Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

In France, maybe. No one calls Bayern Munich ‘München’ or Cologne ‘Köln’. It’s not a big deal, just sounds a bit off, is all.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

There is literally a video of Fernandes telling you how to pronounce his name and it's how Richie says it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

I remember one year during the world cup George Hamilton (or some other high profile commentator) started pronouncing Johan Mjallby's name correctly all of a sudden and it was just weird, it was hard to work out who he was talking about for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,179 ✭✭✭Acosta

It wasn't annoying me tbh. If anything it was amusing. Especially as the co commentator was pronouncing it the way English speakers usually do.

In general when English or Irish commentators are suddenly diving in and out of a Portugal or Spanish accent to pronounce someone's name, it does sound a bit off. But if it's the correct way of saying it then it's hard to argue with it.

A Spanish guy was telling me recently that it drives him nuts watching Wimbledon on the bbc, because of how they now pronounce the names of the Spanish players, or players with Spanish names. He was saying that there's often no need for the commentators to be doing it, as how they were originally saying the name was correct. And they're just saying it how some people in certain places in Spain would pronounce it, not how it would be pronounced widely by Spanish speakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭fire_man

Did I hear a years subscription down to €69 the moment.Still wouldn't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

as Ger would say “shure it’s only a tenner every other month”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

Great listening to ger and the lads discuss robbie keane this morning. Top class. Lovely guys. So kind, and professional.

Ger trying to stay on the fence, but also implying that robbie deserved the abuse on social media from Palestine supporters.

Ger spoke very slowly, with pauses between words at times. He didn't wanna say robbie is a disgrace and shouldnt be working in Israel, but it was implicit in everything he said about the issue.

"He did make his decision to go there, I'm sure there are other places he could have taken a job" what's wrong with taking a job in Israel ger, spit it out.

Robbie came "from tallaght to superstardom", as if anyone from tallaght can do anything with themselves, gets jobs or become an international footballer. People from tallaght are definitely not as articulated as you Ger.

"The decision to go to Israel will haunt his legacy"... "I think it's complicated"... "At his first press conference, he gave wishy washy answers, I'm a football manager, I'm not here to talk about politics, I'm not going to talk about politics again" Then without a pause, ger comes out with a beaut "That's not how life works". How does it work ger? How does life work? Explain to us simpletons how life works. Does every sports player and manager need to discuss politics?

Ger is such a pro. Wonderful section by him and his minions pi$$ing over robbie. Worth the premium fee for this. Sign up everybody. Please. We must learn from ger. He is better than all of us.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Have to say really enjoy Joe's pod, like that I can pick what and what not to listen too. Wonder will it stay free? Has to be hurting the OTB subs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

He should have came out and said exactly what Keane is, a massive c*nt

And why is that?

Is the radio presenter a massive ****? I think he is wonderful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

Keane shouldnt have taken a job in Israel. He should have resigned from his Ireland position when it was clear he was still being paid for doing nothing. Two reasons why he is a massive c**t

But what is wrong working in Israel? Please spit it out.

He was paid by the fai because they gave him a contract. Stupid decision by the fai. Why didn't they just pay him off and end the contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s it, P. They were contractually obliged to pay him. Same with Ryan Tubridy.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

But ryan said in the oireachtis committee he will return the payment if the work is not done. Work was not done,hasn't been returned.

And he also lied, by not correcting , rte stars reduction in wages, when that info is made public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,499 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The reason it's wrong to work in Israel now is self-evident. To give Robbie Keane an element of a fair shout here - when he took the job, Israel was an objectionable place but wasn't engaging in mass slaughter to the level they are now. But he stayed with them until the end of their season in May 2024. Which was an awful long time after the attrocities that the Israeli state had been committing were well known. He's not a poor man, he didn't need the job to maintain a visa status or a monetary income or anything like that, he should have walked.

Regarding the FAI, yes he had a contract. But again, he didn't need the money and if he had any sort of awareness he should have known that the FAI are in severe financial trouble (as well as the obvious mismanagement issues of the association). He wouldn't have noticed one way or the other the money, so why not - in good faith - stop accepting the payments?

Thanks for explaining the Israel issue to me. I wonder why ger couldn't say that this morning. Dancing around the topic it seemed.

I actually disagree about the fai issue. If I remember correctly, he got the assistantmanager job under Mccarthy, then he wasn't wanted by kenny after they got rid of mick during covid. He had a contract, ridiculously high money, crazy decision to give him that amount of money for that length when Mccarthy wasn't the long term plan.

