Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Absolutely, but I'd be fairly confident in the assertion that Daddy led the charge here.

You don't become President of the IFA or an MEP by being the quiet, shy, retiring type !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭pipelaser

If the discussions about the cover up family above are the way to go, then its fairy easy to find the person in question through reading his fathers death notice and who the mourners were. The "suspects" wife's name is fairly distinctive(and turns out to be double barrelled). His residence is searchable on Google Maps through his name, and the search or dig site is near that house. They seems to have a family or 3 or 4 teenage kids.

Interestingly, the search site, if viewed on google street view has had barbed wired placed around it some time between 2019 and September 2024. It seems to have signs that say "Lands Preserved, No trespassing" for more than 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

30ish years ago 6 women went missing for no trace to be found of them. Jo-jo Dollard, Clara Breen, Deidre Jacobs, Fiona Sinnott, Annie McCarrick and Fiona Pender.

Fiona Sinnott, Gardai and Family have a subject linked to her but no proof

Fiona Pender Gardai and Family have a suspect linked to her but no proof

Ciara Breen, Gardai and family have a suspect linked to her but no proof

Deidre Jacobs Gardai have a suspect no link to her but no proof

Annie McCarrick orginal suspect is no longer on the radar, Garda it seems may have been wrong footed by sighting at Johnny Fox's put. Now it suspected she may have been murdered and disposed of near where she lived

Jo-Jo Dollard gardai and family have a suspect who is linked but not known to her at the time. He may or may not be the individual. Jo-Jo never mentioned that it was a car that previously gave her a spin that was collecting her again to her friend Mary Phelan. That is strange but she would have been rushing back to the car.

Very hard to get proof when there is no body. Not sure if there is any cover up Gardai probably threaded lightly should they have upgraded it to a murder investigation nearly 30 years ago, it was a different time.

In all these cases it only over the years that gardai have managed to put more and more fragments together. Then putting together a cold case review squad has further helped these cases.

Even where there is a body it can take decades to get a result. It took 23 year to get John Crearer,for the murder Phyllis Murphy. The killer of Sophia DuPlantier has never been found even though the gardai have there suspicions.

In some of these cases the Gardai made mistakes, in others they went down the wrong track, in some they just did not have the evidence and in some they may have thread wearerly

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Dont know if I would use the word odd.

But, it was completely normal at the time. I'd be of similar age, and grew up in the countryside, and would have hitchhiked every day of the week. Would I have hitchhiked late at night? probably not, but then I had parents I could call to pick me up in an emergency. This poor girl, both her parents were dead by the time she was 10 years old.

People give out about public transport now, but back then it was so much worse. She missed the last bus which was at 10pm.

Her alternative was to sit on the side of the road for the entire night in Naas or else in Dublin, in November…is that any safer than hitchiking?

So she ends up hitchhiking, as I would have done myself many times. Callan is an hours drive away. But the problem with hitchhiking is (i) maybe no one will stop. I once stood on the side of the road for 8 hours, nobody stopped. (ii) if someone stops - and they are not going where you are going, like they are going some of the way, do you go with them, do you wait….so you end up further out in the middle of nowhere, which is what happened.

Reading the details of the case, it is so so sad. Poor woman and what her sisters and brothers have gone through, it is so sad but fair play to them for standing by her and doing right by her memory through the years.

Post edited by Tombo2001 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A lot of incorrect information in that post.

She didn't start hitchhiking at 7.30 or 8 in Newbridgh, she got the bus to Naas at 10pm from Dublin and started from there.

She had missed the last bus to Kilkenny, I'm not sure what time that was but there was no indication it was at 6pm.

Hitchhiking at that late hour was not unusual, it wasn't exactly common or the norm, but for people who miss a bus or other means of transport it was a option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

I would say it was not the norm, I remember being told in the early nineties that thumbing wasn't a particularly ideal decision, was more a common practice in earlier decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

The taoisech of the time also died this year, with a number of those aware ( at the very least) of any cover up now gone , it's perhaps now safe to let justice take it's course ?

The father of the suspect wasn't just an MEP, he was president of the Irish farmers association prior to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Lands preserved, no trespassing signs are very common in rural Ireland, particularly where you have a local gun club who have permission to shoot over land and want to keep non members off the land

My bad- I thought I had read she missed the last bus at 6pm; but you are right she started hitching at 10.50pm from Naas. Will amend the earlier post & fair play.

I would still maintain though:

(i) hitchhiking was very normal at the time for people who lived rurally

(ii) while hitchhiking late at night would not have been normal, nonetheless this was someone who had no parents she could call to come collect her. She basically had nobody she could call to come collect her.

(iii) her alternative at the time would have been to sleep on the side of the road in Naas or Dublin.

Long story short, she was vulnerable. Its easy to say it wasnt advisable, but what alternative did she have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭I told ya

If it is the case that the higher ranks in AnGS didn't do their job, then what else has been and continues to be covered up?

