Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election to be called Fri - predict outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

No, you're spot on, there is an unconscious bias, or maybe not even an unconscious bias amongst some voters, but you'd hope that if she was the leader of a credible opposition with a credible plan for government that the Irish people have enough cop on to vote based solely on that.

We're talking major hypotheticals anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,567 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If you are concerned about me having sleepless nights worrying about this mythical united left then you can stop wasting your time and use that time to take a look around you at the real political landscape

Yesterday Ged Nash of Labour told SF that they could piss off with their coalition of the left in opposition now that they have no chance of entering government when they were actively targeting Labour during the election by not telling their supporters to transfer to Labour. Last night we had the car crash TV of Maire Sherlock on her first day as a T.D. making the decision for Labour that they were ruling out entering government and going with this SF coalition of the left in opposition.

Sinead Gibney of the SD,s on the same programme when asked about this revelation of Sherlock`s told both Labour and SF that in essence they could both piss off with this coalition of the left in opposition and if they get what they want in talks with FG & FF they would enter government.

Sherlock is green behind the ears politically, but there are older and wiser heads in both Labour, SDs and even SPBP that see this SF idea as nothing more than SF realising they have only two ways of getting their hands on power.

Move towards the center to attract more votes, as Mick Barry of SPBP believes they are which comes with a major risk as was seen by their drop from 36% in pollsO or gobble up smaller parties on the left to get them to the numbers required. Labour do not have to look far back in their history to see what that entail the last time they got involved in a similar coalition with the Workers Party, a SF offshoot, which resulted in them being gobbled up by the WP where they were then decimated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Wow. Art O'Leary reckons there could be up to half a million excess names on the combined voting register

image.png

Official turnout was 59.7% but by my back of the envelop calculations if that 500,000 number is true then the actual turnout would be more like 69%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

In 2020 (based on wikipedia, so blame them if numbers are wrong) the total number of votes was 2,201,192. The total for 2024 was 2,218,295, so the total who voted did creep up a little but the likelihood is that the overall percentage is still down on last election (as if it's out by 500k now, it must have been similarly wrong then).

And yep, we'd be at 69.5% turnout if the 500k figure is accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

If FFG go in with Independents and leave Labour and SocDems in opposition then we’re witnessing peak Sinn Fein and the only way is down.

Sinn Fein have thrived over the past 10 years in being the only viable alternative to FFG and the main left wing option. This is no longer the case. Labour have recovered and the SocDems have arrived. The SocDems in particular offer a progressive Center-Left position without the baggage of ‘political wing of the IRA’, the erroneous anti-EU positions, the scandals and the lingering smell of Adams.

They’ll have to think hard about their evolution over the coming months and years if they wish to stay as one of the big three and ever have that shot at being in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Is that SF voter maths you are displaying there? Sounds about right.

You are comparing the decline as a percentage of the total vote, not as a percentage of the parties individual vote.

The fact is that the SF FPV dive bombed by 22.5%.

More than 1 out of every 5 people that voted First Preference for SF in 2020 did not do so in 2024.

That is a vote in freefall and dropping at over 200 times the rate of FGs decline.

Soc Dems and Labour could well pass you on the way up at the next election, if the 22.5% decline is maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,567 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If you are looking at mathematical as a means as to of how SF and PBP could reach a majority, you cannot just ignore the rules of probability.

PBP ran 43 candidates and got 3 elected. A success rate of 7%. That is a long way of 78% and has a probability in the real world of zero.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

The "new" FG TD's would also have been less likely to pick up transfers, those transfers went to FF and not the other FG candidates - I saw multiple examples of an FG candidate being eliminated and more of their votes going to FF than to FG colleagues.

The Newness played a part right across the process

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Doherty gets called shouty cause that seems to be his default mode.

I honestly think both MLMD and Doherty have an image problem that puts at least some floating voters off voting for them. O'Reilly too to an extent.

They come across as being absolutely full of nothing but contempt for all the other parties in the Dail. Permanently outraged about something, full of scorn, everything is terrible.

How you deliver your message is almost as important as the message itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Agreed.

If SF continue their 22.5% decline into GE 2029, Soc Dems and Labour could well have out grown and overtaken them in the seat count.

