Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harris Vs Trump 2024 US Presidential election - read the warning in the OP posted 18/09/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,493 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Just like this scutter can be fact checked in seconds, but again people have no interest in reality anymore.

Alternative Facts is now a legitimate currency.

Strange times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Its not scutter, its true.

Just because you dont like something doesn't mean you can dismiss it as scutter or alternative facts.

Its TRUE, it is FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,743 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

OK.

Well, you said

But still it’s hard to have any sympathy for democrats who stayed home or voted against Kamala “because Gaza”

Can you post the relevant part of that NYT article that blames lack of turnout because of Gaza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

The infuriating thing is that the Democrats have a simple blueprint to garner widespread support. It's listen to the voters and back policies that have widespread support. Universal healthcare, affordable education, worker's rights. Basically, harken back to the legacy of the most successful president and echo the ideals espoused by FDR. It's what Biden did, and people lapped it up. Foundationally, the Democrats need to get control back in Congress. They have allowed the Republicans to eat their lunch at the State level, and that's led to them being locked out at the Federal level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭j62

I posted two articles today

1. NYT highlighting that what I said yesterday about millions of democrats not bothering to vote being correct
    2. AP showing that one of the largest Muslim American constituencies swinging wildly to Trump when they were on the other side twice before

It’s quite clear that those moaning about Biden and Gaza contributed towards the loss either by staying at home or voting Trump or third party, neither do I have any sympathy for those complaining about price of eggs and then saying they vote for Trump “cause economy”, just like the Gaza lot they are in for a surprise

It's been fact checked, it's absolute bollíx.

Tip for you in the future if Musk is tweeting Newsmax, it's probably lies.

Trump won two of the 15 states that require no ID whatsoever—Nevada and Pennsylvania—and won seven of the 11 states that accept non-photo IDs, including Arizona, Iowa, and West Virginia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Trump and Musk 2025. Unexpected US president win, Herbert Hoover Wall St Crash 1929, just saying it that's all.

Dan.

The image I posted is correct. It shows the States Harris won, there is no mention of Trump or the states Trump.

Who is the one telling lies ?

Post edited by Zardoz on

Newsmax and Musk.

But listen if you want to believe Harris didn't win those states, I ain't changing your mind, I don't have the skill set.

Even when the MAGA heads win, the election is still rigged.

It must be exhausting to continuously run at 100% Conspiracy all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭nachouser

Musk in charge of the Dept of Govt Efficiency (Doge, gettit bro? Lolz) will be hilariously bad for Americans on both sides. It's kinda funny that the richest South African person on the planet will now have a say in America as to how to fix America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Himself an illegal immigrant. That alone might have been one of his main motivations for toadying up to Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

What has happened is unprecedented and Judge Merchan knows the Supreme Court Trump lads are waiting on the sidelines to chop him down, he has done well to get this far, one final push and sentence him, roll the dice, otherwise all other cases are blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

except that it’s not true and it’s not a fact. Which 5 seconds of googling would have alluded:

https://www.snopes.com/news/2024/11/06/harris-2024-voter-id/

Harris won in states requiring photo ID and Trump won in states not requiring photo ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

if he lied to get citizenship he can be denaturalized. So cozying up to Stephen Miller and co. Kind of makes sense, though it makes a mockery of their announcement of a Department of Denaturalization

Except thats a completely different post you have linked, thats not the one I posted.

The graphic I posted is true and it is factual, it clearly says Harris won some States that did require ID.

Why are people saying it is false, nonfactual, bollix, lies and scutter when it is correct.

Thats misinformation.

Alternative Facts is now a legitimate currency.

Strange times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Doesn't matter how much you spend its how you do it and the Democrats were not good in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭thegame983

I love how people who a week ago were certain that Harris was going to win now feel they they are an authority on why she didn't.