Listening to the Nicola Tallant Crime World podcast this morning. She said that the Cold Case team made 800 recommendations following their review. She did not go into any detail but, on the face of it, this appears to be a very large number.

Regarding the refusal to allow the property to be searched, that's the property owner's right. So, you would have to wonder if any application to the Courts was made for a warrant. I understand you have to present evidence to the Court that passes a certain threshold in order to get the warrant.

This may come out in due course.

Hitchhiking was completely normal in the early to mid 90s, especially in rural areas.

The things that finished off hitchhiking were (i) mobile phones (ii) roll out of motorway network (cars not passing through towns to get places) and (iii) economic boom meaning every family almost have two cars. All those things are from late 1990s on.

If that girl was alive today, with the same upbringing and background, she would own a car and have a phone.

Also, as mentioned, she had no parents she could call.

Not normal late at night, but her only option to get home. Literally her only option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I suppose a lot of things that were done almost 3 decades ago seem odd relative to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Even though JoJo was reported missing fairly fast, the gardai woukd not have launched a full scale investigation straight away, they be unlikely to do it now either unless they had significant information of something amiss a significant number of missing persons turn up safe and sound within a short time.

The case rose in prominence over the years. I doubt anything significant went accross a minister desk about it for a year or two. Remember FG were only in power for about 2 and a half years during that period. From Dec 94-May97. JoJo went missing November 95. Evenninnthr normal course of events it unlikely the case would have being escalated to a murder inquiry during that timeframe

Slava Ukrainii

I understand from the news reports that the detention period was extended to 24 hours.

Can AnGS apply to the Courts for an extension?

How does rest periods, meals, Solicitor time etc. work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭tinpib

This Reddit post has more info, but don't know how true it is. According to it, you were right, her last bus from Dublin which would have dropped her home was at 6pm. She had planned to stay in Dublin but those plans fell through.

So her choice was try and figure out somewhere to stay in Dublin or get the last bus towards home, which was the 10pm bus to Naas from Busaras, and then try and get home from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Packrat

Ah here Bass, that's stretching to excuse..

Girl goes missing hitching. No previous form of going missing.

That's not a case that you'd go "ah shur she'll turn up" Then or now. It was immediately obvious that she had been taken.

Besides if senior gardai told tie family a year later exactly who had done it and where/how she was buried, but couldn't do anything because of who - They all knew.

The Taoiseach at the time was another big Kildare farmer of the same class as the suspects father. They knew each other well. Nora in justice.

They bloody knew.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

Reading this case…. its only last week we had a major abuse case in the court regarding events in Castlecomer, just a few miles down the road, where the abuse had been reported to Guards in 2000 but the case didnt progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I think they have to charge him or let him go? They would have to build more evidence against him in order to re-arrest him. Could they take his passport from him to prevent him from absconding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

No, they can't just take his passport.

If he left the jurisdiction and they wanted him back an arrest warrant would be issued internationally or something.

It's turning into a bit of a witch hunt here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,805 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Explained here on citizensInformation.ie

Detention after arrest

Seems the senior Gardai can extend for 18 hours (already done in this case) and any further extensions require senior Gardai to apply to the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

So having a say on the date slurry could be spread is a higherpower than him being a close colleague of the Taoiseach and Justice Minister and Garda Commissioner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Is that u shaped scar on the suspects cheek (as some have speculated), actually daming evidence of the attack against Jo jo from that night she disappeared?

Screenshot_20241112_090109_Chrome.jpg

Its clearly visible on his profile pic on his FB page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭spakman

WhaWhat evidence of that do you have?

You really think the Taoiseach, the minister for justice and the gardaí were involved in a murder cover up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Packrat

Ah stop with the minimizing and deflecting. That "other" organisation have no role in administering justice.

Gov appointed senior police and courts do that.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

I understand the bit about charge or release. It's just can the period be extended by the Courts?

As I understand it, the issue of the Passport arises at a bail hearing. On a murder charge Bail is not within the remit of the District Court, must apply to the HC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭easy peasy

I think there’s a lot of stretching going on, on this page, because people love the idea of a cover up that goes right to the top.

The reality will probably prove to be quite different.

This case will probably prove to be just like a number of Irish cases, one that comes to mind is Raonaid Murray. The Gardai have their suspicions, are probably certain, but you can’t do much about suspicions without someone talking, new serious evidence or a body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭easy peasy

Ah here, some people need to put away the laptop for a day or two.

Man who works on a farm for probably 45 of his 55 years has a scar on his cheek….

Do you think when he spoke to the Gardai in the few days after the disappearance they would not have noted this scar and probably mentioned it to the press?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭tommythecat

Well it would have been a large cut at that stage also!! So a big bandage on his face!

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,342 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The notion of some kind of cover up involving the top echelons of government and the Gardai is fanciful. Alan Gillis was hardly a leading figure in FG. The only cover up may be within the Gillis family itself. Somebody, aside from the culprit, may know the truth and has not spoken.

The initial investigation must have been far from rigorous if it simply boils down to somebody missing vital clues or details gathered from statements made at the time.