SF landing at on or below 30 seats & Soc Dems + Labour at 30- 35 seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I would also think that FG transfer to FF more than vice versa. FG shamed a lot of FF people after the 2007 crash. They haven't forgotten.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Caquas

The exit poll found only a marginal difference between FF and FG voters in their mutual second preferences - 30% v. 32% going to the other party. Nor did the exit poll show any advantage for FF over FG in terms of transfers from Opposition party voters but the election outcome may tell a different tale.

Here is an interesting analysis from Paul Hosford, an Examiner journalist I haven't noticed before.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-41528903.html

To claims that FG lost out because so many TDs retired, Hosford points out that

The party had 17 constituencies in which it had to win back a seat being vacated by an incumbent retiring. It did so in 13 — Carlow-Kilkenny, Cavan-Monaghan, Clare, Cork East, Cork North-West, Cork South-Central, Dublin Bay North, Dublin Rathdown, Dublin West, Galway East, Laois, Louth and Mayo. 

That leaves just four seats where FG lost out after their TD retired and I think Meath West is the only clear case that can be ascribed to an incumbent ( Damien English) not contesting the election. Of the other three lost seats, I agree with Hosford that Joe McHugh would not have beaten out the Mica candidate in Donegal while the losses in Wexford and Kerry are down to poor candidate selections rather than the retirements of Brendan Griffin and Paul Kehoe (the FG candidates in Donegal also performed poorly but that didn't affect the result).

So the "retired incumbent" theory does not explain FG's 10 seat deficit compared to FF. The real question is how FF won 48 seats with just 21.9% of the vote. In the past, only the two largest parties with >25% of the vote normally got "bonus" seats, typically by picking up a second seat in four or five seaters. FF used to be the chief beneficiary of this systemic feature (partly balancing out FF's transfer toxicity under Haughey).

So how did FF get these bonus seats with marginally more votes than FG and no greater share of transfers (according to the exit poll)?

I agree with Hosford that Simon Harris is safe for now as FG Leader but Leo was smart to jump ship and spare himself the torture of three election campaigns this year. There would be a heave underway now to ditch Leo if he had led FG to this result (i.e. playing the junior partner in an FF-led government) but the party embraced Simon's "new energy" with such gusto over the past six months, that they can't cut him loose now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Stating the obvious? This is a great opportunity to end the FFG monopoly. It's actually set up perfectly for the next election if the left play their cards right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,751 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Two candidates in Kildare North might have got two seats. Particularly if Durkan had actually retired rather than going for it and losing his seat. Three with Durkan running wasn't going to work, two with proper territory splits and more effort on the second (third with Durkan) candidate could have maybe got slightly more votes - 23.2% wasn't going to get two seats.

But FF did it on 26.6%. The second FF seat stumbled over the line a thousand+ short of quota.

As it stood, ~1600 votes failed to transfer from the third candidate to either remaining FG candidate, which is also roughly the gap between the second candidate and the fifth seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Indeed "IF" the left play their cards right…but they won't.

To be fair , we've heard versions of this story after each election for quite a while now.

There is no clear evidence of any kind of meaningful "alliance of the left" to be seen thus far.

The "left" at the moment are split across 4 or 5 discreet parties along with a collection of independents.

The idea that they could coalesce into a functioning group wielding 80+ seats is fanciful at best I'm afraid.

Far too many differing agendas among the groups for that to actually work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

The Soc Dems have five requirements before joing a coalition:

image.png

(3) Does anybody know what exactly they mean by "fully implementing Sláintecare"?

I presume (5) means hiring thousands of existing creche staff as new public servants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Simon Harris is safe for now as FG Leader but Leo was smart to jump ship and spare himself the torture of three election campaigns this year. There would be a heave underway now to ditch Leo if he had led FG to this result (i.e. playing the junior partner in an FF-led government) but the party embraced Simon's "new energy" with such gusto over the past six months, that they can't cut him loose now.

