Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Anyone paying the slightest bit of attention would see she wasn’t going to be the chosen candidate.

Emma Blain being relocated from Glencullen-Sandyford to Pembroke for the locals elections was an obvious move to have her in place as Geoghegan’s running mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭JVince

Kate O'Connell left many years ago. She was no "rising star".

and a councilor who was told he would not be selected as there were several better options ahead of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,799 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yes but the exceptionalist you are ignores abuse coming from other parties supporters that has that overall figure so high at 94%.

Has any other party leader publicly asked their supporters to stop?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

SF would have been better keeping BS in place on the PAC the few weeks the government has left. Attempting to replace him is just throwing more fuel in the fire. If the government had a few months at least try o go you could see a point but the a couple of weeks it just gives air to the story and legs to continue.

No choice once he went Independent as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

He is gone, they are starting a big war now with the opposition who don't want the replacement so this will drag on in the news for another few days

SF answer, well we have put forward someone and we will just keep on doing it

Incompetent

Thye should be aware an election is coming up, they need to kill this story and they are keeping it in the news.

You would have to wonder has someone in SF got to BS who suddenly has decided he is making no more comments or any more statements.

Very strange he was so outspoken and then suddenly he is gone totally quiet.

The whole thing seems odd to me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Madeoface

The thread title needs to change. It sure ain't happening....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

True but there isn’t much in it for him though. It’s a mutually assured destruction situation in that they can’t threaten to rehearse details oh his dispute when he could counter threaten the save and maybe more with it. You wouldn’t think they’d have much to bargain with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭spillit67

She was definitely a rising star. For a variety of reasons she was pushed heavily- bizarrely she was one of the main faces of the Coveney campaign at the outside (despite just being there for over a year) and that was before the choir boys thing.

It’s standard practice in a party though, if you lose you lose. Yes she shared a constituency with his Varadkar’s key backer and that made re-election a challenge but she just did not play the game well. Whether that was a natural ego or came from the early push I’m not sure.

She had a chance here with Harris who was wanted his stamp on things but it appears she has made a mess of it again. She must think she can get in herself or do enough damage to FG that they’ll come back again but I suspect “I told you so” is being said in an elegant manner to Simon Harris right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,319 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

It seems to be setting them on a course with the Soc Dems etc which isn’t the smartest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

Don't be fooled by the good cop bad cop act. It's so transparent.

You can't be a rising star when you are not elected and you are not in the party.

Maybe she was back in 2017 but thats 7 years ago and hardly relevant anymore, especially when she said herself she wouldn't run under FG.

She was out of the media for a long time, was aware the election was coming up so seems to have used FG to get some airtime. Fair play to her. I expect she is trying to get the non-FG supporters in the area to go for her. Who knows

Well they could, if PBP win the election they could bring in SF as a junior partner. 😂

"I may well be the next Taoiseach"

Still funny to this day

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=202705271122272

Sorry I meant she was one once upon a time.

If she had played the game she could have been parachuted in somewhere else last time, got a Senator nomination or been lined up for a MEP seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,162 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

As I write it appears to me that the media have decided to let the hare sit for a bit now.

BUT, they are more than likely sharpening their pencils for an all out coverage of (perhaps) further SF shenanigans that they are holding in reserve for the GE campaign which I think will be short, sharp and focused. On SF maybe….

She had burned bridges a long time ago, if she hadn't then as you say she would have been brought into the Seanead of given a European election role.

It was all over the 6 one news

Articles in the press still ongoing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,587 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Mary Lou is gone after the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,363 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Absolutely, I wonder who will be selected in the backrooms of west belfast to replace her, that's the real question now tbh

Just saw SF have nominated Mairead Farrell to take over PAC chair, considering how key and important a role it is i don't think SF should be allowed replace Stanley until they have cleared the air around this whole fiasco. They obviously don't have much respect for the position he held or its importance in holding government to account to have dealt with this whole matter in such a farcical and messy way.

For sure They should have left him. Yes, they’d end up living there sounds and not have a party representative in the time but there’s wha to an election. Just leave the while thing and let things calm down. Talk of arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭facehugger99

One wonders if the concept of the Shinners in Government is similar to the concept of Irish unification, always a few years in the future and always will be.

Reunification will never happen if SF are in government

For a United Ireland we need people to be United and political parties on both sides of the border united. SF do the exact opposite, they are only interested in dividing people and bickering with every party possible.

It’s a bit rich talking about Irish unification when they can’t run their own part as a unified entity!

Not a hope a self respecting political party is going to do that.
    Sure the media and government could keep it going for as long as they want not to mention it would be tacit admission they did something wrong. (Whether they did or not is not the point there BTW.)

Fair play to them IMO, nominate, as is the right of the opposition, and let the other side show how democratic they are.
    I wonder is there something coming up in PAC they are opportunistically trying to delay before the election?

OPW are in next week.

Im not trying to say who is right or wrong between SF and Stanley. The observation that I am making is considering Stanleys position as PAC chair how did they not take this seriously enough to have their ducks in a row so as to not have the fiasco of the past few days happen is beyond me and i think shows that they don't actually respect the position of PAC chair.

The second an investigation was started they should have had a thought to replacing him in case it was needed but it took them 3 days to nominate someone. Really i'm more shocked at the behavior of them as outside of the smaller council party messes they have had I always considered the parliamentary wing of SF to be a pretty tightly run ship. Obviously I was wrong.

How would they have had their ducks in a row?
    If they had tried to remove Stanley before the investigation finished he would have walked.

I edited after you replied, apologies, but the minute an investigation was started there should have been somewhat of a high level private group who had at the very least a 2-3 name shortlist ready to go.