Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭NITRO95

If you read The Athletic article it seems that SJR wasn't impressed with Ashworths lack of decisiveness regarding the new manager. He also wanted to outsource something that SJR felt Ashworth as an expert in his field shouldn't have required outsourcing. Pair that with Berrada, Wilcox & Vivell seemingly doing some of his work and you can see why it hasn't worked out.

I have no doubt the billionaire businessman isn't easy to work with. That doesn't mean it's a bad decision to part ways so soon.

Edited to add that Ashworth also apparently didn't feel comfortable cutting staff under his watch and he's missed the past two ExCo meetings for varying reasons. It just seems like he wasn't aligned with the rest of the ExCo and IMO it's better he leaves now than dragging it out for the sake of appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭kyleman

If you are saying 5 or 6 years till we can challenge there is no chance Amorim will be manager at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭jayo44

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,220 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Its not a bad decision to part ways so soon.

The bad decision was appointing somebody with such differing ideas in the first place. Especially when they had over 6 months to have a few chats about these ideas.

I mean, Ten Hag was on thin ice even before INEOS took over, so do we mean to say that at no point in the past year did anybody from United ask Ashworth who he would suggest as candidates for a new manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lauras Law

Yeah I get that those are the 2 managerial decisions the other person is referring to, Im just curious how they've come to the conclusion that it's "two for two in managerial fuckups". Why is the other person ignoring all the (seemingly) good decisions INEOS have made so far with managerial positions, such as hiring Amorim, getting rid of Arnold, getting rid of Murtough, hiring Berrada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Brain dead decision making cost Utd the game on Saturday. Generally I thought they played well at times with some very good performances.

Onana is not good enough to be a Man Utd keeper imo. An upgrade is badly needed. While there are probably other areas of the team that need to be focused on, Utd will never challenge at the top with this guy in goal.

On Ashworth I shouldn't even know who he is tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Onana has been one of our most consistent players this calendar year. Yes, he's prone to the occasional blunder but so is the likes of Allison who is widely regarded as one of / the best keeper in the world at the moment. Goalkeeping errors are mercilessly scrutinised more than any other on field errors but he was badly exposed by his defenders on Saturday for the first and third goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭NITRO95

I like Onana more than most, he's a very good GK that can be great. But like 95% of GKs he's prone to error. Do I think we can a league with him as our starting GK? Yes I do. Do I think he deserves to be dropped after a horrendous performance on Saturday? Yes I do. Bayindar hasn't really gotten much of a chance and anytime he's played he's been solid. I think it would be fair to give Bayindar a couple of games to assess how he does with RAs tactics and if he seizes his chance than it's tough shite Onana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Did Ashworth feel that he needed to start outsourcing since Ineos gutted the place, I wonder? They have fairly slashed the staff, a move that if it was the Glazers, people would have been up in arms.… asset stripping etc.

Just trying to play devil's advocate. I haven't any cause to fight Ashworth's corner. Personally, I don't know how a director of football didn't address two glaringly obvious positions this summer. That would have been my number one reason for letting him go.

Getting rid of Ashworth may be a brilliant decision, but it can also reflect very poorly on the guys that hired him.

Rather than putting out the negatives about Ashworth via the club mouthpieces, it would be refreshing if Ineos just came out and said we got it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭BenK

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Where is the evidence of good decisions? I am quoting you as it relates to some of the questions I have about the direction the club is going rather than expecting you to advocate for INEOS.

I am struggling to see decisions around the team that shine through as good. Ten Hag kept on last summer now sacked, Ashworth in now out within a few months, three coaches brought in last summer all gone with the change of manager. These changes cost many many millions before looking at the costs to bring in Amorim and his team.

As interesting as Amorim is, the club has now tied it's short term outlook to a managers very specific philosophy, rather than a club one. He arrives at a club with players not suited to his philosophy. We don't even know if a player like Bruno, that recently got a nice new contract, is who he would really want to build around.

Then we have former City people like Berrada and Wilcox and the shadow of the Man City charges so they are very much a wait and see.

Meanwhile the first team is 13th in the league after spending another couple of hundred million on new players.

So far INEOS have made their share of mistakes. Many other decisions are risky and too early to see as a good or bad choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,942 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

If he put them forward, I would be interested to know the reasoning.

You could argue that either may have a lower 'ceiling' than Amorim, but also be able to stabelise United better - and then we go for an Amorim or similar.

But how could they stabilise United better?

I just don't think it works like that. I don't think you can make a managerial appointment that you don't foresee as being the long term candidate. It's overly complicating things and kicking the can down the road.

You either think it's the right appointment or you don't, it just brings massive uncertainty doing it any other way.

If City had brought Pep in day one, would it have worked out the same - or did the work done behind the scenes and over time with Hughes, Mancini, Pellegrini put them in a position for Pep to succeed in?

I'm not saying it is the right course, to go for Potter or Southgate - but would they have been less radical in the approach change than Amorim? Amorim might bring us further in time, or his efforts could flounder as our squad is too far away from his needs/profiles.

Not a bad comparison but I would argue that each appointment that City made at the time was who they felt was the best available candidate—I don't think that it was part of a grand master plan leading to Pep. I also think if they could have got Pep at the start that they would've done it. It's not like he was left with the perfect squad by the time he arrived either.

