Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭sekiro

This was my also understanding with the hostels, that you are kicked out each day and have to return in the evening. Particularly bad right now since it's so cold out there. Couples unable to share a room in hostels seems to also be an issue too. Security seems to be an issue. It's not clear if food is put on for the residents staying in the hostels.

On the other hand someone coming here with their documents conveniently "lost" finds themselves in a nice hotel room that they can come and go from whenever they please. Security to keep them safe. Food put on for them 3 times a day.

This is clearly preferential treatment.

The hotel situation is also pretty obviously a better platform to launch oneself into employment and maybe on to the private rental market. Especially if the Irish taxpayer is ready to step up and pay every single step of the way.

It would make A LOT more sense for our Irish homeless in hostels, rough sleepers etc to be rolled into this treatment that we are willing to give to random lads from overseas so that they can also avail of these benefits.

I don't buy excuses about addiction and mental health issues etc as I am sure plenty of the newcomers have their own issues with addiction and mental health and whatnot.

The key difference seems to be that the set of people from overseas are treated in accordance with our "international obligations" while the Irish ones are left to freeze in the streets because apparently we don't feel any obligation towards them.

It's a very unfair system which is made worse with the knowledge that some of those coming here are obviously not genuinely fleeing for their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

I wonder if Aontu, Independent Ireland, Independents etc will be able to win 5/6 seats tomorrow and be able to hold the next government to account on this issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Those questions have been asked and answered repeatedly.

My biggest concern when it comes to immigration and crime, (especially given that we know there's no causative relationship between being a migrant and criminality) is the arson attacks, riots, violence and threats, harassment of women and children etc committed by those who think they're serving an anti-immigration cause. Not only the harm caused by these crimes themselves, but also the scarce AGS hours and resources that are spend dealing with them.

These concerns also lie with some people's online efforts to spread hate and misinformation, including the false narrative about 'unvetted asylum seekers', which might support or encourage this criminality and violence.

I didn't post the stat, I only corrected the claim made that the figured represented those receiving state aid for housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

You'd like to think Aontu would win that many alone. We really need an anti current refugee system voice in the Dail. Or even in government. If Aontu had of been in government instead of the greens the term would have been far less destructive regarding immigration. It would be hilarious if Aontu got in before Sinn Fein.

Not true. The Irish government simply doesn't have access to your supposed digital trail. Aside from the obvious data protection issues, where would an officer even begin searching for some randomer's foreign bank accounts? The kind of connectivity you're talking about is complex. Cross-referencing barely exists between separate Irish departments let alone between Irish and non-EU organisations.

Most asylum seekers provide false info be it the name, date of birth, nationality, or other personal details. Operation Mombasa showed the prevalence of fake IDs among applicants i.e. an investigation into Georgian refugees in Ireland running a fake ID racket to help their fellow chancers. Asylum seekers only need to successfully pass off a fake ID once to secure some form of genuine ID then the false identity is established.

It's also difficult to verify non-EU documents due to the poor systems and infrastructure in their stated countries of origin. In some countries it's possible to buy a genuine passport with a false name i.e. new identity sorted.

The evaluation process is a lot less advanced than you suggest. Many refugees have successfully established fake identities. It's naive to suggest otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭bureau2009

I was AMAZED at this exchange between Michael McNamara and Helen McEntee at a Dail committee.

In fact I was so very amazed at her responses that I thought this was a fake AI generated video 😰

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,169 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

AFAIK, I thought even though here for many years, his original claim was rejected and no attempt to learn the language or integrate, apologies if this wrong

I do think we should revoke citizenships

She did very well I thought putting up with it. It was quite a phoney line of questioning really I think given that Ireland has very similar return figures to many other small EU countries under the failed Dublin convention process.

But if you really want to see something amazing, you should see how pro asylum seeker McNamara was just a few years before that. There even some material where he compares IPAs to Jesus and the 1916 martyrs. Funny how his beliefs changed once the EU election was approaching.

If that's true would it be any different for or other migrants or tourists coming from these places? Not much I'd think in the line of record checks for Irish people who may have lived in those places either.

Seems strange people only seem to mention it, and mention it so often, in relation to IPAs, especially considering what a small proportion of immigrant people they constitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Emblematic

The system assumes you come in with a valid travel document.

I don't think so if we accept the posters claims that there aren't reliable sources to check against and genuine documents can be easily obtained.

But again the real issue that I'm concerned with in relation to immigration and crime is the violence, threats, arson attacks etc perpetrated by some within the anti-immigration movement and encouraged by online lies and scaremongering, including those about 'unvetted asylum seekers'.

How many scarce AGS hours are being spent dealing with this, that could be put towards tackling other serious and violent crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I came through Geneva airport from the French to Swiss side where the border guards checked my passport and asked about a Swiss speeding fine I'd already paid… So yes there is data attached to the data on the biometric passport…

All the biometric data on illegal immigrants shows is when they arrived at the first EU border check… which could be any one of a number of countries they crossed illegally..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

It doesn't matter if his original claim was rejected, as clearly that decision was reversed, or he wouldn't be a citizen.

We can revoke citizenship.

Can people not give their opinions and facts outside of the legal boundaries of this state?

How can you give facts without backing them up with evidence? Opinions are allowed to be challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,079 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Family reunification is a big problem for the UK.

