Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murders of two gay men in Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,047 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

I don't think anyone is saying the house idea is the only possible explanation, but so far it is the only potentially legitimate explanation that has been suggested. If you were only suggesting another illegal way in which they could have come by their money, then fair enough, but it seems a bit pointless in the context, which was a discussion as to whether they could have a legal way of having so much money in the house and also be on social welfare payments.

So your contribution to that was to speculate on a different but also illegal way they could have got the money - would that be right?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,074 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

How can someone on benefits become a citizen?

Surely you should need a minimum of 10 years income tax receipts before you can have an application considered?

The second thing is, how can a non EU citizen claim benefits in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Packrat

Not sure if you're serious... or have been living in an isolated cave for the last 3 years....

If so, Google will tell you what is required for citizenship, and it's not 10 years of tax receipts. It's proof of about 5 years living here and £900, which I believe some NGO will pay if you can't come up with it/are of the right grouping/ethnicity.

Non EU can apply for asylum (€38 pw plus bed, board and all medical) → and if successful decision can then avail of all benefits until citizenship rolls around.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

Hard to know how they'd save 350k legally. 350k÷18(years on welfare 2006-2024)= €373 saved every week without fail. Even if they sold a house in Iraq, I can't imagine property prices there are up to much.

Post edited by foxatron on

How many people? I don't know the answer BTW...

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

Two, the parents. The dole looks to have been 165 p/w in 2006. They had 8 kids, maybe they saved the children's allowance too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Could some of the 350k have been stolen from the two men he had killed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,668 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

SFAIK there's no reason to think that any of his victims kept large amounts of money in their homes, and neither the surviving victim nor the families of the murder victims have reported any theft.

Also worth noting that the current proceedings do not involve the murderer. They are between the murderer's father and the State.

Based on newspaper reports, there are two separate issues involved in these proceedings, neither of which involve the son or his crimes.

First, criminal assets: When the house was searched after the son's arrest, they found two suitcases full of cash — about €350,000. Under the Criminal Assets Bureau Act 1996, if there's a "reasonable suspicion" that assets derive from crime, they can be seized and held pending investigation, so as to ensure that, if they are the proceeds of crime, the offender does not get the benefit of them and they cannot be dissipated. The cash was seized on this basis. However, newspaper reports are now saying that "it is is understood" that the Guards no longer think the money represents the proceeds of crime; presumably those reports are based on information coming from the Guards. If that's so, the upshot of the case may well be the money being returned to Palani.

But . . .

Secondly, Palani has been in receipt of social welfare payments for many years. These have now been denied him. Plus, the state is claiming repayment of benefits already received. We haven't seen the state's arguments on this, but a wild guess is that he didn't disclose the €350k when applying for or receiving the benefits; if he had, the benefits would have been denied; as he wasn't property entitled to the benefits, they must be repaid. And, just possibly, the state will be seeking to deduct the value of benefits paid from the 350k before returning it.

Post edited by Peregrinus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,074 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

I mean surely it SHOULD be the case that only long term tax contributors should be considered for citizenship and there isn't really any case for allowing non EU citizens to access benefits. Hey don't allow that in most countries

I agree but most of the electorate obviously don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,572 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I assume legal aid is not offered for this type of case or is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Back in the day an uncle of mine lived a spartan life in the countryside with his similar unmarried brother. They survived largely on their own means, working hard growing their own vegetables, selling milk from the few cows they owned, eggs from their chickens, turf from their bog. When the uncle died he left a small cash amount, we're talking c 20k pounds after a lifetime saving. Because he hadn't declared enough from the meager earnings he got from the local creamery social welfare deducted money from his will. The likes of the Palanis can arrive in and be supported by the state with housing and social welfare without lifting a finger for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Whats worse more well to do farmers got roasted by revenue back in the early nineties when income tax was introduced first for farmers ,they paid the back tax ,penalties,interest and were fined on top and this was all out of hard work .Any farms with a family to be supported had to sell land and sites to keep afloat ,the bachelor farmers were just left penniless.The tax amnesties saved a share of bacon but the point is the revenue are ruthless ,yet DSP fire out money to every tom ,dick and harry with a sad story ,give them a house for half nothing and work how are you !!!and yet we here Vincent de Paul and NGO's crying out every week for more,more,more.

They didn't have to be "well to do" at all.

My oul lad got scalded - the penalties were the higher amount.

I remember another neighbour being near suicide over it.

