Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭drury..

The thing with Jules is

I believe he knew not to tell the person closest to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Deeec

Women are very intuitive - We sense things in a way that men cant. Jules lived with Bailey for 25 years after the murder and even after his death she is positive he didnt do it. Even Jules daughters (who hated him) dont think he done it.

Jules and her daughters had alot to gain from getting Bailey locked up - it was the perfect way of getting rid of him out of their lives. They didnt do that though because they have a conscience and are convinced he was innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, I don't believe that Jules would have covered for Bailey if she knew he had done it.

I don't believe that she would have allowed him to continue to live with her and her daughters if she even suspected he was a murderer.

And I don't believe that Bailey would be able to hide his guilt from her for all those years, whilst every detail of his behaviour was scrutinised in public. Women certainly are more intuitive than men, particularly where family are concerned.

The fact that Jules and her daughters, despite him assaulting her, despite their distaste for him and despite the fact that he is now dead, still say that he didn't do it, is a powerful argument against his guilt.

That's why I believe he said nothing to her

He simply knew that would be his downfall

I enjoyed discussion with you for a while until..

I don't believe everyone is pro bailey just a majority here

Anything pointing at Bailey gets shot down by them

Alfie is now a chief suspect for some with more evidence pointing at him allegedly, that type discussion goes unchallenged by the majority

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You're simply making up scenarios to justify your belief in his guilt!

No that's not my thinking at all

But sure go ahead and post anything

So, he made numerous "confessions" to diverse local characters, whilst simultaneously hiding his guilt from Jules and her daughters.

Hmmmmm……….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭tibruit

I just can`t help thinking about all those intuitive women who voted for Trump.

Correct

And just a view

Was discussed before , it happens

Bailey has fought with his wife knew he couldn't trust her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Its not about "belief in his guilt"

• there's no actual evidence pointing to Bailey, - or to anyone else.
    • The way it pans out is that IF he were guilty, then all these details would be corroborative evidence; IF you had done a murder, well, you would lie (obviously!). If you had got bloody clothing, you would presumably hide it or wash it or burn it.
    • That doesn't prove that anyone who dumps, washes or burns a garment must have committed murder. But IF they had, it helps to confirm.
    • It's all "if" piled on "if"
    • but there's so little data!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Look, all I’m saying is that you should practice what you preach. I’m not sure I would call anyone on here pro-Bailey tbh. Maybe there are people who put him on some sort of pedestal, but I haven’t come across any. The vast majority that I come across here are earnestly searching for justice for Sophie. That involves revisiting the information and evidence with fresh eyes, and not to get bogged down in the mistakes of the past.

With fresh eyes it is clear that there is no evidence for a 3 a.m. murder, and statistically it is more likely to have happened either at midnight, or the morning. In addition given that blood was fresh on the face, would push it to morning time.

With fresh eyes it is evident that there should be more dna investigation carried out, and more cross referencing of the unknown dna that was found.

With fresh eyes it is evident that a new appeal for information should occur, similar to that of the JoJo Dullard case, and any loose ends not followed up on back then, should be now.

The gardai who attended the scene should provide updated statements, given their extensive knowledge that they have built up in the 30 years since and revisit their assumption also.

None of the above categorically rules out Bailey, and if he did it, would actually increase the likelihood of getting to clear evidence in his case. Anyone who comes on here claiming that supporters of these assertions are pro-Bailey, is being ignorant at best imo.

Bailey has fought with his wife knew he couldn't trust her

Clearly you've a good understanding of the details surrounding the case 🙄

Ah here we go

Theres no evidence on bailey

Only he got convicted of murder in france

Bailey according to some allegedly too pissed to walk or drive to Sophie's

No problem remembering and getting up and finishing a newspaper article

Gone all nite and conveniently leaves finished article on kitchen table for Jules to see

Forgets about the events of that nite shortly after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,531 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The DPPs office here looked at the evidence multiple times, and concluded there was insufficient evidence for him to stand trial. Not only that, there are scathing criticisms of the evidence and Garda conduct on the case from the DPP.

Senior Gardai are recorded discussing the case, and noting that all they have is "flimsy evidence".

So if he got convicted of murder in France, that should tell you a lot about the French judicial system and miscarriages of justice.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Bailey didn't do it there's way more evidence pointing to Alfie😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭billie1b

The legal system in France is different to here, in France you've to prove your innocence instead of them proving your guilt, he didn't travel to France for trial because he knew he would be found guilty because of all the inconsistencies in his statements and stories. He lied about knowing her, lied about where he was, fire out the back of his studio and we could go on and on but according to some everyone else is lying and Bailey wasn't.

