Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Time Farmer - Issue

• 14-12-2024 06:56PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

I really would appreciate some advice on an issue I had recently.

After the recent storm a large ash tree fell on a boundary hedge right into my recently inherited lands, I'm very new to all this and would like some advice.

The tree in question was solely on my lands, I had noticed it and had plans to saw it up myself. 7 days later I arrive to do just this and find the tree has totally been removed and almost cleared up. After some ringing around I come to find out the actual owner of the neighboring lands has took it upon himself to take the tree and has drove across my lands using a gate which hasn't been used in years cutting up the land, the gate is never used as its very hilly and dangerous.

Anyway long story short the actual person who did this arrives on site while I'm their walking up my land and says hes cleaning up, I tell him to get of my property and we have a heated discussion, resulting in the Gardai being called. Who on their arrival tell me he had no right to enter my land.

I expressed my concerns than an elderly gentle man was on my lads without my permission using a chainsaw, and I was very concerned with this, had he had an accident who would be liable, let alone the fact he was removing timber which I believe was due to me.

He says the tree forms part his property, "merening" and it is his no matter where it lands? He says I own the other half of the hedge which very conveniently starts after the fallen tree. I would have considered where any tree lands is who owns it?

He said as the land was in probate he didnt know who to contact, yet the person who rents his land was well aware i was due to inherit the land not a valid excuse to me

What should I do next if anything?

• Demand the fire wood is returned?
    • Have a solicitor send him a letter stating he is never to enter my lands again and return the timber?
    Post edited by K.G. on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭RockOrBog

Call in the special branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭kk.man

If you can prove the tree was yours, then it's criminal theft. Get onto your solicitor first to seek ownership and if it's yours make a statement to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭893bet

ah lads stop 😀

I would go with Option 3

3) leave it be now. You said your piece. What is done is done. Secure your gates with locks.

It was cheeky as ****. But not worth getting all bent up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,334 ✭✭✭chooseusername

If the tree was growing on your neighbour's land and it fell into your land, ( which is what it sounds like in your op) your neighbour owns the tree. They should have asked permission to come onto your land and clear it up.

However going all guns blazing and involving the Gardaí and solicitors does not make for good neighbourly relations, and as a "firsttimefarmer" you will need to get along with your neighbours. Pop round for a chat and a cup of tea, explain your side and listen to their's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭older by the day

Put, a lock on your gate, and forget it, don't be making solicitors wealthy, over the tree. If it was up on the ditch it's hard to say. Of course he should have asked to enter your land.

You learned a lesson for the price of a tree. Lock the gate and don't have anything to do with him. If an animal of yours breaks in to his land next year, you'll feel like a right diiick won't you. Let it go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 firsttimefarmer2024

Thanks for all the replies they are most valuable.

Just on the tree location, its in the boundary hedge but most certainly more to my side, and not out on the neighboring land.

For a little more context without going into too much detail, this is not an isolated event, since my late relative passed other liberties have been taken but the same individual and his lessee e.g. Cutting down of other tree which broke fencing without repair, when I asked for the repair he wanted to move the boundary a few more feet into my land, telling me it was only a few feet. There's other land which they tried to use without me knowing or asking me, I cant give much detail here as it could identify me, but safe to say this would never have been attempted if my relative was still alive.

Not being from a farming background myself I was furious to see this person had now entered by recently inherited hands freely to cut up this tree and used a totally unsafe entrance to do so (i.e. hilly uneven route).

I'm all for getting on with people and living a quite life but today I felt I couldnt let this one slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭visatorro

Once the tree falls onto your land it's yours. No matter who owns the boundary hedge. Abit like branch's over hanging into a garden you have the right to cut them. That was always my understanding.

With that new information best ignore my post above. Put a lock on your gate as advised above.

It's not uncommon for landowners or their lessees to take advantage of absent neighbours and encroach on their land.

"Abit like branch's over hanging into a garden you have the right to cut them."

But you don't have the right to keep them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I'd be delighted if someone came and took a tree, saves me a lot of work for something I have no use for.