You get people coming in for low-paid jobs and then they bring their non-working dependents with them. They need to be provided with social housing, free medical and dental, child benefit, welfare top-ups, etc. Whatever minor amount of tax they're paying is dwarfed by the government supports they receive.

I'm not sure what your point is? How are your checks coming from Switzerland comparable to somebody arriving as a migrant of one form or another, or a tourist, from say Pakistan?

But again I'm more concerned by the very real threat coming from the violence and criminality of members of the anti-immigration movement, and the AGS resources spent tackling them.

I don't see how people can spread their lies and misinformation, including those about 'unvetted asylum seekers', especially when claiming to be concerned about security and lawfulness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,079 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

😂

Gardaí say the gang that was the target of the operation is trafficking drugs in west Dublin and has links to Albanian organised crime.

That's just one random article I read today.

A few low IQ scumbags rioting have absolutely nothing on some of the foreign organised crime groups who are setting roots in this country.

But it's not just the riots is it? There's the arson attacks, intimidation and violence. The harassment of women and children. Death threats and assaults on politicians.

While some people here mightn't have much empathy towards the victims of these crimes, it's important to remember the huge amount of Garda hours spent dealing with these.

These are hours which could be spent tackling the kind of organised crime you mention, regardless of whether the gang involved are Albanian, or far more likely, Irish.

Who is coming for low paid jobs? what does that have to do with a asylum seekers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

She did not do well by any stretch of the imagination

She looked unprepared, unknowledgeable, out of her depth and appeared to have no grasp of even basic figures and information she should easily be aware of

It was a total car crash, an embarrassment for her and her party.
    The clip went viral because of how excruciatingly bad it was. “Look how much of a useless dummy our Minister for Justice really is”.
    It all but confirmed for thousands of people their suspicions that she hadn’t the slightest clue.
    Her disregarding any justified criticism under the claims that it was all actually just “misogyny” was laid bare to be nonsense.

She actually did very well…haha what, we have truly entered bizzaro world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭donaghs

Remarkable stuff.
    Will our government and politicians condemn Starmer’s “right-wing” “fascist” utterances.

Our will they re-examine our own immigration population expansion experiment. Starting with economic migrants abusing the asylum process. (I fully understand why people would want a better life here, but that’s not what the asylum process is for).

Watching newsnight in bbc2 tonight, it seems like the uk debate is over. Labour can’t just shout from the sidelines, now they have to make decisions. They (major parties) all agree immigration is a good thing, but the numbers are totally unsustainable and need to be scaled back. The only question is what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,225 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Anyone coming here determined to work and improve themselves and the country is welcome imo. Anyone coming here and arriving after destroying their identity papers on the plane should be sent right back.

Canada grades them by having an office in their country and making them apply there. If they have a skill and can add something for the good of Canada they are accepted. If they have no skills or can't add to the betterment of Canada they are refused. They just can't rock up into Canada and hang about the streets, they will be refused entry.

Otherwise I have no problem with immigrants coming in as long as they are not intending to spunge on us, we have enough of our own doing that.

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/canada-moves-into-top-5-countries-in-refugee-claims/article_089a0f10-2843-11ef-8a22-8bc79e8ca1c2.html#:~:text=According%20to%20the%20latest%20global%20trends%20report%20released,in%202023%2C%20up%20from%2094%2C000%20the%20year%20before.

Canada received 146,800 new claims in 2023, up from 94,000 the year before. Only four countries were ahead: the U.S. (1.2 million), Germany (329,100), Egypt (183,100) and Spain (163,200).

Every country that is a signatory to the Geneva accepts asylum seekers.

Whenever anyone points out the major flaws in our current free-for-all system, your answer is something like "sure that would be happening either way". Other posters have pointed this out previously.

When someone mentions International Protection being used as a back door into the labour market it's, "they would be coming here anyway". You show zero consideration for the costs of taking in an asylum seeker and for the corruption of demographic data that happens when people abuse particular entry channels.

When anyone mentions crime, "sure the Irish commit crimes too" therefore why should immigrants be vetted at all.

Now here we are again; you're suggesting asylum seekers invent fake identities to the same degree as other immigrants. This is a disingenuous argument and a good example of conflation of legal/illegal immigration.

You mention tourists. The majority of non-EU tourists entering Ireland simply have no need to lie. US and Canadian retirees inventing fake identities to come visit the ancestral village in Connemara?! Laughable.

We do have an issue with certain non-EU nationalities such as Brazilians lying about their reasons for entering the State (they pose as tourists but are here to work) but they do not attempt to create fake identities as this would needlessly bringing about additional risk.

Those arriving on work permits are law abiding by nature and have gone through checks prior to arrival. It would not make sense for them to invent false identities either.

Asylum seekers are clearly different i.e. they're undocumented arrivals. The whole point of this is to conceal their identity and create a blank slate from which they can get on the road to refugee status and citizenship. It's obvious that they will be more inclined to lie about their personal details and backstories. I posted a link regarding Operation Mombasa before - this was provision of fake identities to asylum seekers specifically.

Many refugees have successfully secured protection using fake identities. These people by definition are not vetted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,225 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Emblematic

You think we should not bother finding out who is coming into the country?

What does this mean? Do you think all people claiming asylum in Canada are genuine, but people claiming asylum here are not?