Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan Needs Investor Fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,885 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It's fairly crazy how, as our planet is melting around us, we have a registration system that specifically encourages and rewards keeping up with the neighbours, regardless of the environmental cost of manufacturing and disposal of cars.
    Nissan's 'buy 2025 and get 2026 for free' is particularly odious in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭MarkN

You can also just move it on yourself and present the bank with a draft for what you owe, pocketing the rest for yourself. Yeah it's in the terms etc but no bank refuses money at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,097 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

How much is that Aryia? 50k or something for the base?
    That’s crazy money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Ah here relax there Eamon the planet is just fine.

I agree with you on encouraging car use but you see, cars are huge sources of revenue for the Government and probably the single biggest reason they never bothered to provide proper public transport, no rail link from the airport, no underground in dublin and no rail link to the industrial estates.

When you think about it why would they want private companies coming in taking that huge chunk of pie ? After all, the Government only has to sign us up to whatever international climate agreements to make them look good and just lamp on carbon tax and they can be seen to be doing something and they make even more money in the progress.

the last thing we need are more and more cars especially big electric SUV because they’re so heavy and I’ll never believe batteries will save the planet and irelands population would have to increase about 400 Million to have any impact one way or the other so why are we paying carbon tax when the big polluters get much cheaper energy than we do ?

anyway the more I think about it, it’s mad taking out a loan on a new car and pay interest on a 15-20 k tax bill to the Government.

we should be encouraging more small cars and one person transport, motorcycles and scooters all take up far less space, public transport isn’t something that can be solved for many years and we are decades behind and we can’t even build a skyscraper in the City ffs, this country is so backward in many ways.

40k base model 63 kWh

52k for base model 87 kWh

Still a lot of money for so called family car at 40k and a measly 300-350 km range.

Absolutely insane money tbh.
    Ya can pickup a grand bargain in the luxobarge thread for under 5k that will last ya a year or two (hopefully 😝)

1. The planet is far from fücking fine. It is fast reaching the point of no return, if not already over that hump.

2)Cars are a very long way off being 'huge sources of revenue' for the government. The external costs incurred by motorists are covered by society as a whole, the 'externalities'.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/carltonreid/2019/01/24/motorists-should-pay-full-costs-of-road-pollution-deaths-and-damage-says-eu-transport-commissioner/

3) You're right about the almost total prioritisation of subsidising private motorists over public transport for decades. And you're right about that many public transport projects are long term projects. But they're not all long term - we could be doing a lot more now for the short term projects, like BusConnects which we've faffed around for more than five years now I think.

4) The last think we need are more cars of any kind, particularly large SUVs, whether ICE or EV. The idea of a target for a million EVs was a crazy target. The target should be for less cars, not different kinds of cars.

5) We should indeed be encouraging small cars through taxation, motorcycles, scooters and the one you left out - cycling.

Planet is fine and will be fine until swallowed/burnt to a crisp by the sun in billions of years.
    Humanity on the other hand is absolutely fooked as we won’t be able to adapt to extreme climate change.

Yeah mental.

There's a lot of decent 2nd hand cars out there if you know what you're looking for and what to avoid like the wet Cam belt engines from ford and Peugeot and newer Opels, Mazda Diesels.

The older stuff is the best, simple, cheap, much better quality and far less electronics and software shite.

Plus if ya can keep a car going for as long as possible that’s better than going out and buying new every year or two.

Humanity if fooked and it's not the climate that's the problem it's Man's inhumanity to Man and Greed.

Throughout most of the World the birth rate is in massive decline which is a serious worry, to many it will be a blessing until we see the consequences of an aging population and a lot less young people.

A major war is inevitable , we had a good run since 1945 greatly helped by the Atomic and especially Hydrogen bomb but our most serious challenge we face today is preventing a major world conflict which will no doubt halt the supply of goods and especially energy.

There are also the over use of plastic, plastic being dumped, over use of chemicals, additives in food, our world is contaminated, this focus on just climate change isn't going to make all the other issues we face go away which are a great threat to Human life and other species.

We are at a point in history where we are extremely technologically advanced yet we are far less advanced as a civilisation and technology hasn't allowed us to develop as a species in fact I believe it has done nothing but divide Humanity even more.

The planet is +0.65 degrees since satellite records began in 1979 , if it went just 1 degree C in the other direction it would have a lot more consequences.

Of course and LPG is a lot cleaner than Petrol so why a lot more cars aren't running on it and why the Government aren't giving incentives on LPG ? They won't reduce tax for obvious reasons.

In fairness if you're on a twitter, x or whatever it's called these days , and there's a thread called "climate emergency" then everything will seem like a emergency. People are recording everything these days so even a big hail shower is going to be " proof of anthropogenic climate change " !

Sink holes ? they've been happening forever, many of them in urban areas are due to builders or councils or even Farmers upsetting the flow of natural streams or directing water from drains in places it shouldn't be going.

I've seen here in my own area here what Farmers have done to natural streams over the decades and one of them in particular filled in a stream on his land without as much as piping it only to be effected by severe flooding and he ended up having to pipe it but he still filled it back in , this should never be allowed because the flooding caused by filling in just one stream was enormous and you can be sure this was repeated all over the Island.

I'm sorry but Cars and all the tax, tax on fuel are major sources of revenue for the Government, it's utter madness to think otherwise.

