Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭cute geoge

WTF how can you not understand surely the last person to see jojo alive who changed his statements and who had viable scrape to his face is a bit of a giveaway and surely all his facts should have been combed instead the guards taught it more important to try track down randomer 100.miles away who took coins out of bar phone and other red herrings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The scrape on his face was only brought to public attention by a PI hired by Jo Jo's family much later.

We have no idea when that scratch got there, it could have been well before Nov 1995 or well after Nov 1995, we have no idea so it's a complete red herring.

As for the changed statements, we don't know how much the statements changed, we only know that there were discrepancies in the statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,511 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Lads this guy does this on all threads. Does the same on IPTV and Minimum unit pricing for alcohol. Goes against the general consensus all the time. Very sad that he is doing it in such a tragic case though. Best ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭ellejay

Are you saying it's hard to pin point the precise location they might find a body or are you saying the body can't be found.

I thought they found Tina Satchwell buried in concrete in an extension.

The fact they found Tina Satchwell is giving me hope that they'll find Jo Jo Dullard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭JVince

This will join the Sophie du Plantier case as an armchair sleuths wet dream with more and more wild speculation and assumptions based on absolutely nothing.

The "scratch on face" was seen by a paid private investigator WEEKS after she went missing and AFTER he gave statements to the gardai. I got a fair old scratch on my face in the summer from a cat. It spurted out a decent bit of blood, yet fully healed in 2 weeks.

My guess is the gardai would have noticed that scratch fairly easily when talking to him in the light of a garda station with at lest 2 gardai in the room. So I reckon it was total BS from the PI or it was a minor scratch that happened the previous day in the course of farm work.

On the change of statements. Seen as a red herring and not seen as important by the gardai, but amateur sleuths and wild sensationalist tabloid story writers have elevated this to importance as it suits their agenda.

From what the gardai say (rather than the sensationist gutter media), it was not a red flag issue and was was more to do with his partner finding out where he had been. Remember, at that point it was a missing person investigation and the person was being interviewed as a witness as he was considered that last person she had been with.

He could very well be the person responsible, but the two thing the amateur sleuths and sensational gutter press are going on about, are of no significance.

What gardai will be checking now is if the recent statements are materially different to those given back then.

That's the best that you can do ?

Tell people not to engage because I don't agree with you ?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

On a separate unsolved mystery

RTE news : Search of land in Co Dublin over couple's murder in 2015

http://www.rte.ie/news/2024/1115/1481112-garda-search-land/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭LunaLoo

just came here to post the same. Am i right thinking there was rumor some money was owed to someone?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I honestly don't remember. I never realised the time frame was so tight, Willie phoned his mother at 2.30pm to come collect them at their place, when she got there at 3pm they were nowhere to be found and his phone was going straight to voicemail. They must have encountered someone on the way home (or more than one someone to take 2 people)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭LunaLoo

"They ran some errands and made contact with William’s mother Helen to arrange for her to travel from Tallaght to Gormanston to collect them.

William spoke to his mother at about 2.30pm and asked her to make her way to Gormanston. William and Anastasija got a taxi together from Balbriggan to Gormanston shortly after 2.30pm."

https://www.thejournal.ie/william-maughan-and-anastasija-varslavane-murder-investigation-search-6543184-Nov2024/

If they rang his mother at 2:30pm and she got to Gormanston before 3 where was she when he rang first, Gormanston is about an hour from Tallaght. Was she already on the way when they spoke at 2:30? The timeline is definitely very tight for 2 people to disappear in broad daylight

The dig in Wicklow will continue over the weekend and into next week.

Which I guess is a good thing, even though it may be a needle in a haystack at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭OnTheCorner

And all you have done here is repeat over and over again something about incompetence by the guards and corruption. Come up with something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,181 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Not totally that they know too much about⁹ a particularly brutal killer/drug dealer called Cornelian Price. I think and it only from memory and I may be incorrect but Willie Maughan may either have witnessed a murder of Price's or being involved in getting someone to meet Price who he murdered. Particularly dandelion and horrid individual was Price. Died in prison in the UK, and had a rough enough death which he throughly deserved

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

It is common for innocent people to give false statements. Some lie about things that they belive will have no relevance to the the case. A question like "what were you doing earlier that day?" You might not want a garda to know what you were doing earlier in the day and may think it will have absolutely no relevance to a crime that took place hours later in a different location but if you do lie your statement will still be factually a false statement and labeled as it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Caquas

True but the suspect in this case could have a powerful alibi even in the absence of physical corroboration like a time-stamp on a bus ticket.

In gangland cases, a fake alibi is often arranged in advance. Failing that, someone may be willing to swear that they were with the suspect at the time and far from the crime-scene. The Gardai are not fooled but it is difficult to get around this evidence if someone is prepared to perjure themselves (a badge of honour among gang members). Unless conflicting evidence is stronger e.g. their mobile phones give the game away.

The alibi is this case could not have been pre-arranged because Jo Jo's abduction was entirely opportunistic. More importantly, if his alibi was "I went straight home to Grangecon and went to bed for the night", that was probably true in every respect but one - the timing. If a family member corroborated his alibi - i.e. that he got home before midnight and was in bed all night - he has a powerful defence in the absence of any conflicting evidence.

All that would be true even if his family were poor and powerless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Packrat

I've heard this hatchet job being mentioned a few times in this and other threads.

I honestly don't remember any negative reporting on her in the press at the time or recently.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Neither do I, and I remember the case very well from the beginning.

I will post up some of the early articlea if i can find them online. There were 100percent undertones of old ireland about how Gardai were portraying JoJo. Again though from what were told the investigation was thorough and conducted without any flaws whatsoever. Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,328 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Neither do I and I was around her age and regularly thumbed up and down the country. I never remember anything suggesting she was anything other than a young woman victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭tibruit

I`ll be interested to read all those articles when you find them. It`s not how I remember things at all I have to say. No investigation is without flaws either.

Yea ok. I wont be like todd. If i dont find them ill hold me hands up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭chicorytip

I think it was two days after news of her disappearance became public.

He could have made honest errors in his initial statement to Gardai due to nerves. It may be quite stressful for somebody being questioned by the cops in cases like these if you haven't experienced it before. This guy could well be perfectly innocent but have given the impression of being dodgy at the time. It must be difficult for him being widely talked about and to have remained living in the same area for the past twenty-five years. I presume he's married with a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,805 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I guess we look at it through our 2024 prism, and it doesn't seem a hatchet job.

But back in 1995 the unnecessary release of the information that she'd had an abortion that month would have implied that she was 'that sort', the easy type who probably asked for it, and not worth wasting any time over. Even the idea that she missed her bus because she was off drinking in the afternoon (whilst factually correct and information that needed to be released) would have unfortunately been interpreted as a character negative in some circles.

Agree. The abortion information was her own business and should not have been made public. The Missing book says that it was from an unnamed Garda source and there was a suggestion that it may have caused her to become "depressed"

i.e. presumably implying that her disappearance was her own choice.

I don't make statements here without a source.

So I don't know what you are on about.

Thank you. I knew i hadn't imagined it. If she were born 10 years earlier she'd have been the prime target for the laundries. Absolutely she was portrayed as the type that didnt matter.

Theres one link. I'll keep digging for more. No doubt the usual suspects here will say Mary Phelan was lying.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/family-missing-jo-jo-dullard-9984097#amp-readmore-target