Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Everyone turned up for Ttown, no one turned up for O’loughlins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

What a day yesterday was for Thomastown, never enjoyed a hangover like this before. Thought Thomastown pressured OLG all over the field, with the weather it looked like it would suit OLG but Thomastown won all the physical exchanges. Paddy Deegan was getting hit from all sides and couldn't settle.

Huge move to put a minor in on Huw Lawlor and fair play to Colm Treacy he was wonderful. What can you say about John Donnelly the man is just inspirational and we are so happy he is a Thomastown man, lead from the front yesterday and his points were all a touch of class.

OLG definitely took Thomastown a bit lightly and not starting Mikey Butler on John Donnolly was a massive mistake. There touch wasn't what it should of been but our hunger and pressure that we applied was serious.

I thought OLG were justifiably favourites but thought we had a right chance but looking forward to seeing that spoofer Scally on the Kclr podcast take on the match after he went way over the top last week. It was like Thomastown shouldn't even show up.

If Peter Mcdonald doesn't get more game time with KK after yesterday I will be amazed. Himself and Jonjo Farrell were outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Peter Mcdonald is streets ahead 15 lads i can name on the Kilkenny Panel, the physicality of Mcdonald and Zach bay was incredible, the same v Shamrocks, Mcdonald hit Mullen early with a shoulder and wasn't seen for the remainder of the match. Molloy had a a poor day yesterday, few Thomastown players way ahead of him. Stephen Donnelly has to be drafted into that team straight away also, a class act. What is the story with the older lads, they need to go, make room for some of the younger players. Why are they still hanging around ???, not good enough the last 10 years and certainly not good enough going into 2025 older again.

someone mentioned earlier about perseverance with players which is right but managers are under pressure for a quick fix and so are the supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I think Mac Donald was probaly unlucky in lyngs first year I think he did his collar bone in a walsh cup game and last year was wiped off before half time against Offaly probaly only regaining some form over the last few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Well done Thomastown. The fact Colm Treacy never even made the 2023 Kilkenny minor panel, says alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Not from the town schools so not relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭mooz

Congrats to Thomastown on their superb victory yesterday and the emphatic manner of their win. They set the marker early with some huge hits and were so determined from the off. I have been most impressed with the brand of hurling they have played all year and their skill execution is top class, and was particularly so with the greasy ball yesterday. All are so comfortable in possession and they are a fine hurling team. Top class performance and none more so than John Donnelly, I'm delighted for him to be captain next year, fully deserved and is a gent. I have been well impressed all year with Diarmaid Galway, J Burke, N Kirwan, B Staunton, Eddie Donnelly, JJ Farrell, Zach Bay, Peter McDonald, Stephen Donnelly and Colin Treacy- what a job he did on the best full back in Ireland and one so young. Hard to believe he wasn't deemed good enough for county minor panel. Not sure how many of them will make step up to county senior panel but surely worth looking at a number of them. It's brilliant for Thomastown to have been knocking on the door for so long at intermediate level and now to be crowned champions at senior level. It will benefit Kilkenny too to have big rural town like Thomastown competing and hopefully so at all grades underage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭neverbet

You are only as good as your last game for you so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭neverbet

Thomastown set the tempo yesterday with 15 players all well able to hurl and fully play to their game plan. OLG had a nightmare day and not fair to highlight one over the other. I have suggested before McDonald is our greatest prospect going forward. Stephen Donnelly, Brian Staunton and Zach Bay also worth a serious look. Delighted for them and good for hurling in the county. Luke Hogan was a huge loss to OLG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Watching back the match from yesterday. Why did Paddy Deegan give John Donnelly the freedom of Nowlan Park ? He has the best full back in the country behind him, why the need to sit in front of him and John Donnelly giving one of the best performances seen in a county final at centre forward. Huh Lawlor does not need that protection especially with Butler beside him. Lawlor has gone toe to toe with some of the best full forwards in the game in Croke Park with 50 yards of space in front of him and was never caught out, brain dead stuff, they invited Thomastown onto them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

I think these types of forums don't work without someone sticking their oar in, after this weekend I don't want to be negative to anyone though, up the **** Town!! Never thought I'd see this happen.

jaysus Topcat that was over a fortnight ago were you hibernating or what? Enjoy the celebrations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Its sad to say that but it’s so so true.

