General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

This is not an attack on job seekers who are active in the system. This is trying to stop people playing the system

Not sure what the point of the bold section is. Everyone has read the article.

I linked to job seekers because you said you didn't know what it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

According to this lecturer in the RCS there are no official stats for this because "Disinterest in doctor emigration stems from the belief that emigrant doctors will return and that doctor emigration will benefit Ireland."

She took it upon herself to survey 307 Irish Doctors who had emigrated and found that only 1 in 4 intended on returning.

In a separate survey she did on Irish doctors working in Australia:

Unsustainable ways of working in Ireland also led them to decide to emigrate. They described Irish hospitals as understaffed and overstretched workplaces within whichextreme ways of working had become normal.

In contrast, they enjoyed working in the Australian health system, describing well-staffed hospitals in which they were supported in their roles. Many had rediscovered their love of medicine while working in an efficient, well-resourced health system in Australia.

Once again, only a minority of those interviewed (one in three) planned to return to Ireland, indicating the risk of non-return inherent in all emigration decisions.

source

Lads I think it's important to say that nobody is going to assume that you're a SF supporter if you acknowledge the problems in the health system in this country.

There seems to be a knee-jerk reaction by some in this thread that they need to defend government Health & Housing policy lest it otherwise be seen as a boon to SF otherwise.

I'm telling you that that's not going to have the desired reaction. If you try and tell people that black is white when they clearly see it as black then they're going to assume that you're trying to gas-light them for reasons of political partisanship and ignore anything else you have to say on any other matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,143 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Jobseekers BENEFIT is only paid to people who have sufficient PRSI contributions (a working history) and is only paid for a short period of time.

Jobseekers Allowance is not the same thing, so your link isn't really much use now, is it?

You could check these things before being a patronising eejit you know?

The bold part is relevant because AS I'VE REPEATEDLY SAID, my issue is with targeting the short term unemployed, who have paid into the system and have a working history.

I'll try again;

will see their Jobseeker’s Benefit cut by €90 under a plan quietly signed off by the Government after the Budget.

If the above said, 'will see their Jobseeker’s Allowance cut by €90', your link may have been useful, and I wouldn't have much of a problem with it.

A bit of light reading before your usual jumping in two footed to defend absolutely anything the government propose wouldn't go amiss.

Im not defending the HSE, far from it. I was wondering if the statement about people leaving and not returning was true. from personal experiences with nurses they have returned and massively in the majority. Thats my own experience not sure if that is backed up in the stats for nurses.

What I don't understand with the amount of money thrown every year at the HSE how to actually resolve it.

In terms of SF, no point even discussing the idiotic suggestions from them. They are planning on taxing an entry level consultant so they have less take home pay, trying to claim thats what doctors want.

My own anecdotal experience would be that most nurses I know who went abroad have returned, only one of the doctors I know has returned.

I am defending the tax's I pay, I

If someone is unemployed and won't engage with the services then what alternative do you propose?

You asked what it was, I linked to the citizen information.

In terms of defending the government, well I think you need to look in the mirror in terms of anything and everything the government does is wrong. Im sure one minute you are complaining about waste in tax and the next you are defedning people who won't engage with the employment services and making up bulls**t stories to try back it up

FYI Ireland is full of work at the moment at all levels and skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,225 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Lads I think it's important to say that nobody is going to assume that you're a SF supporter if you acknowledge the problems in the health system in this country.

No doubt that the best way of running a health system from a political standpoint is to remove the political element. In this country we have had a string of health ministers content on destroying the HSE, presumably so they can offload the patients to the private sector and if you don't have the money to pay then you'll be missed

In terms of SF, no point even discussing the idiotic suggestions from them. They are planning on taxing an entry level consultant so they have less take home pay, trying to claim thats what doctors want.

Which of the SF suggestions on health do you not like? For your benefit I'll post them underneath

https://www.sinnfein.ie/health

• Increase spending on healthcare by €3.3 billion to move from a failing, two tier health system to universal healthcare.
    • Recruit 6,600 additional frontline health workers including nurses, midwives and consultants.
    • Roll out free GP care and free prescriptions.
    • End two-tier access to hospital care and deal with the trolley crisis.
    • Invest an additional €15 million in the ambulance service.
    • Prioritise disability services and mental health.
    • Support older people by increasing home help hours, respite hours and providing additional nursing home beds.

SF have said they will tax everyone who earns over 100k, a starting consultant is over 100k when they come straight out of uni

When the SF health spokes person was asked about this, he stumbled around and then said that was not his area and talk to Pearse.

Just proves yet again the incompetence of SF, shows they also have zero plans in ever implementing anything they talk about. So post any list you want, we all now its waffle

It was an interview on the radio when the spokesperson also told us the great plan from SF was prefab at hospitals

If you are going to vote for SF and run around the internet spinning their nonsense, I expect you should check into the basic of what they are proposing.

Even in terms of a consultant all their wages are available via the web and published.

In terms of accusing me of lying, it's your own ignorance which is the issue here, not me

FYI the 100k number is a moving target, it started at 140k and then dropped to 100k, tomorrow who knows. Incompetence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,504 ✭✭✭✭L1011

How are they going to recruit staff that don't exist? Same applies for the care hours as it does for doctors and nurses.

Why did they not improve the failing HSC system in the North during their two terms as Minister for Health, or indeed the entire time they've been in Government there? Its falling to bits.

