Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Hyland17

Some studies have shown that washing powder is a big contribution to a similar chemical composition as round up. Also have alot of micro plastics making its way through effluent. Its starting to raise its head more. Hard to blame slurry for this but not talked about as much when it comes to water quality.

I would just like if blame was shared more accordingly . Agri sector is targeted more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Funny thread to be posting this. But the new joiners on the plastic bottle caps are feckers for putting micro plastics direct into your cup or mug. You'd want to click the cap into place open well away from your drinking vessel. Everytime you click it open little bits of plastic shoot off.

If you want to go further on it. Bits of micro plastic can make it's way to your brain in your system. Won't do you any good there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭Gillespy

How friendly are those products used by professional powerwashing lads to wash a bit of green off yards and walls. Easiest thing to wash but it's soaked in this stuff first now as routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

B282E8C7-6A27-4989-9CD9-3C44375AE9DB.png

just brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Big mistake.

One wonders how easily the fert industry rolled over on this..unless there’s a killing to be made on protected urea?
    I would doubt that the Gov flew that kite without consulting the fert industry first.

Meanwhile Dublin Airport needs the passenger cap lifted…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭farmerval

All sewerage treatment plants are planned to discharge directly at some stage during sufficiently large storm events. The normal design of a treatment plant will be for a known quantity of people within the catchment area of the plant, with a specified storm storage volume, which is in a storm situation volumes above the maximum treatment capacity is stored, to later go through the treatment process after the storm event has passed.

At some point the storm storage capacity will be full and excess volumes will then go straight to the receiving water body. The theory is that this is so diluted that it poses no pollution threat.

The realities of sewage treatment in Ireland are that following huge investment in the late 90's early 00's very little has been invested in sewage treatment. Changes in population location has exasperated this. Loads of commuter towns have populations one and a half times the capacity of their local treatment plant or more, plus issues in the network where storm water infiltration is getting into sewers and going to a plant.

The above allied to the fact that tons of villages have no sewage treatment of any kind, shows the kind of investment required for the next 20 years. A local village near me has no proper sewage system. There were 8 council houses built with a single septic tank 35 years ago, there's now 32 houses there on the same septic tank which simply overflows to a nearby stream. There is another block of 8 council houses, a private scheme of 18 houses, about 10 old detached houses, a primary school, two shops and a pub. To connect all of these into a single scheme and install a treatment plant is large work.

Irish Water is trying to develop Reed Bed schemes as a low cost, especially low cost in ongoing energy costs as the go to method for villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

How can this be implemented unless its a Eu wide directive, surprising its been leaked now before the election with all the bs coming out of Simons mouth re fighting for the farmer blah blah blah...

As far as I know if you try to melt down protected urea as a liquid application you'll probably end up killing yourself so their torpedoing this method aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭cjpm

Well since the experts in the “Water Quality” working group are making this recommendation….

Can someone enlighten me how spreading fertiliser with additional chemicals in it is going to improve water quality??

Farming is becoming like death by 1000 cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

an absolute crock of shite ….how much more of this crap are we meant to put up with …..it’s 50/60 euro a tonne dearer and has questionable results …..are we meant to suck this extra cost up ???….i see Francie and IFA came out against the splash plate ban at an IFA meeting not far from me other night ….hopefully they and others fight this too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Hill farmers were saying its too heavy on hilly ground causing a health and safety risk which I'd agree. Also with the LESS your more concentrated on flatter fields as you won't be able to spread steep ground, dangerous also trying to turn on a flat bit at the top or bottom of the field with the LESS as u have to lift the back iykwim. We'll over 300 at the meeting from what I gather.It's not economically viable for guys to have upgrade their tractors 50hp and pay for a new slurry tank also. The benefits of the mocha system were also discussed

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

YYou Would have to wonder do these people actually understand how protected urea works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭straight

Farm theory explained it well here about 3 months ago. From about 11 mins in he explains how the fertiliser companies are trying to take out the competition.

the gas thing is protected urea is a air quality measure to reduce ammonia, it’s has nothing to do with water quality

Looking forward to graise's new youtube account....

The farm lobby is very weak and ignored now vs environmentalists, experts groups and citizens assemblies.

Farmers in general are taken for granted. The co-ops are getting worried about their milk supply now but it will take along time before the powers that be wake up to the fact.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Just off the phone from a supply manager - the way he tells it, they are very worried. He claimed the "board recognises the need to keep milk price up".

Even if not all the lads talking about it now do end up pulling the plug, he reckons the age profile thing is going to catch them in the coming years. They're putting on training for new entrants in the coming weeks too - paid for by the co-op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭dmakc

I know plenty of young lads who'd love to farm but either own no land or their brother got it, and I know even more farmers sons/daughters with plenty land but no interest.

The hunger to farm is there in the youth, it's the access to land that's the problem.

They should try tap into this. If I was ever to rent out, I'd sooner try help someone new to it than someone established looking to extend the workload. Maybe Milk processors might think of something to help this as it's above my pay grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

I’m actually considering giving up- fed up with the regulations

I water down urea and spray it on as foliar- this results in 60% less fert usage- you can’t water down protected urea as the fumes off it have killed 4 farmers in France

I might drop the cow numbers to 60 so my brother can continue to farm on his own with no rental land

Everyone else seems to be making money off the farmers back

Unfortunately my love of farming is being eroded

Wouldn't be surprised if it was the first step in building towards it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,559 ✭✭✭Grueller

I feel exactly the same Stan. Its a pity because I have a massive grá for it. I can walk back in the door of an €80k job any time I like and take it handier. Plough the drier land, about 60 acres, and buy cattle and summer graze the rest, about 80 acres thats not suitable for tillage.

2 years and I am completely debt free here and between the job and herself working as well, let them go and sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭alps

If this is imposed, their will be a massive swing back to CAN..counter to what they're trying to acheive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

debt free here and herself is working as a teacher

Priced a new and second hand teleporter as mine has seen better days- even a second hand is coming in at 1600 a month

Which gives them all the more incentive to do can when they get to that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭alps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Thing is, if Urea is banned it leaves you open to the market for CAN. Can is already a niche market because very little is used worldwide. Urea is made in many different countries with cheap energy, so it can be used to keep the price of CAN and AN down. When you lose that leverage you’re captive in an expensive niche market. Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

Think they are planning to leave the lower % urea with sulphur unprotected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

forced organic farming.I’ve a friend who is high up in the department and last yr over a few pints he said to me could I see myself farming with no fertiliser.needless to say he didn’t like the answer.

We’re probably one of the last generations to farm.maybe time to look into planning permission to put up a rake of modular houses and go down the undocumented route to make money😂