Again i'm not saying he did it but the pro Bailey on here is crazy, blaming the Garda for how they investigate and question people (which to this day is still done that way), the way the pay informants (again, still done to this day) and many other things that have been said which is the normal course of things.

I know you yourself didn't say it but people saying Jules would know is total codswallop, most murderers, pedos, people who commit sexual assaults etc are wired different to others, most cases of these people that have been convicted live perfectly normal lives and commit these crimes without their partners/wifes/husbands etc not knowing anything about it at all until they're arrested/convicted for it and most of the time they still stand by their significant other saying they're innocent. People aslo saying it wasn't a sexual crime aren't right but they're not wrong either, there's been loads of cases of murders the world over and the motivation was sexual but the killing part was the part that the killer got sexual gratification from, the victim was not sexually assualted themselves.

A lot of posters here need to take their own advice and look at the case without rose tinted Bailey glasses on and look at it objectively without thinking he is innocent straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Deeec

I don't think any woman who voted for Trump actually lived with him though. Not even his wife wants to live with him 😂

but the pro Bailey on here

Would people stop with this. Nobody is pro-Bailey and you know it

A lot of posters here need to take their own advice and look at the case without rose tinted Bailey glasses on and look at it objectively without thinking he is innocent straight away.

So there is no presumption of innocence until proven guilty then?
    The onus is on AGS to prove the murderer guilty. After almost thirty yuears of trying, they have nothing on Bailey (and this is also despite some questionable acts by AGS). What those you tag as "pro-Bailey" want to see is a proper investigation that looks at evidence rather than something that bears the hallmarks of "we have our suspect now lets find the evidence" approach (which we know has led to many miscarriages of justice here).
    I remain open-minded about who is responsible. If Bailey is shown through actual evidence to have killed Sophie then I'll gladly accept that. At this point in time, the evidence does not indicate towards anyone at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,531 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Nope, it is not normal for a DPP to come out with the sort of criticisms we see in this case - that is on public record.

It is not normal for GSOC to report on tampered evidence in the case - that is on public record.

So yes I will blame the Guards for a tunnel vision, incompetent investigation in which they engaged in malfeasance.

I didn't think Bailey was innocent straight away.
    In the first instance, in Ireland you are innocent until proven guilty.
    In the second instance, having looked at the 'flimsy' evidence the Guards put together, despite being all over Bailey and using fair means and foul, I think on balance he is innocent.
    And it was called 'flimsy' by a senior Guard and that was when they thought they had Marie Farrell as a credible witness. For the French investigation to treat her testimony as credible and use that to support a conviction is a miscarriage of justice.
    Or are you going to try to pretend she didn't lie?

Witnesses lie, witnesses make mistakes, they misremember, they allow themselves to be guided by police out for a 'result'.
    Innocent people too can lie (if they think they are being fitted up or an answer might incriminate them in another crime or personally), or be mistaken in recollections under pressure.
    It is highly debateable how well Bailey knew the victim or even what bearing it has on the case. It is indirect circumstantial evidence.

So spare us any patronising glib remarks about looking at it objectively. You are a million miles away from justifying them. So take your own advice, I have no need of it.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

not just me saying it. Plenty on here have outlined it also

Listen the bottom line is this, everybody is innocent until proven guilty, rose tinted glasses or no. Objective is taking this viewpoint. Subjectively is considering someone guilty before looking at the evidence. This is basic stuff.

If you have a problem with that, you have a problem with the legal system in general, which has erred on the opposite side of that caution in this case. I would suggest you open up another thread to talk about how the legal system has failed Sophie, and countless others from finding someone guilty (but not necessarily responsible) for murder if it bothers you so much.

Forget about Alfie there is potentially more evidence against another, as yet unidentified (or unnamed) suspect, as you continue not to acknowledge. Physical and circumstantial evidence at the place of the murder including:

Unknown DNA which needs to be identified,

Additional DNA which could be gleaned from whatever exhibits weren't lost

bootprints,

fingermarks (which may be subsequently identified, or profiled),

wine bottle (which could be evidence if investigated thoroughly),

tire tracks

and alternative vehicle sightings (blue ford focus).

If each of those aspects, or just a portion of them came from the same person, which is exceedingly possible, then that person would naturally jump to the top of the list.

This is just what is known and released (albeit some accidentally) from the gardai. What else is there which has not been released and may add to the story……

wine bottle (which could be evidence if investigated thoroughly),

Isn't that lost?