Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Violence on this island in the aftermath of independence was inevitable, no matter what the powers in be did or didn't do.

There was partition, and we had a civil war as a result. If there was no partition, there would also have been a civil war, but with different parties. What does that mean? It means that your silly claim that those in power are responsible for war and conflict is completely nonsense. Conflict is caused by people taking part. A government has democratic legitimacy and has a responsibility to keep order, sometimes that will require the use of violence. Sometimes that will go too far - Bloody Sunday - and those responsible have to pay a price. However, non-state actors such as Sinn Fein and the PIRA have no such democratic legitimacy, never have it actually, and the full responsibility for violence falls on them, when they take part in it.

The British government have taken responsibility for Bloody Sunday, quite rightly, but they are not the cause of violence in the North, they are not responsible in any way for the actions of Sinn Fein and the PIRA, that is fully on those members of those organisations who committed acts of violence. All of them deserve to be brought to justice at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,772 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Do you accept that you were wrong to state that

It is well known that Sinn Fein had little to do with the GFA.

I'll post this link from your government again:

Do you dispute the contention in that link that SF/Gerry Adams are acknowledged 'key players' and joint 'architects' of the GFA?
    If you do, on what factual basis do you dispute it?

Sinn Fein, the PIRA and Gerry Adams had little to do with the GFA. The vast amount of credit goes to people like Albert Reynolds and John Hume who started the road to peace, and to the British and Irish governments for delivering it in the face of provocation from the violent thugs on either side who sought to resist it. A tiny amount of credit goes to those violent thugs for stopping being violent thugs in the name of "politics". Of course, those of the violent thugs who kept going, or who maintained their protection rackets, kneecapping, protection of child abusers and other salubrious activities deserve no credit. Look at Adams, whose actions in the years up to and after the GFA in relation to many such issues deserves no credit. History will not look kindly on Gerry Adams, who will be recognised for the person that he is.

https://sluggerotoole.com/2010/01/16/liam-adams-timeline/

This is one example.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-29786451

This is another.

How can someone claim credit for working for peace in the years up until 1998, when these timelines clearly show what he was at in the time leading up to the GFA and subsequently?

Huge credit to those who held their noses and dealt with this type of person and brought peace. Imagine a serial killer who killed 20 people, handed himself in to the gardai, and stopped killing people. Would you give him credit for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Not sure why you think this is such a big find?

Do you think the irish government is going to get one of its department to publish an official document which is slagging off people involved in the GFA agreement and the whole reason of the hard work done by Bertie etc was bring people together?

Thats the sort of stupid thing you would see from SF, as we have seen in the North, spend more time bickering and fighting than anything else.

If SF went into government Im sure all of this documentation would be changed into their version of history which is constantly changing to suit their narritive. Dropping out the actual main people involved in making the peace process to the new version.

You didn't provide any "facts", you just pointed to a government department.

SF as discussed are not the main players in the GFA, of course they had to be involved and could be described as key players because they represented a group of criminal and murdered. Even after the GFA they continued to protect paedofiles etc. Not really helping the people of Northern or Southern Ireland by protecting paedofiles are they?

Also by the way it has nothing to do with the post you quoted when your colleague is spinning nonsense about the past in Northern ireland. I expect you are aware of this so going off on this tangent.

SF was part of the GFA agreement, nobody is denying that. Did the GFA happen because of SF? No chance.
    Did they bring around the GFA? no chance

So you are continuing to dispute your own government's version of historical facts.

Fair enough, people can draw their own conclusions from that.
    I'll hold to my original interpretation:

It is notable that there are 2 factions not happy with the GFA as is, The DUP never endorsed the agreement and have since tried to take down the GFA. Partitionists, fearful of giving SF and nationalists any credit whatsoever have tried to parse and alter the actual history of what happened, and constantly reveal that they had fingers crossed behind their backs when voting for it's terms, but the GFA prevails above them all.

*bolding mine, to highlight what you have just doubled down on.

There is nothing factually inaccurate in my posts.

Edit: Just looked at your link, that isn't a government version, that is version produced by the Oireachtas, with Sinn Fein members involved!!!

Edit2: One of the members was that renowned Shinner, beloved by MLMD - Niall O'Donnghaile.

Don't worry, nobody, absolutely nobody is diminishing Bertie's role or Mo Mowlan's role or Tony Blair's or Bill Clinton's.

There is no need for SF to alter the existing historical facts on that website.

It is YOU FOLK who are engaging in attempts to alter historical acknowledged FACTS.

Jesus H.
    Are you now saying that the official Oireachtas site has been taken over by nefarious Shinners?

Dear lord, this is bizarre stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Will you please answer the question someone else asked:

Imagine a serial killer who killed 20 people, handed himself in to the gardai, and stopped killing people. Would you give him credit for that?

I will answer any relevant questions arising from what I post. I have presented backed up facts.

That question is nonsense tbh and deserves to be treated as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Francis McM

It is a relevant question because the analogy is plain for all to see. You refusing to answer it speaks volumes.

No it isn't.
    It's just a pathetic attempt to divert into fighting your version of the conflict/war again.

We are discussing the historical facts around who was involved in the GFA and the bogus notion presented that 'SF were not involved'.

You know that isn't what I was saying, why do you continually make things up?

You claimed that a report came from the government, it didn't, it was part-authored by your colleague Niall O'Donnghail. The possibilities are that you didn't understand the difference between the Oireachtas and the Government or you were trolling me. Here is your lie again, claiming that the report was the government's version of historical facts.

You have now been caught out multiple times posting lies.

The Oireactas and it's committees are tasked by the sitting government.

