Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,642 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Osborne can also play 13, with Frawley at 12. They've gone well there for leinster previously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭FtD v2

There used to be a clip I can no longer find from the U20s summer series in 2022 against Scotland where he makes a break from his own 22 and runs 80m down the field to the opposition 5m line. He’s plenty quick, just looks a bit ungainly because he’s 6ft 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

Of the penalties Ireland gave away.

4 were for offside. 2 for Doris, 1 for Henshaw and a blatant offside by McCarthy. Thought 1 of the offsides was marginal. But no need for any of the offsides. Poor disclipine.

1 scrum penalty. No issue with this. Could have been a second penaltyagainst us.

2 for Holding on. Both on Osborne, not his fault. I thought we might get away with the first one as hands were on the ball for only a fraction of a second before McCarthy clearout.

1 for crossing, correct decision.

Croc roll.

Hit in air by Crowley. Poor penalty to give away

Thrown across line, Beirne.

James Ryan rips the ball fractionally before ref calls tackle. Ref says he called tackle before rip. Replay shows ref incorrect.

Push in back by Lowe. Argentinian player should have been penalised for protecting catcher.

Generally Argentinian disclipine much better than Ireland. Should have been penalised for offside jumping across a ruck to tackle Casey. Also a couple of times for obstructing the path in front of catcher

They lived offside as well at times when we attacked in their half. Defies logic for me how we had 4 offsides but they didn’t have one.

The call on James Ryan for the rip was totally wrong too- replay was clear that the knee wasn’t down and the ref hadn’t called tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Are you sure it wasn't this one by Crowley, where he finishes for a try? 2 min 38s in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,562 ✭✭✭✭phog

The three most stupidest penalties were McCarthy's offside, Bealham's croc roll and Crowley hitting your man in the air.

The two against Osbourne were frustrating because he had done excellently only for us not to protect the ball.

I thought the Argie player had both knees on the ground for Ryan's rip, no idea about when the ref called tackle but on the replay it looked s penalty

Pretty sure yeah - they’re totally different people. I remember the Crowley try well as well, was also an incredible run.

But the Prendergast one is one I clearly remember:

https://x.com/Murray_Kinsella/status/1546801916096782336?lang=en

Edit: Twitter don’t allow the embedded link, but @realhorrorshow has posted it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Y'know, I'm aware they're different people. I just thought you might be mixing the break up given the similarities… U20's, Scotland, 80m etc…

Edit: If you change the x to twitter in the link, it will embed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,562 ✭✭✭✭phog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Crowley was pretty angry with himself for the contact in the air.

Ryan’s one was very harsh, at worst he was in the motion of stripping the ball when the ref called tackle. That was a real momentum shift I felt at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭conquestscarer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭threeball

At the end of the day, Ireland are making the same mistakes they make in every world cup cycle. They keep playing the first 15, game after game, regardless of inconsequential it is. Very few new players being integrated or blooded.

The international team creates the revenue so it's important for them to be successful and keep the crowds coming, money rolling in. But it's at the expense of development. You should be willing to take two poor years in order to have a squad with genuine depth in years 3 and 4. Winning November internationals and even a 6N is almost meaningless at this stage. The goal needs to be peaking for the next WC, not being world "No 1" for 3 years and falling at the QF again.

The seasoned players need rest and competition in order to keep them fresh as long as possible and put their position in jeopardy.

You don’t write off more than 75% of the international rugby calendar to peak for one tournament every four years; where factors outside of the your control (like the draw) can have such an outsized impact on your chances.

I also don’t understand the logic of this post, 1 day after we just gave debuts to two exciting new young players (with likely more to come next week).

None of the best and most successful teams in world rugby just make wholesale changes and discard a load of players in one felled swoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭threeball

There's only one currency that matters for Ireland at this stage. There was no debuts against NZ or even newer players given a chance. They'll chance a couple of lads against perceived weaker teams but come 6N it'll be back to first 15 again, even against Italy.

And building for the future isn't writing off 75% of the rugby calendar. It's investment in the future. It's why we've never progressed.

Depth wasn’t our issue at the last RWC - we largely had the team on the field we wanted to have.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,571 ✭✭✭fitz

No top tier team does this against good sides. Everyone caps new players against weaker sides. If you think the Pumas are a weak side, you haven't been paying attention. Development isn't our problem, Farrell has brought on plenty of new young players. We're in transition, but we have some long running problems that the coaches need to sort out...main ones being the lineout and discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭50HX

🥱

This narrative is getting really tiresome.

The 2020 6N squad had 5 uncapped players in it....3 of those played in the last 8 days just gone, one of them is the captain.

Baird was brought in as a development player

Nobody saw Osbourne @15 for the SA tour.

2 new caps last night.

When back-back 6N or grand slams are being won there isnt a peep re building for a WC.

Dip in form/loss then it's a completely different story.

It isn't feasible financially or from a player pool perspective to jettison a whole cohort of players & focus on a WC cycle only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Thought we were up n down. Good 1st half. Awful 2nd. Still sloppy and slightly off. I thought Henshaw or Ringer were motm. Big Joe was fairly average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭roshje

Can someone explain to me why POC is getting so much grief over the lineout? If you give the players the plan and they don't execute it surely it's on the players. POC is not throwing in the ball, POC is not jumping for the ball. I am just bemused over all the POC stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It's the nature of the game - it's not like we have better lineout forwards waiting in the wings or a better hooker to come in. It is the coach's job to get these things working with the players they have available and the lineout has been poor on and off for a couple years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭roshje

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭clsmooth

We look slow to get set for the lineout which gives the defending team an opportunity to line us up. I’d be telling them to speed it up which might also take the pressure off the thrower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭hawley

Farrell is very close to Sexton. Wonder if Sexton is telling him that it will benefit Crowley in the long run.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Two poor years will have a massive effect on irish rugby from top to bottom

The so called "real fans" who demand tickets for NZ games etc will suddenly disappear when ireland are not winning

I can remember jumping on a train into Dublin on a 6 nations weekend, after Aviva opened and picking up a ticket for a Itlay match at the door as it wasn't sold out, my poor memory it would of been Joe coaching at that time.

The goal of the IRFU is to keep the sport alive in Ireland and grow the sport. The 6 nations if the reason we can do that

If the SH teams had a competition like the 6 nations they wouldn't be as concerned about the WC as they are, at the moment they dont really care about the Rugby Championship and they have nothing between World Cup unless they have a Lions tour.

The job of the Irish coach, "win today, win tomorrow"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Or, just maybe, the plan is the problem…which is why POC is getting grief?

Less of the "Ah sure" attitude and more answers please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭DBK1

The lineout was a shambles

Paulie came in and from memory we had the best lineout in the World

Since the warm up to the World Cup it has gone downwards, as I posted before I felt it was better against Argentina but questions have to be asked, the hookers have changed, the jumpers have changed, we have tried new callers etc and still issues.

So yes questions will be asked of POC. Also a brief look or something during the WC game v SA from Farrell to Paulie was blown up as Farrell was pissed, no idea if he was or wasnt but people went from that as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭clsmooth

We’ve won 5 out of the last 11 6N tournaments. That’s some going.

We have tried that before didn't we last year?

That was mentioned on one of the podcast this week so I guess that is why you think that