Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Driving without reasonable consideration is a Fixed Charge Penalty Notice offence - the vast majority of FCPNs issued end up being accepted and paid without ever getting to the prosecution stage.

Even if a driver challenges it and goes to court it's not something that will ever cross the desk of the DPP, it would be a Garda prosecution at District Court level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I suppose where it all comes back to is the general malaise/ lack of interest in tackling driver behaviour. It permeates all the way down from the legislature, to the judiciary, to the Garda Commissioner, to Superintendents, to the underpaid, under-resourced and understaffed Gardai on the streets and roads. And ultimately we end up with a media (I turned the radio on the other morning and literally within 5 seconds Pat Kenny was talking about an incident with a cyclist) a public, and a driver population who just don't care about changing things.

Only 45 mins ago on Aungier St I saw a taxi driver flash his lights, blow his horn and drive 12 inches from the rear bumper of the granny in front of him. Her crime? Driving too slow. You only need to step outside for a couple of minutes and you'd rack up a handful of FCPN cases. Do we have the gardai available to make any impact? No. A culture has crept in of "ah shur it's grand, we probably all do that… leave him off".

Roads behaviour in general is just abysmal. Can't understand why we don't have more automated policing of bus lanes, red lights & level crossings. Seems that scattergun speed vans is the only type of enforcement that we regularly see.

Change the culture that these offences that everyone sees dozens of times a day are eliminated, and then the culture that it's OK to ignore the laws might start to weaken a bit.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

On the N25 today, guy coming the other direction typing Ulysses on his phone, doing 20kmph. It was weird to say the least, now the traffic coming behind him all slowed in plenty of time but I was not around to see the eventual blow up. Suppose it is better than the drivers doing a ton and texting but still mightily stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

4 years doesn't seem long enough for this ghoul. Article doesn't say if she's been banned from driving. In a just world, she wouldn't be allowed behind the wheel for the rest of her life, but it's probably just tied to the same length as her sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,902 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Four years for what I view as murder is a wee bit lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Not sure what you were expecting? The case involves alcohol and cars - two things that large swathes of Irish society do not believe should involve any personal responsibility whatsoever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'll need to phrase this carefully, but her friend was not a bystander in this case. she stayed in the car after her drunk friend repeatedy fell asleep at the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

One would imagine her friend was also completely out of it, and might not have been aware of who's car she was in or who was driving. Mind you, it never should have gotten to that point. She should never have gotten into the car with her at any point earlier in the day, either, when she would have been less inebriated.

I'll also need to phrase this carefully, but in agreeing with your post my main concern would not be the amount of prison time she gets but how we can be reassured we'll never come across her on the roads behind the wheel of a car in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,711 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

yeah, unfortunately regardless of how much time she actually serves, she'll probably be back on the road a couple of years later because she "needs the car for work"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

In civil cases where people claim as a result of being injured in a car driven by a driver they know to be drunk there is usually a significant reduction for contributory negligence.

It's speculation on my behalf but I'd be surprised if driver didn't have form in terms of drunk driving.

If you want to get away with drink driving do it during the day-late afternoon and avoid Xmas period.

Unless enforcement rapidly improves, even I am getting to the point of wondering why do I bother paying tax or insurance. I drive a few times a week but my bike is my main source of transport. I pay insurance, tax etc but I have only seen a few squad cars this year, all while on my bike, never while driving. Considering the enforcement levels, if I was a gambler, I would be foolish to pay these. The main issue for me is actually the embarrassment if caught but many don't even have that.

Also, even if still banned when she gets out, she can and possibly will just buy a car and drive away.

"The court hear that Thomas had ten previous convictions for road traffic offences, larceny and misuse of drugs."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Get into a car driven by a obviously drunk driver and not wear your seatbelt makes you equally culpable to me, just fortunate no innocent person was killed by the pair of them.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭Gerry

worth remembering your motor tax just goes into general taxation. For insurance.. its a different question alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭De Bhál

do you feel safe on a bicycle

would probably feel a bit safer if these people were put off the road and their cars impounded until their sentence was over

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Some urging for Christmas 🙄...

The Road Safety Authority has urged drivers to stay safe and sober during the Christmas period.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/1202/1484249-christmas-road-safety-appeal/

"An Garda Siochana have urged people not to steal or murder during the Christmas period"

Today Google maps tried to tell me to save time on my commute by taking the rat run at Kilpedder to Glen of the Downs on the N11 Northbound. It's gotten crazy. I tiny, quiet country back road turns into a main road for a couple of hours every day. I didn't bother. Couldn't be bothered dealing with the must-get-aheads shooting up the hard shoulder.

I was half way to my destination when I got a call meaning I had to turn back and head home. There was a crash where the rat run rejoins the N11 - massive tailback, not just on the N11 itself but on the tiny, one-way country boreen that all the rat-runners use. Was particularly delighted for them.

Speaking of Google maps, it now has a new interactive feature where a message will pop up asking for your feedback where it thinks there may be an accident, roadworks or - bizarrely I found - a stalled car behind you. Asks you to press the screen to say 'yes'/ 'no'. Yet more distractions to take your focus off the road.

Don't get me started on google maps, "is the speed van reported earlier still there". If my Dad flashed his lights years ago, a Garda could pull him for it, how can google get away with such bullshit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

I'm genuinely tempted to click the "no it's gone" sometimes even if it is still there. Do the Gardaí not have a website though where all the speed traps are on a given day or is that gone now?

Jesus, I wasn't aware of that feature. FFS like, it reinforces the point I repeatedly make about not blaming the rank and file Gardai for shrugging their shoulders at road behaviour when this is the attitude of society, wholly enabled by our politicians.

You get who you vote for. Absolute shambles.

Surely that's counterproductive - as it results in more traffic breaking the limit, and nearly all will still see the brake-lights ahead and have slowed before getting caught anyway.

Better to add reports at locations that there's no van. Gets anyone using the app to keep below the limit as they believe there might be a van ahead.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it'd also depend on the algorithm. if five people in the previous 15 minutes have clicked 'it's still there', will it remove the record on the first person who clicks 'no, it's gone'?

We typically have Waze running as the navigation app in our car. If one of us hits "No longer there" the notification disappears instantly, for us at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Remco got 'doored'!!!
    Broken "right shoulder blade, right hand and a rib" after he "was unable to avoid the door of a post office vehicle when it was swung open" 😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,711 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

TII wants to close most of those extraneous junctions on the N11 - they should have done the Kilpedder ones when J11 was built.

Will be interesting to see how they manage it. The Bus Eireann service to Dublin uses it, for example. In a similarly strange development, in morning rush hour people now use Newtownmountkennedy to bypass the dual carriageway, which was built to bypass Newtownmountkennedy.

For a county so close to Dublin and all its transport infrastructure; dart, luas, dublin bus, Wicklow is woefully served by public transport considering the amount of urban sprawl from Dublin. Its only going to get worse before it gets better, and a lot of damage will have been done by then. How it's taking so long to do the obvious thing and upgrade the existing railway line to allow for frequent shuttles to Greystones and the dart is beyond me. Yes, there are complicating factors, but christ, is that not why experts are experts? It's patently obvious that the delay is lack of interest. A concerted effort could see Arklow and Wicklow and their various hinterlands reinvigorated. Business and Commercial centres would spread down there, local business would grow, commuters would have a real alternative to the car and there would be justification for building new housing developments in the areas, which have massive potential to ease the burden.