Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,200 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Weren't people complaining on here a week ago about the working class accents of the football pundits.

Now the show is so full of cosmopolitan elites (who are from Athy) that they're ignoring the fact that Robbie showed ambivalence to the acts being carried out against the Palestinians and are finding fault with him because he's from Tallaght?

The swerve is almost impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Why does Katie Taylor get no criticism from them for profiting off a Mike Tyson card (a convicted rapist) yet Kelly Harrington was interrogated for a historical retweet?

The point is that OTB have always been full of double standards and inconsistencies based off the profile of the individual(s) involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Literally the exact same conversation happened on Joe's new podcast…but its alright because its not Ger (who I have no time for).

Robbie Keane took 250k salary from the FAI at a time when they were laying off admin staff and having pay cuts for everybody else. Sometimes, it is the optics regardless of the legalities of the contract.

It's why for me sports shows should just stay in their lane. Politics is nuanced and to be frank, OTB presenters are ill-equipped to make educated takes on these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,200 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Sports have always been heavily intertwined with politics. Always. Both as a source of conflict and a source of mending bridges and building relationships.

And the OTB crew are well capable of doing what they are being asked to do, host a sports show, giving their opinions on the same topics the dogs in the street are giving their opinions on. They're not advising the office of the Taoiseach of Michael D for the love of God, they're having a chat.

You're just doing the same thing you do every evening, listening to the show looking for ways you can pretend you are offended. Did they send back your audition tape or something?

Katie Taylor's skill set is boxing, it has allowed her to live a life of adventure and reward. If she was to step away from every unsavory character in boxing, she'd be living in Bray having nothing to do with boxing.

And Tyson was jailed when Katie was 6 years of age, 32 years ago, should no one in the 32 years since have interacted with him? There is no comparison to that situation and the matter by which Robbie was being discussed.

I think its time for a new hobby, it can't be good for your health ranting so routinely about a show and people you clearly hate.

If its bothering you so much then I'd suggest a new show or something might help you enjoy what you listen to more.

Post edited by FazyLucker on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

It's a bit of a damning indictment to say that the rants on here are probably more entertaining than the show itself these days 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭atilladehun

The ancient Olympics was political, as was the foundation of the modern Olympics. The foundation of the GAA was political. The split in Rugby was political. Sports staying amateur amd others going professional was political. All of that is pre 1900. It would be a struggle to find a sport that isn't political.

I agree with you, politics is nuanced but it belongs to everyone, including sports people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭left_hander

I listen when I can and its grand - I have hardly ever listened to OTB AM but the PM show is good and Eoin is doing fine, Will is grand also. I have never warmed to Nathan but meh, I hardly ever listen on Thursday's or over the weekend.

But I know one thing, I wouldn't give my life (as a man in my 30's like sub3wannabe…) ranting and raving about a show and people I don't like.

There is a world of podcasts, on demand TV, etc to keep me happy if I don't like the content, or the guest, or the presenter. Live and let live - I will never get the logic behind anybody who gives their life in pseudo-martyrdom listening to a show they can't stand. But maybe some people like the misery…

Sports, politics, life, etc are all interlinked and people who think every commentator, etc should "stay in their lane" just don't like the uncomfortable truths they have to deal with as a result. People who rant when sports shows cover things like racism, misogyny, sportswashing, etc just don't like the fact that they are more often than not racists or misogynists themselves and it doesn't sit well with them when their world view is challenged or the ethics of their club is challenged because "the Saudis are doing great things in Newcastle" or whatever.

If nobody can comment on anything other than the sport itself, and those involved have to stay in their lane, then maybe its not our place to offer an opinion on sports either? I mean, we're only supporters after all…the performance of sports teams is theoretically nothing to do with us.

We can't have it every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

Keane knew very well what the reprecussions of taking that job were, yet he went and took it anyway.

Everybody and their dog pointed it out at the time, yet he chose not to listen.

To try and play dumb to the whole thing now is laughable. While I don't really engage in the whole Israel debate, he is simply suffering the obvious consequences of his actions.

