Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

It's true though, and you don't even have to do a hit and run.
    All you have to do is claim you didn't see them or the sun was in your eyes.

You'll get off with a slap on the wrist, a car seems to be the perfect weapon to kill somebody with and generally not see any jail time in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Paddigol

But the chances of you even being caught, to need to spout an excuse, are pretty low. Hit and runs seem to be seen as a case of "ah but shur isn't it an awful tragedy. And its terrible that the driver didn't stay at the scene." Not exactly headline news with daily updates as to the Gardai closing the net in on suspects.

Jesus… leave aside the pedalling drugs angle, but heres a fella over the alcohol limited, doing 160kmph (140kmph through a village), broke red lights, no insurance, refusing to stop for Gardai and nearly took out another car. But apparently its ok because he "has a lot to offer once he sorts out his difficulties". And we wonder why its cyclists who are seen as zealots? This is the message going out. And the outrage from people is that the OPW are making the Phoenix Park car-unfriendly because they're repairing grass verges ruined by cars parking on them?

Ex-footballer Anthony Stokes avoids jail for €3700 cocaine rap and high speed car chase

f**k off like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

I'd like to think that the overturning of the jail sentence might have been to keep a recovering drug user out of a drug-laden environment but who knows.

That community service order should work him until he passes out from exhaustion, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

250hrs community service over 12 months in lieu of a 15 month prison sentence is pathetic. Why not make it comparable at least and some deterrent. Say even just 10hrs per week coaching kids soccer (given that's his area of expertise) for 15 months would be 600hrs and it might benefit all concerned.

The courts or a mockery however, what's the point of the initial conviction and all that time and resources spent on presenting evidence for it all to be appealed and the sentence suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭standardg60

I'm actually seething reading that, the justice system here is nothing short of a joke, there are Judges here who are simply not fit to hold the position.

Stokes was previously convicted of assault for head butting a man here breaking his nose and several teeth, suspended sentence.

Minor road traffic offence in Scotland? He was convicted and jailed for 5 months for a campaign of abuse via text of an ex and her family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Bike jacking…key still in ignition presumably…owner forced to hand over bike…will insurance pay out in that case, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

They're after eBikes and eScooters too.. was cycling by Connolly station last week and noticed a motorcycle driver quite close to me, could have been trying to see what sort of bike I was on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

I was cycling through dun laoghaire at the weekend on my cargo bike (heading down to pick up a few groceries) and as I cycled through a junction there's a guy sitting in his car facing the opposite direction in traffic waiting for the lights with his DOG SITTING ON HIS LAP and he roars out his window at me "get up on the footpath you F***ING C**T"!

I didn't know whether to laugh or what. I pulled the bike up on the path to go back and have a word but the traffic moved on. It was so bizarre. 1 you have an animal on your lap while driving 2 cycling my cargo bike on the footpath is a ridiculous suggestion and 3 you're going the other way so I'm not affecting you in the slightest.

What an unhappy man he must be

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

With the greatest of respect to the people of Dun Laoghaire, never in such a small geographical area have I met so many angry drivers. There are plenty of nice ones but the anger from some is incredible. I posted here before about one speeding up to scare students, and have seen many more, just like yours who make a point of shouting at people who are not interfering with them in the least, you just can't win with those people. You are better off they had left as no good would have come from the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,903 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭ARX

Funny you should say that. Recently I wanted to turn right on my bike onto Mount Merrion Ave from Rock Rd. The lights at the junction were red as I approached and there was a queue of about 6 cars at the lights waiting to go straight ahead. There were a few cars well behind me on Rock Rd, so I signalled right to indicate that I wanted to move into the right-turn lane, which there was plenty of time and space to do before those cars arrived at the back of the queue. As soon as I indicated, the driver of the first of those few cars floored it to get to the back of that queue (and then had to hammer on the brakes). So I just went behind him and moved into the right turn lane. As the light for going straight ahead went green the right-turn filter light remained red, so he passed me on my left (heading towards Dun Laoghaire). As he passed me, he stared at me and gave me the finger.

I have no idea why. I didn't pull out in front of him and I didn't interact with him in any way. I guess he's just a nasty little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭Gerry

I think shouting at cyclists has become a pastime now for angry people, whether or not there is any traffic interaction at all. recently I've had serious abuse from a white van passenger and a motorcyclist. I don't know what gives these people the idea that they have the right to do this.

There was a car over turned on Mount Merrion Avenue the other evening, fire truck, two fast response ambulances. When I passed I tried to be helpful at the T junction and let a roar at cars the road was closed due to a crash, most copped on and as soon as they were through, done a U turn. One taxi driver just eye balled me, stopped looking where he was going, and gave me the finger as he rolled past. Some people just equal sh1t.