Regarding the rest I pretty much agree with it all. I believe we should be lobbying the E.U to make car manufacturers make proper small cars again, cheap and free of as much tech as possible to make them cheap as possible or at least make all the tech optional.

There should be super taxes on SUV especially the big heavy EV that can way close to 2.5 tonnes. + any car wider than 1.8 meters should be banned in my opinion, our roads and parking spaces are not designed for these monsters not to mention the danger they pose to cyclists and pedestrians due to the sheer weight and high bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭creedp

If no one buys new then no-one has option to buy used. I always encourage people to buy decent new cars so I can have decent options after 3 years

lol, yeah but the thing is that people are buying cars now that are well beyond their budget just because the monthly payments seem affordable on PCP it's because of a deposit and the monthly payments are based on the cost of the car after this - the balloon which comes at year 3 which is the big stick which leads to the never ending never never designed to keep people hooked by not wanting to face that inevitable balloon.

We could all be driving older and older cars, I bought a 4 year old Cee'd there recently, petrol manual with 26,500 Kms. I plan to keep this car a long time. A perfectly good car and in 2 years I will own it and all it will cost me is a bit of maintenance and petrol.

Show us your calculation please that cars are a major source of revenue. Did you include what we spend on big chunks of the Gardai and Courts trying to get drivers to stop killing each other? Did you include the healthcare costs of dealing with pollution of the air, pollution of rivers, noise pollution? Did you include the environmental costs of manufacturing and disposal of cars?

Lad, the legal system benefits tremendously from fines in the lower courts. It costs to send people to prison but it benefits to fine.

VRT and VAT + fuel costs from cars are tremendous sourced of income for the Government.

There's a lot more pollution than just cars or rivers.

Again, show us your calculations? You're making judgements looking solely at the income side with zero consideration of the costs involved. And you're ignoring the massive healthcare impacts and costs.

Sorry if this is a shock to you after you've spent years listening to and reading media articles about the poor motorists. Have a think about what industry pays huge amounts of advertising money to those media outlets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭boardsdotie44

TBF that could be from any manafacturer, very little difference between cars nowadays, vast majority all look the same.

As someone else pointed out, the planet is fine and will endure, its put up with alot ALOT worse :)

Whats possibly fooked is humanity.. we cant adapt to miniscule weather changes (and yes they are miniscule on a cosmic level)..

Dont worry about the planet, just worry about yourself!

Goes both ways, well why not prove you argument with figures?

…. I thought not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭kaahooters

this thing,
    https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/nissan-sakura-kei-car-ev-review

Here you go, as requested.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/motor-vehicles-generate-6-2bn-in-taxes-for-state-says-report-1.4239993

"Motor tax revenues generated €6.2 billion for the Irish Exchequer last year"

That was just for the year 2019, as carbon tax increases and fuel costs get higher they rake in more money, they also tax car parts, as these costs go up they make more money and of course as car prices have risen massively over the last 5 or 6 years so does the tax revenue.

How could you not think car ownership is not a gravy train for the Government ? do you see the tax added onto cars ? 23% VAT, then add 7 - 41% the cost of the car in VRT. The average probably being 20-25%. This is insane amounts of tax.

The real incredible thing is that many people are quite willing to take out a loan and pay interest on 50% tax bill on a car, it boggles the mind, I won't be doing it again anyway.

Yeah this is what we need but Irish People wouldn't be seen in something like this I think given the trend to go almost completely SUV, I say take the SUV option away as they're not needed and we survived without them up until the last 5 years or so.

I hate the interior of the kei, too digital for me.

The PCP availability has made people choose much more expensive cars so something has to give if we're to put cars on a much needed diet. What's laughable is that it's plain to see massive body kits on cars to give them the big suv look without the interior space of a real SUV, it sits taller with bigger wheels and manufacturers can charge 7-10 K more and people fall for it.

A little 1.0L engine and LPG option would make this a really cool car in Ireland and it would be a lot cheaper than the EV version.

I still think we should have a super tax for SUV, charge them triple the price for street and especially multistory parking which can be really tight. I was in the Airport in October and the amount of SUV with hardly room for a child to get out was ridiculous, I could see one car had to stop to let people out before the driver could park and I don't know how they got out in the end.

The little BMW i3 was a great car to park.

Not that anyone would doubt the motives and integrity of the industry ("European Automobile Manufacturers’ Association") that brought us the emissions fixing scandals, but you're doing the same thing again - quoting all the income and IGNORING the costs arising.

And yes, the planet is screwed, in terms of human habitation.

3b56700b-ef1b-47ae-aa7d-68fbe2fd089f.png

I'm not the one making specific claims while IGNORING the entire costs side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

*checks thread title*

*checks thread content*

I'm Out of Here GIFs - Get the Best GIFs on GIFSEC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭creedp

Getting all excited again. Everything we do has a cost, that how business/life works. I've never seen a juy so vehemently anti car spend so much time on a car forum. Surely there are better ways to spend your time that constantly bickering with car people on a car forum. We get it, you hate cars or maybe just car drivers

I drove the car to work today, as it happens, which was nice, given the weather. It was a bit strange being stuck in lines of traffic in places where I'm used to flying by those lines, but sure there you go. Do I hate myself, do you think?

Have to admit, I'm lost with this ? what's this got to do with the price of sticks ?