No one cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭sock.rocker*

Speaking of messaging, I thought this was pretty interesting how she targetted Jews and Arabs over the conflict.

https://edition.cnn.com/2024/11/01/politics/video/kfile-different-messages-harris-campaign-israel-gaza-ebof-digvid

She ran different ads so in Pennsylvania, it was "stand up for Israel’s right to defend itself." whereas in Michigan, it was "she will not be silent about the human suffering occurring in Gaza".

Republicans also ran ads in each area claiming she had the opposite views, which is pretty fair when you think about it.

https://thehill.com/business/4941848-super-pac-hits-harris-with-contradictory-ads-on-israel/

This has probably been the practice for so long across the US. It seems so obvious to just lie and target everyone locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭sock.rocker*

image.png

White men, whose anger was on full display at Madison Square Garden as they spewed racist, misogynistic venom. White men who attacked poll workers and also voters of Kamala Harris. White men who chafed at the thought that their wives and girlfriends would not vote for the man who thought it was “a beautiful thing” that reproductive rights had been destroyed. And, as the New York Times reported, the downwardly mobile, frustrated “white men without a degree, [who] have been surpassed in income by college-educated women”.

The US still 61% white, so there are roughly 100 million "white men". Call me crazy but isn't banding 100 million people together like this what drives them away? Are lessons never to be learned?

Whats that famous quote again

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

So Trump picks a Fox News host Pete Hegseth as his defense secretary

That is pretty fucked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

it will be an insane two years and then the mid terms…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,743 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's not much better than Liverpool picking me to be coach cos I was good at Football Manager 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,045 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

If you were on this thread up to a week ago, you'll know that no one who is in any way knowledgeable about US politics or interested in discussing the topic expressed certainty that Harris was going to win and expressed anything to that effect.

Those who did, were just seagulls who flew in, made a bit of noise and took off again.

Many of us expressed certainty that she should. I was one of those and stand by that view if you want to discuss it. I'm not sure you do, can't say I recognize you as someone who posts here frequently. Maybe you've just started now that Trump won and feel you can be wise after the event. We have those here as well.

Someone asked what people who wanted Harris to win would do if Trump won and I said, 'The same thing we have been doing, paying attention, discussing Trumps administration and everything around it'. And that's what we have been doing for the last week. There's a hell of a lot of people who fall in to this category posting here since last Tuesday, as you noticed and were upset by, than there were Trump supporters in the weeks after he lost in 2020.

So, even though you made sure to tell us you don't care, what do you want people to post on here? All hail the King? 3 cheers for mighty Donny? There seems to be distinct sense amongst Trump (notsupportersbutgladhewon) people of dismay that people who don't like him are still having discussions and didn't just cry and run off. Sorry to disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,653 ✭✭✭Rawr

I get the impression that Trump supporters may fall into the same bracket as Brexit supporters who also won in an election but somehow remained annoyed.

As it turns out, winning at the ballot doesn’t magically make a bad position correct or defensible. Winning the Brexit vote didn’t make Brexit any less blockheaded or destructive. The same applies to Donnie now.

The only thing that is true is that he won the election. He is still an abysmal excuse for a human being and wholly unsuitable for the role that he’s going to play-act in for the next 4 years. The “I don’t like Trump but” centrists here will have to continue to live with the fact that most of the world will still see Donnie & MAGA as nothing more than reactionary & based on the emotional whims of one very old child.

The fact that him winning the election doesn’t make this worldview “correct” is no doubt the source of this annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,628 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Trump won two of the 15 states that require no ID whatsoever

That's not making the point you think it's making...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,045 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Micheal Martin hasn't been "a teacher" in nearly 40 years, has 35 yrs of parliament experience including holiding offices all the way up to Taoiseach and isn't overseeing an annual budget of nearly 1T dollars or the world's largest military ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

You might want to look at the career path of our Taoiseach, various ministers, Hamza Yousaf.

Zelensky played his roll on TV immediately before running for election in 2019.