Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

The family were saying this years ago…where this leads now is going to be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭kyote00

hardly a great cover up when it was in the press since 2017 ?
    More likely that they (Garda) didn’t have sufficient evidence

Must either be a confession or finding remains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,273 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

For sure, but much riskier at night time one would think, especially late at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

It's far from a given that every justice ministers would have known the circumstances of any cover up.

Remember this was just a missing person case up to a few years ago.

Any cover up may not have been wider than the local area.

And remember the family that are rumoured to be involved were as involved in another aspect of Irish rural life as they were with a political party.

And that organization weilds a lot of power.

I argue that the family involved would get more leverage by using that organization than using the political party the father was involved with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

If it was a cover-up while the MEP was alive? why wasn't it brought to a head 2 years ago after the MEP died?

Could it be that someone in FF knew about it and is using it now to disgrace FG a couple of days after the election was triggered?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭spillit67

Some people on here really need to get off the internet sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I wouldn't agree with that. FG have sat on this for 25 or so years and never did anything and yet were branding themselves the party of law and order. They did nothing and should be lambasted for it. It doesn't matter if harris was still in knickers at the time, he is leader of the party now and needs to answer why they did nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Is this based on anything? A son of a politician maybe being a murderer doesn't automatically mean FG did anything wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

If the poor girl's body is found and it is wrapped in plastic 10 feet down…

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Do you actually have insight or is this a guess or wishful thinking? It doesn't necessarily need to be a cover up for there not to be enough evidence back then. See all the other missing women around then that nobody was ever convicted for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

I'm not sure if this is the right time nor place, but I would like to extent my belated condolences to Fine Gael's former MEP and former Irish Farmer's Association president Alan Gillis, who passed away in 2022 at the age of 85.

https://www.meathchronicle.ie/2022/05/07/tributes-to-former-farm-leader-and-mep-alan-gillis/

President of the Irish Farmers Association (IFA), Tim Cullinan has paid tribute to past IFA president, Alan Gillis, who died yesterday, describing him as a passionate and progressive voice for Irish farming.

Alan Leslie Gillis of Ballyhook House, Grangecon, Co Wicklow died peacefully at Craddock House Nursing Home, Naas.

Predeceased by his wife Irene and son Stephen, he is survived by his family, Nigel, Hazel, Barry and Anna, sons-in-law Leonard and Stuart, daughters-in-law Catherine and Wendy, grandchildren, great-grandchild, niece, nephews, extended family, relatives and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

That's because of murders like Jo Jo and others ...

Indeed...no wonder the far fight have no problem spreading mis-information. So much speculation here of cover up at the highest echelons without a shread of substance to that effect. Maybe it's so, but first, they have to charge. If there is, perhaps AGS should look at how it handled the investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Same ole bull **** and for good measure bring the far right into the conversation to boot

One of the most important statements gathered from the public in this case overlooked .The night in question in the early hours,a naked woman was reported to AGS in a distressed state running for her life in the village where JoJo Dollard made her final phone call and yet this verified info was not acted on by AGS is surely a red flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Packrat

Before this thread is locked:

At that time

John Bruton (coincidentally recently deceased) FG was Taoiseach.

Nora Owen FG was Minister for Justice.

Patrick Culligan was Garda Commissioner.

Someone posted above that "if" someone in FF knew they might have leaked it to cause damage before the election.

Given the previously published news articles - particularly the dublinlive one from 2017 I'd guess that pretty much everyone of any serious position in that time in both big parties knew.

The condolences on RIP for the dad (yes i read all 6 pages last night) are as interesting for who is missing as for who commented and how generic their comments were. "Wicklow FG" ffs... like they wouldn't be jumping to put their names to it... the bare minimum comments from any of the big wigs and high rollers of FG, IFA etc who even did comment.

Incidentally the two big current FGers who lamented publicly -Varadker and Sean Kelly would both be tone deaf enough to open their mouths without thinking of the consequences.

This is MASSIVE, but everyone is going to be retired, won't recall being briefed, never had any phone conversation atall atall about it, - plausible deniability all round. Too bad. "Shur they got the man in the end - what about it"

As bad as things were/are, and many of us who know people in power positions already knew of many injustices and cover-ups, I never thought our political reps and gardai were this bad..

Poor Jojo, - a young woman growing up without her Dad or Mom would have been a person of little consequence or value in the eyes of some of these basterds.

"Shur it's terrible, I know, but they're a fierce respectable family and poor oul **** doesn't deserve the family being dragged through the mud over it"

"Shur what was she doing out thumbing at that hour anyway"

This is on a par with the Sicilian mafia and their control of politics..

Post edited by Packrat on

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Or just pointing out how different things are now.

You are getting way ahead of yourself there.

Let's see what pans out.

It was quite pathetic that some individuals are using the horrific death of a young woman to attempt to score political points.
    The Gardaí also know who killed Deirdre Jacob. However, like this case, they don’t have the evidence to prove it. The murderer is one of the most notorious individuals in Irish society but they are unable to build a case against him.
    In this case, unless something is discovered in the search, or unless he finally cracks, it is probable that he will be released without charge.
    The same people who are claiming a conspiracy would have a very different attitude if we were locking people up without evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭Gusser09

The FG bots dont be long about coming out to defend the party. A young lady murdered and it has been hushed up until now apart from whispers and someone manages to bring the far right into the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Deregos.

The murderer is one of the most notorious individuals in Irish society but they are unable to build a case against him.

Your alluding to Larry Murphy again aren't you . . why not just say his name? It's already been mentioned about 1000 times on this thread.

Eh, ref to far right just a comparison to how some posters on here making all sorts of claims of cover ups to top of political and justice system. Then other posters just hop on that as if it's gospel. " I read it on ' de nternet' so it must be true".

I did actually refer to AGS handling with that very point you made in mind. It does not have to be repeated to make the inference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

It's also quite possible that he came forward himself. Perhaps it has been playing on his mind and the latest appeal at the weekend was the spark that made him crack. It appears on the surface that the father was the one behind the cover up and it's also quite possible that he was the domineering type who didn't want his own good name tarnished and his comfortable life upended. If that was the case it's possible that his son was afraid to go against him. Apparently he was the one who refused to allow them to search the land and then all talk of a search warrant disappeared. It wasn't the son that did that.

The only thing that goes against that theory is that there have been two extensions to his time in custody. Again though, that might be to allow them time to find the body and to cross the t's and dot the i's.

The other possibility is that a retired Garda may have come forward with what he knew went on at the time.

At this time everything is speculation but the next few hours should be interesting. Please God they find her and her family can eventually find peace. It's certainly looking like their allegations of a cover up were justified which will open a huge can of worms as they've been saying it for so long.

@Gusser09

Not a bot..or a FG party member. It's a cheap thing to say. I am just as horrified about what happened to Jo Jo as anyone here. A murder should not be politicised. If this suspect is charged, I will read the facts as they are reported and form my own opinions from them.

I too am thinking it may be a confession.

The time it is taking to charge maybe the Gardai making sure everything is in order and everyone is in agreement about what is going on and how to proceed.

Apparently the search area is very specific also, so that may be a result of the individual giving very specific details to the Gardai.

Then again that is nothing other than pure speculation on my part, it may be totally different in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭claregal1

I remember this case very well, I was 21 myself in 95/96 and whilst I didn't hitch I had loads of friends who would hitch to the town from surrounding villages on nights out etc. I hope Jo Jo will be found and her family can finally have some peace.

I presume they can't charge him unless there is either a confession or she is found ?

Like you say everything is speculation and everything in your post is speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000