Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry Co Op Shares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

seemly the 5.4 cover everything up to 2026 , , if proposal passes it will be the co op paying in coming new year .

question I have is the 5.4 cent be linked to signing a new contract ?

Where are these draft contracts anyway , they surely must have a plan if they are committing to this proposal , show us a draft contract of milk supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭ginger22

That is to be full and final settlement for past and future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭degetme

Doesn't look as rosey so given where kerry have been this year and the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

First while it's 500 million Kerry group are probably going to be lucky to net 400 million out if the deal in today's terms. They are giving a 53 million loan to the co-op not sure of the T&C's but it will be subordinate to the bank loan normally such a bond loan is considered high risk and attracts 10%+ of an interest rate. I doubt if KG are getting any more than 5% for it.

They have given 50 million for the milk arbitration deal. They are using the KG shares an̈d cancelling them worth 20ish million due to its structure.

I like to know what is happening to the 2024 KD profits are KG taking a dividend off it. I suspect not it's being left with KD probably worth another 30-50 million if I am right.

B&C shareholders are putting up about 40% of the total price and it's a joint venture not a co-op as far as I know.

IIf You atre right it's another stroke of genius depending on the coupon on the bond. If the shares outperform the bond and they probably will KD walks away with another 10 million plus if not tge bond holders can hold onto the share. It's a no risk loan with a possible upside.

YEs you are getting control of 100k worth of shares in a tax efficient manner. You are sell these shares tax efficiently over years or hold them and leave thrm as part of you estate to your children. Put them into a joint account with spouse if you have one to get the double CGT allowance worth 1250 each. I expect that to increase substantially within a couple of years. It has not risen in 10+ years. You will also recieve a dividend directly every years.

What will a No vote get you. It could be another 3-5 years before another proposal comes along. Yes your 15% in KD may not achieve it's full value but you will probably get something for it down the line. However if a child or inheritor of yours ever wants to go milking he will have a buy into KD as there will still be a shareholding in it.

Its virtually all upside with limited downside to you

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

The B shareholders are being asked on behalf of milk suppliers to approve or not the purchase of milk processing facilities and the acceptance of leading milk price settlement none of which is of no benefit to them...A shareholders should vote separately for this proposal 1st and if approved then A and Bs shareholders approve it or not fully on Dec 16th

Maybe if the first part fir A shareholders was a straight majority vote. But under co-op rules it cannot be. Often lads have to be saved from themselves. As well B shareholders are entitled to a waybof exiting that is fair to them as are C shareholders. A lot B shareholders are former dairy farmers or there parents were. Nany were for Ed out of Dairying by the advent of quotas. Many A shareholders benefited from access to there quota. Kerry was one of the dairy co-op where access to milk quota for expansion was very reasonable during the noughties. Actually many new dairy farmers during tge noughties joined Kerry during that period because of good access to quota. Eaten bread is soon forgotten. The wheel always turns.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

It's jungle rules, the biggest Lion eats first and so on. The PLC created the wealth, they're dividing the cake and that's it as they see it.

The only thing is people don't like to be dictated to, maybe they'd right to be seen to play fair when they were drawing up the deal rather than winning at every corner.

I see huge challenges ahead for KDI, as well highlighted. Most co-op boards are out if their depth., a lot of the current management are halfway out the door, and one can be sure the PLC haven't left a young Denis Brosnan after them stuck in this corner of the business.

Time will tell.

It's structured in a way that the coop board are making the decision...not the A and B shareholders…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

Sorry I don't trust it until I see it on document from co op. This should have been provided in documentation sent out.. it hasn't.. the plc shares owned by the co op need to also be explained better. While boards is good for discussion the co op board should not be relying on boards to get this over the line. My advice to shareholder will be vote no... as another vote will get a better deal since plc want out and a plan needs to be put in place to exit all the b and c shareholders..rather than take a plc share from them to invest in a business they have little or no interest in

The document is to be posted out next week...also to be on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭straight

It's a pity, for the sake of 7 million they couldn't pay the topup on all milk. They have already set a precedent by paying it on all milk the last time.

Fixed price scheme excluded also. They are legally right tho as it was always on the contract 120percent of quota

It's not that simple. They bought and processed all the milk as they promised to do. Also they set a legal precedent by paying the topup on all milk the last time.