Why wasn't he paid off, to terminate the contract. When any other coach or manager was sacked, they got a pay off from the fai. Maybe the fai just kept him on the payroll, so he'd resign when the public/fans know he's getting money whilst not working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

I have heard it from someone well involved with Dundalk, Robbie Keane applied for the job a few weeks back and was rejected straight away

He will never get a LOI job as no fans of any of the teams would accept it

May get a job abroad but he won't work in Ireland again as a manger

I suspect he wouldn't accept a pay off. His contract was probably watertight which meant the FAI could either pay it all in one go or have it paid over a period of time, so they went with that. If he had been open to accepting a pay off of a portion of what was owed to him I'm sure the FAI would have paid him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Claudine Keane has gone on a serious rant on X a section of which calls out a certain "sports radio station" I'm presuming she's referring to OTB.

As others have touched upon. He took a job at a time when Israel was building diplomatic relations World wide. Assessed the chaotic situation post October 7th and then resigned when Israels response was deemed by most considerably disproportionate.

Get off your high horse Ger for once in your life.

He resigned 7 months after the October 7th attack. He waited until end of season after he won the league to resign. He didn't take a principled stand.

I would say it was a considered exit. He could have easily stayed.

The abuse he's getting is frankly ridiculous but then don't expect any objectivity in Irish discourse on the significantly complex and nuanced conflict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭fire_man

Keane should be a hero in country for his playing days and leading top scorer by a mile.Niall Quinn with half his goal tally is far popular.Some of the reasons are taking a salary when FAI were struggling with their Finances,not a good look and taking job and staying with Israeli club was a crazy move.

Just out of interest. If you or a family member worked in the UK during the Iraq war would you expect them to resign on principle? A war that Blair literally went to on premeditated lies.

Where do you draw the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I enjoyed the Robbie discussion. It was thought provoking.

In fact the reason I listen to OTB isn’t to just hear the news, it’s to get discussions and opinions around the why and how of the news.
    Ger has an opinion on most things, some I agree with somebody disagree with. But that’s kind of the attraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,593 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think people are being very unfair on Robbie Keane, when he was playing banging in goals you still had people whining. And yet he ended up with one of best records internationally worldwide.

I must say I commend Robbie Keane he always turned up for Ireland never whined, unlike like the whiners who were always out get him.

If you look at his career choices he never took the obvious move he could have went to Liverpool as a youngster but chose, Wolves as they offered a better chance of early first team football. He has not been afraid to go further afield than England. Going to America as a player even willing to go on loan to Celtic and Italy before that as a young lad for the experience of it. He also coached in India and lastly Israel.

I think it comes down to begrudgery it is a uniquely Irish phenomenon -

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/irish-roots-home-of-begrudgery-1.2474870

One thing to can not accuse Robbie Keane of is sincerity and hard work, he never bitched as a player and just got one with it taking the kicks. Dropping back into midfield time and again to help his team mates. The fella always had drive and work ethic.

Personally if I was Robbie Keane I would not pay heed to the latest begrudgers. "The Oirish" Keffiyeh wearing, cafe latte hipster brigade, like Gilroy et al.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,200 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

There's no doubt but that Ireland does begrudgery well, this thread itself is evidence of that.

But Keane's decision to continue to work in Israel is a decision he made knowing full well what the Israeli Army was doing.

This is not an 'All Things Being Equal' type of scenario. He made his decision, which he was entitled to do, but people are entitled to judge him for it.

There's a very significant elephant in the room here, the blanket of begrudgery can't even come close to covering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,593 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The problem is other people, not Robbie Keane in this scenario Robbie Keane is a football man in the truest sense of the word. That is his focus, not geopolitics. I wouldn't expect Keane to know that this war was sparked by two terrorist groups backed by rogue states, as they did not like how Saudi Arabia and Israel were starting to get friendly, for instance.

Maybe if people focused on sport, for the love of it like Robbie Keane the world would be a better place and there would be less war/violence etc?

@fire_man

On the poster who said that Quinn is more popular than Robbie Keane in Ireland. I think that narrative is only true if the person's focus was not on the actual footbal field.

Quinn was arguably better off the field than on it, and was great at diplomacy and giving the politicians answer. There is also the fact that Quinn looks awkward and bit of an eejit, and Ireland loves an awkward eejit Where as Robbie Keane was the best and confident with it. That is not in many of the Irish psyche.

Anyway I am glad I don't listen to that clown Gilroy et al, sounds like they have become even more of parody of themselves than usual. The updates on this thread are good to be aware of.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,200 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Maybe if people focused on sport, for the love of it like Robbie Keane the world would be a better place and there would be less war/violence etc?

Christ. IF someone on the show said this, this thread would explode with the outrage at the virtue signaling.

And that aside, irrespective of your version of the conflict, or the real one, the end result is the same that Israel is actively trying to wipe out a people and it takes a pretty fixed mindset to want to stay in the country as an outsider working for them.

There's a class element to all this too undoubtedly. Robbie being a working class lad from Tallaght makes him a very easy target for the pearl clutching cosmopolitan elites like Gilroy.

Would he have given the same energy to Ireland rugby touring apartheid South Africa back in the day for example. No chance.