But in fairness tax is tax - we all have to pay some, - where else would the gov get their funding to give to the non-working 'farmed' people and to the valuable NGOs so they can take us to court to make us provide even more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

People with refugee status can apply for the same welfare benefits as an Irish person.

The Palanis had refugee status when they arrived 20 years ago from Iraq.

They were never asylum-seekers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,198 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭cute geoge

What the majority of Czech/sloviak/Romians nationals do is come here 1st for holiday ,stay with a buddy ,get their ppsn ,get a job for a week to prove they are looking for work and so get set up with revenue .They then disappear back to their own country and resurface again after a few years with spouse and 4-6 kids ,rent a hovel ,work a few months and then qualify for dole/disability,hap & medical card

assylum seekers they get 38 euro & accomadation in designated hostels and would have to be here 3-4 years to qualify for stamp4 to get dole .The refugees just seem to be the scammers that qualify for everything ,Ukrainians included ,only a tiny % of them staying in hotels where welfare was reduced ,Government would leave you believe they were all cut but 95% are on full wefare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭StormForce13

A recent, somewhat similar, High Court case was funded by the Citizens Information Board.

They are "the national agency responsible for supporting the provision of information, advice and advocacy on social services …." and I wouldn't be surprised if they are the ones providing "advocacy services" for this unfortunate man who is a paragon of virtue and is probably in line for a Gaisce Award from the Little Man in the Big House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,198 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

AS arrive here by themselves, and make a claim, they are trying to become refugees.

The Palani had refugee status by the time they arrived here.

Ireland has had a few programmes to bring in refugees, see here:

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/fec0a-background-to-the-irish-refugee-protection-programme/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭StormForce13

I can't remember the details, but I recall being surprised to read about it, because I found it strange to see a taxpayer-funded quango effectively suing the taxpayer who pays its wages. I'll do a bit of searching when I get a chance and revert if I can find it.

Um, this discussion only exists because Palani has been denied benefits and the state is seeking to reclaim benefits previously paid becaue they reckon Palani hadn't disclosed his assets and wasn't entitled to the benefits.

In other words, Palani is being treated exactly the same as your late lamented uncle was.

You might want to read the title of the thread again...

This discussion exists because we in our seemingly infinite charity and kindness, took in a family from a medieval religion and country.

This generosity and help was repaid by one of them cutting the heads off of some Irish people who's private sex lives they disapproved of.

They further repaid our generosity by not working for 20 years, or paying one brown cent towards the state that rescued them from their medieval sh1thole but rather, defrauded our state welfare system whilst hoarding cash.

Now, they bring a case against our country (cost most likely being paid for by us) to get back the generous benefits of the citizenship we granted them.

Wind your neck in.

Here in the real world, access to social assistance depends on your means. It doesn't depend on your nationality; it doesn't depend on your religion; and it doesn't depend on whether your son has committed crimes, even horrific crimes.

And, while concealing your means in order to access social assistance is a serious matter, it isn't made more serious by your nationality, your religion or the fact that your son is a criminal. None of these issues are remotely relevant to Palani's court proceedings. Only a bigot would think they were.

We obviously need more of the Palani lads, they aren't wan bit bigoted, against anyone of any race, colour, creed or sexuality... good workers and thrifty stock.

While I think of it, we could use a few more Pushkas as well... I hear they're another mighty industrious crowd altogether, a bit Pushky with the cailíns, but sure isn't that only a sign a health... what about it...

From the Bigot to the apologist/collaborator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,322 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Their sons crimes have shone a light on the family.

The family have questions to answer about their actions. From the outside looking in claiming various social welfare allowances while sitting on 350k cash requires close scrutiny.....

I would love to be sitting on that much cash and perhaps people are just jealous.........…

My late lamented uncle as you put it worked hard supporting himself all his life , the only state assistance he received was a meagre pension in his old age unlike the Palanis who lived in a state supplied house and claimed social welfare for 20 years, I think most people would see a difference?

Sure, there's a big difference between your uncle and Palani; from what you say, I think the two men couldn't be more different.

But there's no difference in the way they were treated by the State. In both cases, when the State took the view that they had received social assistance payments to which they were not entitled, it sought repayment.

(They didn't do this for your uncle until after he had died, so arguable he wasn't disadvantaged at all; it was his heirs who got less money from his estate than they might have been expecting. But Palani is still alive and his benefits have been stopped, as well as repayment having been demanded.)