This seems to be a bigger issue however judging by your second post. It's incredibly insulting to suggest to someone to move their boundary fence back a few feet and very much shows a lack of respect towards you. Put a lock on the gate and move on, the fight might have put him back in his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Put a lock on the gate, forget about the tree. Have a wee word with tenant and remind him that liberties have been taken and that they are not to be taken again.

For you own peace of mind figure out who owns what boundary hedges around your farm.

A neighbour of mine has a 10 acre field and all he owns is the boundary on the road side which is actually the shortest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Its nearly at the stage you owe him for taking the tree away.by that i mean the value of the work to get it into the fire out weighs the calorific value of the timber.obviously this comment has nothing to do with the legal side of the conversation

I think your missing my main points of concern it's not the value of the timber.

But rather the fact an elderly man was on the land with a chainsaw without my knowledge and also the fact he drove a very unsafe route across my land.

How do I go about checking who owns what boundaries? I got the maps from the land registry and I don't see it document.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭limo_100

I was always told that if there’s a drain on the bountry that which ever side has the drain dug out on owns the hedge as the clay that came out of the drain belongs to that side. If I was in your situation just lock all gates and do a regular check to make sure all gates are being kept locked. And if that didn’t satisfy you I would just get a letter for a solicitor sent to anyone that has over stepped the mark and lay it out any more trespassing and theft will be prosecuted too the full extend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

No offence but your first post seemed to convey you were most concerned with the timber.

You asked

What should I do next if anything?

• Demand the fire wood is returned?
    • Have a solicitor send him a letter stating he is never to enter my lands again and return the timber?

Both suggestions seemed to convey it was the timber you were most concerned with.

As suggested a lock on the gate would probably stop anyone entering to cut up and remove trees.

If there's other examples of this person trying to take over your land then inform the executor. I believe they would be responsible for ensuring someone else didn't take over an asset while the estate is in probate. I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yeah I think the OP has got very good advise here. If they are now not concerned about the timber itself but someone entering their land then put a lock on the gate and secure the entrance. Welcome to country life, issues with people entering property will exist be it shooting/hunting etc...first step is always lock up and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭148multi

As I understand, The centre of the drain is mostly where boundary is, but there's exceptions. if the tree falls into your field it then becomes your property, It's treated differently than overhanging branches. Don't think a tree is worth a solicitor's letter. If you feel so strongly about it make a statement, but it's something your neighbour will never forget. Good neighbours are like gold and worth several trees. Go to your solicitor and find out where exactly the boundary is, so you know. If it was mine I'd tell him to keep the timber this time as a gift, and tell him in a calm strong manner where the boundary is. The best way of changing another person's attitude towards you is for you to change your behaviour towards them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

it’s quite common. A tree falls in a storm and the “special branch” ( excuse the pun) are out removing the tree as good citizens .
    we’ve had forestry contractors accidentally taking ash trees down in our family land and then magically they end up on the forestry side .
    Trees fallen on your land is yours . No right of entry for anyone .

Thanks for all the replies it great to get others view points.

I'll be sending him a solicitors letter stating that neither he or his lessee are to enter my lands every again without my permission.

I'll have the solicitor confirm the ownership of the timber and if it was due to me I'll have it stated I'm not seeking it's return as a good will gesture in the hope we never have a recurrence of this.

I've since check the history of the individuals involved and it turns out they have previous form similar to this, involving trespassing, removal of items from neighbouring lands. I was told by an elderly mam I'm simply not wanted in the area and this family wish to control many aspects in the town land.

Kinda makes sense now as I've been approached many times already by them to sell the land to them or lease it at an under market price, which simply won't happen now. I've secured a new tenant I know from my own area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭older by the day

What we're you asking for our advice so then for. Work Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

In fairness, he's rowed back on demanding timber back so I think he's taken some of the advice here on board.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

If it was me from now on i wouldnt pursue the recent situation but i would up my observation of the land and i would also increase my visibility when i m in the area by always driving past that neighbours house and engaging with the other neighbour s and the Tennant .you dont have to be a pain in the ass just chat away to them its amazing what you ll learn and how any future situations will be viewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭893bet

I have a massive ash tree down. Border tree between me and neighbour. Ash tree with a circa 3 foot trunk. It fell my way to my problem. If it fell the other way his problem.