The footballing structure behind the scenes was perfect for him though and it very much remains to be seen if that can be said for Amorim and United!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Another angle to look at it would be that Pep had achieved enough that he was in a position to pick the right move for himself. I don't think he would have joined them if he wasn't confident that the structure and team was going to get there very quickly.

Amorim wasn't in that position. I know he was in demand but football can be fickle, and I think he had to jump once we came in for him.

I think Howe would have done a good job coming in. I've my doubts if the current approach by Amorim is correct and his whole thing about not knowing the players isn't much of an excuse given the outgoing manager knew them better than he ever will and couldn't get a tune out of them.

Too many players learning their trade at United and not having been taught well in the time since coming through to the team. Howe has dealt with young players and similarly underperforming players and managed to pick them up a level. I think he'd have been a decent shout to do it at United but am happy they got Amorim instead as it should hopefully work out in the longer term.

I don't think knowing the players is so much the issue, its the players knowing the system. irghtly or wrongly.

He has said that if you start the match, you can't train fully for two days - so that is a (selfimposed?) limitation on the amount of training ground work that can be done. He isn't rotating players in just to see them - but so there is a mix between intensive work on systems on the training ground and playing 70+ minutes. On top of that he is trying to manage the return to fitness following injury of a number of players.

If the players are constantly just playing, then recovering, with maybe 1 session or 2 sessions to properly train, the time it takes them to get up to speed will be higher overall. While the fringe players do more training ground work that stands them to little cause they don't play much.

We do also have to somewhat accept there is a need to take a look at some players in some positions to see if he can get a tune out of them. You could say EtH couldn't get a tune out of Amad and he is arguably our most impressive performer under Amorim. I think EtH couldn't get a tune out of Ugarte but both RVN and Amorim are. We spent 105million on two strikers, have to see if he can get a tune out of them - EtH struggled but his entire tenure was marred by an inability to create chances with any regularlity or predictability - Amorim could suffer the same with the same players but maybe the way he coaches the attacks will see more usable patterns and chance creation.

He's also said the team aren't athletic enough, and is trying to work on that - but that is also something we heard day 1 from Solskjaer so it is bizarre that it is STILL the same complaint all these years later.

Personally I think he will need to adjust the approach sooner rather than later so that more often, and certainly in the bigger matches, we are seeing the team that best gives us a chance of winning or getting a result. Malacia LWB vs Saka, and then having to make a preplanned half time sub because he's not fit enough yet, is not the type of call I want to see going on much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

There's no doubt about it Amorim is at Utd far earlier in the rebuild process than Pep or Klopp went to their clubs.
    Both of those went to the clubs after they had worked out the initial kinks

It will take time but what will buy Amorim time is clear on the pitch improvement. I hope he get's a good crack at it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭scottser

Jim cancels the Christmas party.

I'm not a fan of them myself and rarely go to my own work dos, but feck me, what grinch.

This was known a while ago I believe, Crafton reported it.

I find the framing of that weird though.

it is bad to cancel the christmas party ESPECIALLY at a time they have incresed ticket prices?

So we should have had a christmas party so people could then say 'Raise the ticket prices to fund a knees up for the millionaires?'

I more so get how it is a further kick for the staff remaining who are dealing with the various budget cuts etc… but calling it a major error at a time of cost cutting and fund raising? Come on. Lets have an adult conversation on this stuff… not this reactionary point scoring BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Hes a miserable ol git 😅

I think we should call the Amorim appointment a "good appointment" when he actually achieves something noteworthy. Right now he is just "an appointment".

The parallels between Amorim and the Ten Hag appointment are striking, it is interesting that despite that, people still default to deciding it is a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

I wouldn't be calling Omar Berrada a good hire just yet either. There's the small matter of 115 breaches of PL rules by his former club and what consequences there might be.

Club seem confident he has nothing to answer for personally and there has been no hint he has been implicated during the trial/hearing - though maybe we simply wouldnt have as we have heard eff all on it. Though the leaks/stolen docs were widely availlable and no one found his name attached to anything.

Regardleelss, CEO of Manchester UNitd eis a step up from what he was doing at City, a large step up, and we've no idea how he will get on with it. From a football persepective I would have good confidence, but United are far more than just a football club - and he has far more responsibility that fuiding the next 5 years of a football team and recruitment plan. Though he will also have Blanc and other experienced business people to rely on (and I believe the cuts were INEOS driven rather than Berrada driven, for example)

You can say that about any appointment though until success is delivered. Is nobody meant to express an opinion on it until the club has won the league or something? It's a very positive appointment imo. It could go tits up but I've no doubt it would have gone tits up with some of the other names touted.

Who would you have viewed as a 'good appointment'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,318 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Lets hope it's the last time we pay a transfer fee for a suit.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

why?

Why would we hope we only ever go after unemployed people?

I absolutely say the same thing about any appointment, whether it be Amorim, Radcliffe, Berrada, whoever.

Until we actually see something then it is neither good nor bad. Some people appear comfortable calling him a great manager that will do a great job, and they have every right to do so. But I think praise and respect should be earned, not just handed out for taking the job.

Note that I never said success was winning the league. Even just a settled first 11 that delivers consistent performances would be success right now.