On a counter note, on the road into work this morning, a DB overtook me coming upto a 90degree bend on the road. I hit the brakes as even though he gave me loads of space, just not worth the risk. Stupidity got the better of me and I followed him to the next stop. He opened with "I gave you loads of space" and I could see he was on the defensive. I countered with, "100%, you were great, just at that turn, you hadn't enough time to complete it". I waited for the barage of hate and he just snapped and turned to me and said, "fair point, sorry about that". I retaliated with, "I knew it wasn't intentional, don't worry". We gave each other a thumbs up and said have a good morning. This is how interactions should be when a mistake is made. We live, we learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

I was cycling between Shankill and Bray on my commute yesterday. In a shared use cycle lane. A car turned right from an estate on the other side to join the road, it was plenty wide so no issue with each other. But the passenger was an approx 10 year old child who was shouting at me through the open window. I had my Shokz on so I couldn't make out what he was saying. I'm guessing not positive. Lovely way to be raising children!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,112 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i have always maintained that once there's clear air between you and the driver to allow for actual communication, it reduces the chance of strife by 50%.

https://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/news/81015-gardai-report-rising-number-of-drivers-using-streaming-services-while-driving and yis only noticed it now?

Another bad crash near Claremorris today - stretch of road where the incident occurred has been the scene of multiple tragedies this year alone. https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/emergency-services-at-scene-of-serious-collision-on-n17-in-co-mayo/a1938842130.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I see drivers watching videos - some YouTube, some TikTok, some video chatting - just about every day on the road.

And it's not an explicit offence in itself, if the phone is dash mounted and not held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,714 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

watching videos would be "careless driving" surely.

The Garda would have to prove that the driving was actually careless. It's not an explicit offence in itself, in the way that sending a text message or holding your phone is.

It's explicitly illegal to have your phone on your lap while driving. It's not explicitly illegal to catch up on your current Netflix binge on a dash mounted phone on your commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,714 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I think the actual offence is "driving without due care and attention". If you are watching a video on your phone, I don't see how you could argue you are driving with due care and attention.

Crimecall recently had a bit on the guards using a semi truck on the M50 to observe driver behaviour and pulling drivers over who were offending - they were pulling people for watching videos, eating sandwiches, doing their makeup etc. None of these are specifically offenses, but they're careless.

Driving with undue care, would be the offence.

What they would do you for which has a far lower threshold is driving without due care and attention, 2 points and a fine, all based on a Gardas opinion. Yes you could challenge and go to court and hope the Garda doesn't show but there is a way to deal with it legislatively

"I wasn't watching it Judge, I was just listening to the soundtrack. Was there anything actually wrong with my driving Guard?"

And that's in the unlikely event that you find a Garda willing to prosecute. I've brought them clear video evidence of drivers watching videos, engaging in video chats and they've declined to prosecute. I don't bother any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

They tend to be the most dangerous type of roads.

*Wide lanes

*good road surfaces

*busy junctions

*tend to be high speed

*high traffic volume

I know nothing of recent matter but you tend to get lot of overtaking irrespective if oncoming traffic or not; the wide lane can "allow" for it. The old N9 around Loughlinbridge/Carlow/Castledermot used to be a special piece of road with the above issue particularly Fri and Sunday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭blackwhite

There is a lesser offence of driving without reasonable consideration which doesn't require proof of actual careless driving, simply of failing to give due consideration to other persons in the vacinity - which would cover watching youtube instead of observing your surroundings.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2011/act/28/section/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Driving without due care and attention. Of course it's an offence.

It's not, technically, in that the prosecution actually have to prove that the driver was watching a video and that this was without due care and attention. As pointed out, it could be argued that they were just listening to the audio.

I've seen people utterly engrossed in their built in consoles (doing what, I don't know - accessing apps, looking at google maps, trying to navigate spotify, sending a whatsapp?), eating porridge out of a bowl on their lap, applying make up, brushing their hair - all of those could be considered driving without due care and attention, but it falls on the garda to give evidence and for the DPP to be bothered prosecuting in the first place given the cost, time and effort and the likelihood of some buffoon of a district court judge just dismissing the case for lack of evidence.

It's not as simple as just taking a photo of someone with a video on their phone on a dashmount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Is there a charge of distracted driving?

Surely it's very difficult for a motorist to argue they are not distracted by the video playing on their device or console? If they say they 'were not distracted', next question would be "why have you got it playing if you are not watching it"?

No garda/no interest in traffic matters. Evidenced by the number of vehicles with visible defects (blown bulbs, excessively tinted wimdscreen/drivers door and non compliant reg plates).

Post edited by Kaisr Sose on