Have the sitting government or any previous one disputed (as you do) the contentions or historical facts contained on the site?

Again, you attempt to deflect away from presenting a credible version of your alternative facts, no surprise there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭pureza

To be fair @blanch152 theres no point splitting those hairs,it’s a government accepted document

Ergo you have your opinion and @FrancieBrady has his,largely shared by me on this particular topic

Just as much as the bike shed is an SF ,Fine Gael and FF accepted expense inadvertently by virtue of them being on the Oireachtas committee that oversees the works in Leinster house

These are all just the uncomfortable facts

Stop covering up for your lies. You are attempting to obfuscate again when you have been caught out.

You claimed something as a government historical report. It wasn't. It wasn't anywhere close to that. You either lied or didn't know or understand the difference between the Oireachtas and the Government.

Either that or you had the unbelievable audacity to claim that something co-authored by the Sinn Fein darling, Niall O'Donghaile, provided independent evidence that SF were responsible for the GFA.

I wasn't the one presenting my opinion as being the government-endorsed opinion in a faux attempt to discredit others.

I stand over my version, you can differ, @FrancieBrady can differ, but neither of you can pass off that document as being some official record. That is a report of a committee and has as much validity as any other one, most of which are never seen or heard from again after being written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭shoegirl

And yet we've one of the highest immigration rates in the EU.

My god, we have reached the dizzying conspiracy heights now that SF have taken over the Oreachtas site and are distributing false historical facts.

Oh its the bold and capitals are out

Best to leave the children to it so

In terms of changing history and facts, yes SF do it constantly.

And off Clo goes having not presented a single backed up fact to support his theories.

In response to @blanch152 pedantic point of order, I have researched what the gov.ie site holds on these matters. A quick search shows the Taoiseach reaffirming and agreeing with the views of the Oireachtas site. On the occasion of Martin McGuinnes deciding not to contest an election, he had this to say:

I know that Martin remains firmly committed to delivering a peaceful and prosperous society for all of the people of Northern Ireland.

He was one of the key architects of the Good Friday Agreement, and a tireless and committed champion of the Peace Process.

*bolding mine

No bold or capitals this time.

Another long day at the cold face. All of this has been discussed with you multiple times, the information has all been provided already and we all seen the childish bold letter and capitals all before.

It's another day of Francie going around and around in circles on the exact same topic ignoring every other discussion with information provided, which you ignore and go off on the same tangent. Give it a weke and you will be off down the same rabbit hole

So in terms of providing "back up" it is pointless with you becuase you spin the exact same bullsh*t and nonsense on every topic and then when information and facts are provided you ignore and go back to the previous topic to post the exact same bullsh*t and nonsense again.

The main reason the GFA agreement happened was becuase of FF, Labour and the US involvement. SF as we have seen before and since are too busy bickering with everyone and of course protecting paedofiles and criminals to worry about the people on the street and what they want. The glorious failure of SF in Northern Ireland since the GFA agreement again proves they are totally useles.

Now you can take out the crayons again. Im sure this will come around again in a week or two again

No point making reference to anything on the SF website, Im sure they are due another purge soon and history change

You haven't provided a single backed up fact on your contention that SF had nothing to do with the GFA Clo = fact.

All I can do is keep providing actual links to what their involvement was.

If you have any understanding at all of the word 'architect' then you will have to provide counter information that the Taoiseach (Varadkar in the link above, I think, maybe Kenny) and the Oireachtas and the BBC are wrong.

Best of luck with that. Don't make statements you cannot back up would be my advice.

That is nothing compared to the send-off that MLMD gave to Niall O'Donnghaile.

The now constant attempts to divert the conversation lead only to one conclusion - your theory, that 'SF had nothing to do with the GFA' hasn't a single factual leg to stand on.

I hold the opinion that Sinn Fein deserve no credit for the GFA, all they did was stop supporting terrorist acts (in essence that means they had nothing to do with the GFA). That is backed up by the facts of events I have presented and the timelines. I also went on to point out that after the GFA, they kept up the rest of their nefarious acts, kneecappings, punishment beatings and protecting child abusers, and I gave timeline examples to show that was so.

Again I ask, do you think that a serial killer who gives up serial killing and hands himself into Gardai deserves any credit for doing so? I don't.

Address the points I make, not the points you think I make.

You aren’t being asked to give them credit. You guys ve them credit for nothing, ever.

You are specifically asked again for backup for your theory that:

SF had nothing to do with the GFA

when your own government refers to them as ‘architects’ of it.

Stop trying to deflect from your erroneous and bogus claim.

You are telling lies again. This is what I posted in post 11577:

"Those who continued with violence after the Downing Street Declaration deserve zero credit for any peace, simple as that. Those who continued with the peace plan - the British and Irish governments - are those who deserve all the credit for the peace. The Irish people who gave up their cherished territorial claim for a united Ireland also deserve huge credit."

This is what I posted in post 11581:

"Sinn Fein and the PIRA deserve whatever credit anyone deserves for stopping killing people. In my opinion, those who had a habit of terrorist crimes and then stopped those terrorist crimes deserve a tiny tiny modicum of credit, and there should never be any celebration or commemoration of their activities while there is living memory of their actions."

There are several other posts where I post about little credit being due to Sinn Fein and the PIRA for the GFA. You are lying again and again.

Produce the post with the words you have directly quoted and put them in their context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭StormForce13

Waynetta's "Elect me as Taoiseach, you bastards" stunt nosedived spectacularly in the Dáil this afternoon: She received 44 votes and 110 Pish Off votes, with the other 17 TDs abstaining. 44/173 = 25% of the vote. I'm awaiting Francie's claim that this represents yet another great victory for Sinn Fein.