1) I am gonna have to get someone in to cut. 200 quid but there will be a nice touch of firewood at least.

2) sad to see all the massive ash trees coming down. Every year for the last 5 I have said I must strategically plant a few broad leaves and protect them. With hedges getting tended to, even only every 5-10 years large trees don’t really have a chance to establish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 cloughy20

This is what I've been told, basically in the past a farmer wanted to create boundary, so they dig drain and piles soil on their own land as close to boundary as possible, plants hedge in the piled soil, therefore the soil the hedge is growing from belongs to the same side as the drain as does the trees and bushes. I've been shown a case law ruling about it in the past but can't remember it now.

It basically comes down to whichever side has the drain/gripe (whatever you want to call it) owns the boundary hedge and therefore the tree, this means they would also be responsible for maintaining the boundary so I'd thread carefully, you don't want to win the battle by getting the tree back, and lose the war by having to spend money fully stockproffing a boundary which is ususlly done on an adhoc as needed basis between neighbours.

I don't think a surveyor will be helpful, land registry maps and deeds are nowhere near acurate enough to measure down to the individual tree level due to the scale of the map, especially in rural areas, for a surveyer in a practical sense it will be a case of looking at a boundary line on the map then looking at the line the hedge takes on the ground, and measuring from a known point like a building or crossroads and if its roughl accurate (a foot or two) saying that looks pretty good, it's not likely an established hedge will have moved recently.

If you are going down the solicitor route as mentioned, bring pictures of the area, the drain, the hedge, the locastion where the tree stood and fell, the route the farmer took accross your land so they can get a feel for the lie of the land without a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

As for the exact land boundary - there is the Land Registry map, the ordinance survey maps, your belief of where the boundary is, your neighbour's view of where it is and the satellite views. Take your pick. The Land Registry won't stand over their maps. They are full of errors. Believe me. I've seen their boundaries go tru the middle of actual houses.

A lot of ambiguity and Solicitors love ambiguity. They'll charge you for it.

Before going down the solicitor route, remember what happened to Moss Moore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I wasnt aware that some people think they own the boundary hedge. In all my time farming, the boundary hedge is a sort of no man's land. You tend your side and the neighbour tends his. If you want to top the hedge then you have to have an agreement in place before you touch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭goingmadted

He sounds like a bolix. Put your foot down now. It will stop him in the future doing similar. Cant understand why ppl are basically saying just leave it. Feck him. Id be around straight away making sure he knew about it.

Think my thread has got alot more traction on here than I ever expected.

I am very grateful for every reply and this thread alond has helped me make up my mind to contact my solicitor first thing in the morning, and send him a warning letter at least. I'm not in any way planning to proceed legally further.

I hated having to call the gardai out as I know they have better things to do,but I knew I had to show him I was serious.

Just the cheek of him when I tackled him standing on my land, telling me he had a right to access the tree. I laughed at him, he opened a big hole also in the hedge in order to pass the timber back into his field too, I'll be asking in the letter too that this is repaired.

He kept recording me on his phone while we were both having a heated discussion him on my land all the time.

Then the cheek of him driving in a gate which wasn't used in years up a steep hill which slopes off to the left too, certainly a tractor roll over risk as confirmed by the previous tenant.

He also pointed out trees belonging to me he said in the sane hedge and told me if they fall into his field I can't go into his field, so as you can see there's no give all take.

He cut up a grass verge which was mowed by lawnmower for years all a mess including the tracks up the hill.

I know if my late relative was still alive none of this would be going on, I'm not from a farming background, I'm shocked to think someone can speak highly of a deceased person then go and do this.

Post edited by firsttimefarmer2024 on