Again I ask, which of the points in their health manifesto do you not like? I assume you won't answer again but I said I'd ask just in case

You've linked to the Citizens Information page for an entirely different payment, this seems to be the point you're missing. I know the similar names might be confusing, but Jobseekers Benefit and Jobseekers Allowance are not the same thing. I made a comment about Jobseekers Benefit you linked to an information page on Jobseekers Allowance.

If this was targeting those in receipt of Jobseekers Allowance, I wouldn't have much of an issue with it..

The alternative I propose is to f*ck off and leave someone who has been working and paying taxes for years alone for the few weeks or months it takes for them to find something new. If they need help, provide it. Focus on protecting your taxes that are being spent on the long term unemployed rather than someone who has a strong work history and has paid the PRSI to entitle them to that short term payment.

I wouldn't for a second say everything the government does is wrong, if I seem more critical of them than non-government parties, well thats the nature of the beast; they're in government and actually doing things. Some of those things are good, some could be better, some are absolutely sh*te.

I think there's a little of what Brussels Sprout said about your posting. You're seeing Shinners under the bed, buddy. To be clear so you can drop your anti-Shinner shield and we can actually discuss this reasonably, I'd vote for all three government parties as a higher preference than SF, my first preference will be SDs.

I'll reiterate, I have no issue with protecting the taxes we pay....I don't think going after short term unemployed people with a record of paying tax and PRSI is an effective way to protect those taxes. I think it is a bullsh*t soundbite that avoids addressing the actual problematic area.

As I said the health manifesto is irrelevant because they will never implement it. As I proved above.

Also as someone else pointed out, they can just magic up people to work in the HSE.

Ignorance is bliss

If you clicked on the website it lists both 🤣

Sorry but the alternative you propose is not acceptable to a tax payer like myself.

We hire good people in Ireland to help people get jobs, if they can't engage with those services then they are entitled to do that, personal choice and all that. If they get fined so be it

I couldn't care less who you vote for

The fact that they want to do it speaks more volumes over how they are going to do it. How they achieve their goals only matters if they get into power. Conversely we know FFG won't do it

NI is a power sharing executive, not a government. Any decision they make in Stormont has to be approved by the DUP. Should they attain power here they won't need to bow to the ideologies of the DUP

Actually it's very relevant because you made a claim about their suggestions on health being idiotic. So I'm asking which suggestion(s) you find idiotic. For the 3rd time now…

Other (realistically, probably all) parties are going to have similar claims; they'll still have to answer the same questions. We know that its not achievable without significant changes to employment, but they don't mention any other changes. They do, however, have a plan that will make it less possible.

SF will not attain power here without going in to a coalition either, remember. SF need to stand on their actions in NI; where health and housing are in tatters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,593 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

You only get Jobseekers Benefit for 9 months. I think it's reasonable to allow somebody who has accrued enough credits to claim the full 9 months that time to find a job - why should they be engaging with the services immediately like?

It's a different story if you're long term out of work and are doing nothing about it.

Ask away, the whole thing is nonsense. They have promised to hire people that don't exist, at the same time telling the people they will hire and the people currently in those jobs they will cut their wages

Just because you have no idea what th ehealth policies are, how they would actually work in the real World is not my fault. But keep on asking to deflect.

By the way, you are not the only SF supporter I have seen online who hasn't a f**king clue about their policies or how it would work.

People don't exist now?

You truly will lie about anything, not unusual for right wing supporters I guess

Why wouldn't they engage with the services?

What happens if their dream job comes available and they miss it because they haven't bothered getting in contact?

personally i wouldn't be sitting on my ass for 9 months out of work, doesn;t matter how much credits I have in place

Ahh SF online supporters always the same 😂

Don't attack me becuase of your ignorance on the topic

FFG are literally run by failed health ministers who had a chance to fix the service and either deliberately decimated it or just didn't bother so I doubt they will have similar claims

Without knowing the election results we do not know if SF will attain power here without going in to a coalition, although chances are if they do it will be with other parties on the left. Remember FFG need to stand on their actions here; where health and housing are in tatters.

Excellent attempt at derailing a conversation. Are you over in the states campaigning for Trump next week, I'd say he could use your help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭rock22

The current minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly, who has presided over the greatest scandal in current times, the long long waiting time for children's spinal surgery, suddenly, yesterday ' magic uped' resources to address it. (The fact that the parents of affected children seemed to know nothing about any new initiative tells its own story).

It is an absolute disgrace that young children with spina bifida have been left in pain by this governments' inactivity. I imagine in the future this will be looked back at like we look back at the Magdalene Laundry scandals.

SF in NI are run by a failed health minister who had a chance to fix the service and didn't.

SF have shown us they don't fix health or housing; both in NI and housing on DCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭blackwhite

The amendment being pushed through by Humphries covers both Jobseeker's Benefit and Jobseeker's Allowance.

https://data.oireachtas.ie/ie/oireachtas/bill/2024/81/eng/initiated/b8124d.pdf

Both are already covered by the 2013 act. In practice, someone on Jobseeker's Benefit

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2013/act/20/enacted/en/print.html

All the new bill does is increase the penalties already provided for in the 2013 Act, from €44 to €90.

Their record in housing when in DCC is a disgrace and no wonder they have tried to delete all references from the web.