoke to the boss.

Once that convo was over the man walked over and stood just at my right shoulder and slightly behind, all the time rocking gently on the balls of his feet and humming softly(to, I assume himself)

A while later he asked me if I was almost finished?, I didn't really know as I was unsure as to how many pages had been printed out already. Deep sigh and tsked, took out his phone and sent the print job to a different printer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WTF was the point in all that when he wasn't after the printer I was using anyway!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Ta'ed relatives hugely activated by lunar activities, going on and on about how ridiculous it is to believe such things!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Took my shoes off about half an hour ago when I got home from work and both my feet have been trying their level best to cramp since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Irish news stories: (someone who does something detestable) "avoids jail."

It's exceptional when someone actually gets jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,777 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

People doing commentary to debate or interview videos online. Some of them are very good at breaking things down and pausing the video to give their take on things. The ones who annoy me are the people who just nod along and barely speak. They just say things like 'good point' and 'yes, she's right'. Why even bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Podcasts with the hosts yammering inane off-topic gibberish back and forth.

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,540 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

People who can't or won't spell your name right, even though it's a very common and easy to spell name and even though it's on the what's app chat and even though everyone else in the chat can spell it right, and even after several years.