I know we got a top up in January 2020 but I can't remember was it all milk supplied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 oakwork

Anybody attend any of the meetings so far, is there a lot of new information being shared?

What was the mood in the room like?

Have you a couple of million in your back pocket to go to court with. I have odds there was a little legalise expression like " without prejudice" on that payment document

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

I think it was the quota + 20%. Anything in fixed price got no top up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭ftm2023

Yes, Bass Reeves, you’re absolutely right. The payments we received on milk so far with the previous top-ups were explicitly stated to be “goodwill payments.”

It’s also crystal clear in our supply contracts that they are only obligated to pay us for 120% of our quota.

While I do feel sorry for “Straight,” the reality is that this is a contract put in place by our co-op board back in 2011. It’s not something that can be changed or ignored now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭ftm2023

In

I was honestly surprised—pleasantly surprised—by how positive the mood in the room was from what I personally witnessed.

The only opposition came from two former directors, and let me tell you, it was a sight to behold.

The first guy came armed with what can only be described as a short novel. He starts reading it out, and within a minute, the room had completely tuned him out. People were openly chatting to each other while he kept plowing through his pages. After about 15 minutes, someone finally stopped him, and guess what? He still had four more pages to go. He’d already rambled about heifers, mastitis, EBI, fathers, sons, marts, mart auctioneers—you name it. It was genuinely cringe-worthy watching the man embarrass himself like that.

Then the second former director got up, and if you thought the first guy was bad, this one outdid him with even more outrageous nonsense. Toward the end of the meeting, another shareholder finally shut him down, and rightly so. The shareholder absolutely buried him alive, and it was fully deserved! 😂😂

And then there’s the story of the other guy—one of the main men buying co-op shares on the grey market for his private pension fund. Fair play to him for making a killing out of it, but his gravy train is finally pulling into its last stop, and he’s taking it badly 🤣🤣. From what I hear, he’s not a big fan of the JV and has been coming out with all sorts of wild claims lately. I haven’t seen him speak yet, but by all accounts, he’s been letting his feelings be known.

To be fair, he got five good years out of his Cash for Shares pension scheme. I like the guy, but let’s be honest—he’s codding no one. 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭kerry_man15

How does it result in a ratio of 3 PLC per coop share? You still haven't explained how that works.

I genuinely worry about how so dairy farmers manage there business. Maybe it also answers the question why some dairy farmers costs are out of control. You may not be a dairy farmer but you came from that genetic stock. Are you serious or did you read his post at all or is this a windup

251 million is 46% of 540 million the total value of the A shareholder share value

They would get 6.15 share per co-op share. 46% of 6.15 is 2.83 share. Add in stamp duty etc which is being paid out of the cash reserves of the co-op and and you at about 3 shares per A share holders.

I going to ask a question and I am not intending to be insulting but did you skip maths classes completely in school

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

Whether or not I had millions I wouldn't be giving it to the legal "profession".

Kerry should know by now that farming is not just about money. If I feel as though someone is not willing to be fair with me I have no interest in doing business with them.

Dairygold are holding an EGM shortly. They are changing some rules around accepting new suppliers. It's another option for me.

So they put in the 251 million, which is 46% of their total holding, and they have 54% of their coop shares remaining worth 289 million. They're still worth 6.15 PLC but they now just have around half of the number they previously had because they've purchased a milk processing operation. How are they losing anything? Their money is now split between owning a milk processing operation and shares in the coop. They haven't suddenly lost half of their money, it's just invested in different things. They would then be the only shareholders in the new venture and could reap all the rewards.

let’s hope Dairygold are open to taking in new suppliers , it will give us options ,
    Dairygold farmers will bolster their future by having a strong milk pool ,

And there will be plenty of kerry milk that will flow to them .
    And then everyone will be happy ,

The kerry farmers that want their own show

And the farmers who don’t want to be part of it ,

there seems to be a culture of keep people prisoner , and it’s more time this culture stops .

I suppose you could make the argument that all shareholdings in the coop at some stage supplied milk to the coop ...that was the original commitment to putting the coop in place.... whether you continued to supply or not as a shareholder doesn't change that commitment.

Post edited by cap.in.hand. on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Big turnout in Newcastle West tonight just about to kick off