The total lack of judgement and faux naivity on his behalf is hard to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Why would a LoI team not take him? He’s proven himself with that Israeli side.

The FAI don’t seem to do too much for the LoI so why should they care that an ex-player got a few hundred thousand off them for doing nothing? It’s not like they’d have put it into the league or Irish domestic soccer, might have gotten a few blazers a nice bonus or some trips away for the board.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

There were no reprecussions at the time.He took the job long before the war started and he left at the end of the season, you could argue he kept going during the season because he'd committed to the job and didn't want to let the players down.

I'm no fan of Israel (what they are doing at the moment is disgraceful) but it's just another scummy country amongst many in the world.Truth is if he took a job in the Saudi League nobody would have had anywhere near as big a problem with him taking it despite the Saudi's being scum aswell.

The Palestinian cause is just a favoured cause of lefties in Ireland so any betrayal to them is seen as a much bigger deal than a betrayal to any other group of people.For example some of our political candidates seem to care more about Palestine than they do about this country.

BTW I'd argue a much bigger indictment against Keane from an Irish football point of view was him insisting on getting the money from the FAI when they were in financial dire straits he should have had a bit of cop on and worked a deal where they could pay him in installments over a period of time rather than insist on get his ridiculously overpaid salary.It was just pure greed from him at that stage simple as that, it's not like taking money from a club you're supposed to actually care about football in your country not want to leech off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

Presenting lineup on this mornings show was pretty poor. Arthur is a pain in the hole and has been a poor addition to the AM show. Shane and Colm dont work together, they are like teenagers in the back of the class writing down their all time XIs, Colm also obsessed with great goals on youtube that nobody can see. Needs a shake up.

That being said guests Mickey Mansell and the two lads previewing the Taylor fight were very good.

The watering down of the presenters quality is really starting to show. There's only so much of a Joe Molloy being replaced by the next chatty lad in the office a show can take.

Eoin moving to the evening is all fine and good but it's very much robbing Peter to pay Paul stuff.

Post edited by sub3wannabe on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

as I said earlier in the thread it’s not just the presenters but also the guests especially the football ones. Hope we get a break now from the LOI centered guests during the off season.

You won't. They're cheap.

There's lads like Johnny Ward and Brian Gartland on here at the moment waffling on about nothing. They desperately need to invest in some actual sporting content. If they can't fill it with a prem commentary they're lost. This is pure pub talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭deisedude

Regardless Of how sh1t you feel it gets you will still keep listening. It's really strange behaviour

I would not consider myself a leftie by any stretch of the imagination and I am absolutely disgusted by what I am seeing on a daily basis in Palestine and to me "its just one of many scummy countries" doesn't cut it. We can't fix the world but what we can at least do is show some solidarity where appalling human rights abuses are happening and right before our eyes - Robbie staying in that job showed him up for what he is.

The last paragraph, I agree with every word. The FAI had not a pot to p1ss in and were laying staff off and giving people huge pay cuts, Robbie just took his salary and shrugged his shoulders. How you could do that as a multi-millionaire and not think "somebody inside these 4 walls might not be able to feed their family tonight" is just beyond me. As you say, work it out over a longer period, or whatever. But at very least, show some level of altruism towards people who might need the money worse than you do.

I am very slow to say this about anybody but he deserves all the abuse he gets.

Apparently they think Second Captains is a vastly superior product.

Want to guess how many posts they have in the Second Captains thread (I only went back 6 months to be fair)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

Lol. If I said he should go and spend his time posting in that thread, and he was already doing it, you'd be telling me to check my facts first....

When someone spends so much time telling us all just how bad OTB is, you'd be curious to see do they talk about things they like. They don't.

I doubt anyone but the extreme obsessives are that curious about other users’ posting history.

I'd say the extreme obsessive is spending so much time listening to and posting about a show you claim to hate yiu do bith these things pretty much every day, but having nothing to say about a show you claim is supposedly much better.

You seem pretty annoyed I pointed this out.

I’m not annoyed in the least tbh. If anything your annoyance at having obsessive behaviour called out is on display for all now.

Also where did I claim one show is better? Feel free to have a trawl of my posting history if you want