Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Provincial/All Ireland club hurling is no barometer of county quality. If it was Waterford would have won a rake of Munsters and All Irelands lately, and Dublin would be well on top in Leinster right now. I'd rather our championship where virtually any team could potentially go and win it, and every match is competitive, than their situations. Thomastown won an intermediate last year and went straight on to win a senior, it's a crazy achievement. They fell flat on the day, big deal. If they are in it again next year I think they'll be better prepared. They had already massively overachieved this year, wouldn't read much into it.

The problems with the county team are many, but one of the big advantages they have is a competitive club championship to view potential players. Losing one match in Leinster isn't changing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

I could not have said it better myself, this is the point I was trying to make but failed miserably. Agree 100 per cent with this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Krazy gang

Think you're right. Lot of negativity on tipp thread too about loughmore getting hammered by ballygunner. But tipp and kilkenny hurling is in a better place than waterford, more of a spread of talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭kilkenny34

Half the teams in senior next year have no hope of winning it.....Boro ,Bridge ,Tullaroan would be a shock win,3realistic contenders next year anything other than a Thomastown,OLG,or Ballyhale would be a big shock.

Ah I dunno. Thomastown was a big shock this year and they still did it. I don't think bridge would be a shock at all if they won, wouldn't have been surprised if they had won it this year anyway. No reason the boro can't win it either, I would be shocked if tullaroan won it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Not too sure about that. Yes we have a competitive club championships and the crowds at games are good in comparison to other counties but the quality of players in Kilkenny is very poor at the moment. Tipp championship standard is extremely poor. Take a look at the Fitzgibbon cup teams from last year and the lack of representation from Kilkenny. I'd reckon Waterford would have alot more players playing at this level, thus more up and coming players ready for the next step which is county level.

Just watched back the match. Ctg were outstanding, this wasn't a just a case of upsetting thomastown, they outhurled them. The chap in midfield was absolutely brilliant, Clarke I think, fast, great striker intelligent.

O Reilly the corner forward looks some prospect, caused havoc in ttown full back line. Brilliant hand on him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭neverbet

Agree with a lot of that. Been saying it here for quite a while we have been punching above our weight lately in light of our lack of underage/Fitzgibbon success compared to other counties. Take Ballygunner out of Waterford however and their championship is quite poor. We still have under 21 championships locally to finish and a lot of decent talent involved there so always hoping.

Why is that? Are you staying you gave a chance to the Village ,Comer,GBC etc a chance this year?

Conor Fogarty gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

I wouldn't consider a Boro win a shock. If they could get there best 15 on the pitch they should be winning it out. Loads of good young players not getting game time and few lads away. They will win one in the next few years anyway.

Is it true he wants to play for another year but Lyng has told him to move on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

How would anyone on here know the answer to that question? It's just pure speculation and Chinese whispers unless you get it direct from Fogarty or Lyng.

If he does go, I wish him the best of luck. People have their opinions on him but I think he was brilliant at what he was good at which was everything without the ball. Tackling, hooking and his ability to read the game was top class. He averted an amount of danger sweeping back from midfield.

With him and Buckley gone, the panel has lost two men who were walking examples of how to look after yourself and be in peak physical condition for intercounty hurling. I hope the next generation have the same level of dedication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Dicksboro should be amongst the favourites particularly if they have Tom Kenny and Andy Gaffney back. Top 4 should be OLG, Thomastown, Boro followed by Shamrocks. Tullaroan need Shane Walsh and Gearoid Dunne to step up. Bridge will be fecked if Blanchfields are travelling. Can't see anyone else making a challenge

I would be fairly shocked if the village won the senior championship, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭neverbet

Fair play . Two absolute stalwarts that will be sorely missed. An example to every young fella wanting to play for their county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Olg will be favorites again but will need to add a bit more bulk up front when the ground gets heavy.

Henry will coax a few ballyhale lads back and they will always be there or thereabouts

Thomastown will look to back up last year and Sunday will keep their feet on the ground, also a few have a few good hurlers coming.

If Dicksboro add a bit of dog and decision making right they will be a match for anyone.

The Bridge aren't far away, thought they were lacking a bit of fitness and athleticism against OLG.

Tullaroan aren't far away, feels like they have the players and they just need to get a few percent extra out of them, Shane Walsh, Mossy and Dunne should be causing teams enough problems.

That is 6 teams all well capable of winning it out and the strength of the championship is that the other 6 might not win it but are all to a level that they could beat any of the 11 teams on any given day.

Having seen the confidence winning an intermediate and then the all ireland gave Thomastown, if the Village were to go on similar run with the influx of young players coming they will be very dangerous when they come back up as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

He just wants to be able to say Fogerty was dropped and he's been right for ages JJ.

That was a big win for both Kilkenny teams. Hopefully they get the job done in semi finals this week. A potential Lisdowney and Rathnure Lenister Intermediate final would be very good.

Great win for Erins Own over Galmoy/ Windgap , is that a surprise result Comerman ? Galmoy/Windgap have many lads who hurled for Kilkenny, Sean Purcell, Billy Drennan, Conor Doyle, Callum Lonergan, Shermann, Gearoid Phelan and possibly more, they look very strong on paper.

The future looks very bright for Comer, i doubt they had any of the all conquering U16 team playing either ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

100 % and anyone who couldn’t see what Fogarty brought to the team and how important his role was has a very poor understanding of the game. Best of luck to him, a pure warrior for the cause.

Because at this stage I don't think they have the tools to get the job done on the big days,they have been beaten the last 2 years by teams who were very vulnerable. Leaderless against 13 men against OLG this year,the best teams get the job done,Boro don't seem too,maybe it's a result of winning too much underage and a softness develops.

100%,no one gave the Village a hope at the start of the year of winning senior.

Ballyhale have to be ahead of the Boro,still have 3 of the best 4 forwards in the county.Gave Ttown their hardest game this year and Shefflin back would be a big plus.

It was your dicksboro pal who mentioned it first

Lisdowney have a tricky one v borris in ossory.

Surprised myself galmoy windgap got beaten. 11 / 12 of their team played top level Junior hurling this year. Erins own look a young team. 5 /6 minors maybe?? Some others here might know.

Man, you need to quote who you're replying to in these posts or it's very hard to follow!