Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Getting Facebook friend requests from people I don't know or recognise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Got caught on the doorstep by one of the govt party canvassers, I asked them about their policy on housing, one asked me if I had been impacted. (doing the usual thing of assuming the house I was going into was mine)

I said yes and told him exactly why that was outside of the housing shortage. He looked me coldly in the eye and said, "Well, yes, so many single women your age caught up in the banking crash," and walked off!

Ta'ed that he felt this was an acceptable way to respond to a person on the verge of homelessness constantly!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Jog to the sandwich shop while flailing your arms - two birds, one stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Three unaccompanied small children selling unwrapped biscuits door to door... my parents had this a couple of days ago. They're in a tiny village with no housing estates and the kids weren't raising money for any cause of school, so it seemed very strange. Who lets smallies out calling to randomers without an adult to keep them safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,658 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Amazon ads. No idea but just hate them and wreck my head. That new one where chap is cleaner and he likes singing I just want punch tv in. No idea why ha.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA I had a small but potentially very bad issue with my car recently, we fixed it at home, all good. The TA is that I had forgotten about it and the same issue has reappeared today 😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

When did it become a thing on Youtube that if you don't skip an ad it just keeps going forever? I got stuck under a cat the other day and think the ad that was on at the end of the video I had been watching must've went on for about 15 minutes until I extricated myself and pressed skip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

i think all the reporters are hoping we get another winter like 2010 or was it 2011 and they all got to dress up like they were on Shackeltons expidition reporting on the snow…tis a bit cold yeah but no need to hype it all up…think of the poor lads in shorts,runners and the canada goose coats!(spotted two earlier,gobshites!)

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

yo! donnie vonshitzinpants..you sir are the skidmark on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,166 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Counting down the days till the election day.

Parcels have gone up I'd say 20% with the Christmas surge. So much so that an extra lorry arrives in the depot every morning because the regular lorry can't fit everything in first time around.

Charity letters are far more frequent this time of year.

Tesco had their clubcard letters out this week. Surely Dunnes will follow suit.

Oodles of publicity post.

The above combined in one week is bad enough, and elongates your day as it is, but we also have election leaflets to deliver (multiples of the same household too depending on the address). The bulk of which are binned but I still have to deliver them.

And the more important ballot cards haven't even arrived yet, which have one for each member registered to vote in EVERY house on your route.

I have pencilled in Saturday week for a few pints to unwind after the madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I'm not ta'ing your TA . But how does one get stuck under a cat ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭Archeron

When it rains cats and dogs, but they're REALLY big ones :)

TA i keep getting LinkedIn connection requests from life coaches, who personalize their messages and apparently really want to connect.

I'm guessing my profile pic looks like somebody in dire need of a life coach.

Feck off the lot of yiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

It is a well known law that if an animal (usually a cat or dog) chooses your lap to sit on, you're not allowed to move until either you die or the animal moves first.

It's the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Many a time I have been prevented from making a cup of tea by a cat.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Accept then unfriend - I’m so bad at tech stuff they believe me when I say that I must have done something stupid. I regularly go through my friend list and cull as needed. I don’t need to see a photo of your dinner; your child in Halloween costume or your Christmas lights in November - unfriend them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

All the people in Britain who go on about the NHS.

"The NHS saved my life", "Increase in tax can help our NHS" , "The only problem with the NHS is it's not funded well enough" and anyone who works for the NHS being treated like a hero etc etc

It's like a religion for some of them in Britain, they seem to have this impression that people all over the rest of the world where there isn't an NHS style system end up dying of mild illnesses.Usually British exceptionalism comes from right wingers but this is a left wing type of British exceptionalism that is equally stupid.

Post edited by Jack Daw on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Having someone who always feels cold and has to turn the heaters up to 25 and creates a sweatbox. Same person sits in their shirt and won't put on a jumper or hoody while the rest of us have to leave the room because it is too hot.

Every time there is snow we get people videoing when driving. If the center of the frame is on the right and over the steering wheel and console it's not hard to figure out who is holding the camera. It sure as hell won't be hard for the gardai to figure out if you crash or hit someone.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Yeah the whole clap for nurses during the pandemic was cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That **** Michael O Leary and his '€500 each way flight to/from Dublin to London at Christmas' bollocks earlier in the year

Booked Flights for December back in July after seeing the chatter and looking at the prices ended up paying more 😔

At least I'm flying back on British Airways so the ballax is only getting money off me once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Was asked for flight prices by mam for London to see her sis. Expensive. The sis over there when the chat was had 4 weeks ago she has..someones birthday doo, Xmas night out, a hospital check and then the wan only rings tonight with dates that do suit & are in two and a half weeks time and cost €300+ with Aer Lingus, she’s in Brentford near Heathrow…this happened before, expects folks to wait for the ‘ok’ from the grand auld dame of the family, jump and pay whatever … 😏

nice lady & whilst 90+ is smart, active, generally healthy but can be insensitive, thoughtless & get peoples backs up like now. The money isn’t the issue at all, taking the piss however, is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Men wearing shorts when it is minus 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭moonage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

DPD! Two deliveries coming from Amazon with DPD. Get two emails from DPD asking me to confirm my address online. Bullshit excuse that they didn't get my Eircode which Amazon always provide. When I confirm my address a box comes up saying it will take and extra day to my address and wanting me to confirm that. F off I'm not agreeing to crap service.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,471 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Amazon delivery before 8am… bleared eyed in PJs going to door.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,654 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That in 2025 we still have a huge number of people who genuinely believe that some people can talk to the dead.

To me, this is one of the stupidest things in all of the human race. If it was genuinely possible, it would probably be the greatest discovery EVER in the history of the world, of the human race. Maybe even more significant than aliens landing in a major capital city.

It would be such an amazing discovery, totally change human outlook on life etc, yet we have so many who believe it's totally possible and don't see that if any of these charlatans could prove they are genuine, they would be one of the most famous people in human history.

Anyone can talk to the dead, it's talking with the dead that's tricky. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Plunger taps that offer milliseconds of water before turning off again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

this, a TA of mine too….it’s like some symptom of a mental illness. It’s 0 degrees out, on their upper half they are attired as if they were going to climb the north face of the eiger in mid winter , yet the bottom half attired like they were in Hawaii in July. That’s not right in the head, can’t be… 😏

My TA. Getting a delivery email for some clothing order that I didn’t make or don’t remember making. It’s a company I use regularly but everything I ordered I have received last week…. Sooo ? Apparently it’s out for delivery, whatever IT is but 👀…

Either the company have made a mistake and sending an automated delivery email in error, or I’m getting free stuff, cause I ain’t paying for it if I didn’t order it 🤔