If he was with St.Kieran’s he would of been a cert for minor panel.

His movement on Huw Lawlor yesterday for a chap his age was a sight to behold.

well personally I think St. Kieran’s college has a lot to answer for. First of all most young lads that go there have ambitions to be KK hurlers, if they are not picked on the first thirty their ambitions are destroyed leaving them with nothing. Where as if they were entering a “B” team it would cater for more players. There is no solution to this only for kids to go to their local schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

You could see on Clubber , there were at least 9 Boro people placed around the pitch …..

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Verney reporting Noel Doherty and Declan Wall replacing Barry and Conor Phelan in Lyngs backroom team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭kk.man

If 'older' contingent of the Kilkenny panel show up next year. I won't be seen at an inter county game. They have made no impact in the last five years

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

Pity to see Noel Doherty leaving Thomastown if true he has them playing a brilliant standard of hurling. It's hard to know what sort of input he'll get in with KK seniors with Peter Donovan Lyngs main man. If Peter Donovan kept his oar out of it and let Noel Doherty do the coaching you'd never know what might happen. That been said big loss for Thomastown. The man might win more with that Thomastown team than the way Kilkenny is been managed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Split season now. Could easily do both with a good backroom team in Thomastown.

they weren’t on the pitch they were on the line. **** watching it on clubber no wonder the GAA is fucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BORO BILL

Doubt Doherty will leave Thomastown, no reason why he can’t do both. Thomastown looked like the best coached team I’ve seen for a long time. Could do worse than bringing some of their forwards into county set up, Luke connellan, Robbie Donnelly Stephen Donnelly all play heads up hurling all unselfish and team players not like some of the current panel, most who would want a ball of their own. Very disappointed with loughlins on Sunday blown away physically and just don’t have the forwards to win titles, they didn’t respect Thomastown and paid the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

Players for me who deserve a chance in Kilkenny Jersey next year:

Diarmuid Galway (Thomastown) Martin O'Neil (Mooncoin) Paul Cody (Clara) Martin O'Connell (Clara) Colman O'Sullivan (Tullogher) Padraig Dempsey (Mullinavat) Brian Staunton (Thomastown) Zack Bay Hammond (Thomastown) Luke Connellan (Thomastown) Killian Corcoran (Ballyhale) Andy Hickey (Dunnamaggin) Ted Drea(Gowran) Niall Brennan (Lisdowney) Billy Reid (Glenmore) Eddie Donnelly (Ttown) James Bergin (Conahy).

And players who are already on panel deserve much more of a shot next year: Shane Murphy, Luke Hogan, Padraic Moylan, Jordan Molloy, Conor Heary, Stephen Donnelly, Peter McDonald, Denis Walsh.

I think most would agree on agree here we need a serious freshening up on the squad overall, a few players are not at much over the last few years and are most definitely stopping development on younger players. I would expect atleast 2 retirements over the next while but no guarantees on that obviously, I wouldn't be gone on bringing Mackessy into the panel being honest as it looks a bit desperate on our part but i do expect he'll be in or around it anyway, does appear to lack pace for top IC level has loads of hurling but I don't think he's what we're looking for.

Lastly massive well done to Thomastown the other day, their performance over the last last 2 days really blew me away, Mullinavat will probably feel a lot better about themselves after seeing Sunday's game, they physical hits they put in was something to behold, Peter McDonald and Zack Bay Hammond in particular, John Donnelly was the outstanding player of the Championship too, and will make a good captain for the county team next year.

No John Donnelly on the team of the year. Whoever hired Scally needs to now fire him straight away the man hasn't a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Stripeyman

You need to reread the criteria for selection on that team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Stripeyman

And then give Scally back his job 😉

Fair enough just saw that

So basically only a bit of a team not the team of the year so and shouldn't be called team of the year if excluding players.

If you actually listened to the podcast rather than overreacting on here they will be doing the actual team of the year on next week's podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Krazy gang

Well done to thomastown. Not much more to do add than what's been said already. Classic case of underdogs out working the favourite and upsetting them. The hits thomastown were putting in combined with how well they use the ball is so impressive.

I thought they're full forward line might struggle but the opposite was the case. Rory Connellan has some workrate, not the most stylish hurler but didn't give loughlin full back line a moments peace.