Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

I'm Billy no mates here as far as the Boro go Krazy but fair play to you for sticking up for Village, you'd nearly take both of ye for the one person at times, bye bye now👌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

I seen most of the game and GW were very poor. Fairly blunt up front from half time onwards bar Drennan frees. I think they only got one point from play in the second half of normal time and that was the equaliser from Conor Doyle. Their No 15 got the red about 5 or 10 mins into the second half so don't know if he was doing damage in the first half. Purcell was excellent but they left him full back for the full game which was bizarre as he could have done woeful damage at centre forward in particular when they were chasing. Comer were good and definitively the better team in the second half and in extra time but they're only OK at the same time. Michael Brennan was a big threat and Eoin Moore at 6 played well as the spare man before their No 7 got a second yellow.

Just a standard Roinn B game really which is a very competitive division from the looks of it. Dunnamaggin beat St Martins by 3 who were missing 3 or 4 intermediate starters I believe. Both teams finished with 14, Joe Fitz got a straight red although I hear it was soft.

Comer/Tullogher should be interesting this weekend. I know TR have the few strong lads but they were very poor at U19 and U21 last year so not sure how good they actually are.

Lisdowney beat the Rower by a few points but other than Eoin Lyng and 1 or 2 others that's not a particularly strong Rower group either as far as I know.

Spot on JJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Special Junior

Lisdowney v Borris Kilcotton should be a good game. Lisdowneys strength is in their goalkeeper and backs but see the Borris Kilcotton full forward line are all current Laois hurlers or recently retired if they aren’t still playing with Laois so will be a real test. Matthew Whelan in the backs was a stalwart for Laois for a long time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭kilkenny34

I'd say Borris are tye strongest ever Laois representative in the Leinster Intermediate championship,Losdowney very much up against it but hopefully they pull through. Other semi should be good too, Rathnure will be mad for an All Ireland run but Bray have been one of the stronger teams at this grade the last few years. Had a man sent off and missed a penalty in the first half the last day and still pulled through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Recent Wexford underage player AJ Redmond was the player sent off and suspended next Saturday for Rathnure, he'll be a massive loss, Bray Rathnure is a bit of a 50-50 I'd say.( Sorry just realised you were referring to Bray so both had a player sent off last weekend, although the Rathnure red was in injury time.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Marrooned

sometimes you confuse me! A lot of these Boro men are still U21 give them a chance as for them been soft, in comparison to who exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Krazy gang

Bray could beat rathnure. Rathnure are a relatively young light team who would prefer fast ground. Aj Redmond will be a big loss. Bray are a seasoned team in this competition.

Lisdowney should just have enough, but as we saw last Sunday anything can happen.

They are mentally soft,underachieving for years now.That was a complete bottle job this year,surely you can't disagree with that? Last year when the going got tough against Ballyhale and the game was there to be won they folded....few years back against Mullinavat in a dogfight,Boro folded.

down to the manager the last three years don’t get me started. Watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

They were accused of being soft long before m Walsh was involved being honest

you still didn’t give me a hint of what club you belong to and we could then compare the two, but I doubt if you have the balls to tell me.

Sorry you've lost me. I never mentioned anything about your club. You must be confusing me with somebody else!

sorry krazy not you my humble apologies. That was meant for Kilkenny 34.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Box to box

Haven't been on here In a while so firstly just want to thank Walter for his honesty and effort over the years. It's very easy come on here and be critical looking at players but he was a crowd favourite and for a big man he could move. The same with fogarty we'd all be surprised if he stayed but he done a lot of thankless work and always worked fierce hard. The kk team is gone stale and lyng over squeezed every last drop out of codys team. Lyng has to grow a pair next year and trust new players and let them learn from their mistakes.Theres probably no new forwards there with that xfactor but if we were better coached and utilitiesed players I think we would be better. From what I'm hearing the coaching inside with the county is absolutely catastrophic. There's club teams better coached and this isnt a exaggeration. The proof is in the pudding though, we definitely have the worst puckouts when compared to the best 6 teams in the country. Do we have a style?look how we reacted against cw when they had a sweeper and mostly how we react against a extra defender. Noel Doherty hasn't a magic wand but it can't be any worse then what has being going on. Hate being negative but it sounded depressing and it's hard to be optimistic. The county board is rotten and our players deserve better. Listening to Michael duignan recently and compare that to what we have.

Doesn't really matter where I'm from lol,but some of the new housing developments in the Boro would dwarf our whole population no be no point comparing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

Great post I would agree with everything you've said.

I just don't think Lyng and Donovan are the men to develop a team but hopefully I'm wrong

You'd have to wonder his thinking with not having Micky Comerford involved this year. I would think Micky Comerford is a top S and C coach and was well thought of by the players

Strange decision in my opinion

U21 Comer v Tullogher match postponed, fixed for tomorrow @ 2pm in Paulstown for anyone who was going 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kkclubhurling

21 A final is on clubber at half one

Boro are heavy favourites with clifford, Rowe, hackett, Kevin moore, kelleher to the fore

Village main men are probably there minors Lahoff, McDermott, bergin and deely

Hopefully conditions don’t affect it too much and it’s a good battle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Strong wind with the Boro first half but they are showing why they were such hotS favourites. Big ask for the Village to come back from 13 points down at half time.

Some hammering by the boro over their neighbours. Fair play to them. Is this the team that have never been beaten since u14?

Tullogher beat comer in the b semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Great Boro performance, hopefully Kilkenny can get a few hurlers from it. A young village team will be back.

Any report on the Comer match ? That's a good Comer team, I thought they might have won B this year and progress to A for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

CKCR reported that bar the first 15 mins and the last 5 Tullogher were on top

Comer would have had 7/8 u18s I'd say. This might be a year early for them. Tullogher got 2 goals either side of half time before comer came back strong near the end. Cillian hackett seemed to play well today. Is he in with kilkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Leinster intermediate club final

Rathnure v Lisdowney

Sunday 1st December @1.30pm

Venue - Chadwicks Wexford Park

Rathnure are a very proud Wexford club with huge tradition but have fallen back a lot, they have a very good young up and coming squad and AJ Redmond their un20 County star is back for the final after missing their win over Bray today through suspension.

Lisdowney who bet Borris of Laois yesterday 2-15 to 2-13 will have no fear of Rathnure in what should be a cracking final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ModelHurler12

The Blackstairs men will not fear Lisdowney one bit. A young team with plenty of hurling and heart. A cracking final in Wexford Park is hopefully in store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Bazng

tullogher better team should have won by more. leading by 8 with 4 mons to go

no Cillian was dropped. Looking at the play tonight’s they are all fierce young giver them a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 upnorth

Very easy have a go at M Walsh….. especially from a lad who never once managed a hurling team before in his life