Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

carry 150 cows on it nothing goes wrong every year you make 150k a year take out rent 85k. Pay yourself the average national wage of 45k a year and you’re down to 20k with tax and all to be accounted for, your well down below 20k probably closer to 10k profit without outside help how does that ever stack up for the privilege of owning 150 cows and plenty of hardship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Small issue of a active tb outbreak in the herd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

Now Now now Now you know that's not the way to be talking or thinking about things (not much thinking going on in a lot of spots 😉) ......... bigger better load on the cows more more more. Short winter you'll get enough silage out of your strong paddocks etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

Indeed way too many hero's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

You should still have 150k left after rent by my calculations

Put the land at 250€ /ac or even 200€ /ac

You’d get very little built now for 40k repayments/ year. Have none of ye built anything in the last 3-4 years. Someone will take that

160 cows doing 6k litres will bring in 500k there next year at the current milk price.

Nearly 1500 profit per cow before rent paid its a wonder there isn’t a flood of new entrants when that’s an attainable profit figure. Would you not be better off cutting out all the zero grazing and taking on 1 or 2 farms like the above if it’s that easy?

Im making a good living and half our land is rented. You’re working off farm aren’t you and you own most of your land? Square that one for me

Lots of good operators out there making 900 + per cow after rent. Go do sone research. This narrative that there’s no money in rented land is getting tiring tbh. Land is over priced atm definitely but that doesn’t mean there’s no money in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭straight

That's sounds cheap. 42500 after tax relief....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I can see the headline in the IFJ now:

READY-TO-GO OPPORTUNITY FOR AMBITIOUS DAIRY FARMER

This modern farm would be ideal for a young farmer starting their dairy career. Established farmers looking to expand via a second unit are also expected to bid strongly for the outstanding opportunity. Etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

rent is costing me 375 euro per cow- but then at a 40 cpl base price output per cow is over 5000 incl sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

What size loan woukd 85K service? Is the guy who bought it making a return on his investment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭straight

We only own about 60% of what we’re farming so know plenty about renting land and that’s after buying land in the last year that we’ll be paying back for several years to come. All rented land is conacre owners have no interest in leases, we’re very fragmented so no way of pushing on cow numbers to allow three incomes to be drawn from the farm. Working off farm is giving me a way better opportunity of taking advantage of any opportunities that may appear in the next 5 to 10 years as my parents step back rather than being at home full time now that’s for sure.

it’s one way of doing it for sure. If my father wasn’t the age he is I would have gone out on my own and leased a farm to milk on. I know a few ppl at it in various different scenarios and they’re all very happy

400€ per acre is too much for it, 300€ is more like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭148multi

There are sheep men giving €400, and would be doing fierce well to gross €1,000.

Your a bit of a scald really aren't you. Your full of ****. Ya tried to tell everyone you built a house mortgage free on one years milk profit .....then it turns out you did up a section of a fairly good house . And your wife has an unbelievably great job (your words) tthat on top of defending ebi of which you won't use the top section of bulls as there unreliable. (Also your own words ). In short I wouldn't believe you if you said the sun was shining till I checked myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

What's a good living in numbers roughly? Is it adjusted to allow for earlier years when farm could have been a black hole for money and now allows a certain amount of depreciation to be lived on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,217 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Hyland17

For sure it would be ideal that way. Just mental money. Not a whole lot of room for error tho. Bad milk price, oil goes way up again, more bad weather the list goes on.

While there would be money to be made out of it currently its hard not to worry about the future on a commitment like that. Goes across the board not just dairy. You have to be able to price in the bad years aswell and could it survive. Young lad starting off on it it would be ideal but it's lot of money going out and then if you went lookong for a mortgage to buy/build a house it could come back to haunt them.

😂😂 you’re some troll lad.

There’s a few on here that would know who I am personally. I’d be called out if it was all bs

We put 180k into an 2000sq ft extension over 2 years in 2022 and 2023. Previous to that in 2017/2018 we renovated a 200 year old 800 square ft stone building that is no part of what we built in 2022. No loan for that whatsoever Neither me or my wife have a mortgage because the title deeds for the land are tied up with a mortgage my parents took out in 2004 to buy the farm and we didn’t want to go giving money to solicitors to separate it off. My wife didn’t borrow any money for it because she or me don’t own the land. When the mortgage is paid in 5 years time we will split it off then

My wife has a good job, I’ve never said it was an unbelievable job. It has good perks. We’re expecting baby no 4 the end of January and she’s going to be taking a year off work

And yes I do use ebi and genomics to select my bulls. I’ll post up my bull selection from ICBF to prove it if you really want. I don’t use the top bulls because there figures are driven by the fertility figure. I pick my bulls on %, milk yeild and Maintenance figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,217 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's immaterial whether its 300 or 400/ acre to a lad starting off @400/ acre its 80k+ at 300 it's 60k+. No lad is going to rent that to a startup. According to the figures the farm was doing 1.1 million litres from 195 cows so access to a herd of cows and working capital about half a million plus minimum between the two

The new owner will not get the tax relief on leasing as that ended December 31st.

If I owned it and was leasing it I be looking for an established operation, I probably be looking for 12months in advance and next tranche paid definitely paid at start of next 12 month period and I be pushing for it to be paid 3 months before the lease ends

Slava Ukrainii

Yes yes sureeee good lad you still never tell the truth it's just a version of it you like to tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

you don’t need to justify yourself

Just ignore the begrudgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah come on GD.

Go out and run around the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭DBK1

Seems a bit harsh GD?

I’d be in and out of a lot of places contracting and there’s dairy farmers around here openly talking about making the type of money GrasstoMilk is talking so it can’t be that unrealistic? They’re all spending plenty of money too between machinery and renting more land and all. They’d be lads on the top of their game though, well from the outside looking in anyway, but they’d be pushing grass hard, cutting top quality silage, into their breeding and all that type of thing.

Maybe they are all telling lies but I’m normally in with them to collect money for work so surely they should be telling me the opposite type of lies!

Call me old fashioned too but surely there’s no need to bring the man’s wife into it either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭cjpm

D471B383-2496-4F82-8A4A-7AA6394E9295.jpeg

Make sure the referee can see you but he can’t hear you….

Insult his mother,

Insult his grandmother,

His sister

His family

Insult every generation of ‘em

Insult the shite out of him

He hits you, you hit the ground and he gets the line and we get the free!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Are the tax exemptions for long term leases gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭morphy87

I’m just wondering how much meal you dairy farmers give your weanling heifers in the shed for the winter and what percentage protein nut do you go for? And also do ye prefer a nut or ration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Its really a case of just burying the money into something safe and hoping for some capital appreciation over time. Only 3% pre tax return on his/her investment, so be loss making if they have any money borrowed for it.