I guess the final verdict on SH's leadership in the election just gone will hinge on the coalition deal; if there is 'parity of esteem' or something close to it then ultimately it would have made little difference if FG had finished on a similar seat total to FF and the actual disparity in seats will be ascribed to the vagaries of PR-STV and be pretty much forgotten as the new government gets into its stride…

That's wishful thinking. They are already in discussions. Truth is that a viable alternative would probably only need Labour, SD's and SF. 50, 20 and 20. That's very realistic and even with FFG now, they're begging for a third party to come in.

The Left Alliance is on!!!

50000 a year?

Even if it's 10000 a year it's clear they are not interested in government.

A debating society it is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Given that Slaintecare has a long-term horizon, implementing it in the term of one government is fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Caquas

"parity of esteem" is a good bargaining pitch for the Blueshirts/IT readers but it won't wash with Micheál.

We're not talking about the two communities in N. Ireland with a built-in majority/minority, we're talking about government formation in this democracy i.e. getting a majority in Dáil Éireann where there is a clear disparity between two parties as a result of a democratic election.

We had an experiment with a rotating Taoiseach when the two parties had equal numbers in the Dáil. It worked reasonably smoothly (at least until the referendums, then Leo jumped and the elections took hold) but that is no reason to repeat the dose now that its raison d'être is gone. FF/FG will again split Finance/DEPR and they may rotate.

In any event, FG TDs won't let Simon bargain away their share of Departments to get himself a spell as Taoiseach. Simon will be Tánaiste and get his pick of Departments. He might chose any one of them except Health (where he brought down the previous government and was sidelined in the pandemic) or Higher Ed. (where he failed again although he only had to lash out the funds). Micheál will want FF to be the first Minister for Domestic Affairs i.e. a stronger Justice Minister but otherwise I'd say FF will be flexible on Ministerial roles but rigid a majority at Cabinet. (Collective responsibility is grand in principle but numbers count behind those closed doors).

FF might give FG the next European Commission nomination. By the time Micheál McGrath finishes his (first) term, we will probably have had another general election.

Here's a thought - will the parties back a single candidate for the Áras? FG have a very poor record on Presidential elections. They might have a chance if the find someone acceptable whom FF can also back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The problem for MM is that if SH digs in on parity of esteem, then MM has to call his bluff and open talks with SF.

You are well wrong there.

I don't see anybody in FF suggesting a non rotating Taoiseach.

FF only have FG to work with.

FF have zero leverage here.

Which MM has ruled out. And, based on transfers, has zero mandate for.

If FF demand to be sole Taoiseach for 5 years that slaps of traditional FF arrogance and they would be destroyed if they go back to the polls.

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The left alliance stuff seems a bit wishy washy to me. There is a huge difference between the likes of PBP and the likes of the SD. The idea seems to be for the left to work together to get FF and FG out, this is just doubling down on the same "we're not FF or FG" approach that has failed SF twice now.

SD and Labour are mainstream parties who I suspect will be hoping to significantly grow their base in the next 5 years. Unlike the likes of PBP, I do not see the SD and Labour being happy to just hook themselves onto SFs coat tails as part of some left grouping for 5 years until the next election.

For one thing I don't believe the problem is that the left didn't organise properly for this election. I think the problem is that SF are just unconvincing as an alternative to FF and FG. Their policies are not particularly strong in many areas, they flip-flop too much and there's a ton of baggage.

I suspect that the SDs in particular will view themselves as a better alternative to FF and FG and they will use the next 5 years to position themselves in that way. There is definitely scope for them to hoover up some of the SF vote. But there is also scope for them to target floating FF and to a lesser extent FG voters, the sort of people who voted FF or FG because they just couldn't stomach SF and voted tactically as a result.

I think they are very well positioned to grow their base significantly over the term of the next Dail, so long as they are careful as to who they are willing to lie down with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I don't see anybody in FF suggesting a non rotating Taoiseach.

That's a good point; I haven't heard anyone in FF advocate this publicly. If it was a widely held position behind the scenes surely somebody would be sticking their head over the parapet…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The problem with this whole idea of a collation of the left is SF.

As long as SF are the lynchpin of it with all their baggage their cannot be a realistic collation of the left.

Plus there are many who even wonder if SF are a party of the left.

If it ere a case that Labour or the SDs were the biggest party and only needed SF as some sort of a junior partner then you might be on to something.